DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 15-28 in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “wire having a generally rectangular cross-sectional shape with rounded corners”; “enamel coating”; “tape wrapped around the enamel”; and “an additional polymer adhered to the polyimide” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19, line 3, “insulated” should be changed to --insulative--.
Claim 27, line 4, “a polyimide film” is unclear to how this relates to “polyimide” cited in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18, 20-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caudill et al. (2016/0233003) in view of Ishikawa et al. (2021/0166844).
Caudill et al. discloses an electrically insulated conductor comprising: an electrically conductive core (255); an enamel coating along the electrically conductive core (260); and an electrically insulative tape (265) wrapped around the enameled electrically conductive core, the electrically insulative tape comprising polyimide ([0035]), an additional polymer (FEP, [0035]) adhered to the polyimide (re-claim 15).
Caudill et al. does not disclose the tape also comprising a sufficient amount of an electrically insulative, corona resistant filler (re-claim 15).
Ishikawa et al. discloses an insulated wire comprising a tape (10) comprising polyimide and a sufficient amount of an electrically insulative, corona resistant filler which comprises aluminum oxide (12, alumina) (re-claims 15 and 16).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include aluminum oxide as taught by Ishikawa et al. in the polyimide of Caudill et al. to provide an insulative tape having high thermal conductivity and high voltage endurance ([0021]). It is noted that since the modified insulated conductor of Caudill et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the tape-wrapped, enameled electrically conductive core is resistant to partial discharge (re-claim 15).
Caudill et al. also discloses the enamel coating having an average thickness of about 90 µm perside or less ([0034]) (re-claim 17); the insulative tape being wrapped around the enameled core with a tape overlap within a range of about 15% to about 70% ([0037]) (re-claim 18); the enamel coating comprising PAI or PI ([0031]) (re-claim 20); the conductive core comprising copper ([0023]) and having a generally rectangular shape cross-sectional with rounded corners (Fig. 2C), the enamel coating comprising PAI enamel coating along the copper such that the PAI enamel coating has an average thickness in a range of about 60 µm to 65 µm per side, and the insulative tape being wrapped around the PAI enameled copper wire such that the tape overlap is about 53% and the average insulation thickness is about 123 µm per side as defined by the PAI enamel coating and the insulative tape ([0034]-[0037]) (re-claim 21); the conductive core comprising copper and having a generally rectangular shape cross-sectional with rounded corners, the enamel coating comprising PI enamel coating along the copper such that the PI enamel coating has an average thickness in a range of about 40 µm to 45 µm per side, and the insulative tape being wrapped around the PI enameled copper wire such that the tape overlap is about 53% and the average insulation thickness is about 108 µm per side as defined by the PI enamel coating and the insulative tape ([0034]-[0037]) (re-claim 22); the conductive core comprising copper and having a generally rectangular shape cross-sectional with rounded corners, the enamel coating comprising PEI/PAI enamel coating ([0031], enamel layer may be formed as a mixture of two or more materials) along the copper such that the PEI/PAI enamel coating has an average thickness in a range of about 60 µm to 65 µm per side, and the insulative tape being wrapped around the PAI enameled copper wire such that the tape overlap is about 53% and the average insulation thickness is about 123 µm per side as defined by the PEI/PAI enamel coating and the insulative tape ([0034]-[0037]) (re-claim 23); the enamel coating comprising PAI enamel coating along the conductive core and the insulative tape being wrapped around the PAI enameled conductive core such that the PAI enamel coating has an average thickness in a range of about 60 µm to 65 µm per side, the tape overlap is in a range of about 20% to 66%, and the average insulation thickness is in a range of about 91 µm to about 125 µm per side as defined by the PAI enamel coating and the insulative tape ([0034]-[0037]) (re-claim 24); the enamel coating comprising PI enamel coating along the conductive core such that the PI enamel coating has an average thickness in a range of about 40 µm to about 45 µm per side, and the insulative tape being wrapped around the PI enameled conductive core such that the tape overlap is in a range of about 15% to 53%, and the average insulation thickness is in a range of about 75 µm to about 108 µm per side as defined by the PI enamel coating and the insulative tape ([0034]-[0037]) (re-claim 25); the enamel coating comprising PEI/PAI or PI enamel coating along the conductive core such that the enamel coating has an average thickness in a range of about 50 µm to about 70 µm per side, and the insulative tape being wrapped around the enameled conductive core such that the tape overlap is in a range of about 15% to 70%, and the tape-wrapped, enameled conductive core has an overall average thickness less than about 170 µm per side ([0034]-[0037]) (re-claim 26).
Re-claim 28, Caudill et al. and Ishikawa et al. discloses the insulative tape including about 10 to 25 weight percent of the electrically insulative, corona resistant composite filler in the polyimide (Ishikawa, [0046]); the insulative tape having a thickness less than 30 µm (Caudill, [0037]) not including the additional polymer adhered to the polyimide; the enamel coating comprising PAI enamel coating along the conductive core such that the PAI enamel coating has an average thickness within a range from about 30 µm to about 80 µm per side; and the insulative tape is wrapped around the PAI enameled conductive core such that the tape overlap is within a range from about 15% to about 70% and the tape-wrapped, PAI enameled electrically conductive core has an overall average thickness less than about 170 micrometers per side ([0034]-[0037]).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamamura et al. (JP 2007-116845) in view of Ishikawa et al.
Hamamura et al. discloses an electrically insulated conductor comprising: an electrically conductive core (3); an enamel coating along the electrically conductive core (page 6 of the machine translation); and an electrically insulative tape (1) wrapped around the enameled electrically conductive core, the electrically insulative tape comprising polyimide, an additional polymer (fusion layer) adhered to the polyimide (re-claim 15). Hamamura et al. also discloses that the enamel coating is cured, the insulative tape being wrapped around the cured enameled conductive core and heat sealed to help ensure good adhesion of the tape to the coating (re-claim 19).
Hamamura et al. does not disclose the tape also comprising a sufficient amount of an electrically insulative, corona resistant filler (re-claim 15).
Ishikawa et al. discloses an insulated wire comprising a tape (10) comprising polyimide and a sufficient amount of an electrically insulative, corona resistant filler (12) (re-claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include the filler as taught by Ishikawa et al. in the polyimide of Hamamura et al. to provide an insulative tape having high thermal conductivity and high voltage endurance ([0021]). It is noted that since the modified insulated conductor of Hamamura et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the tape-wrapped, enameled electrically conductive core is resistant to partial discharge (re-claim 15); and the enamel coating underneath the insulative tape is configured to provide sufficient electrical insulation for the conductive core should the insulative tape delaminate and/or scrape off from the tape-wrapped, enameled conductive core (re-claim 19).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caudill et al. in view of Ishikawa et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kondo et al. (2017/0260331).
Claim 27 additionally recites the polyimide comprising PMDA and ODA. Kondo et al. discloses an insulated conductor comprising a polyimide film which comprises PMDA and ODA (Table 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a polyimide comprising PMDA and ODA as taught by Kondo et al. for the polyimide of Caudill et al. to provide an insulative tape being lightweight and having excellent abrasion resistance ([0003]).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841