DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 6924888 to Hitachi Johnson Controls Air Conditioning Inc. (Hitachi) (Machine translation has been used for translational purposes).
Regarding claim 41, A compressor using, as refrigerant, a composition that contains one or more of ethylene-based fluoroolefins, 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf), and 1,3,3,3- tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234ze) ([10]), the compressor comprising:
a discharge pipe (120, fig. 1), wherein the discharge pipe is made of stainless steel or carbon steel ([128]).
Regarding claim 42, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 41, wherein the discharge pipe is made of any one of SUS304, SUS316, STPG370, and STS370 ([128]).
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,158,995 to Muramatsu et al (Muramatsu).
Regarding claim 47, Hitachi discloses a compressor using, as refrigerant, a composition containing one or more selected from the group consisting of ethylene-based fluoroolefins, 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf), and 1,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234ze), the compressor comprising:
a casing (1, 1b, fig. 2) including an intake pipe connection section (9, fig. 3), wherein the intake pipe connection section is made of stainless steel or carbon steel (sleeve is made of steel; col. 3, lines 48-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi.
Regarding claim 43, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 41, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.2 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.2 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 44, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 42, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.2 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.2 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 45, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 41, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.5 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.5 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 46, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 42, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.5 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.5 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of JPH 04-62498 (Publication 498, hereinafter).
Regarding claim 48, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 47, but does not explicitly disclose which Publication 498 discloses:
the intake pipe connection section (5, figs. 1-3) is made of any one of SUS304, SUS316, STPG370, and STS370 (see machine translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the intake pipe connection section made of any one of SUS304 as taught by Publication 498 in the compressor of Muramatsu so as to provide improved insulation (machine translation; Publication 498).
Claim(s) 49, 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu.
Regarding claim 49, Muramatsu discloses the compressor according to claim 47, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.2 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.2 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 51, Hitachi discloses the compressor according to claim 47, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.5 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.5 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 50 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu combined with Publication 498.
Regarding claim 50, Muramatsu combined with Publication 498 discloses the compressor according to claim 48, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.2 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.2 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 52, Muramatsu combined with Publication 498 discloses the compressor according to claim 48, but does not explicitly disclose that the discharge pipe has a thickness greater than 1.5 mm.
However, having a specific size of a pipe is mere design choice. It would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the discharge pipe with a thickness greater than 1.5 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746