DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Applicant’s IDS, filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged.
In view of IDS, allowance is hereby withdrawn and restriction is maintained.
Claims 1-19 are pending, of which claims 3-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinjian (US20220178028 A1), and KLINGEBIEL ("Aminofluorosilanes: Formation of heterocycles and lithio-aminofluorosilanes", Journal of Natural Research B, Retrieved from the Internet: "URL: https://www.degruyterbrill.com/document/doi/10.1515/znb-1977-0511/ pdf", January 01, 1977, pp. 537-542; as provided by the applicant on IDs dated 07/20/2026) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Xinjian, teaches compound of formula:
for making thin films (entire application). which differs from the instant claims with respect to X substituent as CH3 vs H or halogen of the instant claims.
KLINGEBIEL teaches several compounds and derivatives, such as:
see compounds 1-12, wherein Si sandwiched between two N atoms is substituted with halogens, or halogen and alkyl (entire article, especially page 537).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Xinjian, teaches compound of formula:
, which differs from the instant claims with respect to X substituent on Si sandwiched between two N as CH3 vs H or halogen of the instant claims.
KLINGEBIEL teaches several compounds and derivatives, such as:
see compounds 1-12, wherein Si sandwiched between two N atoms is substituted with halogens, or halogen and alkyl, but fails to teach same compound as in the instant claims having same substituents on N and Si.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference- Since Xinjian, teaches compound of formula:
, which differs only with respect to X substituent on Si sandwiched between two N as CH3 vs H or halogen of the instant claims and KLINGEBIEL teaches several compounds and derivatives similar to compounds of the instant claims, wherein Si sandwiched between two N atoms is substituted with halogens, or halogen and alkyl and variation of substituents on N, such as alkyl, hydrogen and aryl, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that that alkyl of Si sandwiched between two N of Xinjian’s compounds may be substituted with halogen as taught by KLINGEBIEL.
Further, substitution of a methyl for a hydrogen is considered to be prima facie obvious. In re Woods 199 USPQ 137; further, homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ compound.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Xinjian, teaches compound of formula:
, and KLINGEBIEL teaches several compounds and derivatives, such as:
. So, the combination of prior art read applicants claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that compounds with Si sandwiched between two N may be substituted with alkyls; alkyl and H; alkyl and halogen and can be made by combination of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623