DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 20210301985 A1) in view of Vigano (US 20170011318 A1).
Claim 1. Brown teaches a water management system comprising:
a first end point device in communication with a first fixture
(Fig. 1, IoT device 110-114 connections to a connected object 102
[0080] fixture IoT devices 504 for connecting to “analog” home fixtures, such as faucets and other plumbing;)
, the first end point device including:
a first end point electronic processor configured to receive data associated with
the first fixture and a first fixture identifier
([0005] The water device may include an identifier... electronic records associated with the water device based on the identifier (
[0082] FIG. 6 shows an illustrative system 600 that enables the monitoring, performance evaluation, and control of connected devices in a residential water system...such as the IoT device 200 of FIG. 2) including without limitation: a controller 602; smart valves (e.g., valves 613, 625, 654, 658, and 662))
, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by at least
one electronic processor to perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprising:
receiving the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier
([0009] may cause the processor to identify high-performing water devices associated with the server that are characteristically similar to the water device, retrieve, from a data source, sets of configuration data corresponding to each of the high-performing water devices
[0113] At 914, the system identifies the specific water device being installed via its unique identifier.),
associating the first fixture identifier with a first location classification and a first
type classification
([0110] At first, the information in the records may include only the information available to the manufacturer or vendor, such as general product information like a product type, category, make and model, family, or product line, a version of initially installed firmware, an initial configuration, etc. (e.g. classification type);
[0114] At 916, the system can use the identifier to obtain the stored electronic records associated with the water device from the various data stores. At 918, the system can determine location data describing the geographic location of the installation site.), and
determining maintenance needs of the first fixture
([0135] If at 1014 a problem is detected ... At 1022, the system can determine whether the data points match (or at least substantially match) a problem signature (e.g., stored in a library).),
Brown further discloses the system which can automatically assist the user to schedule a repair or replacement of the device ([0135]), and instructions for repair/replace [0147]
but does not specifically disclose
identifying one or more replacement parts that are associated with the maintenance needs, and recommending the one or more replacement parts to a user.
However, Vigano teaches identifying one or more replacement parts that are associated with the
maintenance needs
([0115][0116] Process 1200 begins with MSPR platform 402 detecting a fault with smart connected HVAC equipment 408 installed in a building (step 1208)...In response to detecting the fault or identifying the repair or replacement opportunity, MSPR platform 402 may provide an alert notification to the building owner (e.g., in the form of an email sent to the building owner) (step 1210).
, and recommending the one or more replacement parts to a user
([0140] Email message 1700 is shown to include a notification 1702 that HVAC equipment requires service and may identify the HVAC equipment by type 1704, location 1706, model number, serial number, and/or other attributes which describe the HVAC equipment. Email message 1700 may include an indication of the problem 1708 and a recommended action 1710 for repairing the problem.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the use of process of identifying and recommending the one or more replacement parts to a user as taught by Vigano within the system of Brown for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide an option for the user to perform a self-repair with commonly known parts to correct the issue or contact a service technician.
Claim 2. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, wherein the first fixture includes a faucet, a flush valve, a soap dispenser, a water service line monitor, a backflow preventer, a grease interceptor, a roof drain, a floor drain, an acid neutralization system, a fire distribution system, an irrigation system, a thermostatic mixing valve, a hand dryer, a pressure sensor, a flow sensor, a leak detector, an occupancy light sensor, an air quality sensor, a door latch, or a valve sensor
(Brown [0080] faucets and other plumbing).
Claim 3. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, wherein associating the first fixture identifier with a first location classification includes associating the first fixture identifier with at least one of a building, a floor, or a room in which the first fixture is located
(Vigano [0080] A rooftop failure or failure symptom may be sent to MSPR platform 402 to orchestrate replacement or initiate a maintenance project. (e.g. rooftop floor)[0140] location 1706 (e.g. building)).
Claim 4. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, ,wherein associating the first fixture identifier with a first type classification includes identifying the first fixture identifier as one of a faucet, a flush valve, a soap dispenser, a water service line monitor, a backflow preventer, a grease interceptor, a roof drain, a floor drain, an acid neutralization system, a fire distribution system, an irrigation system, a thermostatic mixing valve, a hand dryer, a pressure sensor, a flow sensor, a leak detector, an occupancy light sensor, an air quality sensor, a door latch, or a valve sensor.
(Brown [0080] faucets and other plumbing).
Claim 5. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, wherein types of replacement parts include gaskets, diaphragms, seals, fasteners, solenoids, valves, filter and backcheck assemblies, battery housings, dispensing assemblies, acid neutralization assemblies, fire distribution assemblies, irrigation assemblies, leak detection assemblies, lighting assemblies, air quality monitoring
assemblies, occupancy monitoring assemblies, solenoid boxes, individual sensors, and sensor assemblies
(Vigano [0138] change filter [0097]leakage detection sensors [0052] various sensors [0069] e.g., HVAC equipment, LED lights, mobile phones, elevators, fire safety systems, smart street lamps, cars, televisions, etc.).
Claim 6. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, wherein the set of functions further comprises producing a first fixture profile that is associated with the first fixture, wherein the first fixture profile includes at least one of the first fixture identifier, the first location classification, the first type classification, one or more operating parameters, and the recommended one or more replacement parts
(Brown [0138] The profiler 1102 can also update aggregated metrics describing the water device that are stored in the device health profile 1110 and/or other aggregated data stores 1108. For example, the device health profile 1110 can track factors impacting the life expectancy of the water device, such as the total run hours (i.e., hours the device has been powered on), which are calculated by aggregating elements of the collected real-time data.
[0145] Non-limiting examples of environmental, geographical, and internal aggregate (i.e., from other water devices connected to the IoT platform) data that can improve the accuracy of the systems)... water, electricity, and/or gas usage metrics for the installation site, including water/electricity/gas costs and cost variations, and user-supplied limits on usage.
Vigano [0140] Email message 1700 is shown to include a notification 1702 that HVAC equipment requires service and may identify the HVAC equipment by type 1704, location 1706, model number, serial number, and/or other attributes which describe the HVAC equipment. Email message 1700 may include an indication of the problem 1708 and a recommended action 1710 for repairing the problem. ).
Claim 9. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, wherein the maintenance needs are at least partially based on at least one of data received from the first fixture, historical information, and operational trends
(Brown [0138] the device health profile 1110 can be configured to include a complete maintenance history of the water device...
[0145] methods of FIGS. 12 and 13 in predicting when the filter media should be backwashed or replaced include: water quality trends in the geographic region of the installation site,
[0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number ).
Claim 10. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 9, wherein the maintenance needs relate to addressing at least one of current and future performance deviations of the first fixture
(Brown [0147] track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number
[0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media; ).
Claim 11. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 10, wherein types of performance deviations include one or more former parts associated with the first fixture meeting an expected life span, partial damage to one or more former parts of the first fixture, complete damage to one or more former parts of the first fixture, and data operating outside of the operating parameters
(Brown [0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media;).
Claim 12. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, wherein types of maintenance needs include preventative maintenance, repair, replace, test, cleaning, or upgrades
()Brown [0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media; the threshold can be replaced with a higher threshold, or a series of thresholds can be tested, and alerts with increasing urgency can be generated. In other embodiments, the system can determine that backwashing the filter is not sufficient, and the filter instead needs to be replaced...].
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown and Vigano and further in view of Robinson (US 20090248545 A1).
Claim 7. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 6, and discloses an interface which providing a list of recommended replacement parts (Vigano [0138]) but do not specifically disclose wherein the set of functions further comprises providing the one or more replacement parts as at least one of a list and a diagram
However, Robinson teaches providing the one or more replacement parts as at least one of a list and a diagram
(Fig. 10 [0057] Referring to FIG. 10, GUI 1000 may include a select product window 1002, a select group window 1004, a product view window 1006, and a select parts window 1008.
[0068] Referring to FIG. 12, related parts list may include a related kits display area 1202, a related replacement parts display area 1204,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use providing the one or more replacement parts as at least one of a list and a diagram as taught by Robinson within the system of Brown and Vigano for the purpose of enhancing the system to allow a user to easily identify and match the part needed for replacement in an effort to reduce mistakes on part ordering.
Claim 8. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, and discloses the use of placing a bid for a contractor to perform services and an interface which providing a list of recommended replacement parts (Vigano [0138]) and instructions for repair (Brown [0147]) but do not specifically disclose wherein the set of functions further comprises ordering the one or more replacements parts
However, Robinson teaches wherein the set of functions further comprises ordering the one or more replacements parts
([0066] Referring to FIG. 11, parts list 1100 may indicate parts and/or groups of parts 1102 selected by the user with select group feature 1020 and/or select individual parts feature 1022... with a checkout button 1108
[0078] Parts-ordering environment 100 may next identify any related parts associated with the user's selected parts (steps 1305).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the set of functions of ordering the one or more replacements parts as taught by Robinson within the system of Brown and Vigano for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide convenience for the user to order parts for self-repair.
Claim 13. Brown and Vigano teach the water management system of claim 1, and discloses the use of placing a bid for a contractor to perform services and an interface which providing a list of recommended replacement parts (Vigano [0138]) and instructions for repair (Brown [0147]) but do not specifically disclose wherein the set of functions further comprise providing a purchasing option.
However, Robinson teaches wherein the set of functions further comprise providing a purchasing option ([0066] Referring to FIG. 11, parts list 1100 may indicate parts and/or groups of parts 1102 selected by the user with select group feature 1020 and/or select individual parts feature 1022... with a checkout button 1108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a purchasing option as taught by Robinson within the system of Brown and Vigano for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide convenience for the user to order parts for self-repair.
Claim 19. Brown teaches a water management system comprising:
a first end point device in communication with a first fixture
(Fig. 1, IoT device 110-114 connections to a connected object 102
[0080] fixture IoT devices 504 for connecting to “analog” home fixtures, such as faucets and other plumbing;),
the first end point device including:
a first end point electronic processor configured to receive data associated with
the first fixture and a first fixture identifier
([0005] The water device may include an identifier... electronic records associated with the water device based on the identifier (
[0082] FIG. 6 shows an illustrative system 600 that enables the monitoring, performance evaluation, and control of connected devices in a residential water system...such as the IoT device 200 of FIG. 2) including without limitation: a controller 602; smart valves (e.g., valves 613, 625, 654, 658, and 662)),
and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by at least
one electronic processor to perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprising:
receiving the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier
([0009] may cause the processor to identify high-performing water devices associated with the server that are characteristically similar to the water device, retrieve, from a data source, sets of configuration data corresponding to each of the high-performing water devices
[0113] At 914, the system identifies the specific water device being installed via its unique identifier.),
associating the first fixture identifier with a first location classification and a first
type classification
([0110] At first, the information in the records may include only the information available to the manufacturer or vendor, such as general product information like a product type, category, make and model, family, or product line, a version of initially installed firmware, an initial configuration, etc.;
[0114] At 916, the system can use the identifier to obtain the stored electronic records associated with the water device from the various data stores. At 918, the system can determine location data describing the geographic location of the installation site.), detecting a maintenance need to address at least one of current or future fixture performance deviations and scheduling a time for completing maintenance tasks related to the maintenance need,)
Brown further discloses the system which can automatically assist the user to schedule a repair or replacement of the device ([0135]), and instructions for repair/replace [0147]
but does not specifically disclose
recommending one or more replacement parts associated with performing the maintenance tasks for the first fixture prior to the scheduled time.
However, Vigano teaches recommending one or more replacement parts associated with performing the maintenance tasks for the first fixture prior to the scheduled time
([0140] Email message 1700 is shown to include a notification 1702 that HVAC equipment requires service and may identify the HVAC equipment by type 1704, location 1706, model number, serial number, and/or other attributes which describe the HVAC equipment. Email message 1700 may include an indication of the problem 1708 and a recommended action 1710 for repairing the problem.
[0138] FIG. 16 is an example of an interface 1600 which may be provided to the building owner when a problem is detected with the HVAC equipment. Interface 1600 is shown to include an equipment problems block 1602 which includes a description 1604 of the detected problem (e.g., filter switch tripped), a suggested solution 1606 to the detected problem (e.g., change filter), an estimated repair cost 1608 (e.g., $100-$200), and an indication of the financial impact 1610 of the problem if the problem is left unrepaired.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the use of process of identifying and recommending the one or more replacement parts to a user as taught by Vigano within the system of Brown for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide an option for the user to perform a self-repair with commonly known parts to correct the issue or contact a service technician.
Brown and Vigano discloses the use of placing a bid for a contractor to perform services and an interface which providing a list of recommended replacement parts (Vigano [0138]) and instructions for repair (Brown [0147]) but do not specifically disclose providing a purchasing option for each of the one or more replacement parts, and receiving input for ordering the replacement parts.
However, Robinson teaches providing a purchasing option for each of the one or more replacement parts, and receiving input for ordering the replacement parts
([0066] Referring to FIG. 11, parts list 1100 may indicate parts and/or groups of parts 1102 selected by the user with select group feature 1020 and/or select individual parts feature 1022... with a checkout button 1108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a purchasing option and input as taught by Robinson within the system of Brown and Vigano for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide convenience for the user to order parts for self-repair.
Claim 20. Brown, Vigano and Robinson teach the water management system of claim 19, wherein the purchasing option includes a bulk purchase option, and wherein the bulk purchase option relates to ordering the replacement parts for similar maintenance needs of one or more other fixtures
(Robinson [0063] In addition, select group feature 1020 may include one or more user interface elements, such as a group quantity box 1032, for selection of a desired quantity of the group for ordering.
[0066] n addition, parts list 1100 may include user interface elements, such as quantity boxes 1104 a
[0069] such as add kit checkboxes 1210, kit quantity boxes 1212, and a select all related kits button 1214.).
Claim(s) 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, Johnson (US 20110113360 A1) and further in view of Robinson.
Claim 14. Brown teaches a water management system comprising:
a first end point device in communication with a first fixture
(Fig. 1, IoT device 110-114 connections to a connected object 102
[0080] fixture IoT devices 504 for connecting to “analog” home fixtures, such as faucets and other plumbing;),
the first end point device including:
a first end point electronic processor configured to receive data associated with
the first fixture and a first fixture identifier
([0005] The water device may include an identifier... electronic records associated with the water device based on the identifier (
[0082] FIG. 6 shows an illustrative system 600 that enables the monitoring, performance evaluation, and control of connected devices in a residential water system...such as the IoT device 200 of FIG. 2) including without limitation: a controller 602; smart valves (e.g., valves 613, 625, 654, 658, and 662))
, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by at least
one electronic processor to perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprising:
associating the first fixture identifier with a first location classification and a first
type classification
([0110] At first, the information in the records may include only the information available to the manufacturer or vendor, such as general product information like a product type, category, make and model, family, or product line, a version of initially installed firmware, an initial configuration, etc.;
[0114] At 916, the system can use the identifier to obtain the stored electronic records associated with the water device from the various data stores. At 918, the system can determine location data describing the geographic location of the installation site.),
recommending one or more replacement parts related to one or more scheduled maintenance events for at least one of the first fixture and the first group of fixtures
([0101] the control plane 780 may include groupings of the IoT devices 703-705 into one or more groups according to the subsystem(s) to which they belong, for the purposes of collecting and/or aggregating data and/or issuing commands.
[0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles can be presented to the user... analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number... upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance)
[0111] The retailer or an installation service can send data to the manufacturer identifying a scheduled time and location (e.g., street address) for the installation of the sold water device, and the system can store this data in the appropriate record(s).).
Brown further teaches the process of organizing the first fixture into a first group of fixtures ([0101]) but does not specifically disclose, wherein the first group of fixtures consists of one or more fixtures associated with the first location classification.
However Johnson teaches wherein the first group of fixtures consists of one or more fixtures associated with the first location classification
([0129]-[0130] unit identifier... the location of the unit 1422...The HVAC unit view also includes an illustration 1440 of the particular HVAC unit showing various components thereof and various metric values sensed by the HVAC monitoring and control system 500. (e.g. grouping at a specific location)),)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use process of the first group of fixtures consisting of one or more fixtures associated with the first location classification as taught by Johnson within the system of Brown for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide detailed information into an organized manner so that an operator can easily identify a problem with a fixture corresponding to a specific location.
Brown further discloses the process of presenting and recommending replacement of parts to the user and instructions for repair ([0147]) but does not specifically disclose providing a purchasing option for each of the one or more replacement parts.
However, Robinson teaches providing a purchasing option ([0066] Referring to FIG. 11, parts list 1100 may indicate parts and/or groups of parts 1102 selected by the user with select group feature 1020 and/or select individual parts feature 1022... with a checkout button 1108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a purchasing option as taught by Robinson within the system of Brown for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide convenience for the user to order parts for self-repair.
Claim 15. Brown, Johnson and Robinson teach the water management system of claim 14, wherein the scheduled maintenance events are at least partially based on historical information of the first group of fixtures
(Brown [0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles can be presented to the user... analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number... upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance.).
Claim 16. Brown, Johnson and Robinson teach the water management system of claim 14, wherein recommending the one or more replacement parts includes providing at least a part number and a title
([0068] Referring to FIG. 12, related parts list may include a related kits display area 1202, a related replacement parts display area 1204,).
Claim 17. Brown, Johnson and Robinson teach the water management system of claim 14, wherein the purchasing option is one or more online links
(Robinson [0056] a webpage application maintained by parts information system (i.e., server 104) and provided to a user of client 102 via network 106; and/or any such application.
[0067] Parts list 1100 may further include a view related parts information link 1110, which may be displayed when GUI 1000 determines that related parts are available. ).
Claim 18. Brown, Johnson and Robinson teach the water management system of claim 14, wherein the one or more replacement parts are recommended for one or more fixtures among the first group of fixtures when the scheduled maintenance events for each fixture are within a predetermined time frame
Brown [0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles can be presented to the user... analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number... upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance..
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689