DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the previous 112(b) rejections. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. The previous 112(b) rejections are withdrawn. Note: the amendment to claim 19 introduces a new 112(b) rejection.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the 102 rejection. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. The amendments change the scope of the invention. An updated search was conducted and a prior art was discovered to read on the amendment to the claim: US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei)
Tessmer teaches on an agent hub device forwarding test traffic ([0030][0070]) and on test results/reply packets ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer is silent on forwarding the test packets to Internet devices and on receiving response test packets from the Internet devices. Tessmer is silent on wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and receive, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic.
Lei teaches on wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. first service proxy function entity), after obtaining the traffic, sends the traffic to one or more Internet devices (ie. application server) and receive, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned responses in response to the traffic; ([0045] when monitoring that the message sent by the Internet service client is a service message, the first service proxy function entity may further directly forward the service message to the application server; and receive a response message which is returned by the application server after the application server receives the service message and forward the response message to the Internet service client.)
It would have been obvious to modify Tessmer per Lei as it would allow the modified system to provide extensive network testing by including Internet devices which allows for a more comprehensive analysis.
Please see updated rejection below:
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US PGPub 2006/0029064 A1 (Rao)
Claim(s) 4, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US 9411787 B1 (Lad)
Claim(s) 5-7, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US PGPub 2005/0094567 A1 (Kannan)
Claim(s) 8-9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US Patent 10,728,135 B2 (Raney)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US Patent 8,989,199 B1 (Sella)
Claim 19 is rejected under 112(b).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-18, 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-12, 14-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,355 teach on each and every limitation of claims 1-18, 20 of the Instant Application.
The term “obtaining” in the instant application is different from the term “receiving” in the US Patent 12,160,355 B2 as shown in the table below. The term “obtaining returned test responses” in the instant application is an obvious modification of “receiving returned test responses” because in order to obtain, the returned test responses must be received. This is an obvious modification as it yields the same expected, predictable results.
Instant Application
US Patent 12,160,355 B2
1. A method, comprising:
establishing, from an agent hub device, a tunnel to a remote vantage point device;
sending, by the agent hub device, test traffic into the tunnel to the remote vantage point device, wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device,
obtaining, at the agent hub device and from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic;
and producing, by the agent hub device, test results based on the one or more returned test responses.
1. A method, comprising:
establishing, from an agent hub device that operates as a cloud agent or enterprise agent on behalf of a plurality of remote vantage point devices, a virtual private network (VPN) tunnel to a remote vantage point device of the plurality of remote vantage point devices;
generating, by the agent hub device, test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device,
where the test traffic is associated with a test from the cloud agent or enterprise agent; encapsulating, by the agent hub device, the test traffic into the VPN tunnel to the remote vantage point device to cause the remote vantage point device to decapsulate the test traffic
and send the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originated from the remote vantage point device;
receiving, at the agent hub device and from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic;
and producing, by the agent hub device, test results based on the one or more returned test responses.
2. The method as in claim 1, wherein the remote vantage point device sends the test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device by setting a source address of the test traffic to be a source address of the remote vantage point device.
2. The method as in claim 1, wherein generating the test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device comprises:
setting a source address of the test traffic to be a source address of the remote vantage point device.
3. The method as in claim 2, further comprising: applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic.
14. …
applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic
4. The method as in claim 1, further comprising: managing domain name service operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device.
3. The method as in claim 1, further comprising:
managing domain name service operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device.
5. The method as in claim 1, determining one or more effects of the tunnel; and removing the one or more effects of the tunnel from the test results.
4. The method as in claim 1, further comprising:
removing effects of the VPN tunnel from the test results.
6. The method as in claim 5, wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises measuring the one or more effects of the tunnel as part of the test traffic.
5. The method as in claim 4, further comprising: measuring the effects of the VPN tunnel as part of the test traffic.
7. The method as in claim 5, wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises using a pre-determined measurement of the one or more effects of the tunnel for all test traffic.
6. The method as in claim 4, further comprising: using a pre-determined measurement of the effects of the VPN tunnel for all test traffic.
8. The method as in claim 1, further comprising: measuring one or more metrics between each of a plurality of candidate agent hub devices and the remote vantage point device; and selecting the agent hub device from the plurality of candidate agent hub devices based on the one or more measured metrics.
7. The method as in claim 1, wherein the agent hub device is selected from a plurality of options based on one or more measured metrics between the agent hub device and the remote vantage point device.
9. The method as in claim 8, wherein the one or more measured metrics are selected from a group consisting of: geographical distance; latency; bandwidth; number of autonomous system hops; number of hops; and jitter.
8. The method as in claim 7, wherein the one or more measured metrics are selected from a group consisting of: geographical distance; latency; bandwidth; number of autonomous system hops; number of hops; and jitter.
10. The method as in claim 1, further comprising: selecting the agent hub device based on one or more performance minimums between the agent hub device and the remote vantage point device.
9. The method as in claim 1, wherein the agent hub device is selected based on one or more performance minimums between the agent hub device and the remote vantage point device.
11. The method as in claim 1, wherein the tunnel is an Internet Protocol Security Virtual Private Network tunnel.
10. The method as in claim 1, wherein the tunnel is an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) VPN tunnel.
12. The method as in claim 1, wherein the test traffic comprises probe traffic to one or more applications.
11. The method as in claim 1, wherein the test traffic comprises probe traffic to one or more applications.
13. The method as in claim 1, further comprising: operating as an agent hub device for a plurality of remote vantage point devices.
12. The method as in claim 1, wherein the agent hub device operates as a hub device for a plurality of remote vantage point devices including the remote vantage point device.
14. The method as in claim 1, wherein the agent hub device is one of either a cloud agent or an enterprise agent.
1. … establishing, as an agent hub device that operates as a cloud agent or enterprise agent on behalf of a plurality of remote vantage point devices
15. A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor on a computer, cause the computer to perform a method comprising:
establishing, as an agent hub device, a tunnel to a remote vantage point device;
sending test traffic into the tunnel to the remote vantage point device, wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device,
obtaining from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic;
and producing test results based on the one or more returned test responses.
14. A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor on a computer, cause the computer to perform a method comprising:
establishing, as an agent hub device that operates as a cloud agent or enterprise agent on behalf of a plurality of remote vantage point devices, a virtual private network (VPN) tunnel to a remote vantage point device of the plurality of remote vantage point devices;
generating test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device
1. … and send the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originated from the remote vantage point device;
by applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic, where the test traffic is associated with a test from the cloud agent or enterprise agent by applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic; encapsulating the test traffic into the VPN tunnel to the remote vantage point device to cause the remote vantage point device to decapsulate the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originated from the remote vantage point device;
receiving, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic;
and producing test results based on the one or more returned test responses.
16. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium as in claim 15, the remote vantage point device sends the test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device by setting a source address of the test traffic to be a source address of the remote vantage point device.
15. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium as in claim 14, wherein generating the test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device comprises:
setting a source address of the test traffic to be a source address of the remote vantage point device.
17. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium as in claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: managing domain name service operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device.
16. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium as in claim 14, wherein the method further comprises:
managing domain name service operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device.
18. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium as in claim 15, wherein the remote vantage point device comprises a customer router, a virtual private network termination point, or a software-defined wide area network (SDWAN) device configured as a termination point of the tunnel at a customer site.
13. The method as in claim 1, wherein the agent hub device is a starting point of the VPN tunnel, and the remote vantage point device is a termination point of the VPN tunnel.
20. An apparatus, comprising: one or more network interfaces to communicate with a network; a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes;
and a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, the process, when executed, configured to:
establish, as an agent hub device, a tunnel to a remote vantage point device;
send test traffic into the tunnel to the remote vantage point device, wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device;
receive, from the one or more Internet devices, receive one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic;
19. An apparatus, comprising: one or more network interfaces to communicate with a network; a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes;
and a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, the process, when executed, configured to:
establish, as an agent hub device that operates as a cloud agent or enterprise agent on behalf of a plurality of remote vantage point devices, a virtual private network (VPN) tunnel to a remote vantage point device of the plurality of remote vantage point devices;
generate test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device, where the test traffic is associated with a test from the cloud agent or enterprise agent;
encapsulate the test traffic into the VPN tunnel to the remote vantage point device to cause the remote vantage point device to decapsulate the test traffic
and send the test traffic to one or more Internet devices as though the test traffic originated from the remote vantage point device;
receive, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic;
and produce test results based on the one or more returned test responses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(b):
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “and wherein the test traffic is sent to the remote vantage point device over a customer-specific routing path associated with a customer associated with the remote vantage point device”. This renders the claim unclear as to what is associated with the remote vantage point device. The customer, the customer-specific routing path or the test traffic?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei).
Regarding Claim 1:
Tessmer teaches A method, comprising:
establishing, from an agent hub device (ie. controller, host machine), a tunnel to a remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint); ([0020] a first host machine generates a packet to send for the connectivity test, then (i) inserts logical network information into the generated packet and (ii) encapsulates the generated packet with tunnel endpoint information that specifies a tunnel between the first host machine and a second host machine. Claim 1. … receiving a command to test connectivity between the first host machine and a set of at least one additional host machine that also host virtual machines on the particular logical network; Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the command is received from a network controller that manages the first host machine and a plurality of additional host machines.)
sending, by the agent hub device, test traffic into the tunnel to the remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint), ([0026] Next, the process 100 generates (at 110) a connectivity test packet to send to the one or more destination machines for the requested connectivity test. [0027] Thus, the process next appends (at 115) or inserts logical network information to the connectivity test packet. The generated test packet is sent to the virtual switch on the host, which stores the logical network data for various logical networks supported by the host machine. The virtual switch uses this logical network data to append the correct logical network information to the packet in a designated logical network information section. [0028] The process 100 next encapsulates (at 120) the packet in a tunnel between two tunnel endpoints. [0029] Next, the process 100 sends (at 125) the encapsulated packet to the appropriate next hop for the connection between tunnel endpoints.)
wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint), after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more ([0030] The command received to initiate the connectivity test may indicate a single destination ( e.g., one host machine) or multiple destinations ( e.g., a broadcast to all host machines that host VMs connected to a particular logical network. The tunnel endpoint then adds different encapsulations for each replicated packet, with packets for different tunnel endpoints having different destination addresses. [0065] Fig 4 & 5, The test packets sent by the host machine that receives the command to initiate a connectivity test first have logical network information appended and are then encapsulated with a tunnel header. [0070] the tunnel encapsulation section contains (i) a source VTEP MAC address, (ii) a destination VTEP MAC address, (iii) a source VTEP IP address, and (iv) a destination VTEP IP address. In the example shown in FIG. 4, the encapsulation on the test packet 420 uses the addresses of the VTEP located at host 400 for its source addresses and the addresses of the VTEP located at host 405 for its destination addresses.) Encapsulation allows the packet to appear as originating from the sender and includes the source address of the sender.
obtaining, at the agent hub device ([0032] After sending the packet or packets, the process 100 awaits (at 130) one or more return packets from the destination host machines. … The virtual switch identifies the logical network information in the packet as well as the flag that marks the packet as a connectivity test packet. Accordingly, the host machine generates a reply to send back to the source machine.)
and producing, by the agent hub device, test results based on the one or more returned test responses. ([0043] The control interface 220 communicates (through a virtual switch, such as virtual switch 210) with one or more controllers external to the host, such as the controller 285. The controllers can send commands to test the connectivity between the host machine 200 and one or more additional host machines (e.g., in the data center). The control interface 220 also sends replies back to the controllers---e.g., VM and/or virtual switch status data, connectivity test results, etc. [0057] reply packets, results of connectivity test.)
Tessmer teaches on an agent hub device forwarding test traffic ([0030][0070]) and on test results/reply packets ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer is silent on forwarding the test packets to Internet devices and on receiving response test packets from the Internet devices. Tessmer is silent on wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and obtaining, at the agent hub device and from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic.
Lei teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on monitoring a type of a message which the Internet service client is ready to send to an application server, Abstract.
Lei teaches on wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. first service proxy function entity), after obtaining the traffic, sends the traffic to one or more Internet devices (ie. application server) and obtaining, at the agent hub device (ie. Internet service client) and from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned responses in response to the traffic; ([0045] when monitoring that the message sent by the Internet service client is a service message, the first service proxy function entity may further directly forward the service message to the application server; and receive a response message which is returned by the application server after the application server receives the service message and forward the response message to the Internet service client.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer per Lei to include wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and obtaining, at the agent hub device and from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the modified system to provide extensive network testing by including Internet devices which allows for more comprehensive analysis/results.
Regarding Claim 15:
Tessmer teaches A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor on a computer ([0081] features and applications are implemented as software processes that are specified as a set of instructions recorded on a computer readable storage medium. When these instructions are executed by one or more processing unit(s) (e.g., one or more processors, cores of processors, or other processing units), they cause the processing unit(s) to perform the actions indicated in the instructions.), cause the computer to perform a method comprising:
establishing, as an agent hub device (ie. controller, host machine), a tunnel to a remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint); ([0020] a first host machine generates a packet to send for the connectivity test, then (i) inserts logical network information into the generated packet and (ii) encapsulates the generated packet with tunnel endpoint information that specifies a tunnel between the first host machine and a second host machine. Claim 1. … receiving a command to test connectivity between the first host machine and a set of at least one additional host machine that also host virtual machines on the particular logical network; Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the command is received from a network controller that manages the first host machine and a plurality of additional host machines.)
sending test traffic into the tunnel to the remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint), ([0026] Next, the process 100 generates (at 110) a connectivity test packet to send to the one or more destination machines for the requested connectivity test. [0027] Thus, the process next appends (at 115) or inserts logical network information to the connectivity test packet. The generated test packet is sent to the virtual switch on the host, which stores the logical network data for various logical networks supported by the host machine. The virtual switch uses this logical network data to append the correct logical network information to the packet in a designated logical network information section. [0028] The process 100 next encapsulates (at 120) the packet in a tunnel between two tunnel endpoints. [0029] Next, the process 100 sends (at 125) the encapsulated packet to the appropriate next hop for the connection between tunnel endpoints.)
wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint), after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more ([0030] The command received to initiate the connectivity test may indicate a single destination ( e.g., one host machine) or multiple destinations ( e.g., a broadcast to all host machines that host VMs connected to a particular logical network. The tunnel endpoint then adds different encapsulations for each replicated packet, with packets for different tunnel endpoints having different destination addresses. [0065] Fig 4 & 5, The test packets sent by the host machine that receives the command to initiate a connectivity test first have logical network information appended and are then encapsulated with a tunnel header. [0070] the tunnel encapsulation section contains (i) a source VTEP MAC address, (ii) a destination VTEP MAC address, (iii) a source VTEP IP address, and (iv) a destination VTEP IP address. In the example shown in FIG. 4, the encapsulation on the test packet 420 uses the addresses of the VTEP located at host 400 for its source addresses and the addresses of the VTEP located at host 405 for its destination addresses.) Encapsulation allows the packet to appear as originating from the sender and includes the source address of the sender.
obtaining, ([0032] After sending the packet or packets, the process 100 awaits (at 130) one or more return packets from the destination host machines. … The virtual switch identifies the logical network information in the packet as well as the flag that marks the packet as a connectivity test packet. Accordingly, the host machine generates a reply to send back to the source machine.)
and producing test results based on the one or more returned test responses. ([0043] The control interface 220 communicates (through a virtual switch, such as virtual switch 210) with one or more controllers external to the host, such as the controller 285. The controllers can send commands to test the connectivity between the host machine 200 and one or more additional host machines (e.g., in the data center). The control interface 220 also sends replies back to the controllers---e.g., VM and/or virtual switch status data, connectivity test results, etc. [0057] reply packets, results of connectivity test.)
Tessmer teaches on an agent hub device forwarding test traffic ([0030][0070]) and on test results/reply packets ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer is silent on forwarding the test packets to Internet devices and on receiving response test packets from the Internet devices. Tessmer is silent on wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and obtaining, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic.
Lei teaches on wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. first service proxy function entity), after obtaining the traffic, sends the traffic to one or more Internet devices (ie. application server) and obtaining, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned responses in response to the traffic; ([0045] when monitoring that the message sent by the Internet service client is a service message, the first service proxy function entity may further directly forward the service message to the application server; and receive a response message which is returned by the application server after the application server receives the service message and forward the response message to the Internet service client.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer per Lei to include wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and obtaining, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the modified system to provide extensive network testing by including Internet devices which allows for more comprehensive analysis/results.
Regarding Claim 20:
Tessmer teaches An apparatus, comprising: one or more network interfaces to communicate with a network; a processor coupled to the one or more network interfaces (Claim 11. an interface to a physical network that connects the plurality of host machines.) and configured to execute one or more processes; and a memory configured to store a process that is executable by the processor, ([0081] features and applications are implemented as software processes that are specified as a set of instructions recorded on a computer readable storage medium. When these instructions are executed by one or more processing unit(s) (e.g., one or more processors, cores of processors, or other processing units), they cause the processing unit(s) to perform the actions indicated in the instructions.) the process, when executed, configured to:
establish, as an agent hub device (ie. controller, host machine), a tunnel to a remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint); ([0020] a first host machine generates a packet to send for the connectivity test, then (i) inserts logical network information into the generated packet and (ii) encapsulates the generated packet with tunnel endpoint information that specifies a tunnel between the first host machine and a second host machine. Claim 1. … receiving a command to test connectivity between the first host machine and a set of at least one additional host machine that also host virtual machines on the particular logical network; Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the command is received from a network controller that manages the first host machine and a plurality of additional host machines.)
send test traffic into the tunnel to the remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint), ([0026] Next, the process 100 generates (at 110) a connectivity test packet to send to the one or more destination machines for the requested connectivity test. [0027] Thus, the process next appends (at 115) or inserts logical network information to the connectivity test packet. The generated test packet is sent to the virtual switch on the host, which stores the logical network data for various logical networks supported by the host machine. The virtual switch uses this logical network data to append the correct logical network information to the packet in a designated logical network information section. [0028] The process 100 next encapsulates (at 120) the packet in a tunnel between two tunnel endpoints. [0029] Next, the process 100 sends (at 125) the encapsulated packet to the appropriate next hop for the connection between tunnel endpoints.)
wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. next hop, second host machine, tunnel endpoint), after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more ([0030] The command received to initiate the connectivity test may indicate a single destination ( e.g., one host machine) or multiple destinations ( e.g., a broadcast to all host machines that host VMs connected to a particular logical network. The tunnel endpoint then adds different encapsulations for each replicated packet, with packets for different tunnel endpoints having different destination addresses. [0065] Fig 4 & 5, The test packets sent by the host machine that receives the command to initiate a connectivity test first have logical network information appended and are then encapsulated with a tunnel header. [0070] the tunnel encapsulation section contains (i) a source VTEP MAC address, (ii) a destination VTEP MAC address, (iii) a source VTEP IP address, and (iv) a destination VTEP IP address. In the example shown in FIG. 4, the encapsulation on the test packet 420 uses the addresses of the VTEP located at host 400 for its source addresses and the addresses of the VTEP located at host 405 for its destination addresses.) Encapsulation allows the packet to appear as originating from the sender and includes the source address of the sender.
receive, ([0032] After sending the packet or packets, the process 100 awaits (at 130) one or more return packets from the destination host machines. … The virtual switch identifies the logical network information in the packet as well as the flag that marks the packet as a connectivity test packet. Accordingly, the host machine generates a reply to send back to the source machine.)
and produce test results based on the one or more returned test responses. ([0043] The control interface 220 communicates (through a virtual switch, such as virtual switch 210) with one or more controllers external to the host, such as the controller 285. The controllers can send commands to test the connectivity between the host machine 200 and one or more additional host machines (e.g., in the data center). The control interface 220 also sends replies back to the controllers---e.g., VM and/or virtual switch status data, connectivity test results, etc. [0057] reply packets, results of connectivity test.)
Tessmer teaches on an agent hub device forwarding test traffic ([0030][0070]) and on test results/reply packets ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer is silent on forwarding the test packets to Internet devices and on receiving response test packets from the Internet devices. Tessmer is silent on wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and receive, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic.
Lei teaches on wherein the remote vantage point device (ie. first service proxy function entity), after obtaining the traffic, sends the traffic to one or more Internet devices (ie. application server) and receive, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned responses in response to the traffic; ([0045] when monitoring that the message sent by the Internet service client is a service message, the first service proxy function entity may further directly forward the service message to the application server; and receive a response message which is returned by the application server after the application server receives the service message and forward the response message to the Internet service client.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer per Lei to include wherein the remote vantage point device, after obtaining the test traffic, sends the test traffic to one or more Internet devices and receive, from the one or more Internet devices, one or more returned test responses in response to the test traffic. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the modified system to provide extensive network testing by including Internet devices which allows for more comprehensive analysis/results.
Regarding Claims 2, 16:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the inventions of Claims 1, 15 as described.
Tessmer teaches wherein the remote vantage point device sends the test traffic to appear as though the test traffic originates from the remote vantage point device by setting a source address of the test traffic to be a source address of the remote vantage point device. ([0030] The command received to initiate the connectivity test may indicate a single destination ( e.g., one host machine) or multiple destinations ( e.g., a broadcast to all host machines that host VMs connected to a particular logical network. The tunnel endpoint then adds different encapsulations for each replicated packet, with packets for different tunnel endpoints having different destination addresses. [0065] Fig 4 & 5, The test packets sent by the host machine that receives the command to initiate a connectivity test first have logical network information appended and are then encapsulated with a tunnel header. [0070] the tunnel encapsulation section contains (i) a source VTEP MAC address, (ii) a destination VTEP MAC address, (iii) a source VTEP IP address, and (iv) a destination VTEP IP address. In the example shown in FIG. 4, the encapsulation on the test packet 420 uses the addresses of the VTEP located at host 400 for its source addresses and the addresses of the VTEP located at host 405 for its destination addresses.) Encapsulation allows the packet to appear as originating from the sender and includes the source address of the sender.
Regarding Claim 13:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches further comprising: operating as an agent hub device for a plurality of remote vantage point devices. (1. … receiving a command to test connectivity between the first host machine and a set of at least one additional host machine that also host virtual machines on the particular logical network; 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the command is received from a network controller that manages the first host machine and a plurality of additional host machines. [0028]-[0030] multiple endpoints. [0036] The physical network 275 connects the host 200 to additional hosts 280 and network controller 285.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches wherein the agent hub device is a cloud agent. ([0089] Finally, as shown in FIG. 8, bus 805 also couples electronic system 800 to a network 865 through a network adapter (not shown). In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network ("LAN"), a wide area network ("WAN"), or an Intranet, or a network of networks, such as the Internet.)
Regarding Claim 18:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 15 as described.
Tessmer teaches wherein the remote vantage point device comprises a customer router, a virtual private network termination point, or a software-defined wide area network (SDWAN) device configured as a termination point of the tunnel at a customer site. ([0030] The tunnel endpoint then adds different encapsulations for each replicated packet, with packets for different tunnel endpoints having different destination addresses. [0073] In this case, the three hosts 605-615 are in a first subnet, while the three hosts 620-630 are in a second subnet. In some embodiments, these subnets refer to the IP addresses of the tunnel endpoints ( e.g., VTEP5) of the hosts.)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US PGPub 2006/0029064 A1 (Rao).
Regarding Claim 3:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 2 as described.
Tessmer teaches on routing traffic ([0028]-[0030]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic.
Rao teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a method for routing packets from an endpoint to a gateway, Abstract.
Rao also teaches on applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic. ([0128] Once the VPN tunnel is established and routing information for the network on which the VPN gateway computing device 940 resides is retrieved from the VPN gateway computing device 940. [0134] The gateway computing device is a virtual VPN gateway computing device using NAT to masquerade the IP addresses of the protected system and of the private network. A NAT-enabled VPN gateway computing device may monitor and secure packet traffic permitting more secure transmission of traffic to dynamic ports on a client computing device from the private network,)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Rao to include applying an Internet Protocol Network Address Translation Masquerade to the test traffic. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide further security and privacy of IP addressing when testing between nodes in a network.
Claim(s) 4, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US 9411787 B1 (Lad).
Regarding Claims 4, 17:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the inventions of Claims 1, 15 as described.
Tessmer teaches on endpoints adding different encapsulations for each replicated packet when forwarding packets ([0030]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on further comprising: managing domain name service operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device.
Lad teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on cross-layer troubleshooting of application delivery which includes collecting test results from a plurality of distributed agents for a plurality of application delivery layers, Abstract.
Lad teaches managing domain name service (DNS) operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device. (Col 20 ln 24-31, A DNS test (e.g., that can be performed by one or more distributed agents and controlled by agent controllers, such as agent controllers 114) includes several authoritative name servers that serve a specific domain name. For example, DNS queries from agents can be sent to the specified DNS servers targeting the specified domain name (e.g., one or more domain names that an entity wants to test for, such as www.domain-name.com).) The agents will run the domain services from where they are distributed/installed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Lad to include managing domain name service operations to appear to originate from the remote vantage point device. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide a more thorough testing of the cloud environment by including testing domain name services when deploying test agents for determining URL resolution and accuracy.
Claim(s) 5-7, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US PGPub 2005/0094567 A1 (Kannan).
Regarding Claim 5:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches on reply packets and test results ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on determining one or more effects of the tunnel; and removing the one or more effects of the tunnel from the test results.
Kannan teaches, in the same field of endeavor, systems and methods for testing network systems and processors, [0008].
Kannan also teaches determining one or more effects of the tunnel; and removing the one or more effects of the tunnel from the test results. ([0058] Returning to packet generation step 550, PE Router B 1301 receives the generated packets from tunnel 7100 and routes those packets to GRE tunnel 7204 and INE 1171. INE 1171 may then initiate tests of the received packet(s) to determine performance (step 5600). Moreover, in one embodiment, INE 1171 removes the packet loss, jitter, and latency effects of the GRE tunnels 7204 and 7200, so that the determined performance measurements represent only tunnel 7100.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Kannan to include determining one or more effects of the tunnel; and removing the one or more effects of the tunnel from the test results. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide further detail and accuracy in the results by providing only the results of the test traffic data.
Regarding Claim 6:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei & Kannan) teaches on the invention of Claim 5 as described.
Tessmer teaches on reply packets and test results ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises measuring the one or more effects of the tunnel as part of the test traffic.
Kannan teaches wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises measuring the one or more effects of the tunnel as part of the test traffic. ([0060] The jitter, latency, and packet loss effects of GRE tunnels 7200 and 7204 should be removed from performance calculations made for the interface under test. The INE 1171 determines the time Tl, which represents the end-to-end latency (time) measured between INE 1170 (as source) to INE 1171 (as destination). INE 1170 then determines time T2 by performing a loop back test, sending one or more packets (with time stamps) to tunnel 7200, PE Router A 1200, and returning on tunnel 7201.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Kannan to include wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises measuring the one or more effects of the tunnel as part of the test traffic. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide accuracy when removing the effects of the VPN tunnel from the testing results, by testing the tunnels to determine tunnel effects.
Regarding Claim 7:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei & Kannan) teaches on the invention of Claim 5 as described.
Tessmer teaches on reply packets and test results ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises using a pre-determined measurement of the one or more effects of the tunnel for all test traffic.
Kannan teaches wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises using a pre-determined measurement of the one or more effects of the tunnel for all test traffic. ([0059] One way to correct for the GRE tunnel portion 7200 is to use the traditional "ping" protocol utility (from the INE to the PE) on the GRE Tunnel 7200 and use the results to correct for the error introduced by the GRE tunnel 7200. Another ping can be performed over GRE tunnel 7204. The results of the ping tests, which provide time to traverse the tunnels, can be used to remove the effects of each of tunnels 7200 and 7204. A more accurate approach is to use a loop back (also referred to as a second tunnel approach). For example, to correct for GRE tunnel 7200, tunnel 7201 is established, and to correct for tunnel 7204, tunnel 7203 is established, as shown in FIG. 7.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Kannan to include wherein determining the one or more effects of the tunnel comprises using a pre-determined measurement of the one or more effects of the tunnel for all test traffic. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide accuracy when removing the effects of the tunnel from the testing results, by pre-testing the tunnels to determine tunnel effects and providing this as a pre-determined measurement before submitting other test traffic into the tunnels.
Regarding Claim 11:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches on tunnels and tunnel encapsulation ([0030][0031]) However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on wherein the tunnel is an Internet Protocol Security Virtual Private Network tunnel.
Kannan teaches wherein the tunnel is an Internet Protocol Security Virtual Private Network tunnel. (Claim 18. The method of claim 17, comprising: establishing the tunnel based on at least one of a Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE) protocol, an IPSec (Internet Protocol Security) protocol, a VLAN protocol, and an IP encapsulation within IP (IP-in-IP) protocol.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Kannan to include wherein the tunnel is an Internet Protocol Security Virtual Private Network tunnel. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide further security when testing between private networks.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US Patent 8,989,199 B1 (Sella).
Regarding Claim 10:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches on multiple controllers, host machines and endpoints as well as testing connectivity of segments ([0028][0043]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on further comprising: selecting the agent hub device based on one or more performance minimums between the agent hub device and the remote vantage point device.
Sella teaches, in the same field of endeavor, A Software Defined Network (SDN) includes a plurality of forwarding devices and a routing control device located separate from the forwarding devices, Abstract.
Sella also teaches further comprising: selecting the agent hub device based on one or more performance minimums between the agent hub device and the remote vantage point device. (The forwarding device may ask the controller with the lowest latency to establish a fast path to a destination. For example, a device may choose to balance traffic across multiple paths to the controllers, perhaps by rounding the metric to a closest 5 for example, therefore treating performance values of 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 as the same as a value of 5. Among those controllers with the lowest rounded metric, the forwarding device may adopt a round robin algorithm to select the controller to create the fast path. This helps to limit the impact of slight modifications in the performance values as the network reacts to real world situations., Col 10 ln 33-45)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Sella to include further comprising: selecting the agent hub device based on one or more performance minimums between the agent hub device and the remote vantage point device. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to choose an agent hub device closest to areas of the network that will be tested as well as allowing for choosing a controller with the least latency, see Sella (Col 10 ln 33-45).
Claim(s) 8-9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0103679 Al (Tessmer) in view of US 2013/0311654 Al (Lei) further in view of US Patent 10,728,135 B2 (Raney).
Regarding Claim 8:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches on multiple controllers, host machines and endpoints as well as testing connectivity of segments ([0028][0043]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on further comprising: measuring one or more metrics between each of a plurality of candidate agent hub devices and the remote vantage point device; and selecting the agent hub device from the plurality of candidate agent hub devices based on the one or more measured metrics .
Raney teaches further comprising: measuring one or more metrics between each of a plurality of candidate agent hub devices and the remote vantage point device; and selecting the agent hub device from the plurality of candidate agent hub devices based on the one or more measured metrics. (Col 7 ln 16-26, Deployment information 215 can include, for example, information concerning geographic location, source/destination addresses such as IP (Internet Protocol) addresses, traffic type, server zone, geographic region, a range of IP addresses, a data center identifier, a server identifier, a cluster identifier, a host identifier, a geo-location identifier, and/or other desired deployment information, Col 6 ln 58-65. When testing is desired, the test controller 220 uses this deployment information 215 within database 216 to determine processing nodes for dynamic placement of test agents.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Raney to include further comprising: measuring one or more metrics between each of a plurality of candidate agent hub devices and the remote vantage point device; and selecting the agent hub device from the plurality of candidate agent hub devices based on the one or more measured metrics. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide optimal placement of probes/test agents based on collected metrics, see Raney Col 7 ln 16-26.
Regarding Claim 9:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei & Raney) teaches on the invention of Claim 8 as described.
Tessmer teaches on reply packets and test results ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on wherein the one or more measured metrics are selected from a group consisting of: geographical distance; latency; bandwidth; number of autonomous system hops; number of hops; and jitter.
Raney teaches wherein the one or more measured metrics are selected from a group consisting of: geographical distance (ie. region, zone, geo-location identifier). (Col 7 ln 16-26, Deployment information 215 can include, for example, information concerning geographic location, source/destination addresses such as IP (Internet Protocol) addresses, traffic type, server zone, geographic region, a range of IP addresses, a data center identifier, a server identifier, a cluster identifier, a host identifier, a geo-location identifier, and/or other desired deployment information, Col 6 ln 58-65. When testing is desired, the test controller 220 uses this deployment information 215 within database 216 to determine processing nodes for dynamic placement of test agents.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Raney to include wherein the one or more measured metrics are selected from a group consisting of: geographical distance. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide optimal placement of probes/test agents based on distance, see Raney Col 7 ln 16-26.
Regarding Claim 12:
Tessmer (as modified by Lei) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Tessmer teaches on reply packets and test results ([0043][0057]). However, Tessmer (as modified by Lei) is silent on wherein the test traffic comprises probe traffic to one or more applications.
Raney teaches wherein the test traffic comprises probe traffic to one or more applications. (When testing is desired, the test controller 220 uses this deployment information 215 within database 216 to determine processing nodes for dynamic placement of test agents. For example, it is assumed for example embodiment 200 that a test is desired for network traffic between an application in the first server zone (ZONE1) 108 and an application in the second server zone (ZONE2) 110. As such, test agents 208 and 210 have been dynamically placed and activated with respect to application 206 and application 124 while no test agent has been placed and activated in the third server zone (ZONE3) 112 for application 114B, Col 7 ln 16-26)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tessmer (as modified by Lei) by modifying Tessmer per Raney to include wherein the test traffic comprises probe traffic to one or more applications. This would have been advantageous as discussed, as it would allow the combined system to provide collection abilities to the generated packets, to be able to customize the metrics collected along the path taken by the packet.
Claims not rejected with Prior Art
Claim 19 is allowable over the prior art, but is however rejected with 112(b) and dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim 19. The tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium as in claim 15, wherein the agent hub device comprises a cloud hub device configured to support multiple agent hub customers, and wherein the test traffic is sent to the remote vantage point device over a customer-specific routing path associated with a customer associated with the remote vantage point device, the customer-specific routing path being provided using one of: a lightweight ephemeral virtual private network container that leverages a Kubernetes namespace associated with the customer; or a virtual private network configuration embedded within an agent container of a customer-specific agent associated with the customer.
Conclusion & Contact Information
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454