DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. [US 20100180083 A1] in view of Garcia [US 2019/0079874 A1].
Claim 1 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee teaches “An apparatus comprising: a non-volatile memory comprising a plurality of non-volatile memory code blocks, respective non-volatile memory code blocks containing a plurality of instructions to be executed by a processor;” as “Such a system 48 could include a non-volatile memory 52 (e.g., disk, EPROM, EEPROM, flash memory, ROM, etc.), a bus 54 for allowing communication between components of the system 48,” [¶0027]
“a volatile cache memory comprising a plurality of cache code blocks, respective cache code blocks to receive one of the plurality of non-volatile memory code blocks, the volatile cache memory to provide an instruction based at least on a cache address;” as “a random-access (main) memory 44 (e.g., dynamic RAM (DRAM))” [¶0027]
“an instruction decoder to receive an instruction address, the instruction address comprising a first portion and a second portion;” as “FIGS. 5A-5F are schematic diagrams showing hardware implementations of the decoder circuit of the cache memory of the present invention,” [¶0020]
“a content addressable memory (CAM) comprising:” as “It is noted that another way to implement the decoder circuit 20 is by using a content-addressable memory (CAM), such that the LNregs 22 are implemented as a CAM array.” [¶0044]
“a storage array comprising a plurality of data words, respective data words comprising a valid tag and an index, respective data words corresponding to respective cache code blocks of the plurality of cache code blocks;” as “the context RMT_ID is known shortly after the Instruction Fetch stage, and an index miss can be detected before even the tag is read out of the tag array 24.” [¶0052]
“a comparison circuit, the comparison circuit to compare the first portion of the received instruction address and the respective indices of the plurality of data words in the storage array, and the comparison circuit to generate a volatile cache code block address based on the valid tag and a result of the comparison;” as “The cache memory 10 also includes a tag comparator circuit which includes a comparator 26 and AND gate 28, for determining whether the selected tag element 25 in the tag array 24 matches the tag bits 14.” [¶0031]
Lee does not explicitly teach a concatenation circuit to concatenate the volatile cache code block address and the second portion of the received instruction address to generate the cache address; and
a block invalidation circuit coupled to the volatile cache memory, the block invalidation circuit to, based on receiving a write transaction to a valid cache code block of the plurality of cache code blocks, update at least one valid tag in the storage array of the CAM, the at least one valid tag corresponding to the valid cache code block of the plurality of cache code blocks, and to update at least one cache code block in the volatile cache memory.
However, Garcia teaches “a concatenation circuit to concatenate the volatile cache code block address and the second portion of the received instruction address to generate the cache address; and” as “the shareable tag portion may be combined, or concatenated, with the individual tag portion associated with the cache line to correspond with (at least part of) a storage identifier, for example a storage address, corresponding to a storage location in the data storage.” [¶0080]
“a block invalidation circuit coupled to the volatile cache memory, the block invalidation circuit to, based on receiving a write transaction to a valid cache code block of the plurality of cache code blocks, update at least one valid tag in the storage array of the CAM, the at least one valid tag corresponding to the valid cache code block of the plurality of cache code blocks, and to update at least one cache code block in the volatile cache memory.” as “A cache line in the valid state 330 may transition back to the invalid state 300, for example if the cache line is invalidated, or evicted, as previously described.” [¶0119]
Lee and Garcia are analogous arts because they teach storage system and cache memory addressing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee and Garcia before him/her, to modify the teachings of Lee to include the teachings of Garcia with the motivation of allowing a shareable tag storage location to be re-used, but may selectively prevent instructions from accessing the shareable tag storage location after re-use. For example, new instructions may not be allowed to access the re-used shareable tag storage location when trying to access any individual tag portion (and associated cache line) that pointed to the shareable tag storage location before it was re-used. [¶0066]
Claim 2 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee teaches “the comparison circuit to generate the volatile cache code block address based on the first portion of the received instruction address numerically matching a respective index within the storage array and based on a valid tag in the valid state, the valid tag corresponding to the numerically matching respective index.” as “If a line number register with a matching value for the index bits and context identifier exists, a corresponding tag element from the cache tag memory is accessed and compared to the tag bits also in the address provided to the cache memory.” [¶0014]
Claim 3 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee teaches “the comparison circuit to generate the volatile cache code block address based on a memory access in the CAM.” as “The address decoder 20 generates an output 34 which indicates whether an index hit or index miss has occurred, i.e., whether a matching index exists in the LNregs 22 which matches the index bits 16 and the context RMT_ID 18. ” [¶0030]
Claim 4 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee teaches “the block invalidation circuit to set the at least one valid tag in the storage array of the CAM to a valid state, and to write at least one index to the storage array.” as “The flag bit "V" 29 indicates if the corresponding tag value is valid, i.e., whether the tag element 25 contains a valid tag value.” [¶0031]
Claim 5 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee does not explicitly teach the block invalidation circuit to set the at least one valid tag to an invalid state, and to write at least one data word to the volatile cache memory.
However, Garcia teaches “the block invalidation circuit to set the at least one valid tag to an invalid state, and to write at least one data word to the volatile cache memory.” as “A cache line in the valid state 330 may transition back to the invalid state 300, for example if the cache line is invalidated, or evicted, as previously described. Alternatively the cache line may be reallocated and transition directly to the allocated state 310. ” [¶0119]
Claim 6 is a system claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 1.
Claim 7 is a system claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 2.
Claim 8 is a system claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 4.
Claim 9 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee does not explicitly teach the block invalidation circuit to write a first index value to one of the plurality of data words of the storage array based on the first index value not in the plurality of data words of the storage array.
However, Garcia teaches “the block invalidation circuit to write a first index value to one of the plurality of data words of the storage array based on the first index value not in the plurality of data words of the storage array.” as “A cache line in the valid state 330 may transition back to the invalid state 300, for example if the cache line is invalidated, or evicted” [¶0119]
Claim 10 is a system claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 5.
Claim 11 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee does not explicitly teach the block invalidation circuit to write at least one data word to the volatile cache memory based on a first index value matching an index in the storage array of the CAM.
However, Garcia teaches “the block invalidation circuit to write at least one data word to the volatile cache memory based on a first index value matching an index in the storage array of the CAM.” as “A cache line in the valid state 330 may transition back to the invalid state 300, for example if the cache line is invalidated, or evicted” [¶0119]
Claim 12 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee does not explicitly teach the block invalidation circuit to invalidate at least one entry in the volatile cache memory during a reset state.
However, Garcia teaches “the block invalidation circuit to invalidate at least one entry in the volatile cache memory during a reset state.” as “The STD of FIG. 3 also shows a reset transition to the invalid state 300. This transition may correspond to a reset instruction to reset, or restart, the system.” [¶0125]
Claim 13 is a method claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 1.
Claim 14 is a method claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 2.
Claim 15 is a method claim rejected over Lee and Garcia under the same rationale of rejection of claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee teaches “the writing the updated index and the updated valid tag to the content addressable memory and writing at least one data word to the cache memory comprising writing the updated index and the updated valid tag representing a valid index based on the updated index not matching an index in the content addressable memory.” as “The LNregs are updated when cache line replacements occur, and a new line's context RMT_ID and index bits are written to the RMT_ID field and line_num field of a selected LNreg, respectively.” [¶0039]
Claim 17 is rejected over Lee and Garcia.
Lee teaches “the writing the updated index and the updated valid tag to the content addressable memory and writing at least one data word to the cache memory comprising writing the updated index and the updated valid tag representing an invalid index based on the updated index matching an index in the content addressable memory.” as “evict(R) Write back R if it is dirty; invalidate R (i.e., set V-bit in tag element to "0").” [Table 2]
Conclusion
/MASUD K KHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132