Application Status
Claims 1-11 are pending and have been examined in this application
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, and 11 are currently amended; claims 2-3, 7-10 are original;
Claims 1-10 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that upon further review of Chen, the current language/amendment does not overcome the prior art (Jones and Chen). Specifically, with respect to the amendment, Chen discloses in Fig. 6 that the inclined surfaces are engaged when the unlocking button is pressed; as a result of the inclined surfaces engaging each other, the limiting component is driven/moved inward allowing the two members (10, 30) to be rotated with respect to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US Pat. No. 4886230 A) in view of Chen (US Pat. No. 6216317 B1)
Regarding claim 1, Jones teaches a tripod with an adjustable angle, comprising: a tripod body (all attached to hip 18 above the legs, including hip 18). However, Jones does not teach the claimed specifics of the connection between the legs and the tripod body.
Chen teaches a support leg (10), movably connected to the tripod body via a rotational structure(11, 12, 15, 22, , 30, , 33, 32 ); wherein the rotational structure comprises a rotating head (Chen; 30 and 32 including the hole) on the tripod body and a rotating base(Chen; rotating base containing slot 11, inner hole 12, and a hole for pivoting member 33) at a first end of the support leg, and a limiting surface is located at an end of the rotating head (Chen; 34 is located at the end of 30); and a movable rotation-limiting assembly(14, 13, 20, 21) connected to the rotating base, the movable rotation-limiting assembly capable of interacting with the limiting surface to adjust an angle between the tripod body and the support leg; wherein the movable rotation-limiting assembly comprises a limiting component (Chen; urging block 14) and an unlocking button (Chen; press rod 20), the limiting component having a first engaging slope (Chen; front inclined plane 142), and the unlocking button having a second engaging slope (Chen; inclined plane 201); and wherein in a first position, in response to pressing the unlocking button, the second engaging slope is configured to pressing against the first engaging slope (see Fig. 6 where inclined planes 142 and 201 are engaged) to drive the limiting component (in the position of Fig. 6, urging block 14 is being driven away from the limiting surface 34, and permitting the member to be rotated) of the movable rotation-limiting assembly disengages to disengage from the limiting surface, permitting the support leg to rotate relative to the tripod body; and wherein in a second position, the limiting component (urging block 14) of the movable rotation-limiting assembly engages the limiting surface (14 engages 34 when the button is released), securing the support leg to the tripod body.
Jones and Chen are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. turning a member around a pivoting structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the tripod body of Jones with the rotational mechanism of Chen. The motivation would have been to allow for sturdy control of the angle of the legs.
Regarding claim 2, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 1, wherein in the first position, the movable rotation-limiting assembly is capable of permitting manual rotation of the support leg in a first direction or in a second direction; and wherein in the second position, the movable rotation-limiting assembly is capable of limiting manual rotation of the support leg in the second direction.
Regarding claim 3, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 1, wherein the rotational structure comprises a rotating head (Chen; 30 and 32 including the hole) on the tripod body, a rotating base (Chen; rotating base containing slot 11, inner hole 12, and a hole for pivoting member 33) at a first end of the support leg, and a rotating shaft (Chen; pivoting member 33) connecting the rotating head with the rotating base.
Regarding claim 4, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 3, wherein the movable rotation-limiting assembly comprises a limiting component (Chen; urging block 14); a first movable groove is provided on the rotating base (Chen; slot 11 and inner hole 12), and the limiting surface is located at an end of the rotating head (Chen; retaining portion 34 including toothed slot 341 located at the end of 32); a first end of the limiting component is movably positioned (Chen; 141 sits in inner hole 12) within the first movable groove (Chen; slot 11 and inner hole 12), and a second end of the limiting component interacts with the limiting surface (Chen; 143 engages 341); wherein the second end of the limiting component disengages from the limiting surface, in response to the limiting component moving to the first position in the first movable groove (Chen; 143 disengaged from 341); and wherein the second end of the limiting component locks onto the limiting surface, in response to the limiting component moving to the second position relative to the first movable groove (Chen; 143 engaged into 341).
Regarding claim 5, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 4, wherein a plurality of limiting surfaces (Chen; retaining portion 34 includes many toothed slots 341) are arranged around the rotating shaft (Chen; 33) on the rotating head (Chen; 30 including the hole); wherein the limiting component moves to the first position in the first movable groove, the second end of the limiting component disengages from the plurality of limiting surfaces, in response to the limiting component moves to the first position in the first movable groove (Chen; 143 disengaged from 341, urging block 14 moves down within inner hole 12); and wherein the limiting component moves to the second position relative to the first movable groove, the second end of the limiting component locks onto one of the plurality of limiting surfaces, in response to the limiting component moving to the second position relative to the first movable groove (Chen; 143 engaged into 341, urging block 14 moves up within inner hole 12).
Regarding claim 6, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 4, wherein a second movable groove(Chen; hole 15) is provided on the rotating base, intersecting with the first movable groove(Chen; hole 15 intersects inner hole 12); the unlocking button is movably arranged within the second movable groove (Chen; press rod 20 located inside hole 15); and a first engaging slope is provided on the limiting component (Chen; front inclined plane 142), and a second engaging slope is provided on the unlocking button (Chen; inclined plane 201), with the first engaging slope being configured to cooperate with the movement of the second engaging slope (Chen; 201 and 142 are joined together).
Regarding claim 7, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 6, wherein the movable rotation-limiting assembly further comprises a first reset mechanism (Chen; spring 13); and the first reset mechanism is between the limiting component and a bottom wall of the first movable groove (Chen; spring 13 is located between urging block 14 and the bottom of inner hole 12).
Regarding claim 8, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 7, wherein the movable rotation-limiting assembly further comprises a second reset mechanism (Chen; spring 21); and the unlocking button comprises a pressing part (Chen; exposed end of press rod 20), and the second reset mechanism is arranged within the second movable groove (Chen; spring 21 is located with hole 15), and is provided between the pressing part and a side wall of the second movable groove (Chen; spring 21 is located between press rod 20 and the side wall of the second movable groove 22).
Regarding claim 9, The tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 6, wherein two sides of the limiting component are respectively in contact with two side walls of the first movable groove (Chen; urging block 14 touches the walls of inner hole 12, to the extent the urging block is cylindrical and does not have two side walls, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the inner hole 12 of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, in this case in a prism shape . A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.)
Regarding claim 10, Jones as modified teaches the tripod with an adjustable angle according to claim 6, wherein the limiting component is provided with a movable hole (Chen; urging block 14 has slot 141); the unlocking button comprises an unlocking part which penetrates the movable hole (Chen; press rod 20 slides into slot 141 and allows the mechanism to unlock) ; a notch (Chen; the open area located on the press rod 20 created between the front inclined plane 201 and the straight section 202, arrow 1 pointing to it on Fig. 2 below) is provided on the unlocking part, pressing against a side wall of the movable hole (Chen; pressed against the side walls of slot 141); and the first engaging slope is set on a side wall of the movable hole (Chen; inclined plane 142 is within slot 141), while the second engaging slope is set on the notch (Chen; front inclined plane 201 is located on the notch, in so much as second engaging slope is set on the notch, so it is in Fig. 2 of Chen seen below)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631