DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dao (US 2017/0332282)
Regarding Claim 1, Dao teaches a target service management method, comprising:
determining, by an access network device, key quality indicator (KQI) information of a target service during transmission of the target service on a target channel, wherein the KQI information is used comprises information for reflecting quality of service of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel (¶ [0081 – [0082], see specifically description about the QQGC channel, and [¶ [0226] – [0228], see specifically explicit QoS targets). and
managing, by the access network device based on the KQI information and a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the KQI information, the target service transmitted on the target channel (¶ [0081 – [0082], see specifically description about the QQGC channel, and [¶ [0226] – [0228], see specifically explicit QoS targets
Regarding Claim 2, Dao teaches the KQI information comprises at least one KQI (¶ [0081 – [0082], see specifically description about the QQGC channel, and [¶ [0226] – [0228], see specifically explicit QoS targets
Regarding Claim 3, Dao the at least one KQI comprises at least one of a frame reception rate under a delay constraint, an average frame air interface transmission delay, a frame air interface transmission delay jitter or a frame arrival time jitter (¶ [0106], see specifically jitter & rate).
Regarding Claim 9, Dao teaches the KQI information comprises a quality-of-service parameter determined based on a second KQI (¶ [0106], see specifically the criteria for delay, drop, jitter).
Regarding Claim 16, Dao teaches determining, by an access network device, key quality indicator KQI information of a target service during transmission of the target service on a target channel comprises: determining, by the access network device, the KQI information in a first time period in which the access network device starts to transmit the target service on the target channel (¶ [0203], see specifically start of the video)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2017/0332282) in view of Paulissen (US 2023/0048428)
Regarding Claim 4, Dao fails to explicitly teach by an access network device, KQI information of a target service during transmission of the target service on a target channel comprises: determining, by the access network device, a plurality of data packets that belong to a same media frame, wherein the media frame is a video frame or an audio frame; and determining, by the access network device based on a transmission parameter of at least one data packet in the plurality of data packets that belong to the same media frame, at least one KQI of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel, wherein the transmission parameter of the at least one data packet indicates at least one of time at which the at least one data packet is scheduled [[and/]]or time at which the at least one data packet arrives at a buffer.
Paulissen teaches determining, by the access network device, a plurality of data packets that belong to a same media frame, wherein the media frame is a video frame or an audio frame (¶ [0040] & [0041], see specifically video frame or a group of frames and ¶ [0061], see specifically chunk or segments.)
and determining, by the access network device based on a transmission parameter of at least one data packet in the plurality of data packets that belong to the same media frame, at least one KQI of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel, wherein the transmission parameter of the at least one data packet indicates at least one of time at which the at least one data packet is scheduled or time at which the at least one data packet arrives at a buffer (¶ [0071], see specifically start time and time of arrival)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to measure based on arrival times in the system of Dao as taught by Paulissen.
The motivation is that arrival and departure times represent a factor of delay within a queuing system and it would be obvious to use it to calculate performance.
Regarding Claim 6, Dao fails to explicitly teach the plurality of data packets that belong to the same media frame are from a same burst.
Paulissen teaches the plurality of data packets that belong to the same media frame are from a same burst (¶ [0040] & [0041], see specifically video frame or a group of frames and ¶ [0061], see specifically chunk or segments.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to measure based on arrival times in the system of Dao as taught by Paulissen.
The motivation is that arrival and departure times represent a factor of delay within a queuing system and it would be obvious to use it to calculate performance.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2017/0332282) in view of Paulissen (US 2023/0048428) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Salmon-Legagneur (US 2024/0165508)
Regarding Claim 5, Dao fails to explicitly teach the plurality of data packets that belong to the same media frame have a same frame sequence number.
Salmon-Legagneur the plurality of data packets that belong to the same media frame have a same frame sequence number (¶ [0152], see specifically part of a video frame.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention that the packets may correspond to segments of a single frame in the system of Dao as taught by Salmon-Legagneur.
The motivation is that a frame may be too large to fit in a single frame, and it would have been obvious to segment the packet and monitor the QoS of these frames as they must be received together or close enough together to avoid issues.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2017/0332282) in view of Marupaduga (US 9,288,711)
Regarding Claim 7, Dao fails to explicitly teach the managing, by the access network device based on the KQI information and a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the KQI information, the target service transmitted on the target channel comprises:
determining, by the access network device, that a first KQI in the at least one KQI does not satisfy a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the first KQI; and stopping, by the access network device, transmitting the target service on the target channel.
Marupaduga teaches determining, by the access network device, that a first KQI in the at least one KQI does not satisfy a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the first KQI; and stopping, by the access network device, transmitting the target service on the target channel (column 2, lines 15-55, see specifically the description of the drop timer and that the drop timer is based on the call no longer able to be successfully conducted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to have the access device drop or maintain the connection based on the ability of the device to maintain the connection of Dao as taught by Marupaduga.
The motivation is that it allows the network to reclaim resources and enhance performance of the other devices.
Regarding Claim 8, Dao fails to explicitly teach the managing, by the access network device based on the KQI information and a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the KQI information, the target service transmitted on the target channel comprises: determining, by the access network device, that each KQI in the at least one KQI satisfies a corresponding target service quality-of-service requirement; and continuing, by the access network device, to transmit the target service on the target channel.
Marupaduga teaches determining, by the access network device, that each KQI in the at least one KQI satisfies a corresponding target service quality-of-service requirement; and continuing, by the access network device, to transmit the target service on the target channel (column 2, lines 15-55, see specifically the description of the drop timer and that the drop timer is based on the call no longer able to be successfully conducted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to have the access device drop or maintain the connection based on the ability of the device to maintain the connection of Dao as taught by Marupaduga.
The motivation is that it allows the network to reclaim resources and enhance performance of the other devices.
Regarding Claim 12, Dao fails to explicitly teach the managing, by the access network device based on the KQI information and a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the KQI information, the target service transmitted on the target channel comprises: determining, by the access network device, that the quality-of-service parameter does not satisfy a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the quality-of-service parameter; and stopping, by the access network device, transmitting the target service on the target channel.
Marupaduga determining, by the access network device, that the quality-of-service parameter does not satisfy a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the quality-of-service parameter; and stopping, by the access network device, transmitting the target service on the target channel (column 2, lines 15-55, see specifically the description of the drop timer and that the drop timer is based on the call no longer able to be successfully conducted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to have the access device drop or maintain the connection based on the ability of the device to maintain the connection of Dao as taught by Marupaduga.
The motivation is that it allows the network to reclaim resources and enhance performance of the other devices.
Regarding Claim 13, Dao fails to explicitly teach managing, by the access network device based on the KQI information and a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the KQI information, the target service transmitted on the target channel comprises: determining, by the access network device, that the quality-of-service parameter satisfies a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the quality-of-service parameter; and continuing, by the access network device, to transmit the target service on the target channel.
Marupaduga determining, by the access network device, that the quality-of-service parameter satisfies a target service quality-of-service requirement corresponding to the quality-of-service parameter; and continuing, by the access network device, to transmit the target service on the target channel (column 2, lines 15-55, see specifically the description of the drop timer and that the drop timer is based on the call no longer able to be successfully conducted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to have the access device drop or maintain the connection based on the ability of the device to maintain the connection of Dao as taught by Marupaduga.
The motivation is that it allows the network to reclaim resources and enhance performance of the other devices.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2017/0332282) in view of Phillips (US 2023/0405454).
Regarding Claim 14, Dao fails to explicitly teach sending, by the access network device, a first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a reason why the access network device stops transmitting the target service on the target channel, and the reason is that the quality of service of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel does not satisfy the target service quality-of-service requirement.
Phillips from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches sending, by the access network device, a first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a reason why the access network device stops transmitting the target service on the target channel, and the reason is that the quality of service of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel does not satisfy the target service quality-of-service requirement (¶ [0095], see specifically reason code)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to send the reason a session is terminated to the end user in the system of Dao as taught by Phillips.
The motivation is that allowing the end user to know the reason that a service has terminated keeps for a better informed user and increases user satisfaction.
Regarding Claim 15, Dao fails to explicitly teach the method further comprises: sending, by the access network device, a first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a reason why the access network device stops transmitting the target service on the target channel, and the reason is that the quality of service of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel does not satisfy the target service quality-of-service requirement.
Phillips from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the method further comprises: sending, by the access network device, a first message to a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a reason why the access network device stops transmitting the target service on the target channel, and the reason is that the quality of service of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel does not satisfy the target service quality-of-service requirement (¶ [0095], see specifically reason code)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to send the reason a session is terminated to the end user in the system of Dao as taught by Phillips.
The motivation is that allowing the end user to know the reason that a service has terminated keeps for a better informed user and increases user satisfaction.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marpaduga (US 9,288,711) in view of Phillips (US 2023/0405454).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Marupaduga teaches a target service management method, comprising:
the access network device stops transmitting a target service on a target channel (column 2, lines 15-55, see specifically the description of the drop timer and that the drop timer is based on the call no longer able to be successfully conducted).
and the reason is that quality of service of the target service during transmission of the target service on the target channel does not satisfy a target service quality-of-service requirement (column 2, lines 15-55, see specifically the description of the drop timer and that the drop timer is based on the call no longer able to be successfully conducted).
Marupaduga fails to explicitly teach receiving a first message from an access network device, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a reason for a failure
and determining, based on the first message, a reason why transmission of the target service on the target channel is stopped
Phillips from the same or similar field of endeavor receiving a first message from an access network device, wherein the first message comprises information indicating a reason for a failure
and determining, based on the first message, a reason why transmission of the target service on the target channel is stopped (¶ [0095], see specifically reason code)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to send the reason a session is terminated to the end user in the system of Marupaduga as taught by Phillips.
The motivation is that indicating a reason for the failure of a network session allows remedies to be undertaken to remedy either the network or the condition of the end user terminal, which provides for a better experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409