DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 is vague and indefinite. On line 11, the phrase “at least partially stretch it when the web…” is unclear. What is “it” referring to?
Claim 2 is vague and indefinite. On line 2, the phrase “preferably, wherein the splicing surface is flat and the deflecting element is configured to follow an at least partially straight trajectory” is unclear. The term “preferably” makes the claim unclear because it is not known if the splicing surface is flat nor it is known whether the deflecting element follows a partially straight trajectory.
Claim 4 is vague and indefinite. The phrase “the identification unit” has no antecedent basis in the claim. It appears this claim should depend upon Claim 3. Further, on line 5, the phrase “in particular rotates-translates” is unclear. Does the acquisition element rotates-translates or not? Further, on line 5, what is the word “it” referring to? On line 6, what is the word “it”, first and second occurrences, referring to? On line 8, what is the word “it” referring to? On line 9, the phrase “in particular an optical detection device” is unclear. Is the detection device an optical detection device or not?
Claim 7 is vague and indefinite. On line 2, the phrase “in particular comprising a suction portion” is unclear. Is the retaining element a suction portion or not? Further, on lines 2-3, the phrase “in particular comprising a suction cup” is unclear. Is the retaining element a suction cup or not?
Claim 11 is vague and indefinite. On line 14, the phrase “lead it to the delivery station” is unclear. What is “it” referring to?
Claim 12 is vague and indefinite. On lines 6 and 8, in each of the occurrences of the word “it”, what is “it” referring to? Further, on line 5, the phrase “in particular rotates-translates” is unclear. Does the acquisition element rotates-translates or not? On lines 9-10, the phrase “in particular by means of a detection device of the identification unit” is unclear. Does the identification device have a detection device or not?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachiya et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,241,179), hereinafter “Hachiya”, in view of Wi et al (U.S. Patent No. 12,355,057), hereinafter “Wi”.
With respect to Claim 1, Hachiya, Figures 1-5, teaches a splicing apparatus for splicing two material webs W comprising:
at least two feeding units 16,17, each configured to feed a respective material web; and
a splicing unit 15 configured to receive the two material webs 16,17 and to splice the two webs by means of an adhesive tape 31 applied on one of the two webs;
the splicing unit comprising a movable deflecting element 25, which is arranged close to the first material web 16 and is configured to move along a splicing surface defined by the two material webs to be spliced, so as to stretch the first material web during the splicing of the two webs;
the deflecting element 25 being movable between a disengagement position, in which the deflecting element is spaced apart from the first material web, and a transfer position, in which the deflecting element at least partially engages the first material web so as to at least partially stretch it when the web is released onto the second feeding unit.
Hachiya teaches all the elements of the splicing device but it is unclear if the splicing device is for the production of power storage devices provided with a splicing assembly.
However, Wi, Figure 1, teaches that it is known to use a splicing assembly in the production of power storage devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the splicing device of Hachiya in the production of power storage devices, as taught by Wi, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine the best environment for the use of the splicing assembly and be able to adapt the splicing assembly for a particular use.
With respect to Claim 2, Hachiya further teaches wherein:
a) the deflecting element comprises a drum or a roller 6,29; preferably, wherein the splicing surface is flat and the deflecting element is configured to follow an at least partially straight trajectory;
b) each feeding unit comprises a conveying drum configured to respectively rotate around a rotation axis of its own and to feed, in the area of a side wall of its own, the respective material web, preferably wherein the splicing surface is curved and the deflecting element is configured to follow an at least partially curved trajectory.
With respect to Claim 6, Hachiya further teaches wherein the first material web has an inner surface, which faces the material layer underneath, and an outer surface opposite the inner surface; and the transfer unit applies the adhesive tape on the inner or outer surface of the
With respect to Claim 9, Wi further teaches a machine for the production of power storage devices comprising a splicing apparatus according to Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 10, the method described in these claims would inherently result from the use of the splicing assembly of Hachiya in view of Wi as advanced above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, and 11-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654