DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 25 October 2024.
Claims 61-78 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 October 2024 and 04 March 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claims 61-69 and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are broader in every aspect than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 61 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to gain information on a predicted future route of the user entity and inform the cellular network on the predicted future route.
Claim 12 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers, continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area, and send a tracking area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area
wherein the user entity is configured to gain information on a predicted future route of the user entity and inform the cellular network on the predicted future route.
Claim 61 of the present application merely broaden the scope of dependent claim 12 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 by eliminating manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers, continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area, and send a tracking area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area.
Dependent claim 62 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 61.
Claim 63 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers.
Claim 10 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers, continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area, and send a tracking area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area
configured to perform the managing of the set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers with respect to one or more wireless connections to the cellular network of a set of current wireless connections to the cellular network.
Claim 63 of the present application merely broaden the scope of dependent claim 10 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 by eliminating manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers, continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area, and send a tracking area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area.
Dependent claim 64-69 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 63.
Claim 78 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communicating over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking/paging area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area and send a tracking/paging area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area.
Claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 is directed to A method for communication over a cellular network, comprising: managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers, continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area, and send a tracking area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area.
Claim 78 of the present application merely broaden the scope of independent claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,143,866 by eliminating managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers.
Claims 61-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are broader in every aspect than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 61 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to gain information on a predicted future route of the user entity and inform the cellular network on the predicted future route.
Claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for gaining information on a predicted future route of the user entity; and informing, upon a request from the cellular network, the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a list of locations along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of the set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Claim 61 of the present application merely broaden the scope of independent claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 by eliminating and informing, upon a request from the cellular network, the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a list of locations along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of the set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Dependent claim 62 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 61.
Claim 63 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers.
Claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for gaining information on a predicted future route of the user entity; and informing, upon a request from the cellular network, the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a list of locations along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of the set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers.
Claim 63 of the present application merely broaden the scope of dependent claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 by eliminating wherein the user entity comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for gaining information on a predicted future route of the user entity; and informing, upon a request from the cellular network, the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a list of locations along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of the set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Dependent claim 64-69 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 63.
Claim 70 of the instant application is directed to A base station of a cellular network configured to determine a preliminary set of one or more target base stations of the cellular network based on a predicted future route of a user entity currently connected to the cellular network via the base station or triggered by the user entity entering a predetermined area, query each of the preliminary set of one or more target base stations regarding an accessibility of the cellular network via the respective target base station, receive, from each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations, an answer to the query, sending to the user entity a schedule indicating, for each of a set of one or more base stations within the preliminary set, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters indicating that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters, cutting, upon receipt of an access confirmation from any of the set of one or more base stations, a connection to the user entity.
Claim 22 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 is directed to A base station of a cellular network, wherein the base station comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for receiving from a user entity predicted future route information including a list of locations along the predicted future route; determining a preliminary set of one or more target base stations of the cellular network based on the predicted future route information, wherein the cardinality of the preliminary set of one or more base stations is greater than one; querying each of the preliminary set of one or more target base stations regarding an accessibility of the cellular network via the respective target base station; receiving, from each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations, an answer to the query; sending to the user entity a schedule indicating, for each of a set of one or more base stations within the preliminary set, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters indicating that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters, and cutting, upon receipt of an access confirmation from any of the set of one or more base stations, a connection to the user entity.
Claim 70 of the present application merely broaden the scope of independent claim 22 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,751,106 by eliminating wherein the cardinality of the preliminary set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Dependent claim 71-77 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 70.
Claims 61-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are broader in every aspect than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 61 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to gain information on a predicted future route of the user entity and inform the cellular network on the predicted future route.
Claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for gaining information on a predicted future route of the user entity; and informing the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a set of pairs of time and coordinates of location at which the user entity is along the predicted future route, or a sequence of coordinates of locations sequentially traversed by the user entity along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of a set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Claim 61 of the present application merely broaden the scope of independent claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 by eliminating by sending to the cellular network a set of pairs of time and coordinates of location at which the user entity is along the predicted future route, or a sequence of coordinates of locations sequentially traversed by the user entity along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of a set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Dependent claim 62 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 61.
Claim 63 of the instant application is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers.
Claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 is directed to A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for gaining information on a predicted future route of the user entity; and informing the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a set of pairs of time and coordinates of location at which the user entity is along the predicted future route, or a sequence of coordinates of locations sequentially traversed by the user entity along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of a set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers.
Claim 63 of the present application merely broaden the scope of dependent claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 by eliminating by sending to the cellular network a set of pairs of time and coordinates of location at which the user entity is along the predicted future route, or a sequence of coordinates of locations sequentially traversed by the user entity along the predicted future route; managing a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers by deriving, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, one or more access parameters, and continuously deciding on, or judging whether, accessing the cellular network via any of a set of one or more base stations within a reach of which the user entity currently is, using the one or more access parameters derived for the respective base station, wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Dependent claim 64-69 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 63.
Claim 70 of the instant application is directed to A base station of a cellular network configured to determine a preliminary set of one or more target base stations of the cellular network based on a predicted future route of a user entity currently connected to the cellular network via the base station or triggered by the user entity entering a predetermined area, query each of the preliminary set of one or more target base stations regarding an accessibility of the cellular network via the respective target base station, receive, from each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations, an answer to the query, sending to the user entity a schedule indicating, for each of a set of one or more base stations within the preliminary set, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters indicating that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters, cutting, upon receipt of an access confirmation from any of the set of one or more base stations, a connection to the user entity.
Claim 22 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 is directed to A base station of a cellular network, wherein the base station comprises a microprocessor configured for, or an electronic circuit configured for, or a computer programmed with a program stored in a memory configured for receiving from a user entity predicted future route information including a set of pairs of time and coordinates of location at which the user entity is along a predicted future route, or a sequence of coordinates of locations sequentially traversed by the user entity along the predicted future route; determining a preliminary set of one or more target base stations of the cellular network based on the predicted future route information, wherein the cardinality of the preliminary set of one or more base stations is greater than one; querying each of the preliminary set of one or more target base stations regarding an accessibility of the cellular network via the respective target base station; receiving, from each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations, an answer to the query; sending to the user entity a schedule indicating, for each of a set of one or more base stations within the preliminary set, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters indicating that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters, and cutting, upon receipt of an access confirmation from any of the set of one or more base stations, a connection to the user entity.
Claim 70 of the present application merely broaden the scope of independent claim 22 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,343,720 by eliminating wherein the cardinality of the preliminary set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Dependent claim 71-77 of instant application is rejected for the same reasoning as the independent claim 70.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 61-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 61, 63, and 78 is directed to an user entity but the claimed user entity is not clearly defined in the claim; it is defined in terms of what it does rather than what it is, i.e. the claim does not recite any structure that would define the user entity; and since it is not clear from the claim what the user entity is, the claim is indefinite.
Dependent claims 62 and 64-69 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for the same reason stated above.
Claim 70 is directed to a base station but the claimed base station is not clearly defined in the claim; it is defined in terms of what it does rather than what it is, i.e. the claim does not recite any structure that would define the base station; and since it is not clear from the claim what the base station is, the claim is indefinite.
Dependent claims 71-77 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for the same reason stated above
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 61-64 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vrzic et al. (US Publication 2017/0086049 A1).
With respect to claims 61, Vrzic teaches A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to gain information on a predicted future route of the user entity (With a plurality of identified routes identified, and the resources available along each route identified, routes with sufficient resources to provide various services can be selected for suggestion to a driver, paragraph 68) and inform the cellular network on the predicted future route (With a plurality of identified routes identified, and the resources available along each route identified, routes with sufficient resources to provide various services can be selected for suggestion to a driver, paragraph 68)
With respect to claim 62, Vrzic teaches configured to inform the cellular network on the predicted future route by sending to the cellular network a set of pairs of time and coordinates of location at which the user entity is along the predicted future route, or a sequence of coordinates of locations sequentially traversed by the user entity along the predicted future route. (With a plurality of identified routes identified, and the resources available along each route identified, routes with sufficient resources to provide various services can be selected for suggestion to a driver, paragraph 68)
With respect to claims 63, Vrzic teaches A user entity for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to manage a set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers. (Activates nodes on the predicted route of a user equipment in preparation for seamless handover, Paragraph 12)
With respect to claim 64, Vrzic teaches configured to receive a schedule scheduling the set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers from the cellular network. (Mobile device receives and subscribes cell with CSG ID of "1" with a temporary start time period A, Paragraph 107)
With respect to claim 69, Vrzic teaches configured to gain information on a predicted future route of the user entity (With a plurality of identified routes identified, and the resources available along each route identified, routes with sufficient resources to provide various services can be selected for suggestion to a driver, paragraph 68) and inform, upon request or in regular time intervals, the cellular network on the predicted future route. (With a plurality of identified routes identified, and the resources available along each route identified, routes with sufficient resources to provide various services can be selected for suggestion to a driver, paragraph 68)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65, 66, 68 and 70-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrzic et al. (US Publication 2017/0086049 A1) in view of Maeda et al. (US Publication 2012/0190363).
With respect to claims 65, Vrzic doesn’t teach wherein the user entity is configured to continuously check, subsequent to the reception of the schedule from the cellular network, whether the schedule becomes inadequate, and inform the cellular network on the inadequateness.
Maeda teaches wherein the user entity is configured to continuously check, subsequent to the reception of the schedule from the cellular network, whether the schedule becomes inadequate, and inform the cellular network on the inadequateness. (The mobile terminal in which the time period for the temporary subscription has expired continues camping on a cell with the CSG ID, the paging optimization is not carried out on a paging destined for the mobile terminal, and the paging destined for the mobile terminal is transmitted from the cell, Paragraph 122)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with the user entity is configured to continuously check, subsequent to the reception of the schedule from the cellular network, whether the schedule becomes inadequate, and inform the cellular network on the inadequateness as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claims 66, Vrzic doesn’t teach configured to derive from the schedule, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters.
Maeda teaches configured to derive from the schedule, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters. (each cell is configured a CSG ID of "1" with a temporary time period A, where the user equipment access each cell using CSG ID during temporary time period , Paragraph 107)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with the user entity is configured to continuously check, subsequent to the reception of the schedule from the cellular network, whether the schedule becomes inadequate, and inform the cellular network on the inadequateness as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claims 68, Vrzic teaches configured to perform the managing of the set of one or more preemptively prepared handovers with respect to one or more wireless connections to the cellular network of a set of current wireless connections to the cellular network. (Activates nodes on the predicted route of a user equipment in preparation for seamless handover, Paragraph 12)
With respect to claims 70, Vrzic teaches A base station of a cellular network configured to determine a preliminary set of one or more target base stations of the cellular network based on a predicted future route of a user entity currently connected to the cellular network via the base station or triggered by the user entity entering a predetermined area, (Network initiates handover once the user equipment approaches the serving area, Paragraph 12)
query each of the preliminary set of one or more target base stations regarding an accessibility of the cellular network via the respective target base station, (changing the state of the network functions includes activating a plurality of instantiated and configured network functions to act as local gateways for a plurality of access points which simultaneously serve the mobile device, Paragraph 12)
Vrzic doesn’t teach receive, from each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations, an answer to the query, sending to the user entity a schedule indicating, for each of a set of one or more base stations within the preliminary set, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters indicating that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters, cutting, upon receipt of an access confirmation from any of the set of one or more base stations, a connection to the user entity.
Maeda teaches receive, from each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations, an answer to the query, sending to the user entity a schedule indicating, for each of a set of one or more base stations within the preliminary set, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters indicating that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters, (each cell is configured a CSG ID of "1" with a temporary time period A, where the user equipment access each cell using CSG ID during temporary time period , Paragraph 107) and
cutting, upon receipt of an access confirmation from any of the set of one or more base stations, a connection to the user entity. (The mobile terminal connect with cell during the access period, Paragraph 107)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with establishing, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters so that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claims 71, Vrzic teaches wherein the base station is configured to receive the information on the predicted future route of the user entity from the user entity or a device other than the cellular network and the user entity, or determine the predicted future route of the user entity. (Network determines the predicted route for a mobile device. In determining the predicted route includes receiving a notification as to which access points have serving areas along the predicted route, Paragraph 12)
With respect to claims 72, Vrzic doesn’t teach configured so that the query comprises information on one or more current identifiers using which the user entity is identified in the cellular network.
Maeda teaches configured so that the query comprises information on one or more current identifiers using which the user entity is identified in the cellular network. (Transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the mobile terminal A. The information about the target cell is included in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. As a concrete example of the information about the target cell, there is a new temporary mobile terminal identifier (also referred to as C-RNTI), information about the security algorithm of the target cell, Paragraph 270)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with establishing, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters so that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claims 73, Vrzic doesn’t teach wherein the cardinality of the preliminary set of one or more base stations is greater than one; and/or wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.
Maeda teaches wherein the cardinality of the preliminary set of one or more base stations is greater than one; and/or wherein the cardinality of the set of one or more base stations is greater than one.. (Three base station in the set, therefore the cardinality is 3 which more than 1, Figure 2)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with establishing, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters so that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claims 74, Vrzic teaches configured to query each of the preliminary set of one or more base stations of the cellular network regarding an accessibility of the cellular network via the respective base station at an expected time at which the user entity enters the respective cell according to the predicted future route. (Instantiating and configuring network functions includes instantiating virtual functions within nodes along the predicted route in advance of the mobile device approaching the serving area of access points associated with the nodes, Paragraph 12)
With respect to claims 75, Vrzic doesn’t teach configured such that, at least for one of the set of one or more base stations, the temporal access interval comprises a future start.
Maeda teaches configured such that, at least for one of the set of one or more base stations, the temporal access interval comprises a future start. (each cell is configured a CSG ID of "1" with a temporary start time period A, where the user equipment access each cell using CSG ID during temporary time period , Paragraph 107)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with establishing, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters so that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claims 76, Vrzic doesn’t teach configured to allow a resuming of connectivity to the user entity after loss of the connectivity using the temporal access interval and the one or more access parameters for any of the set of one or more base station
Maeda teaches configured to allow a resuming of connectivity to the user entity after loss of the connectivity using the temporal access interval and the one or more access parameters for any of the set of one or more base station. (each cell is configured a CSG ID of "1" with a temporary start time period A, where the user equipment access each cell using CSG ID during temporary time period, and connection is resumed, Paragraph 107)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with establishing, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters so that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
With respect to claim 77, Vrzic doesn’t teach configured to indicate in the schedule a start time tx start of the temporal access interval and the one or more access parameters for each base station x of the set of one or more base stations.
Maeda teaches configured to indicate in the schedule a start time tx start of the temporal access interval and the one or more access parameters for each base station x of the set of one or more base stations. (each cell is configured a CSG ID of "1" with a temporary start time period A, where the user equipment access each cell using CSG ID during temporary time period, and connection is resumed, Paragraph 107)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with establishing, for each of a set of one or more base stations of the cellular network, a temporal access interval and one or more access parameters so that the user entity may access the cellular network via the respective base station during the temporal access interval using the one or more access parameters as taught by Maeda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Maeda is to be able to reduce the processing load imposed on the network side, and prevent needless use of radio resources.
Claims 67 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrzic et al. (US Publication 2017/0086049 A1) in view of Tsuda et al. (US Publication 2018/0234919).
With respect to claim 67, Vrzic teaches configured tocontinuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking/paging area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking areaand (Instantiating and configuring network functions along a predicted route includes instantiating an Anchor Gateway function and a scheduler function in a first node and a plurality of Local Gateway functions, with each local gateway associated with an access point; wherein the scheduler schedules data transmission for each access point. Encrypted data is distributed to each active local gateway and transmitted to the mobile device from each access point according to scheduling information sent by the scheduler, paragraph 12)
Vrzic doesn’t teach send a tracking/paging area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area.
Tsuda teaches send a tracking/paging area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area. (an MTC device should be at least monitoring a paging message and TA (Tracking Area) update during the wake periods in idle mode and monitoring a PDCCH (that is, scheduling information) during the wake periods in connected mode, paragraph 84)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with wherein the cellular network is configured to update the schedule triggered by a tracking/paging area update message from the user entity as taught by Tsuda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Tsuda is to be able to reduce data loss, interruption, and reduce resources wasted during handover.
With respect to claim 78, Vrzic teaches A user entity for communicating over a cellular network, wherein the user entity is configured to continuously check a schedule of a time-varying tracking/paging area whether the user entity leaves the time-varying tracking area and (Instantiating and configuring network functions along a predicted route includes instantiating an Anchor Gateway function and a scheduler function in a first node and a plurality of Local Gateway functions, with each local gateway associated with an access point; wherein the scheduler schedules data transmission for each access point. Encrypted data is distributed to each active local gateway and transmitted to the mobile device from each access point according to scheduling information sent by the scheduler, paragraph 12)
Vrzic doesn’t teach send a tracking/paging area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area.
Tsuda teaches send a tracking/paging area update message to the cellular network in case of the user entity leaving the time-varying tracking/paging area. (an MTC device should be at least monitoring a paging message and TA (Tracking Area) update during the wake periods in idle mode and monitoring a PDCCH (that is, scheduling information) during the wake periods in connected mode, paragraph 84)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement network supporting a preemptive preparation of a handover for a user entity of Vrzic with wherein the cellular network is configured to update the schedule triggered by a tracking/paging area update message from the user entity as taught by Tsuda. The motivation for combining Vrzic and Tsuda is to be able to reduce data loss, interruption, and reduce resources wasted during handover.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475