DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because “the charge plates” should be amended to recite “the charged plates”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7 are indefinite because the scope of the claims is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “[t]he apparatus” in claims 2-7. It is unclear if the “apparatus” is intending to refer to the “direct converter,” “fusion apparatus,” a particular feature of the “direct converter” or “fusion apparatus,” or something else. This inconsistency presents the question as to whether the claims recite a combination (e.g., a “direct converter” and a “fusion apparatus”) or subcombination (e.g., a “direct converter”).
Examiner notes that, in the event the claims are directed towards the combination of the “direct converter” and “fusion apparatus,” issues of double patenting may arise as the claims have been changed in material respects from the claims at the time the restriction was made in the parent application.
In the event the claims are intending to be directed towards the “direct converter,” there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations directed towards the combination of the “direct converter” and the “fusion apparatus” rather than the subcombination of the “direct converter” because a “fusion apparatus” is not an inherent component of the “direct converter” (see recitation of “[a] direct converter for a fusion apparatus” in claim 1). It is further unclear the structure(s) required of the “direct converter” itself for the “charged plates” to be “adapted to be positioned in the magnetic field of the fusion apparatus” (claim 1) or for the “magnetic elements” to be “adapted to be magnetized by axially extending magnetic flux lines passing out of the fusion apparatus” (claim 2). It would appear that any “charged plates” could be “positioned in the magnetic field of the fusion apparatus” (e.g., by virtue of being a physical structure that can be moved and placed) and any “magnetic elements” could be “magnetized by axially extending magnetic flux lines passing out of the fusion apparatus” (e.g., by virtue of being magnetic). Additionally, claim 7 recites features of the “fusion apparatus” (e.g., a “housing,” “magnets,” and “fuel beam delivery system”). It is unclear how these features are intending to further limit the structure of the “direct converter” itself. It is unclear how the “direct converter” can be both “for a fusion apparatus” and “including the fusion apparatus.” It is unclear if the claim merely requires that the “direct converter” be capable of being used with such a “fusion apparatus.”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrases “the magnetic field” and “the confinement volume” in claim 1.
The phrase “the charge plates separated along an axis the stream of ions with axially extending gaps” in claim 1 would appear to be incomplete. It is further unclear with respect to what other feature(s) the charged plates are “separated.” It is further unclear the relationship between the “radially spaced apart charged plates” and the “axially extending gaps.” It is unclear with respect to what feature(s) the charged plates are “radially spaced apart.”
Claim 1 is further indefinite because it is unclear what feature “ha[s] a spacing and axial length” and is “adapted to magnetically deflect electrons” as recited in the claim. It is further unclear what it means for a spacing and axial length to be “adapted to” magnetically deflect electrons. For example, it is unclear if the direct converter has a mechanism for adjusting or modifying the spacing and axial length, if the spacing and axial length are such that the feature(s) are capable of magnetically deflecting electrons, or something else. It is further unclear if the “elements” are intending to refer to the previously recited “magnetic elements.” For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the “elements” as intending to refer to the “magnetic elements.” In the event the “spacing” and “axial length” are intending to refer to features of the “magnetic elements,” it is further unclear the relationship between the “axial length” and the “extent” and “radial thickness” recited in claim 3.
Claim 2 is further indefinite because it is unclear the relationship between the “axially extending magnetic flux lines” and the previously recited “magnetic field” in parent claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “wherein in the magnetic elements are electrically biased with respect to the charged plates.” It is unclear if there is a term and/or phrase missing in the claim, or if the claim should be amended to remove recitation of “in” in the above phrase. Additionally, it is unclear what feature(s) enable the “magnetic elements” to be “electrically biased.”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the plasma” in claims 5 and 7.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the magnetic elements have surfaces defined by nested conical frustums centered about the axis with cone apices directed toward the confinement volume.” However, the apex of a cone refers to the common point to which the cone shape tapers1. A frustum, however, is a cone with a region including its apex cut off by a plane2. A frustum would therefore not have a “cone ap[ex].” It is therefore unclear the relationship between the “nested conical frustums” and the “cone apices.”
Claim 7 is further indefinite because it is unclear the relationship between the “containment volume” and the previously recited “confinement volume” in parent claim 1. It is also unclear the relationship between the “Helmholtz magnets,” “magnetic mirror,” “confinement field,” and “magnetic flux lines” and the previously recited “magnetic field” and “magnetic elements” in parent claim 1.
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Note on Claim Interpretation
The following prior art rejections represent Examiner’s best interpretation of the claims in view of the numerous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections discussed above. Examiner has made a diligent attempt to extract the examinable elements from the claims and apply art to them. It should be understood that clarification of the application (via claim amendments) may necessitate future prior art rejections thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Experimental Results from a Beam Direct Converter at 100 kV” (“Barr1982”) in view of “Concepts for the magnetic design of the MITICA neutral beam test facility ion accelerator” (“Chitarin”).
Regarding claim 1, Barr1982 (newly cited) (see FIGS. 5 (p. 137), 11 (p. 141)) discloses a direct converter for a fusion apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
multiple arrays of radially spaced apart charged plates (“ion collector”) adapted to be positioned in a magnetic field of a fusion apparatus to receive a stream of ions (Abstract), the charged plates separated along an axis with axially extending gaps, the arrays electrically biased to capture ions passing along the axis (p. 132: “After the free electrons in the BDC are suppressed, the ions diverge away from the axis and strike collector electrodes outside of the normal path of the beam”); and
an electron trap (“electron catcher”) comprised of a set of spaced apart elements positioned between the charged plates and the confinement volume having a spacing and axial length adapted to magnetically deflect electrons into the spaced apart elements (p. 136: “A catcher must exist at a low positive potential to catch electrons that become trapped by the magnetic field and prevent them from reaching the high positive potential of the ion collector.... By partially shielding out the strong electric field, it provides a region where electrons can be removed from the beam by E x B motion”).
Barr1982 does not appear to disclose the spaced apart elements are magnetic elements. However, Chitarin (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1 (p. 1), 2 (p. 2)) is similarly directed towards an electron trap (“accelerator”) for separating electrons from ions by magnetically deflecting electrons into a set of elements (“EG”) (p. 2). Chitarin teaches the set of elements include magnets (p. 2: “The Suppression field is produced by permanent magnets embedded in the [extraction grid]”; p. 3: “The material chosen for the permanent magnet is Samarium Cobalt”). Chitarin further teaches including the magnets provides the advantages of reducing heat loads on the set of elements and improving the suppression of electrons (p. 4: “It was found that a ‘local’ field produced by magnets embedded in the AGs could provide an efficient suppression of the stripped electrons and also a fairly accurate compensation of the ion deflection”; p. 5: “Even better results in terms of reduction of heat loads on the grids have been obtained by combining grid-embedded magnets,” “Even better results in terms of reduction of heat loads on the grids could be obtained by combining a horizontal field produced by external magnets located on the grid supports with a vertical field produced by magnets embedded in the accelerating grids”). It would have therefore been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to include magnets in Barr1982’s spaced apart elements, as taught by Chitarin, for the predictable advantage of preventing overheating of the electron trap.
Regarding claim 2, Barr1982 in view of Chitarin teaches the direct converter of claim 1. Chitarin teaches the spaced apart magnetic elements are ferromagnetic and capable of being magnetized by axially extending magnetic flux lines passing out of the fusion apparatus along the axis (p. 3: “The material chosen for the permanent magnet is Samarium Cobalt”3). Thus, Barr1982, modified to include the magnets as taught by Chitarin, would have resulted in the features of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Barr1982 in view of Chitarin teaches the direct converter of claim 1. Barr1982 discloses the magnetic elements are vanes each having an extent along the axis at least 10 times their radial thickness (FIG. 5 (p. 137)).
Regarding claim 4, Barr1982 in view of Chitarin teaches the direct converter of claim 1. Barr1982 discloses the magnetic elements are electrically biased with respect to the charged plates to permit current flow between the charge plates and the magnetic elements (FIG. 11 (p. 141), p. 136: “A catcher must exist at a low positive potential to catch electrons that become trapped by the magnetic field and prevent them from reaching the high positive potential of the ion collector”).
Regarding claim 5, Barr1982 in view of Chitarin teaches the direct converter of claim 1. Barr1982 discloses a controller for altering the electrical bias between the magnetic elements (FIG. 11 (p. 141), p. 136: “part of the inner side walls of the catcher are held at a lower potential than the outer walls and ends”; p. 141: “The collector current Ic and voltage Vc varied during a pulse in a reproducible manner.... The nonlinear resistors that were used to control the voltages of the two electron catchers”). As the modified Barr1982’s direct converter includes a controller for altering the electrical bias between the magnetic elements, the modified Barr1982’s direct converter would have been capable of providing a radially directed electric field adapted for control of plasma.
Regarding claim 6, Barr1982 in view of Chitarin teaches the direct converter of claim 1. Barr1982 discloses the magnetic elements have surfaces defined by nested conical frustums centered about the axis (FIG. 5 (p. 137)).
Regarding claim 7, Barr1982 in view of Chitarin teaches the direct converter of claim 1. The direct converter of Barr1982, modified to include the magnets as taught by Chitarin, is designed to be used with a fusion apparatus and includes all of the structure of the direct converter as recited in claim 1. Thus, if the direct converter as recited in claim 1 is capable of being used with a fusion apparatus having the housing, Helmholtz magnets, and fuel beam delivery system as recited in claim 7, it follows that the modified Barr1982’s direct converter, having the structure as recited in claim 1, would also be capable of being used with such a fusion apparatus.
Claims 1-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “A new simpler way to obtain high fusion power gain in tandem mirrors” (“Fowler”) in view of “A Preliminary Engineering Design of A ‘Venetian Blind’ Direct Energy Converter for Fusion Reactors” (“Barr1974”), Barr1982, and Chitarin.
Regarding claim 1, Fowler (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1 (p. 2), 2 (p. 2), 3 (p. 3)) discloses a direct converter (“Expander,” “second zone”) for a fusion apparatus comprising:
multiple arrays of charged plates (“electrodes,” “collectors”) adapted to be positioned in the magnetic field of the fusion apparatus to receive a stream of ions, the arrays electrically biased to capture ions passing along the axis (p. 8: “Ions flowing from the Center Cell where the fusion power is generated would leave the stabilizer zone with the full potential energy ... ready for Direct Conversion in a second zone”; p. 19: “By tilting the Venetian Blind collectors, they easily pass ions of greater energy than the collector’s potential (qV) but upon reflection the transparency becomes virtually opaque”); and
an electron trap comprised of set of spaced apart elements positioned between the charged plates and the confinement volume having a spacing and axial length adapted to deflect electrons into the set of spaced apart elements (p. 19: “The end walls composed of grounded ‘grid wires’ on a particular magnetic field line in open-ended systems sets a reference for the electrical potential.... When direct conversion of plasma end losses is implemented, we replace the end plates with a set of electrodes. The simplest form is to have a grid that ends up collecting electrons, while the next grid is held sufficiently negative to reflect all electrons who experience multiple passes through the first grid until they are collected”)
Fowler appears to be silent as to the spacing arrangement of the charged plates. However, Fowler discloses the escaping ions are guided to the direct energy converter by a magnetic expander (“expander”) which has a conical shape and expands the power from the escaping ions over the area in the magnetic expander (FIGS. 1 (p. 2), 2 (p. 2), p. 1: “Fusion energy produced as charged particles escapes out the ends along expanding magnetic field lines that spread the power over a large area in the Expander”; p. 2: “The Expander ... guides escaping plasma to the direct converter”; p. 18: “the Expander that connects the tandem mirror to the direct conversion grid/electrode set”). Barr1974 (newly cited) (see FIGS. 3 (p. 73), 13 (p. 88)) is also directed towards a magnetic mirror fusion apparatus comprising a conical magnetic expander and a direct converter (“ribbon grid system”) comprising multiple arrays of charged plates (“ribbons”) (p. 71: “the beam from the reactor is expanded two-dimensionally in a conical magnetic expander”; p. 75: “the plane of the grid system is at a small angle relative to the incoming beam of charged particles.... As the incoming ions are aligned with the first set of ribbons, the grid appears relatively transparent”). Barr1974 teaches the charged plates are radially spaced apart and separated along an axis with axially extending gaps (p. 77: “The ribbons ... are 12.7 cm wide and 5.08 cm apart”). Barr1974 further teaches that the trajectories of escaping ions radiate from an entry point of the conical magnetic expander (FIG. 4 (p. 74), p. 75: “In most of the expander the field lines look as if they all diverged from a common point ... The trajectory of a 300-keV triton and that of a 14.7-MeV proton will fit inside the structure when they are following the limiting field line. This field line is on the outside of a circle which contains a magnetic flux of 15 Wb”; p. 76: “The charged particles are not, of course, traveling along parallel lines but appear to radiate from a point at the apex of the expander”) and that energy conversion efficiency is increased by arranging the charged plates such that they collect a greater number of escaping ions for direct conversion (p. 84: “the efficiency of the direct convertor ... [is] the fraction of power carried by the charged particles leaking out of the reactor which is converted directly to electricity”; p. 85: “the angle and dimension of the several electrodes which gives the optimum efficiency,” “it is in fact desirable to have those ions collected on the ribbons - whether on the forward or return pass”). The trajectories of the escaping ions in Fowler’s direct converter would also radiate from an entry point of the conical magnetic expander and, thus, from the axis of the confinement volume, forming a circular cross-sectional ion impingement area around the axis of the confinement volume (FIGS. 1 (p. 2), 2 (p. 2)). The skilled artisan would have recognized that providing Fowler’s charged plates in the radial arrangement as taught by Barr1974 would allow for better alignment with the trajectories of the escaping ions across the entire impingement area, therefore increasing the proportion of collected ions and the efficiency of the direct converter. It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to have Fowler’s charged plates radially spaced and surrounding the axis, as taught by Barr1974, for the efficiency benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Fowler in order to collect escaping ions across the entire cross-sectional ion impingement area, as suggested by Barr1974, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Fowler discloses deflecting electrons using an electric field rather than magnetically deflecting electrons (p. 19: “The simplest form is to have a grid that ends up collecting electrons, while the next grid is held sufficiently negative to reflect all electrons who experience multiple passes through the first grid until they are collected”). Barr1982 (see FIGS. 5 (p. 137), 11 (p. 141)) is similarly directed towards a direct converter for a fusion apparatus comprising an electron trap (“electron catcher”) comprised of a set of spaced apart elements positioned between charged plates (“ion collector”) and a confinement volume. Barr1982 teaches the spaced apart elements have a spacing and axial length adapted to magnetically deflect electrons into the spaced apart elements (p. 136: “A catcher must exist at a low positive potential to catch electrons that become trapped by the magnetic field and prevent them from reaching the high positive potential of the ion collector.... By partially shielding out the strong electric field, it provides a region where electrons can be removed from the beam by E x B motion”). Barr1982 further teaches electrically and magnetically deflecting electrons provides the advantages of yielding higher efficiency (Abstract, p. 143: “we expect that magnetic suppression can be made to yield higher efficiency than electrostatic suppression on higher power beams”). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use the magnetically deflecting electron trap mechanism taught by Barr1982 in the modified Fowler’s direct converter for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Fowler in order to enhance efficiency, as suggested by Barr1982, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Barr1982 does not appear to teach the spaced apart elements are magnetic elements. However, Chitarin (see FIGS. 1 (p. 1), 2 (p. 2)) is similarly directed towards an electron trap (“accelerator”) for separating electrons from ions by magnetically deflecting electrons into a set of elements (“EG”) (p. 2). Chitarin teaches the set of elements include magnets to magnetically deflect electrons (p. 2: “The Suppression field is produced by permanent magnets embedded in the [extraction grid]”; p. 3: “The material chosen for the permanent magnet is Samarium Cobalt”). Chitarin further teaches including the magnets in the set of elements provides the advantages of reducing heat loads on the set of elements and improving the suppression of electrons (p. 4: “It was found that a ‘local’ field produced by magnets embedded in the AGs could provide an efficient suppression of the stripped electrons and also a fairly accurate compensation of the ion deflection”; p. 5: “Even better results in terms of reduction of heat loads on the grids have been obtained by combining grid-embedded magnets,” “Even better results in terms of reduction of heat loads on the grids could be obtained by combining a horizontal field produced by external magnets located on the grid supports with a vertical field produced by magnets embedded in the accelerating grids”). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include magnets in the modified Fowler’s spaced apart elements, as taught by Chitarin, for the predictable advantage of preventing overheating of the electron trap.
Regarding claim 2, Fowler in view of Barr1974, Barr1982, and Chitarin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Chitarin teaches the spaced apart magnetic elements are ferromagnetic and capable of being magnetized by axially extending magnetic flux lines passing out of the fusion apparatus along the axis (p. 3: “The material chosen for the permanent magnet is Samarium Cobalt”4). Thus, Fowler, modified to include the radially spaced apart charged plate arrangement taught by Barr1974, the magnetically deflecting electron trap mechanism taught by Barr1982, and the magnets as taught by Chitarin, would have resulted in the features of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Fowler in view of Barr1974, Barr1982, and Chitarin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Barr1982 teaches the spaced apart elements are vanes each having an extent along the axis at least 10 times their radial thickness (FIG. 5 (p. 137)). Thus, Fowler, modified to include the radially spaced apart charged plate arrangement taught by Barr1974, the magnetically deflecting electron trap mechanism taught by Barr1982, and the magnets as taught by Chitarin, would have resulted in the features of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Fowler in view of Barr1974, Barr1982, and Chitarin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Barr1982 teaches the magnetic elements are electrically biased with respect to the charged plates to permit current flow between the charge plates and the magnetic elements (FIG. 11 (p. 141), p. 136: “A catcher must exist at a low positive potential to catch electrons that become trapped by the magnetic field and prevent them from reaching the high positive potential of the ion collector”). Thus, Fowler, modified to include the radially spaced apart charged plate arrangement taught by Barr1974, the magnetically deflecting electron trap mechanism taught by Barr1982, and the magnets as taught by Chitarin, would have resulted in the features of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Fowler in view of Barr1974, Barr1982, and Chitarin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Barr1982 teaches a controller for altering the electrical bias between the magnetic elements (FIG. 11 (p. 141), p. 136: “part of the inner side walls of the catcher are held at a lower potential than the outer walls and ends”; p. 141: “The collector current Ic and voltage Vc varied during a pulse in a reproducible manner.... The nonlinear resistors that were used to control the voltages of the two electron catchers”). As the modified Fowler’s apparatus includes a controller for altering the electrical bias between the magnetic elements (e.g., as taught by Barr1982), the modified Fowler’s apparatus would have been capable of providing a radially directed electric field adapted for control of plasma.
Regarding claim 6, Fowler in view of Barr1974, Barr1982, and Chitarin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Barr1982 discloses the magnetic elements have surfaces defined by nested conical frustums centered about the axis (FIG. 5 (p. 137)). Thus, Fowler, modified to include the radially spaced apart charged plate arrangement taught by Barr1974, the magnetically deflecting electron trap mechanism taught by Barr1982, and the magnets as taught by Chitarin, would have resulted in the features of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Fowler in view of Barr1974, Barr1982, and Chitarin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Fowler discloses the fusion apparatus having (see FIGS. 1 (p. 2), 2 (p. 2), 3 (p. 3), 4 (p. 8)):
a housing defining a containment volume holding the plasma (p. 3: “plasma confinement in tandem mirrors”);
magnets positioned about the containment volume to provide a magnetic mirror (“tandem mirror”) generating a confinement field providing magnetic flux lines (“field lines”) extending along an axis, the flux lines converging at opposed first and second ends of the containment volume holding the plasma;
a fuel beam delivery system (“NBI”) communicating with the housing for injecting fusion fuel into the containment volume (p. 8: “Radial profiles in an operating regime dominated by end losses can be shaped by neutral beam injection, which also serves as a ‘limiter’ defining the maximum radius of confinement short of the actual wall”; p. 15: “Here we take 80 keV neutral beam injection (deuterium)”).
Fowler does not explicitly state the magnets are Helmholtz magnets. However, Helmholtz magnets are comprised of two circular magnetic coils on the same axis, carrying an equal electric current in the same direction5. Fowler’s magnets are also electromagnets on the same axis, carrying an equal electric current in the same direction (FIG. 1 (p. 2)). Therefore, Fowler’s magnets are Helmholtz magnets.
Additional References
The following references would also appear to be applicable to Applicant’s invention and are therefore cited in the attached PTO-892:
JP Publication No. S59-74663: discloses an electron trap comprised of a set of spaced apart magnetic elements for magnetically deflecting electrons for the predictable purpose of reducing the electric field strength required (FIG. 3, pp. 8).
“SOAR: Space Orbiting Advanced Fusion Power Reactor”: discloses a direct converter for a fusion apparatus (“SOAR”) comprising multiple arrays of radially spaced apart charged plates (FIG. 17 (p. 41), pp. 37, 40).
US Patent No. 3,816,771: discloses a direct converter for a fusion apparatus comprising multiple arrays of radially spaced apart charged plates (24-26) and an electron trap (20-22) (FIGS. 1-2, 3:31-46).
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Application Status Information
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cone
2 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cone - see “Further terminology”
3 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferromagnetism
4 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferromagnetism
5 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helmholtz_coil