DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1, 3-20 are presented for examination. Claim 2 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s argument filed on 04/22/2026 with respect claims 1, 8, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of " wherein the plurality of heterogeneous methods comprises: a calculation method configured to determine an I-start correction code and a Q-start correction code to be used in a binary search method; and the binary search method configured to determine an I-intermediate correction code and a Q-intermediate correction code based on the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code." As recited in claim 1, and similar feature in claims 8 and 20.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the reference of Jiang et al. US 2014/0355456 A1 in paragraphs [0023] and [0030]-[0033] teaches the such limitation. For example, another inefficiency associated conventional factory IP2 calibration arises from its reliance on a strict binary search. More specifically, the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations. This causes the conventional IP2 calibration to become susceptible to finding a local maximum, rather than a global maximum, which may result in a more component failures (e.g., components that are incapable of achieving adequate calibration) as well as extended calibrations period. Aspects of this disclosure provide a binary-like search, which evaluates multiple sets of points (e.g., more than three points) for I-component and Q-component searches in the first iteration of IP2 calibration, and thereafter proceeds to reduce the number of evaluated point sets for successive iterations. The evaluation of multiple sets during the first iterations reduces the likelihood that the IP2 search will get stuck in a local maximum. An additional caveat includes halting the IP2 search upon determining that an intermediate IP2 correction code (e.g., I-correction, Q-correction) selected during intermediate iterations satisfies an IMD2 performance threshold. This may reduce calibration time by reducing the average number of iterations performed during IP2 calibration. Details regarding the binary-like search are provided in greater detail below in various portions of this disclosure, including those portions related to FIGS. 8-12. See paragraph [0023].Another shortcoming of conventional factory IP2 calibration is the reliance on a strict binary search when analyzing the received calibration signal. More specifically, the strict binary search alternates between an in-phase correction (I-correction) component search and a quadrature-phase correction (Q-correction) component search, while evaluating only a single set of component values (e.g., a low, a mid, a high) during each search iteration. The strict binary search becomes susceptible to finding a local maximum, rather than a global maximum, by only evaluating a single set of component values (e.g., a low, a mid, and a high) during early iterations of IP2 calibration. This concept is explained in greater detail by the charts depicted in FIGS. 6-8. See paragraph [0030].FIG. 6 illustrates a three dimensional (3D) plot 600 of an IMD2 signal. As shown, the IP2 value (i.e., the y-axis) is a function of the I-correction code and the Q-correction code. FIG. 7 illustrates a contour plot 700 of the IMD2 signal depicted in FIG. 6. As shown, the contour plot 700 has a global maximum and a local maximum. As described below, the conventional strict binary search is susceptible to finding the local maximum, while the binary-like search ensures (or at least makes it more likely) that the global maximum will be found. See paragraph [0031].
FIGS. 8A-8F depict iterations 810-830 of a strict binary search, as may commonly be performed during conventional IP2 factory calibration. In this example, the initial starting point is set at (0,0) on the I-Q plane and the initial step size is set at 10. FIG. 8A illustrates an I-component search of a first iteration 810, where the strict binary search evaluates three I-component values along a fixed Q-component path (Q-correction is fixed at Q=0). More specifically, the first iteration 810 sets a mid I-component value (I.sub.12) at the starting point (0,0), and then steps ten units in either direction along the fixed Q-component path to obtain a low I-component value (I.sub.11) and a high I-component value (I.sub.13). Accordingly, the I-component search of the first iteration 810 evaluates three points on the I-Q plane, namely (I.sub.11) (-10,0); I.sub.12=(0,0); and I.sub.13=(10,0). As shown, I.sub.13 has an IP2 value between ten and twenty, while I.sub.11 and I.sub.12 both have IP2 values less than ten. As such, the I-component search of the first iteration 810 selects I.sub.13 as the starting value of the Q-component search of the first iteration 810. See paragraph [0032].
FIG. 8B illustrates the Q-component search of the first iteration 810, where the strict binary search evaluates three Q-component values along a fixed I-component path (I-correction is fixed at I=10). As shown, the Q-component search of the first iteration 810 sets a mid Q-component value (Q.sub.12) at (10,0) on the I-Q plane, and then steps ten units in either direction along the fixed I-component path to obtain the low Q-component value (Q.sub.11) and the high Q-component value (I.sub.13). Accordingly, the Q-component search of the first iteration 810 evaluates three points on the I-Q plane, namely Q.sub.11=(10,-10); Q.sub.12=(10,0); and Q.sub.13=(10,10). As shown, Q.sub.13 has an IP2 value between twenty and thirty, while Q.sub.11 and Q.sub.12 both have IP2 values less than twenty. Accordingly, the first iteration 810 selects Q.sub.13 as the starting value for the second iteration 820, and the step size is decremented from ten to five after the first iteration 810. See paragraph [0033].
As been described above, it’s clear that Jiang teaches or discloses the limitations of wherein the plurality of heterogeneous methods comprises: a calculation method configured to determine an I-start correction code and a Q-start correction code to be used in a binary search method; and the binary search method configured to determine an I-intermediate correction code and a Q-intermediate correction code based on the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 3-5 objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims currently dependent on the canceled claim 2. The claims appear to be depended on claim since the feature of canceled claim 2 incorporated into claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3, 5-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2014/0355456 A1)"herein after as Jiang" in view of Myeongseong Ceremony et al. (KR-102180952-B1) "herein after as Ceremony.”
As per claim 1:
Jiang substantially teaches or discloses a device configured to perform second order intercept point (IP2) calibration for a wireless transceiver, the device comprising (see paragraph [0003], herein Technical advantages are generally achieved, by embodiments of this disclosure which describe an apparatus and method for performing second order intercept point (IP2) calibration in wireless receivers; and see Fig. 2): a memory storing instructions (see Fig. 12, 1206); an interface (see Fig. 12, interface 1210) configured to: receive, from the wireless transceiver, a signal comprising second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2) (see paragraph [0005], herein the method includes receiving a calibration signal comprising second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2); and paragraph [0029]) ; and transmit, to the wireless transceiver, an in-phase correction code (I-correction code) and a quadrature-phase correction code (Q-correction code) (see paragraph [0005], herein determining an in-phase correction (I-correction) of an IP2 correction code by examining multiple sets of I-correction values on a fixed quadrature-phase path (Q-path).; and paragraph [0029]) ; and at least one processor (see Fig. 12, 1204) communicatively coupled to the interface (see Fig. 12, interface 1210) and to the memory (see Fig. 12, 1206), wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: analyze a level of the IMD2 based on a plurality of heterogeneous methods (see paragraph [0023]; herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration; and paragraphs [0029], [0046]-[0047]); wherein the plurality of heterogeneous methods comprises: a calculation method configured to determine an I-start correction code and a Q-start correction code to be used in a binary search method (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations; and paragraph [0046]); and the binary search method configured to determine an I-intermediate correction code and a Q-intermediate correction code based on the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code (see paragraph [0023], herein The evaluation of multiple sets during the first iterations reduces the likelihood that the IP2 search will get stuck in a local maximum. An additional caveat includes halting the IP2 search upon determining that an intermediate IP2 correction code (e.g., I-correction, Q-correction) selected during intermediate iterations satisfies an IMD2 performance threshold; and paragraph [0046]).
Jiang does not explicitly teach adjust at least one of the I-correction code or the Q-correction code based on analysis results. However, Ceremony in the same the field of endeavor teaches adjust at least one of the I-correction code or the Q-correction code based on analysis results (see paragraph [0007], herein a function of the amount of carrier leakage according to the control codes (I-code & Q-code) of I-DAC and Q-DAC to compensate for carrier leakage has two characteristics. First, the carrier leakage magnitude appears in the form of a monotonic increment or monotonic decrement as well as a convex quadratic parabola for an increase in I-code or Q-code value. The second feature is to adjust the I-code one by one to find the I-code (Imin) where the carrier leakage is minimized, observe the amount of carrier leakage, and find the Imin; and paragraphs [0092], [0101]&[0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jiang with the teachings of Ceremony by adjusting at least one of the I-correction code or the Q-correction code based on analysis results. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the adjusting at least one of the I-correction code or the Q-correction code based on analysis results would have improved the code search time, (see paragraph [0008] of Ceremony).
As per claim 3:
Jiang teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: set parameters related to the binary search method based on at least one of the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code determined by the calculation method (see paragraph [0023]; herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration; and paragraphs [0046]-[0047]) .
As per claim 5:
Jiang teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: adjust the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code determined in the calculation method according to the binary search method (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations); and determine the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code based on the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code adjusted based on the binary search method (see paragraph [0023], herein The evaluation of multiple sets during the first iterations reduces the likelihood that the IP2 search will get stuck in a local maximum. An additional caveat includes halting the IP2 search upon determining that an intermediate IP2 correction code (e.g., I-correction, Q-correction) selected during intermediate iterations satisfies an IMD2 performance threshold. This may reduce calibration time by reducing the average number of iterations performed during IP2 calibration; and paragraph [0046]).
As per claim 6:
Jiang teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine the I-correction code and the Q-correction code at which a level of the IMD2 is minimized as an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code (see paragraph [0040], herein the receiver is also running under normal operating conditions, it will down-convert the two tone signal and create second order inter modulation distortion (IMD2). A single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level. While adjusting the IP2 correction code on the receiver, a dynamic search and optimization algorithm is used to minimize the IMD2 level, thus, calibrate receiver IP2).
As per claim 7:
Jiang teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: input the I-correction code to a first receiving mixer of an in-phase path (I-path) of the wireless transceiver, and input the Q-correction code to a second receiving mixer of a quadrature-phase path (Q-path) of the wireless transceiver (see paragraph [0029], herein the receive circuit includes mixers 421---.The ADCs 424 are configured to convert the analog signal into a digital signal. The DFT module 425 is configured to perform Fourier analysis on the digital signal to measure the IMD2 signal, which is forwarded to the IP2 calibration module for processing. The IP2 calibration module processes the IMD2 signal to produce an IP2 correction code having an in-phase correction (I-correction) component and a quadrature-phase correction (Q-correction) component; and Fig. 4).
As per claim 8:
Jiang substantially teaches or discloses a second order intercept point (IP2) calibration method for a wireless transceiver, the IP2 calibration method comprising (see abstract): determining an I-start correction code and a Q-start correction code to be used in a binary search method based on an calculation method based on at least one of a fixed in-phase correction code (I-correction code) or a fixed quadrature-phase correction code (Q-correction code) (see paragraph [0005], herein determining an in-phase correction (I-correction) of an IP2 correction code by examining multiple sets of I-correction values on a fixed quadrature-phase path (Q-path). Each of the multiple sets of I-correction values are associated with a different step size. The method further includes determining a quadrature-phase correction (Q-correction) of the IP2 correction code in accordance with the correction of the IP2 correction code); determining an I-intermediate correction code and a Q-intermediate correction code based on the binary search method based on the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations; and paragraph [0046]).
Jiang does not explicitly teach determining an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code based on a plurality of points comprising a point composed of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code. However, Ceremony in the same the field of endeavor teaches determining an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code based on a plurality of points comprising a point composed of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code (see paragraphs [0062]-[0063], herein The correction code generator 116 may search or determine a correction code based on a distortion characteristic of the transmission signal and a binary search algorithm in step 306. For example, in the N-bit correction code, the bit value may be increased or decreased by one bit to compare the distortion level of the previous transmission signal with the distortion level of the subsequent transmission signal to change or maintain the corresponding bit value. When the bit increase/decrease operation for N bits is completed, the current value of N bits may become a correction code value; and FIG. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jiang with the teachings of Ceremony by determining an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code based on a plurality of points comprising a point composed of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the determining an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code based on a plurality of points comprising a point composed of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code would have improved the code search time, (see paragraph [0008] of Ceremony).
As per claim 9:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code comprises: transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, the Q-correction code fixed to have a limited value and the I-correction code adjusted to have a maximum value thereof (see paragraph [0036], herein FIG. 9A illustrates an I-component search of the first iteration 910, where the binary-like search evaluates seven I-component values along a fixed Q-component path (Q-correction is fixed at Q=0)), the limited value being selected from a group consisting of a maximum value of the Q-correction code and a minimum value of the Q-correction code (see paragraph [0035], herein the Q-component search of the second iteration 820 evaluates three points on the I-Q plane, namely Q.sub.21=(5,5); Q.sub.22=(5,10); and Q.sub.23=(5,15). As shown, Q.sub.22 has the highest IP2 value, and is therefore selected as the starting value for the third iteration 830); measuring a first level of second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2) of a first signal received from the wireless transceiver (see paragraph [0040], herein Because the receiver is also running under normal operating conditions, it will down-convert the two tone signal and create second order inter modulation distortion (IMD2). A single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level); transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, the Q-correction code fixed to have the limited value thereof and the I-correction code adjusted to have a minimum value thereof (see paragraph [0023], herein provide a binary-like search, which evaluates multiple sets of points (e.g., more than three points) for I-component and Q-component searches in the first iteration of IP2 calibration, and thereafter proceeds to reduce the number of evaluated point sets for successive iterations); measuring a second level of IMD2 of a second signal received from the wireless transceiver; and determining the I-start correction code based on the first level and the second level (see paragraph [0047], herein A binary-like search may be used to speed up the search process. In general, the binary-like search may measure three points of IMD2. After finding the best code, shift the center to the best code and reduce the step by factor of 2. Repeat the process until step reaches 1).
As per claim 10:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code comprises: transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, the I-correction code fixed to have a limited value and the Q-correction code adjusted to have a maximum value thereof (see paragraph [0033], herein the Q-component search of the first iteration 810, where the strict binary search evaluates three Q-component values along a fixed I-component path (I-correction is fixed at I=10)), the limited value being selected from a group consisting of a maximum value of the Q-correction code and a minimum value of the Q-correction code (see paragraph [0035], herein the Q-component search of the second iteration 820 evaluates three points on the I-Q plane, namely Q.sub.21=(5,5); Q.sub.22=(5,10); and Q.sub.23=(5,15). As shown, Q.sub.22 has the highest IP2 value, and is therefore selected as the starting value for the third iteration 830); measuring a first level of second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2) of a first signal received from the wireless transceiver (see paragraph [0040], herein Because the receiver is also running under normal operating conditions, it will down-convert the two tone signal and create second order inter modulation distortion (IMD2). A single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level); transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, the I-correction code fixed to have the limited value and the Q-correction code adjusted to have a minimum value thereof (see paragraph [0023], herein provide a binary-like search, which evaluates multiple sets of points (e.g., more than three points) for I-component and Q-component searches in the first iteration of IP2 calibration, and thereafter proceeds to reduce the number of evaluated point sets for successive iterations); measuring a second level of IMD2 of a second signal received from the wireless transceiver; and determining the Q-start correction code based on the first level and the second level (see paragraph [0047], herein A binary-like search may be used to speed up the search process. In general, the binary-like search may measure three points of IMD2. After finding the best code, shift the center to the best code and reduce the step by factor of 2. Repeat the process until step reaches 1).
As per claim 11:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code comprises: transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, a first code obtained by adding a first value of a binary search target set to the I-start correction code (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search); measuring a first level of second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2) of a first signal received from the wireless transceiver (see paragraph [0040], herein Because the receiver is also running under normal operating conditions, it will down-convert the two tone signal and create second order inter modulation distortion (IMD2). A single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level); transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, a second code in which the first value is subtracted from the I-start correction code (see paragraph [0023], herein provide a binary-like search, which evaluates multiple sets of points (e.g., more than three points) for I-component and Q-component searches in the first iteration of IP2 calibration, and thereafter proceeds to reduce the number of evaluated point sets for successive iterations); measuring a second level of IMD2 of a second signal received from the wireless transceiver; and determining the I-intermediate correction code based on a comparison result between the first level and the second level (see paragraph [0047], herein A binary-like search may be used to speed up the search process. In general, the binary-like search may measure three points of IMD2. After finding the best code, shift the center to the best code and reduce the step by factor of 2. Repeat the process until step reaches 1).
As per claim 12:
Jiang teaches that determining the first code as the I-intermediate correction code, based on the first value corresponding to a last search of the binary search target set and the second level being greater than the first level (see paragraph [0023], herein An additional caveat includes halting the IP2 search upon determining that an intermediate IP2 correction code (e.g., I-correction, Q-correction) selected during intermediate iterations satisfies an IMD2 performance threshold).
As per claim 13:
Jiang teaches that determining the I-intermediate correction code based on the first code and a second value of the binary search target set, based on the first value corresponding to at least one of a start search or an intermediate search of the binary search target set, and the second level being greater than the first level (see paragraph [0023], herein(see paragraph [0023], herein An additional caveat includes halting the IP2 search upon determining that an intermediate IP2 correction code (e.g., I-correction, Q-correction) selected during intermediate iterations satisfies an IMD2 performance threshold--- An additional caveat includes halting the IP2 search upon determining that an intermediate IP2 correction code (e.g., I-correction, Q-correction) selected during intermediate iterations satisfies an IMD2 performance threshold).
As per claim 14:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code comprises: transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, a first code obtained by adding a first value of a binary search target set to the Q-start correction code see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search); measuring a first level of second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2) of a first signal received from the wireless transceiver (see paragraph [0040], herein Because the receiver is also running under normal operating conditions, it will down-convert the two tone signal and create second order inter modulation distortion (IMD2). A single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level); transmitting, to the wireless transceiver, a second code in which the first value is subtracted from the Q-start correction code (see paragraph [0023], herein provide a binary-like search, which evaluates multiple sets of points (e.g., more than three points) for I-component and Q-component searches in the first iteration of IP2 calibration, and thereafter proceeds to reduce the number of evaluated point sets for successive iterations); measuring a second level of IMD2 of a second signal received from the wireless transceiver; and determining the Q-intermediate correction code based on a comparison result between the first level and the second level (see paragraph [0047], herein A binary-like search may be used to speed up the search process. In general, the binary-like search may measure three points of IMD2. After finding the best code, shift the center to the best code and reduce the step by factor of 2. Repeat the process until step reaches 1).
As per claim 15:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code comprises: determining the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code further based on a binary search target set of values corresponding to different step sizes (see paragraph [0005], herein determining an in-phase correction (I-correction) of an IP2 correction code by examining multiple sets of I-correction values on a fixed quadrature-phase path (Q-path). Each of the multiple sets of I-correction values are associated with a different step size).
As per claim 16:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code comprises: determining the I-intermediate correction code, based on a first binary search target set (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search); determining the Q-intermediate correction code based on a second binary search target set, wherein the first binary search target set is different from the second binary search target set (see paragraph [0023], herein quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations).
As per claim 17:
Jiang teaches that wherein the binary search target set of values is based on at least one of the I-start correction code or the Q-start correction code (see paragraph [0032], herein FIGS. 8A-8F depict iterations 810-830 of a strict binary search, as may commonly be performed during conventional IP2 factory calibration. In this example, the initial starting point is set at (0,0) on the I-Q plane and the initial step size is set at 10. FIG. 8A illustrates an I-component search of a first iteration 810, where the strict binary search evaluates three I-component values along a fixed Q-component path (Q-correction is fixed at Q=0)).
As per claim 19:
Jiang teaches that wherein the determining of the I-intermediate correction code and the Q-intermediate correction code further comprises: adjusting the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code according to the binary search method (see paragraph [0040], herein it will down-convert the two tone signal and create second order inter modulation distortion (IMD2). A single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level. While adjusting the IP2 correction code on the receiver, a dynamic search and optimization algorithm is used to minimize the IMD2 level, thus, calibrate receiver IP2).
As per claim 20:
Jiang substantially teaches or discloses a device configured to perform second order intercept point (IP2) calibration for a wireless transceiver, the device comprising (see paragraph [0003], herein Technical advantages are generally achieved, by embodiments of this disclosure which describe an apparatus and method for performing second order intercept point (IP2) calibration in wireless receivers; and see Fig. 2): a memory storing instructions (see Fig. 12, 1206),; an interface (see Fig. 12, interface 1210) configured to: receive, from the wireless transceiver, a signal comprising second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2) (see paragraph [0005], herein another method for second order intercept point (IP2) calibration is provided. In this example, the method includes receiving a calibration signal comprising second order intermodulation distortion (IMD2)); and transmit, to the wireless transceiver, an in-phase correction code (I-correction code) and a quadrature-phase correction code (Q-correction code) (see paragraph [0005], herein determining an in-phase correction (I-correction) of an IP2 correction code by examining multiple sets of I-correction values on a fixed quadrature-phase path (Q-path).; and paragraph [0029]); and a neural network processor communicatively coupled to the interface and to the memory (see Fig. 12), wherein the neural network processor is configured to: set parameters of a plurality of heterogeneous methods based on a plurality of pieces of IP2 calibration data collected from the interface (see paragraph [0029], herein The DFT module 425 is configured to perform Fourier analysis on the digital signal to measure the IMD2 signal, which is forwarded to the IP2 calibration module for processing; and paragraph [0040]; herein a single point Digital Fourier Transformation (DFT) block is used to measure the IMD2 level. While adjusting the IP2 correction code on the receiver, a dynamic search and optimization algorithm is used to minimize the IMD2 level); wherein the plurality of heterogeneous methods comprises: a calculation method configured to determine an I-start correction code and a Q-start correction code to be used in a binary search method (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations; and paragraph [0046]); and the binary search method configured to determine an I-intermediate correction code and a Q-intermediate correction code based on the I-start correction code and the Q-start correction code (see paragraph [0023], herein the strict binary search evaluates a single set of points (i.e., three points: a low point; a mid-point; and a high point) for each in-phase component (I-component) search and quadrature-phase component (Q-component) search during a given search iteration in the IP2 calibration, as well as decrements the step value (i.e., the distance in-between evaluation points) in-between consecutive iterations; and paragraph [0046]).
Jiang does not explicitly teach determine an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code that minimizes the IMD2 based on the plurality of heterogeneous methods. However, Ceremony in the same the field of endeavor teaches determine an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code that minimizes the IMD2 based on the plurality of heterogeneous methods (see paragraph [0008], herein after determining the Q-code, changing the I-codes, finding the Imin code that minimizes the carrier leakage, fixing the I-code to the found Imin, and changing the Q-code; and paragraph [0023], herein signal distortion due to IQ mismatch. Compensation for minimization (IQ mismatch calibration) and compensation for minimizing performance degradation due to 2nd harmonic signal of the receiver or 2nd order intermodulation distortion (hereinafter referred to as 2nd order intercept-point: IP2)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jiang with the teachings of Ceremony by determining an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code that minimizes the IMD2 based on the plurality of heterogeneous methods. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the determining an I-final correction code and a Q-final correction code that minimizes the IMD2 based on the plurality of heterogeneous methods would have improved the code search time, (see paragraph [0008] of Ceremony).
6. Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2014/0355456 A1)"herein after as Jiang" in view of Myeongseong Ceremony et al. (KR-102180952-B1 "herein after as Ceremony” in further view of Zhou et al. (US 9,712,198 B1) “herein after as Zhou.”
As per claim 4:
Jiang-Ceremony as combined does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: set parameters related to the binary search method based on a V shape related to a level of the IMD2 generated based on the calculation method. However, Zhou in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: set parameters related to the binary search method based on a V shape related to a level of the IMD2 generated based on the calculation method (see column 5, lines 13-22, herein Based on one or more plane-fitting techniques, the wing-shaped surfaces illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2 approach a 3D plane. Therefore, the collection of the points (or valley points) at the intersection of two planes (or wings) corresponds to a minimum IM2 tone amplitude of the wings in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, where the valley points in each of FIGS. 1 and 2 form a straight line. The optimal I-mixer DAC code and the optimal Q-mixer DAC code may be determined by the intersection of the two line segments formed by the valley points; and Figs. 1 &2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jiang- Ceremony as combined with the teachings of Zhou by setting parameters related to the binary search method based on a V shape related to a level of the IMD2 generated based on the calculation method. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the setting parameters related to the binary search method based on a V shape related to a level of the IMD2 generated based on the calculation method would have improved the system performance.
As per claim 18:
Jiang does not teach wherein the binary search target set of values is based on at least one of a first V shape corresponding to the I-start correction code or a second V shape corresponding to the Q-start correction code. However, Zhou in the same the field of endeavor teaches wherein the binary search target set of values is based on at least one of a first V shape corresponding to the I-start correction code or a second V shape corresponding to the Q-start correction code (see column 5, lines 13-22, herein Based on one or more plane-fitting techniques, the wing-shaped surfaces illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2 approach a 3D plane. Therefore, the collection of the points (or valley points) at the intersection of two planes (or wings) corresponds to a minimum IM2 tone amplitude of the wings in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, where the valley points in each of FIGS. 1 and 2 form a straight line. The optimal I-mixer DAC code and the optimal Q-mixer DAC code may be determined by the intersection of the two line segments formed by the valley points; and Figs. 1 &2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Jiang with the teachings of Zhou by including wherein the binary search target set of values is based on at least one of a first V shape corresponding to the I-start correction code or a second V shape corresponding to the Q-start correction code. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the binary search target set of values is based on at least one of a first V shape corresponding to the I-start correction code or a second V shape corresponding to the Q-start correction code method would have improved the system performance.
Examiner Notes
7. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
8. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL; Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069.
/OSMAN ALSHACK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112