DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the amendment and / or remarks filed on June 29, 2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent Number 11,453,343 B1) to Henry Jr.
Regarding claim 1, Henry Jr., discloses the sliding mount assembly (10) for use with a truck bed cover that includes a first panel attached to a second panel at a pivot axis, the sliding mount assembly (10) comprising:
the first mounting bracket (30) that is configured to mount to the first panel;
the second mounting bracket (32) that is configured to mount to the second panel; and
the sliding rail (28) that is configured to connect to the first mounting bracket (30) and the second mounting bracket (32) such that the sliding rail (28) spans the pivot axis between the first panel and the second panel, the sliding rail (28) comprising the track (114) that extends lengthwise in a vehicle longitudinal direction that is configured to slidably receive the sliding flange (132) of the second mounting bracket (32) such that the sliding flange slides within the track in the vehicle longitudinal direction as the second panel is pivoted relative to the first panel to a raised position (See Figures 2, 3 & 6);
wherein the second mounting bracket (32) comprises the bracket (See Figures 2 & 3) and the mounting base (140) that is pivotally (i.e. via Bolt Fastener (146) Joint Connection in Figures 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 9) mounted to the bracket (144) such that the bracket (144) rotates as the second panel is pivoted, the mounting base (140) comprising the sliding flange (132) (See Figures 2, 3 & 6).
In addition, Henry Jr., recites: “In accordance with the provisions of the patent statutes, the present invention has been described in what is considered to represent its preferred embodiments. However, it should be noted that the invention can be practiced otherwise than as specifically illustrated and described without departing from its spirit or scope.” (See Column 9, lines 50 – 55).
Therefore, depending on placement of the first and second brackets, the user could place the first and second mounting brackets and sliding rail and track of Henry Jr., along the length of the vehicle instead of across the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Henry Jr., discloses wherein the second mounting bracket (32) comprises the mounting base (140) comprising the sliding flange (132) including an enlarged head (See Figures 3 & 6) that is sized to be received within the track (114).
Regarding claim 4, Henry Jr., discloses wherein the track (114) is T-shaped (See Figure 8) having the necked-down portion (i.e. via Left & Right (110) in Figure 8) configured to retain the sliding flange (132) therein.
Regarding claim 5, Henry Jr., discloses wherein the sliding rail (28) comprises an end cover (194) that is configured to be removed (i.e. via (196) in Figure 9) to expose an open end of the track (114) (See Figures 3, 5 & 9).
Regarding claim 8, Henry Jr., discloses wherein the second mounting bracket (32) comprises the bracket (144) and the mounting base (134 / 140) that is pivotally mounted (i.e. via Bolt Fastener (146) Joint Connection in Figures 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 9) to the bracket (144), the mounting base (134 / 140) comprising the sliding flange (132) (See Figures 3 & 6).
Regarding claim 10, Henry Jr., discloses wherein the sliding flange (132) is formed monolithically with the plate of the second mounting bracket (32) (See Figures 3 & 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 11,453,343 B1) to Henry Jr., in view of (U.S. Patent Number 3,677,451) to Burland.
Regarding claim 3, Henry Jr., does not explicitly disclose wherein the track is the first track and the sliding flange is the first sliding flange, the sliding rail comprising the second track that extends in the vehicle longitudinal direction that is configured to slidably receive the second sliding flange of the second mounting bracket such that the second sliding flange slides within the track as the second panel is pivoted relative to the first panel to the raised position.
Burland teaches wherein the track (29) is the first track (See Figures 2 & 6) and the sliding flange (90) is the first sliding flange (See Figure 2), the sliding rail (16) comprising the second track (30) that extends in the vehicle longitudinal direction (See Figure 1) that is configured to slidably receive the second sliding flange (91) of the second mounting bracket (22 / 70) such that the second sliding flange (91) slides within the track (30) as the second panel is pivoted relative to the first panel to the raised position (See Figures 1, 2 & 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the track is the first track and the sliding flange is the first sliding flange, the sliding rail comprising the second track that extends in the vehicle longitudinal direction that is configured to slidably receive the second sliding flange of the second mounting bracket such that the second sliding flange slides within the track as the second panel is pivoted relative to the first panel to the raised position as taught by Burland with the sliding mount assembly of Henry Jr., et al., because the motivation only requires a simple substitution of one known equivalent sliding rail comprising the second track configured to slidably receive the second sliding flange configuration for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Henry Jr., as modified by Burland discloses wherein the sliding flange (90) is the first sliding flange (See Figure 2), the first mounting bracket (21 / 70) comprising the second sliding flange (91) that is configured to be received by the track (30) (See Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 7, Henry Jr., as modified by Burland discloses wherein the second sliding flange (91) is fastened to the plate (i.e. Flat Rectangular Plate Shape of (91) in Figure 2) of the first mounting bracket (21 / 70) (See Figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, Henry Jr., does not disclose the sliding rail comprising a track that extends lengthwise in a vehicle longitudinal direction that is configured to slidably receive a sliding flange of the second mounting bracket such that the sliding flange slides within the track in the vehicle longitudinal direction as the second panel is pivoted relative to the first panel to a raised position wherein the second mounting bracket comprises a bracket and a mounting base that is pivotally mounted to the bracket such that the bracket rotates as the second panel is pivoted, the mounting base comprising the sliding flange.
Examiner disagrees, in response to applicant's argument that Henry Jr., does not disclose the sliding rail comprising a track that extends lengthwise in a vehicle longitudinal direction that is configured to slidably receive a sliding flange of the second mounting bracket such that the sliding flange slides within the track in the vehicle longitudinal direction as the second panel is pivoted relative to the first panel to a raised position wherein the second mounting bracket comprises a bracket and a mounting base that is pivotally mounted to the bracket such that the bracket rotates as the second panel is pivoted, the mounting base comprising the sliding flange.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Henry Jr., recites: “In accordance with the provisions of the patent statutes, the present invention has been described in what is considered to represent its preferred embodiments. However, it should be noted that the invention can be practiced otherwise than as specifically illustrated and described without departing from its spirit or scope.” (See Column 9, lines 50 – 55).
Depending on placement of the first and second brackets, the user could place the first and second mounting brackets and sliding rail and track of Henry Jr., along the length of the vehicle instead of across the vehicle.
Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Henry Jr., meets and satisfies the structural limitations as set forth in Claim 1.
Therefore, the §102 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018 / 0118127 A1) to Wymore discloses the sliding mount assembly (10) (See Figures 2 & 3).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734