DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to a request for continued examination filed on 12/15/2025. Claims 1-9, 12-23 are pending; claims 1,18, 20 have been amended; claims 10-11 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, 18 recites “sungear” should read -- sun gear—to correct spelling error.
Claim 7 recites “said second reduction system” should read -- said second transfer system-- to be consistence with the terminology recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “6” has been used to designate both “first transfer system” and “clutch system” in Fig.2-3 (see annotated Fig below). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “An electrically driven axle, e-axle/e-beam, for a vehicle, the e- axle/e-beam comprising a casing defining a space separated from an external environment and at least one electric machine and a pair of drive shafts each connected to a respective wheel and supported by said casing electrically driven axle, e-axle/e-beam, for a vehicle, the e- axle/e-beam comprising a casing defining a space separated from an external environment and at least one electric machine and a pair of drive shafts each connected to a respective wheel and supported by said casing electrically driven axle, e-axle/e-beam, for a vehicle, the e-axle/e-beam comprising a casing defining a space separated from an external environment and at least one electric machine and a pair of drive shafts each connected to a respective wheel and supported by said casing”. It is unclear because claim appears to repeat its introductory clause “the e- axle/e-beam comprising a casing defining a space separated from an external environment and at least one electric machine and a pair of drive shafts each connected to a respective wheel and supported by said casing” . This repetition create the claim structure impossible to determine what the proper antecedent basis is for subsequent claim limitations, how the various claim elements relation one another structurally.
Claim 20 recites “the first transfer system”; “the clutch system” in line 10,11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites “the second transfer system” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KLEIN (DE102019112553A1 cited from IDS submitted on 10/25/2024) in view of NAKAJIMA (US 20170074372 A1) and further in view of Zhang (US 11400803 B1)
Claim 1: KLEIN discloses an electrically driven axle (Fig.1), e-axle/e-beam, for a vehicle (¶[0001]: “The invention relates to a drive device for a motor vehicle, comprising an electric machine which is operatively connected to a transmission device”),
e-axle/e-beam comprising at least one electric machine (1) and a pair of drive shafts (12a, 12b) each connected to a respective wheel (wheels- not shown but it is well known that wheels are connected to output shafts 12a, 12b to transmit torque from transmission to the wheels in order to drive vehicle, all vehicles necessarily have wheels),
said e-axle comprising a transmission chain (13,14,15, 2, 3, 6) operationally connecting said at least one electric machine (1) to said pair of drive shafts (12a,12b), said transmission chain (13,14,15, 2, 3, 6) comprising operationally interposed in series between said at least one electric machine (1) and said pair of drive shafts (12a,12b) a first transfer system (13,14,15), a speed shift system (2) and a second transfer system (4) and a differential assembly (6), wherein said electric machine (1) drives an operating shaft (17) operationally connected by said first transfer system (13,14,15) to an input shaft (16) carried in a rotationally free manner (¶[0028]) by one (12b) of said drive shafts (12a, 12b) and operationally connected to said second transfer system (4) via said speed ratio shift system (2),
said first transfer system (13,14,15) defining at least one speed jump (13,14) between said operating shaft (17) and said input shaft (16), said speed shift system (2) comprising a clutch shift system (e.g. the dual clutch device, see ¶[0028]),
KLEIN does not explicitly disclose a casing defining a space separated from the external environment; the pair of drive shafts supported by the casing; and a fluid actuation system for said clutch system, said fluid actuation system being integrated into said input shaft, and a lubrication system for said transmission chain, said lubrication system being interposed in series with one of said drive shafts; wherein the lubrication system is integrated into a first portion of said one of said drive shafts and includes a first branch and a second branch connected to the first branch, wherein a first end of said second branch is open at an end of the first portion inside the differential assembly, wherein the lubrication system further includes a plurality of lubrication branches connected to the second branch that are spaced at intervals along the second branch and extend radially therefrom.
NAKAJIMA teaches a transmission (10; Figs.1 and 4) having a casing (11) defining a space (internal cavity within the casing 11) separated from the external environment (e.g. casing is capable of protect internal space from external environment); a clutch shift system (C2, C1); a fluid actuation system (e.g. oil passages, see ¶[0070], [0077]) for the clutch system (C1, C2), said fluid actuation system being integrated into said input shaft (¶[0070] and [0077]: the oil passages formed in the input shaft 20i).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include casing defining a space separated from the external environment; replace the input shaft with the dual clutch of KLEIN with said input shaft that has fluid actuation system being integrated into it along with the clutches as taught by NAKAJIMA in the e-axle beam of KLEIN for the purpose of protecting the transmission from dust, debris and in order to provide constant supply of lubricant to the system respectively, also providing a compact electric axle.
Zhang teaches hybrid electric powertrain (Fig.2) having a lubrication system (99) for a transmission (22); wherein the lubrication system (99) is integrated into a first portion (e.g. portion of shaft 76 on the right) of one of the shafts (76) and includes a first branch (93) and a second branch (92) connected to the first branch (93), wherein a first end (the axial end on the right side of 92) of said second branch (92) is open at an end of the first portion (portion of shaft 76 on the right) inside a differential assembly (34) (as shown in Fig.2, the second branch 92 terminates at the second axial end 88b on the right side of shaft 76. At this end, it is open to the differential 34 via passage 94. These passages are located near at the axial end 88b within the differential 34. Therefore, the first end of second branch is open inside the differential as claimed) wherein the lubrication system (99) further includes a plurality of lubrication branches (94) connected to the second branch (92) that are spaced at intervals along the second branch (92) and extend radially therefrom (The term “along” does not limited to axial length spacing; “along” reasonably encompasses distribution along perimeter of a branch of lubrication system. In this case, passages 94 are spaced at circumferential intervals along the perimeter of second branch 92 at its end. Thereof, it meets the claimed limitation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in incorporating the features of Nakajima as noted above, to apply a shaft integrated lubrication structure of Zhang within the electric axle of KLEIN for the purpose of simplifying lubrication routing, reducing external pumping and efficiency supplying lubricant to both differential and transmission elements.
As a result, a final structure of modified KLEIN device in view of NAKAJIMA and ZHANG would (a) include case (11-NAKAJIMA) as taught by NAKAJIMA enclosed the transmission of KLEIN; and (b) replace input shaft (16-KLEIN) and schematic clutches (2-KLEIN) in KLEIN with the input shaft (20i-NAKAJIMA) that has the fluid actuation system (e.g. oil passages , see ¶[0070], [0077]) and structure clutches (C1, C2-NAKAJIMA) as taught by NAKAJIMA. Consequently, the pair of drive shafts (12a, 12b-KLEIN) from original KLEIN device must be at least indirectly supported by the casing (11-as taught by NAKAJIMA); (c)-would replace shaft (center shaft between clutch 2 and differential 6) of KLEIN with the shaft (76-Zhang) that has the lubrication system (99-Zhang) as taught by Zhang.
Claim 2: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 1, wherein said clutch shift system (C1, C2-NAKAJIMA) comprises a chamber (130; NAKAJIMA) rotatably carried (e.g. connected to) by an element (KLEIN:15) of said first transfer system (KLEIN: 13,14,15).
Claim 4: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 1, wherein said chamber (130: NAKAJIMA) is carried by (via 120- NAKAJIMA) said input shaft (20i: NAKAJIMA).
Claim 5: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 1, wherein said second transfer system (4-KLEIN) is with epicyclic gears (KLEIN: ¶[0024]: “The planetary gear 4 has several triple planet gears 5”), said speed shift system (2-KLEIN) being configured to allow torque input to said second system (4-KLEIN) transferor through selectively different elements of said transfer system (KLEIN: ¶[0025]: “the first sun gear 8a is operatively connected to a first clutch connection 2a of the dual clutch device 2. In contrast, the second sun gear 8b is operatively connected to a second clutch connection 2b of the dual clutch device 2”or ¶[0027]).
Claim 6: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 5, in which said second transfer system (4-KLEIN) has compound-type epicyclic gears, comprising a first (8a-KLEIN) and a second sun gear (8b-KLEIN), a crown (9-KLEIN) connected to the casing (11-NAKAJIMA) and a first (5b/5c-KLEIN) and second (5c-KLEIN) plurality of satellites meshing between the respective sun gear (8a-KLEIN) and said crown (9-KLEIN) and connected by a common carrier (7-KLEIN), said satellites (5a-5c: -KLEIN) connected to each other and insisting on said carrier (7-KLEIN) being operationally connected to said differential assembly (6-KLEIN), said gear system selectively connecting one of said first (8a-KLEIN) and a second sun gear (8b-KLEIN) to said input shaft (20i-NAKAJIMA).
Claim 17: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang discloses a vehicle comprising an E-axle/E-beam (KLEIN: Fig.1 and ¶[0022]) according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 12, 15, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KLEIN (DE102019112553A1 cited from IDS) in view of NAKAJIMA (US 20170074372 A1) and Zhang (US 11400803 B1) and further in view of Chen (CN112797135A)
Claim 12: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang does not explicitly disclose said differential assembly includes a plurality of satellites driven by said second transfer system and meshing with a first and a second bevel wheel carried by a respective drive shaft.
CHEN teaches a mechanism system(100; Fig.1) includes a differential assembly (30) includes a plurality of satellites (33) driven by a transfer system (10) and meshing with a first (35) and a second bevel (36) wheel carried by a respective drive shaft (52,72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said differential assembly includes a plurality of satellites driven by said second transfer system and meshing with a first and a second bevel wheel carried by a respective drive shaft as taught by CHEN in the modified axle of KLEIN in order to allow the wheels to rotate at different speeds and/or to provide a compact, known specific differential.
As a result, the modified KLEIN device would replace the schematic differential assembly (6-KLEIN) with the structural differential assembly (30-CHEN) as taught by CHEN.
Claim 15: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang does not disclose a parking brake system configured to cooperate operationally with at least one of the second transfer system or the differential assembly to block the movement of said E-axle/E-beam.
CHEN teaches a mechanism system(100; Fig.1) includes a parking brake system (90) configured to cooperate operationally
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have parking brake system configured to cooperate operationally the differential assembly to block the movement of axle as taught by CHEN in the modified axle of KLEIN in order to hold vehicle in place.
As a result, the modified KLEIN device would be include the brake system (90-CHEN) that connects to differential assembly (6-KLEIN).
Claim 22: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang discloses wherein the first transfer system (13,14,15:KLEIN) includes: 1) a first gear (13: KLEIN) supported by: a) an operating shaft (17: KLEIN) of the at least one electric machine (1) and 2) a second gear (15: KLEIN) supported by: b) the input shaft (20i: NAKAJIMA).
KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang does not the first gear supported by a support shaft and the second supported by the support shaft.
Chen teaches an axle system having a transfer system (see annotated Fig below) includes a first gear (see annotated Fig below) supported by a supported shaft (see annotated Fig below) and second gear (see annotated Fig below) supported by a supported shaft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include supported shaft and a gear as taught by Chen in the modified device of KLEIN for the purpose increase torque capacity, reduce motor speed before transmit to planetary gearsets, and/or increase flexibility on placement of the motor in an axial direction of the motor.
As a result, the modified KLEIN device would include operating shaft (see annotated Fig below-as taught by CHEN) and a gear (see annotated Fig below-as taught by CHEN).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a gear)]
Claim 23: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA, Zhang and CHEN discloses the E-axle according to claim 22, wherein an axis (e.g. axis in axial direction) of the operating shaft (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 22) and an axis (e.g. axis in axial direction) of the support shaft (KLEIN: 17) are both parrel to a longitudinal axis of the e-axle/e-beam and wherein the second branch (92: Zhang) is coaxial to the longitudinal axis of the e-axle/e-beam.
Claim(s) 13-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KLEIN (DE102019112553A1 cited from IDS) in view of NAKAJIMA (US 20170074372 A1) and Zhang (US 11400803 B1) and further in view of BORNTRÄGER (DE 102019206954 A1).
Claim 13: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang does not disclose a differential lock system configured to inhibit the function of said differential assembly.
BORNTRÄGER teaches a drive axle (4; Fig.4) having a differential lock system (E; Fig.4) configured to inhibit the function of a differential assembly (DI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the differential of KLEIN with a differential lock system configured to inhibit the function of said differential assembly as taught by BORNTRÄGER in the modified electric axle of KLEIN in order to distribute more even torque on both shafts which helps maintain traction, reduces wheel slippage.
As a result, the modified KLEIN device would replace the schematic differential assembly (6-KLEIN) in original device of KLEIN with the differential lock system (E- BORNTRÄGER) as taught by BORNTRÄGER.
Claim 14: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and Zhang does not disclose optional wheel hub transfer systems operationally interposed between each wheel and the respective drive shaft.
BORNTRÄGER teaches a drive axle (4; Fig.4) having optional wheel hub transfer systems (PS3-fig.4) operationally interposed between each wheel (R1, R2) and the respective drive shaft (2a, 2b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optional wheel hub transfer systems operationally interposed between each wheel and the respective drive shaft as taught by BORNTRÄGER in the electric axle of KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA in order to provide high torque output to the wheels.
As a result, the modified KLEIN device would include optional wheel hub transfer system (PS3-Fig.4 of BORNTRÄGER) on both side of the half shafts from KLEIN.
Claim 16: KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA and KETCHEL does not disclose a system for disconnection of said drive shafts.
BORNTRÄGER teaches a drive axle (4; Fig.4) having a system (E; Fig.4) for disconnection (when E is opened) of said drive shafts (2a,2b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system for disconnection of said drive shafts as taught by BORNTRÄGER in the electric axle of KLEIN as modified by NAKAJIMA in order to improve acceleration, and axle would experience less wear and/or to reduce wheel slip when a wheel is slipping also simultaneously allow for different wheel speeds when the wheels are not slipping.
As a result, the modified KLEIN device would include disconnection system (E: Fig.4 of BORNTRÄGER ) between the differential (6:KLEIN) and half shaft (12a:KLEIN).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220250468 A1) in view of ISHIKAWA (JP2016001033A) and further in view of Zhang (US 11400803 B1)
Claim 1: LIU discloses an electrically driven axle (Fig.1), e-axle/e-beam, for a vehicle (¶[0002]),
The e-axle/e-beam comprising a case (see annotated Fig. below) defining a space (see annotated fig below) separated from the external environment (casing is capable protect the space from external environment as claimed); a pair of drive shafts (e.g. half shafts) supported by the casing,
said e-axle/e-beam comprising at least one electric machine (EM) and a pair of drive shafts (e.g. half shafts) each connected to a respective wheel (wheels- not shown but it is well known that wheels are connected to half shafts transmit torque from transmission to the wheels in order to drive vehicle),
said e-axle comprising a transmission chain (G1,G2, K1, K2, PG1, SU1, R1, SU2, PG2, R2, P, DM) operationally connecting said at least one electric machine (EM) to said pair of drive shafts (e.g. half shafts),
said transmission chain (G1,G2, K1, K2, PG1, SU1, R1, SU2, PG2, R2, P, DM) comprising operationally interposed in series (e.g. base on the torque flows) between said at least one electric machine (EM) and said pair of drive shafts (half shafts) a first transfer system (G1,G2), a speed shift system (K1, K2) and a second transfer system (PG1, SU1, R1, SU2, PG2, R2, P; or alternatively only PG2 and P) and a differential assembly (DM),
wherein said electric machine (EM) drives an operating shaft (S1) operationally connected by said first transfer system (G1,G2) to an input shaft (S2) carried in a rotationally free manner by one (one of the half shafts) of said drive shafts (half shafts) and operationally connected to said second transfer system (PG1, SU1, R1, SU2, PG2, R2, P; or alternatively PG2 and P) via said speed ratio shift system (K1, K2),
said first transfer system (G1, G2) defining at least one speed jump (G1, G2) between said operating shaft (S1) and said input shaft (S2), said speed shift system (K1, K2) comprising a clutch shift system (e.g. two clutches, see ¶[0006]),
LIU does not explicitly disclose a fluid actuation system for said clutch system, said fluid actuation system being integrated into said input shaft, and a lubrication system for said transmission chain, said lubrication system being interposed in series with one of said drive shafts; wherein the lubrication system is integrated into a first portion of said one of said drive shafts and includes a first branch and a second branch connected to the first branch, wherein a first end of said second branch is open at an end of the first portion inside the differential assembly, wherein the lubrication system further includes a plurality of lubrication branches connected to the second branch that are spaced at intervals along the second branch and extend radially therefrom.
ISHIKAWA teaches a double clutch apparatus (10; Fig.1) having a clutch shift system (20,30), a fluid actuation system (43, 44, 45, 46) for the clutch system (20,30), said fluid actuation system being integrated into a shaft (42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace input shaft of KLEIN with the shaft that has a fluid actuation system being integrated into the shaft as taught by ISHIKAWA in the e-axle beam of KLEIN in order to provide constant supply of lubricant to the system, also providing a compact electric axle and/or to provide better heat dissipation.
Zhang teaches hybrid electric powertrain (Fig.2) having a lubrication system (99) for a transmission (22); wherein the lubrication system (99) is integrated into a first portion (e.g. portion of shaft 76 on the right) of one of the shafts (76) and includes a first branch (93) and a second branch (92) connected to the first branch (93), wherein a first end (the axial end on the right side of 92) of said second branch (92) is open at an end of the first portion (portion of shaft 76 on the right) inside a differential assembly (34) (as shown in Fig.2, the second branch 92 terminates at the second axial end 88b on the right side of shaft 76. At this end, it is open to the differential 34 via passage 94. These passages are located near at the axial end 88b within the differential 34. Therefore, the first end of second branch is open inside the differential as claimed) wherein the lubrication system (99) further includes a plurality of lubrication branches (94) connected to the second branch (92) that are spaced at intervals along the second branch (92) and extend radially therefrom (The term “along” does not limited to axial length spacing; “along” reasonably encompasses distribution along perimeter of a branch of lubrication system. In this case, passages 94 are spaced at circumferential intervals along the perimeter of second branch 92 at its end. Thereof, it meets the claimed limitation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a shaft integrated lubrication structure of Zhang within the electric axle of LIU for the purpose of simplifying lubrication routing, reducing external pumping and efficiency supplying lubricant to both differential and transmission elements.
As a result, the final structure of LIU in view of ISHIKAWA and Zhang would replace (1) input shaft (s2-LIU) of LIU with shaft (42: ISHIKAWA) that has fluid actuation system (43, 44, 45, 46:ISHIKAWA) being integrated into it a as taught by ISHIKAWA; (2) would replace drive shaft (LIU: e.g. drive shaft to the left side) in LIU with the shaft (76-Zhang) that has the lubrication system (99- Zhang) as taught by Zhang.
[AltContent: textbox (chamber)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 3: LIU as modified by ISHIKAWA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 1, wherein said clutch shift system includes a chamber (see annotated Fig above) carried fixedly by said casing (see annotated Fig above).
Claim 7: LIU as modified by ISHIKAWA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 1. ISHIKAWA further teaches wherein said chamber (ISHIKAWA: 40; Fig.1) and hub (ISHIKAWA: 21) define a first (ISHIKAWA: 49) and a second (ISHIKAWA: 47) actuation chamber, a first (ISHIKAWA: 36) and a second piston (ISHIKAWA: 26) housed in a respective of said first and second actuation chambers and a pair of counter discs (ISHIKAWA: 32 and 37; 22 and 27) movable with respect to said hub (ISHIKAWA: 21), said clutch system comprising a first (33) and a second (23) plurality of discs carried by the respective support elements (24,34: ISHIKAWA); said first (ISHIKAWA: 33) and second (ISHIKAWA: 23) plurality of discs being connectable by friction to said hub (ISHIKAWA: 21) through the contact action of said counter discs (ISHIKAWA: 32 and 37; 22 and 27).
Note: LIU explicitly discloses integrating clutch system (K1, K2) with different elements (R1, R2) of said second reduction system (LIU: PG1, SU1, R1, SU2, PG2, R2, P). As a result, as modified LIU device would replace schematic clutches of LIU with clutch system (20,30-ISHIKAWA) as taught by ISHIKAWA. Thereof, the modified LIU device also discloses said clutch system comprising a first (ISHIKAWA: 33) and a second (ISHIKAWA: 23) plurality of discs carried by the respective support elements (24,34: ISHIKAWA) by respective different elements (R1, R2) of said second reduction system (LIU: PG1, SU1, R1, SU2, PG2, R2, P).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the schematic clutches of LIU with structural friction clutches as taught by ISHIKAWA for the advantage of compact design by reducing the axial spacing.
Claim 8: LIU as modified by ISHIKAWA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 7, wherein said fluid actuation system (ISHIKAWA: 43-46) includes a first (ISHIKAWA: 43) and a second actuation duct (ISHIKAWA: 45) configured to fluidly connect respective sources (ISHIKAWA: an oil supply source (not shown), see ¶0029]) of operating fluid under pressure in said first (ISHIKAWA: 49) and second (ISHIKAWA: 47) actuation chambers.
Claim 9: LIU as modified by ISHIKAWA and Zhang discloses the E-axle/E-beam according to claim 7, in which said first (ISHIKAWA: 49) and second (ISHIKAWA: 47) actuation chambers are fluidly separated from each other (ISHIKAWA: as shown in Fig.1; both chambers are separated from one another).
Claim 17: LIU as modified by ISHIKAWA and Zhang discloses a vehicle (¶[0002]) comprising an E-axle/E-beam (LIU: Fig.1) according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220250468 A1) in view of ISHIKAWA (JP2016001033A)
Claim 20: LIU discloses an electrically driven axle (Fig.1), e-axle/e-beam, for a vehicle ((¶[0002]),
the e- axle/e-beam comprising a casing (see annotated Fig. below) defining a space (see annotated fig below) separated from the external environment (casing is capable protect the space from external environment as claimed) and at least one electric machine (EM) and a pair of drive shafts (e.g. half shafts) each connected to a respective wheel (wheels- not shown but it is well known that wheels are connected to half shafts transmit torque from transmission to the wheels in order to drive vehicle) and supported by said casing (see annotated Fig. below) ;
e- axle/e-beam comprising a casing (see annotated Fig. below) defining a space (see annotated fig below) separated from the external environment (casing is capable protect the space from external environment as claimed) and at least one electric machine (EM) and a pair of drive shafts (e.g. half shafts) each connected to a respective wheel (wheels- not shown but it is well known that wheels are connected to half shafts transmit torque from transmission to the wheels in order to drive vehicle) and supported by said casing (see annotated Fig. below)
LIU does not disclose a fluid actuation system comprises at least one pair of actuation ducts formed inside the input shaft and configured to be fluidically connected, respectively, to first and second chambers of the clutch shift system, wherein the first transfer system is disposed between the at least one pair of actuation ducts and the clutch system.
ISHIKAWA teaches a double clutch apparatus (10; Fig.1) having a clutch shift system (20,30), a fluid actuation system (43, 44, 45, 46) comprises at least one pair of actuation ducts (43, 44, 45, 46) formed inside an input shaft (42) and configured to be fluidically connected, respectively, to first (49) and second (47) chambers of the clutch shift system (30,20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement shaft-integrated hydraulic system of ISHIKAWA (43-46 in shaft 42 supplying to chambers 47,49) into hollow shaft (s2) of LIU’s e-axle in order to provide constant supply of lubricant to the system, also providing a compact electric axle and/or to improve heat dissipation.
As a result of combination: the actuation ducts (ISHIKAWA43-46) are formed inside input shaft (LIU: S2), wherein a first transfer system (LIU: G1) is disposed between the at least one pair of actuation ducts and the clutch system (K1,K2).
Claim 21: LIU as modified by ISHIKAWA discloses the E-axle according to claim 20, wherein a location (wherein G1 and G2 meshes) at which the first transfer system (LIU: G1) has a geared connection with the input shaft (S2: LIU) is located between the at least one pair of actuation ducts (ISHIKAWA43-46) and the clutch system (K1,K2) and a second transfer system (PG1, PG2).
Note: As the result of the modified LIU device, the fluid would logically be supplied at the end of shaft S2 in LIU. Thereof, the modified device necessarily has the geared connection of first transfer system (G1) located axially between the actuation ducts in the shaft and the clutch/second transfer system.
Response to Amendment/Argument
The previous claim objection has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to claim 22.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 7-9, and 17 under 35 USC§ 103 on the grounds of allegedly being unpatentable over KLEIN in view NAKAJIMA and further in view of Ketchel and unpatentable over LIU in view of Ishikawa and further in view of Ketchel have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang (see rejections above).
With respect to the rejection of claims 12, 15, 22, 23 under 35 USC§ 103 on the grounds of allegedly being unpatentable over KLEIN in view NAKAJIMA and further in view of Ketchel and Chen have been considered but are not persuasive because the examiner relies on Zhang to teaches the amended limitation of claim 1. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments concerning the deficiencies of Chen do not address the applied combination.
With respect to the rejection of claims 13-14, 16 under 35 USC§ 103 on the grounds of allegedly being unpatentable over KLEIN in view NAKAJIMA and further in view of Ketchel and Borntrager have been considered but are not persuasive because the examiner relies on Zhang to teaches the amended limitation of claim 1. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments concerning the deficiencies of Borntrager do not address the applied combination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are allowed.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hughes (US 20170227103 A1) discloses lubrication system integrated within a shaft
Conclusion
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655A
/STACEY A FLUHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655