DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 25, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to patent-ineligible subject matter.
I. The Alice/Mayo Two-Step Framework Analysis
Step 2A (Prong One): Is the claim directed to a judicial exception?
Yes. Under Step 2A, Prong One, the claim is evaluated to determine whether it recites a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea.
Independent Claims 1, 19, and 20 recites:
A predictive insight system comprising a transceiver, a memory storing a user profile and training data/trained machine module, and a processor configured to:
execute instructions stored in the trained machine module to determine a potential future event associated with a first user based on user inputs and a user profile;
determine a first user emotional state;
determine an optimal output manner to output information based on the emotional state and profile; and
output the information in that optimal manner.
At its core, the claim is directed to methods of organizing human activity (namely, personal/commercial counseling, psychological state monitoring, and advisory interactions) and mental processes/mathematical concepts (collecting information, running correlations, and making predictive evaluations about future life events based on historical patterns). Courts have consistently held that analyzing information by mathematical algorithm, performing mental calculations, and generating advisory outputs regarding human behavior or future outcomes are classic abstract ideas.
Step 2A (Prong Two): Is the abstract idea integrated into a practical application?
No. When evaluated under Step 2A, Prong Two, the abstract idea of predicting future events and customizing an output tone based on emotional states is not integrated into a practical application.
The claim does not improve the functioning of a computer or computer technology itself; rather, it uses generic computers and machine learning models merely as tools to automate a longstanding human activity (i.e., fortune-telling, life coaching, or psychological advice-giving). The focus of the claim is on the content of the information being processed and delivered (predictive future events and emotional adaptation) rather than a specific, technical improvement to computer functionality.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite an "inventive concept" (i.e., significantly more)?
No. Under Step 2B, the additional elements recited in the claim are examined individually and as an ordered combination to determine whether they transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
Generic Components: The claim recites generic hardware components, including a "transceiver," a "memory," and a "processor".
Routine and Conventional Functions: Receiving inputs, storing user profiles, executing a trained machine learning module to find correlations, and outputting data via audio or visual channels are generic, well-understood, routine, and conventional computer activities as of the priority date.
Looking at the claim as an ordered combination, the steps simply add instructions to implement abstract predictive and emotional-adaptation concepts on generic computer hardware. This recitation of generic computer implementation does not amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea itself.
Therefore, Claim 1 is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101 and is rejected.
II. Rejection of Dependent Claims (Claims 2–18)
Dependent claims 2 through 18 have been evaluated and are likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The additional limitations—such as natural language queries (Claims 2–3), specific profile fields like place of birth or religious beliefs (Claims 4–8), particular biometric monitoring or voice tone detection (Claims 10–14), 3-dimensional holographic avatars or tarot card symbolic images (Claims 15–16), and AR display units (Claim 17)—merely recite conventional data gathering, specific types of inputs/outputs, or standard peripheral display devices that fail to supply an inventive concept or rescue the claims from being directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lahiri et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0358324).
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Lahiri et al. teaches a predictive insight system comprising: a transceiver configured to receive first user inputs from a first user (fig. 10, ref. num 22 and paragraph 0050); a memory configured to (fig. 10, ref. num 28): store a first user profile, wherein the first user profile comprises first user cultural and societal information (paragraph 0067); and store a training data and a trained machine module (paragraph 0049), wherein: the trained machine module is trained using the training data, and the training data comprises a correlation between a plurality of second user profiles and historical event patterns associated with a plurality of second users (paragraph 0049 and 0063); and a processor communicatively coupled with the transceiver and memory (fig. 10, ref. num 16), wherein the processor is configured to: execute instructions stored in the trained machine module to determine a potential future event associated with the first user based on the first user inputs and the first user profile (paragraph 0056); determine a first user emotional state (paragraph 0040); determine an optimal output manner to output information associated with the potential future event to the first user, based on the first user emotional state and the first user profile (paragraph 0040 and 0058); and output the information associated with the potential future event in the optimal output manner (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the first user inputs comprise a first user query or a first user response in natural language (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 3, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the transceiver receives the first user inputs in a form of a verbal message from the first user (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 4, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the first user profile further comprises a first user place of birth (paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 5, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the first user profile further comprises first user preferences (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 6, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the first user cultural and societal information comprises a first user religious belief (paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 7, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the first user profile further comprises one or more of information associated with a first user career, information associated with a first user family, and first user health information (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the first user profile further comprises information associated with first user dream data (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the potential future event is associated with a first user health, a first user career, or a first user personal life (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 10, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a language type and a word choice type associated with the first user inputs; and determine the first user emotional state based on the language type and the word choice type (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a usage frequency of one or more predefined words or phrases in the first user inputs; and determine the first user emotional state based on the usage frequency (paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 12, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a voice tone associated with the first user inputs; and determine the first user emotional state based on the voice tone (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 13, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive real-time biometric inputs associated with the first user, and wherein the processor is further configured to determine the first user emotional state based on the real-time biometric inputs (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 14, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the transceiver receives the real-time biometric inputs from a wearable device worn by the first user (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 15, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the optimal output manner is associated with an output message volume, an output message choice of words, an output message tone, and use of a 3-dimensional holographic avatar (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 16, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a symbolic image associated with the potential future event, wherein the symbolic image is a tarot representation; and output the symbolic image simultaneously with the information associated with the potential future event (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 17, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the processor outputs the information associated with the potential future event on an Augmented-Reality (AR) display (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 18, Lahiri et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a change in the first user emotional state responsive to outputting the information associated with the potential future event; determine an optimal customized response and an updated optimal output manner based on the change in the first user emotional state; and output the optimal customized response in the updated optimal output manner (paragraph 0026).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433