DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 13, 15, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gretz (Patent No. US 8,212,144).
As to claim 1, Gretz discloses an expandable electrical box (fig. 1), comprising:
a housing 22 comprising:
a rear wall 28, a top wall 30, a bottom wall 32 and a fixed side wall 32 defining an interior space;
an open side 36 opposite the fixed side wall, wherein a front of the housing is open; and
a first fixture member (fig. 2, see where fasteners 80 are inserted) connected to the housing; and
a removable side wall 24 configured to releasably cover the open side of the housing, the removable side wall comprising:
a second fixture member 74 connected to the removable side wall;
wherein the first fixture member and the second fixture member are aligned to receive a fastener 80 therethrough.
As to claim 2, wherein: the removable side wall comprises a first flange 74, wherein the first fixture member is attached to the first flange; and the housing comprises a first notch 70 configured to receive the first flange, wherein the second fixture member extends away from the top wall or the bottom wall of the housing at the first flange (fig. 3).
As to claim 4, Gretz disclsoes that the removable side wall comprises a top surface 30, a rear surface 28 and a bottom surface 32, wherein the top surface is configured to align with the top wall, the rear surface is configured to align with the rear wall, and the bottom surface is configured to align with the bottom wall (fig. 2).
As to claim 5, Gretz discloses that wherein the first flange projects from the removable side wall aligned with the top surface and the first notch extends within the top wall (fig. 3).
As to claim 6, Gretz discloses a third fixture member positioned on the bottom wall; and a fourth fixture member positioned on the bottom surface; wherein the third fixture member and the fourth fixture member are aligned to receive a fastener therethrough (fig. 3, see 74, 70).
As to claim 13, Gretz disclsoes that the first fixture member comprises a first body comprising a first securing bore positioned outward of the first notch; and the second fixture member comprises a second body comprising a second securing bore positioned outward of the first flange (fig. 2, see bores 76).
As to claim 15, Gretz discloses an expansion member 26, the expansion member comprising: a rear expansion wall 38, a top expansion wall 40, a bottom expansion wall 42, a first open side and a second open side (fig. 2); a third fixture member configured to engage with the first fixture member of the housing; and a fourth fixture member configured to engage with the second fixture member of the removable side wall (fig. 3).
As to claim 21, Gretz discloses an expandable electrical box system (fig. 2), comprising:
a housing 22 comprising:
a rear wall 28, a top wall 30, a bottom wall 32, a fixed side wall 34 and an open side opposite the fixed side wall 36, wherein a front of the housing is open (fig. 2); and
a first fixture member 60 connected to the housing;
a removable side wall 24 configured to releasably cover the open side of the housing, the removable side wall comprising:
a second fixture member 74 connected to the removable side wall;
wherein the first fixture member and the second fixture member are aligned to receive a fastener 80 therethrough; and
an expansion member 26 comprising:
a rear expansion wall 38, a top expansion wall 40, a bottom expansion wall 42, a first open side and a second open side (fig. 2);
a first expansion fixture member 74 mounted on the rear expansion wall adjacent the first open side for engaging the first fixture member of the housing (figs. 2-6); and
a second expansion fixture member 60 mounted on the rear expansion wall adjacent the second open side for engaging the second fixture member of the removable side wall (figs. 2-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 18, the prior art or record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim, a combination of limitations disclosing a first flange extending from interior surface flush the top side and the front side, the first flange comprising a first fastener bore for receiving a first fastener; and a second flange extending from the interior surface flush with the bottom side and the front side, the second flange comprising a second fastener bore for receiving a second fastener. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 3, 7-12, 14, 16-17 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claims 1 and 2, a combination of limitations that discloses the housing comprises a first front face; the removable side wall comprises a second front face; the first fixture member and the second fixture member are forward-facing to receive the fastener; and the first flange and the first notch are co-planar with the first front face and the second front face. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claims 1, 2, and 4, a combination of limitations that discloses a first pivoting tab pivotally secured to the removable side wall at the second fixture member. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claims 1, 2, and 4, a combination of limitations that discloses a plurality of interlocking features located on the top wall and the bottom wall of the housing; and a plurality of mating interlocking features located on the top surface and the bottom surface of the removable side wall; wherein the plurality of interlocking features and the plurality of mating interlocking features facilitate alignment of the removable side wall and the housing. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 14, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses a receiving member mounted on an interior face of the removable side wall, adjacent a rear edge thereof; and an engaging member mounted on an interior face of the rear wall, adjacent the open side of the housing; wherein the receiving member is adapted for releasably receiving the engaging member to releasably attach the removable side wall to the rear wall of the housing. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claims 1, and 15, a combination of limitations that discloses an expansion receiving member mounted on the rear expansion wall adjacent the first open side; and an expansion engaging member mounted on the rear expansion wall adjacent the second open side; wherein the expansion receiving member is adapted for releasably receiving an engaging member of the housing and the expansion engaging member is configured to receive a receiving member of the removable side wall to releasably attach the expansion member to the rear wall of the housing. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses an auxiliary box comprising: a rear auxiliary wall; a top auxiliary wall connected to the rear auxiliary wall; a bottom auxiliary wall connected to the rear auxiliary wall; an open side positioned between the top auxiliary wall and the bottom auxiliary wall; and a closed side connecting the top auxiliary wall and the bottom auxiliary wall, the closed side comprising a storage compartment connectable to the interior space of the housing when the auxiliary box is coupled to the housing; a third fixture member configured to engage with the first fixture member of the housing; and a fourth fixture member configured to engage with the second fixture member of the removable side wall. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 22, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 21, a combination of limitations that discloses an auxiliary box comprising: a removable expansion wall configured to releasably cover the open side of the housing, the removable expansion wall comprising: a third fixture member connected to the removable expansion wall configured to engage with the first fixture member of the housing; and a storage compartment extending into the removable expansion wall. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gretz (Patent No. US 7,214,875) discloses an electrical box with a removable wall.
Dinh (Patent No. US 6,903,272) discloses a gangable electrical box.
Ford et al. (Patent No. US 6,576,835) discloses a multiple gang junction box.
Jorgensen (Patent No. US 5,619,013) discloses a gangable electrical box.
Hoover (Patent No. US 5,378,854) discloses an electrical box with a removable side.
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847