DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 and 02/21/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 2018-0056355).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches manufacturing methods of cutting window glasses and window glasses made thereby (“a window”) (Paragraph [0001]). The windows, as illustrated in figures 6-7, include a flat portion and an edge portion which has a gradually decreasing thickness toward the edge (“a flat portion; and an edge portion at an outer side of the flat portion and having a gradually decreasing thickness in a direction away from the flat portion”) (Paragraph [0071]). The windows may also be formed from the methods of using a laser to form a sheet cutting portion penetrating vertically through the window and then wet etching in order to form the chamfer portion in which the direction of curvature changes at least once (“wherein an exposed edge portion side surface of the edge portion comprises a laser irradiation line extending in a thickness direction”) (Fig. 6-7; Paragraphs [0015]; [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the windows as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, figures 6-7 (provided below), the chamfering of the edges results in rounded, concave edges (“wherein an edge portion comprises an edge upper surface and an edge lower surface between the edge portion side surface, and facing away from each other, the edge upper surface comprising a curved surface concave in a direction toward the edge lower surface, and the edge lower surface comprising a curved surface concave in a direction toward the edge upper surface”) (Paragraphs [0058]-[0059]; [00 71]).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the windows as discussed above with respect to claim 2. As illustrated in the figures above, the windows with the chamfered, rounded edges appear to be symmetrical with respect to a virtual line extending through the center of the windows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 2018-0056355) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the windows as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, the rounded chamfering of the edges of the windows through wet etching results in at least one change in direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that at least one change in direction would include two changes, three changes, four changes and so on. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that up to four changes would result in two concave sections in an upper section of the edge portion and two concave sections in the lower portion, rendering the limitations of “wherein the edge portion comprises an edge upper surface and an edge lower surface facing away from each other, the edge upper surface comprising a first sub upper surface and a second sub upper surface that are concave in a direction toward the edge lower surface” and “the edge lower surface comprising a first sub lower surface and a second sub lower surface that are concave in a direction toward the edge upper surface.”
Furthermore, Park teaches the changes in directions may be controlled by performing multiple, different wet etching factors, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different wet etching factors would result in different rounded, chamfered sections having different radii. This would ultimately teach the first and second sub upper surfaces having different radii and the first and second sub lower surfaces having different radii.
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the windows as discussed above with respect to claim 4. As discussed above, the rounded, chamfered edges may have at least one change of direction (“inflection portion”).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inoue et al. (US 2019/0101787) illustrates, in figures 2 and 7, upper and lower surfaces having concave surfaces at the edge of a transparent substrate (Paragraphs [0012]-[0025]).
Srinivas et al. (US 2014/0239552) illustrates, in figure 3, upper and lower surfaces having concave surfaces at the edge of a brittle material (Paragraph [0075]).
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783