DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-22, 24, 25, 27-30, 32-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saigh et al [US 2015/0230072]
Claims 1-18. (Canceled)
Claim 19. (New) A system for electronic notification of a need for assistance (see abstract, Fig. 1), comprising: one or more wireless beacons configured to broadcast an electronic alert message in response to a trigger condition (the one or more user mobile beacon devices 100 transmit an emergency alert notification to the emergency database 202 and to the remote computers 204, law enforcement devices 206, response dispatcher mobile devices 212 and portable electronics 214, see Figs. 1, 2, para [0011, 0022, 0026, 0031]; and
a plurality of personal communication devices, each configured to execute an alert application that, upon detecting the broadcast, presents the electronic alert message to a user (the one or more remote computers 204, law enforcement devices 206, response dispatcher mobile devices 212 and portable electronics 214 receives the emergency alert notification, see Figs. 2, 4, para [0011, 0026, 0031, 0045]);
wherein the system is configured to operate without storing location information of the personal communication devices (by entering emergency alert mode of mobile device 100, and data might be sent directly to authorities without being stored at any location other than within secure encapsulator 130, see para [0029]).
Claim 20. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the trigger condition comprises activation of a manual input at a monitoring system (the user entry 120 include buttons, keypad, touch screen and/or voice command, see Fig. 1, 3, para [0023]).
Claim 21. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the trigger condition comprises an automated sensor detection selected from the group consisting of a motion sensor, biometric sensor, or video analytics system (the motion PIR detector 302 and biological identities and video image data, see Fig. 3, para [0024, 0027, 0034]).
Claim 22. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the alert application presents the electronic alert message as a visual alert, an audible alert, or a vibration pattern (see para [0028, 0034]).
Claim 24. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the wireless beacon is configured to vary a transmission strength of the alert message based on an urgency of the assistance (read upon the control channels for the transmission of short messages between a source of cell phone and the tower/base station, see para [0008]).
Claim 25. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the personal communication device automatically registers as a potential responder in response to receipt of the alert message (see para [0032, 0041]).
Claim 27. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the wireless beacon is integrated into an alert broadcasting and display device (the touch screen/display 120 and video screen 122, see Figs. 1-3).
Claim 28. (New) The system of claim 19, further comprising a notification escalation system configured to record responses from the personal communication devices and issue follow-on notifications if no response is received within a predetermined time (read upon the user-settable time delay between first sounding the motion alarm and making any automated calls to 911 or sending any other automated emergency alerts, see Fig. 3, para [0011, 0034).
Claim 29. (New) A method of secure alert broadcasting, comprising: generating, by a monitoring system, an electronic alert signal comprising a one-time password generated using a shared secret key (the secure encapsulator 130 includes service-subscribed key or identity key and password or biological identities, face recognition, see para [0007, 0010, 0024-0029]); broadcasting the electronic alert signal from a wireless beacon device; receiving the electronic alert signal at a personal communication device executing an alert application; validating, by the alert application, the one-time password included in the alert signal; and presenting an alert to a user of the personal communication device only when the validation succeeds (as cited in respect to claim 19 above, and including the secure encapsulator 130 and affirm the report or notification to a user devices 100, 204, 206, 208, 212, 214, see Figs. 1-3, para [0024-0029, 0050]).
Claim 30. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the one-time password is generated using a time-based one-time password algorithm (TOTP) (read upon the password stored in the secure encapsulator 130, see para [0024]).
Claim 32. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the shared secret key is pre-installed on the wireless beacon and the personal communication device (as cited in respect to claim 29 above, see Figs. 1-3).
Claim 33. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the electronic alert signal further comprises a universally unique identifier (UUID) associated with an alert type (as cited in respect to claim 29 above, and including the universal mobile telecommunication system, identification number MEID, universal serial bus PDA see TABLE 00001, para [0020]).
Claim 34. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein validating comprises comparing the one-time password with a locally generated one-time password at the personal communication device (the comparing ID or facial or password, see para [0047]).
Claim 35. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the presenting step comprises displaying text indicating the type of alert (the text messages, email messages, see Fig. 2, para [0022]).
Claim 36. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the presenting step further comprises generating an audible or vibration pattern distinct from standard notifications (as cited in respect to claim 22 above).
Claim 37. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the one-time password expires after a predetermined time interval (as cited in respect to claim 28 above).
Claim 38. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the wireless beacon is configured to broadcast multiple electronic alert signals each containing separate one-time passwords (as cited in respect to claim 34 above).
Claim 39. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein the one-time password is embedded in a major or minor value field of the electronic alert signal (read upon the pre-processor 602 might be employed to compare a multitude of "in the field" data inputs initiated by one or more mobile devices reporting an emergency alert, see claims 2, 5, para 0045]).
Claim 40. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (the computer storage and instructions, see Figs. 1-3, para [0028-0030]) that, when executed by a processor of a central monitoring and alert generation system, cause the system to: electronically generate a first electronic alert signal by the central monitoring and alert generation system; electronically send the first electronic alert signal by the central monitoring and alert generation system to one or more fixed alert, broadcasting and display devices in proximity to a location where assistance is needed; and electronically broadcast an electronic alert message by the one or more fixed alert, broadcasting and display devices for receipt by one or more personal communication devices associated with one or more responders who are located within a preconfigured or predefined broadcast range or zone for the electronic alert message (as cited in respect to claim 19 above, and including the affirm alert or call to 911 and geographic areas or regions, see Figs. 1-3, para [0007, 0031, 0034-0037]).
Claim 41. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 40, wherein the instructions further cause the system to determine a configured alert radius for the electronic alert message to define the broadcast range (the distance or communication range and/or nearby mobile devices, see Figs. 1-3, para [0026, 0030, 0036, 0045]).
Claim 42. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 40, wherein the instructions further cause the system to determine proximity to the location where assistance is needed by electronically determining a configured alert radius for the generated first electronic alert signal (the nearby or proximity mobile devices, see abstract, Figs. 1-3, para [0011, 0026, 0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 26, 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saigh et al [US 2015/0230072]
Claim 23. (New) Saigh et al fails to disclose wherein the alert application includes a user interface configured to allow the user to accept or reject the call for assistance. However,
Saigh et al teaches that in the instance of a redundant report scenario, pre-processor 602 might send a prompt to the user asking if they are reporting a specific emergency. The message might include the location and nature of the incident. If the incident in the message is the one the user is reporting, the user could then press a button to affirm the report. If affirmed, a second message could, for example, appear telling the user that this emergency has already been reported and that the user's information has been recorded for use by law enforcement or other emergency responders. Pre-processor 602 might then send this information to the integrated emergency database 202 to be recorded for future investigation (see Fig. 6, para [0050]). An example, the consolidated transmission could resemble the following hypothetical (see para [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the user is determined of whether to affirm or accept the incident report or not affirm or reject the report that it may require further analysis or verification of the incident.
Claim 26. (New) Saigh et al fails to disclose wherein the alert application filters incoming alerts based on a preconfigured responder role of the user. However, Saigh et al discloses the pre-processor 602 might help reduce redundant alert data reporting the same emergency being transmitted to emergency responders. Pre-processor 602 might be employed to compare a multitude of "in the field" data inputs initiated by one or more mobile devices reporting an emergency alert. For example, similar emergency alerts and reports from a given geographic area might be compared to determine whether the alerts are reporting the same emergency situation or separate emergency situations. For example, for specific emergencies that occur in a specific geographic location reported by respective mobile device users, pre-processor 602 consolidates and organizes the reported data into one or more real-time reports provided to an emergency dispatches, see Figs. 5, 6, para [0045, 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the pre-processor operation functions equivalent to the claim alert application filters since the pre-processor compares the multitude data and specific geographic location for determine whether the alerts are reporting the same emergency situation or separate emergency situation.
Claim 43. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 40, wherein the instructions further cause the system to display text on a screen of each personal communication device who received the electronic first alert message inquiring whether the one or more responders accept or reject a call for assistance contained in the electronic alert message (as discussed in respect to claim 23 above).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saigh et al [US 2015/0230072] in view of Brown et al [US 2015/0356289]
Claim 31. Saigh et al fails to disclose wherein the one-time password is generated using a hash-based one-time password algorithm (HOTP). However,
Saigh et al teaches that the password is storing in the secure encapsulator 130, see para [0024]).
Brown et al suggests that additionally, sighting messages may include metadata and other information (or “associated data”), such as the sending proximity broadcast receivers' identification information (e.g., device ID, third-party affiliations, etc.), whether the proximity broadcast receiver paired with a wireless identity transmitter, transmissions context information (e.g., a code indicating the sighting message is related to an alert or a registered service), information regarding software or applications executing on proximity broadcast receivers (e.g., app IDs), location information, proximity information with respect to known areas within a place, and timestamp data. In an embodiment, sighting messages may also include authentication information (e.g., secret keys, passes, special codes, digital certificates, etc.) that may be used by a central server to confirm the identification (or identification information) of proximity broadcast receivers transmitting the sighting messages. For example, a sighting message may include a code from a hash function or hash code that can be decoded by the central server to ensure the sending proximity broadcast receiver is associated with a particular registered service (see Figs. 1, 6A, para [0049, 0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement or substitute the hash code for secrete keys, passes, special codes, digital certifications, etc. of Brown et al to the ID or password of Saigh et al for quickly and accurately decode by the computers, electronic devices, cellular phones, mobile devices and/or servers.
Conclusion
The previous claims 1-18 were canceled. A new set of claims 19-43 are new and different from the previous claims. Therefore, a new search is required for the new set of claims to be rejected under Saigh et al as above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
10/02/2026