Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 8/13/2026 with respect to the previous rejections of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, and as necessitated by the amendments, new grounds of rejection is made in view of Khoo et al. (US 2021/0186755).
Claim Interpretation
Any use of the term “and/or” and “or” in the claims renders the associated limitation(s) as optional (as one example, the new limitations in claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khoo et al. (US 2021/0186755, hereinafter Khoo).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-20, Khoo discloses a system with a footplate 534 shaped to mate with a slcera or adjacent a corneal limbus of the eye (see abstract and fig. 5). One or more waveguides 536 are coupled to the footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees and are positioned to transmit laser light through aperture(s) of the footplate when mated with the eye (par. 0030, 0052, 0057, figure 5). A laser control system 102 delivers energy to the pans plana, pans plicata and/or the trabecular meshwork, if so desired by a user (see par. 0038, 0041, abstract).
As claims 1-18 are apparatus claims, they are governed by the following principles of law:
"To anticipate a claim, a reference must disclose every element of thechallenged claim and enable one skilled in the art to make the anticipatingsubject matter." PPG Indus. Inc. v. Guardian Indus. Corp, 75 F.3d 1558,1566 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
"[T]he patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends onthe claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure." CatalinaMktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801,809 (Fed. Cir.2002).
"It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an oldproduct does not make a claim to that old product patentable." In reSchreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The footplate is configured/shaped/dimensioned to be placed and moved as necessary in any manner (e.g., tangential, circumferential, zig-zag and/or radial motion) to accomplish the recited limitations.
Regarding claim 9, Khoo discloses the width (diameter) to be greater than 5 mm (i.e., about 1 cm) and the footplate of Khoo is defined by the Examiner as a portion of the distal end 534 that has a thickness of 0.1-1cm (par. 0048).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,700,461 in view of Khoo. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate most of the disclosed structure of the current claims (contact member = footplate, treatment fibers = waveguides, laser = laser) and are configured/sized/dimensioned to perform any claimed intended uses in the current claims (e.g., positioning, tangential, circumferential and/or radial motion, etc.). However, the patented claims are silent as to the waveguides being at an angle to the footplate. Khoo discloses an analogous system with one or more waveguides 536 coupled to a footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to couple the waveguides to the footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees in order to direct the laser light to appropriate target tissues.
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,500,094 in view of Khoo. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate most of the disclosed structure of the current claims (contact surface = footplate, treatment fibers = waveguides) and are configured/sized/dimensioned to perform any claimed intended uses in the current claims (e.g., positioning, tangential, circumferential and/or radial motion, etc.). However, the patented claims are silent as to the waveguides being laser waveguides attached at an angle to the footplate. Khoo discloses an analogous system with one or more laser waveguides 536 coupled to a footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to couple the waveguides to the footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees in order to direct the laser light to appropriate target tissues.
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,292,868 in view of Khoo. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate most of the disclosed structure of the current claims (contoured distal end = footplate, optical fibers = waveguides, laser = laser) and are configured/sized/dimensioned to perform any claimed intended uses in the current claims (e.g., positioning, tangential, circumferential and/or radial motion, etc.). However, the patented claims are silent as to the waveguides being at an angle to the footplate. Khoo discloses an analogous system with one or more waveguides 536 coupled to a footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to couple the waveguides to the footplate at an angle between 1 degree and less than 90 degrees in order to direct the laser light to appropriate target tissues.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796