DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensing element for measuring resistance or strain…” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 sets forth “at least one sensor configured to extend from the distal end of the cannula to contact the anatomic structure and measure localized movement of the anatomic structure relative to the cannula based on deformation of the at least one sensor”, claim 2 recites “wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one tine configured to extend from the distal end of the cannula”, it cannot be readily determined in claim 2 whether the thing or component of the at least one sensor that undergoes deformation to measure the localized movement of the anatomic structure and the at least one tine are one and the same or distinct components, thus rendering the claim indefinite. It is further noted that the specification only discloses the at least one tine as the component that undergoes deformation to measure localized movement see e.g., ([0054], [0059] Claims 3-6 inherit the indefiniteness from claim 2. For examination purposes only, and consistent with the specification [0054] and [0059], it will be presumed that the at least one tine is the thing or element of the at least one sensor that undergoes deformation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junio et al., US 20200345430 A1 ("Junio").
Regarding claim 1, Junio discloses a surgical instrument (Fig. 1), comprising: a cannula (“8”) having a proximal end and a distal end (see illustration Fig. 1), the distal end configured for placement in proximity to an anatomic structure (“10” - see illustration Fig. 1); and at least one sensor configured to extend from the distal end of the cannula to contact the anatomic structure (“10”) and measure localized movement of the anatomic structure relative to the cannula based on deformation of the at least one sensor (Figs. 1 and 2, elements numbered “1-6” and “9” read on a sensor with element “9” of the sensor extending from a distal end of the cannula “8”, elements “1-4” of the sensor comprise a spring that undergoes deformation to measure localized movement of the anatomic stricture “10” - [0026-0028]).
Regarding claims 7-10, see illustration Fig. 2 “12” and [0029] regarding measuring a distal movement of the tool tip, 12 indicates a displacement of the sensor and direction of the displacement and the anatomical structure “10” as illustrated in Fig. 1 is a vertebral body.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-14, 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,251,168 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as to claim 11, see patented claim 7, resistance based sensor for resistance measurement or strain gauge for strain measurement associated with the at least one tine. As to pending claims 13-14, 17 and 18, these limitations are to be found in patented claims 4-6 and are therefore not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20090118742 A1 to Hartmann et al., see Fig. 2A and 2B, cannula “158” to track distance of tip 150 extends beyond the cannula via sensor 58a, see [0065-0066].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 2-6, the closest prior art is Junio as discussed above, Junio fails to disclose or render obvious, at least one sensor comprising at least one tine that is configured to extend from the distal end of the cannula to contact the anatomic structure and measure localized movement of the anatomic structure relative to the cannula based on deformation of the at least one tine.
As to claims 11-20, with a presumption that the double patenting rejections are overcome, the closest prior art of record pertinent to claims 11-20 are Junio, Berke US 20120265071 A1 and WO 2020145821 A1 to Overbeeke et al. Relevance of Junio is discussed above, for Berk, Figs. 3 and 4 disclose a surgical system and a cannula that determines position and orientation of the cannula. Overbeeke et al. discloses a cannula and a sensor coupled to a distal end of the cannula, wherein the position of the cannula, for example the distal end of the cannula may be determined with respect to the cannula insertion device and/or with respect to the human or animal body and/or with respect to one or more sensors to determine a one or more features. However, the prior art, either singly or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or render obvious the limitations of claim 11 when taken as a whole to include inter alia, the at least one sensor comprising at least one tine configured to extend from the distal end of the cannula to contact the anatomic structure; and at least one sensing element for measuring resistance or strain associated with movement of the at least one tine; wherein the movement of the at least one tine is representative of localized movement of the anatomic structure relative to the cannula.
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797