DETAIL ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/10/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant mainly argued, regarding claim 1 that prior art Milanesi et al. (“Milanesi”, US Pat 9086710) fails to teach, “a second amplifier configured to output a second error signal commensurate with a difference between the feedback voltage and the first error signal”, and to justify Applicant’s additional rationale being as follows,
However, respectfully the Examiner disagrees. It appears there is possible misunderstanding between Applicant’s understanding of the taught limitations and the Examiner’s matched interpretation, due to an inadvertent error on Examiner’s side to cite correctly between applicant’s claimed element to Milanesi’s element.
From the Office Action (OA), on 05/14/2026, regarding claim 1, Examiner matched “a first error signal” being 124’s output, see OA, page 5, line 6.
However, Examiner inadvertently didn’t finish full explanation regarding taught second amplifier’s relationship to the first error voltage, which is now corrected, as follows (emphasis on grey highlighted portion),
“a first amplifier (combined operation of ‘124, C4’; wherein generation of 1st error signal is based on difference between a reference voltage REF & feedback voltage FED, used in 124, which includes 1st transconductance amp 124 and its output connecting a capacitor C4 determining low frequency gain) configured to output a first error signal (i.e., 124’s output) commensurate with a difference between an output voltage or a feedback voltage (FED) commensurate therewith and a predetermined reference voltage (REF);
a second amplifier (combined operation of ‘122, R7, 126’; wherein generation of 2nd error signal is based on difference between REF & FED, used in 122, which includes 2nd transconductance amp 122 and its output coupled to resistor R7 determining high-frequency gain; and 126 provides outputs based on 122 and 124’s output) configured to output a second error signal (122 & 126’s output towards a node providing +Vout, which is received by 60’s +input) commensurate with a different between the feedback voltage (122 operates based on FED & REF difference) and the first error signal (i.e., 124’s output being 1st error signal; and wherein note that 126 provides outputs based on 122 and 124’s output);”
Furthermore, Applicant arguing over a specific connection language that was never claimed. Nowhere in any of the claims, except for claim 14, Applicant claimed that the first amplifier is somehow in series connection with second amplifier. Therefore, Examiner believes cited art indeed teaches each and every currently claimed limitation(s) of claim 1. Since there were no other arguments provided, Examiner assumes that Applicant agrees that prior art teaches rest of the limitations, as explained by the Examiner in the OA.
For additional support see following annotated screen shot of Milanesi (Examiner recommends seeing entire col. 5 L1-last line),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milanesi et al. (“Milanesi”, US Pat 9086710), in view of Wiktor et al. (“Wiktor”, US Pub 2020/0228018).
Following annotated Fig. 2 and 4 are from Milanesi et al. (“Milanesi”, US Pat 9086710)
Above annotated Fig. 2 and 4 are from Milanesi et al. (“Milanesi”, US Pat 9086710)
Regarding independent claim 1, Milanesi teaches (Fig. 2-4 & see above annotated provided Fig. 2, 4) a switching power supply (Fig. 2), comprising:
a first amplifier (combined operation of ‘124, C4’; wherein generation of 1st error signal is based on difference between a reference voltage REF & feedback voltage FED, used in 124, which includes 1st transconductance amp 124 and its output connecting a capacitor C4 determining low frequency gain) configured to output a first error signal (i.e., 124’s output) commensurate with a difference between an output voltage or a feedback voltage (FED) commensurate therewith and a predetermined reference voltage (REF);
a second amplifier (combined operation of ‘122, R7, 126’; wherein generation of 2nd error signal is based on difference between REF & FED, used in 122, which includes 2nd transconductance amp 122 and its output coupled to resistor R7 determining high-frequency gain; and 126 provides outputs based on 122 and 124’s output) configured to output a second error signal (122 & 126’s output towards a node providing +Vout, which is received by 60’s +input) commensurate with a difference between the feedback voltage (122 operates based on FED & REF difference) and the first error signal (i.e., 124’s output being 1st error signal; and wherein note that 126 provides outputs based on 122 and 124’s output);
a ramp signal generation circuit configured to generate a ramp signal;
a PWM comparator (i.e., 60) configured to generate an off (60’s output being reset input for switch T) signal by comparing the second error signal (122 & 126’s output towards a node providing +Vout, which is received by 60’s +input) with the clock signal (CLK);
a control circuit (62) configured to generate a control signal (62’s output being Q dricing T) based on the off signal (60’s output being reset input for switch T); and
a switching output circuit (switch T & synchronous rectifier D’s output being Vout) configured to generate the output voltage (Vout) based on the control signal (62’s output being Q dricing T).
However, Milanesi fails to explicitly teach a ramp signal generation circuit configured to generate a ramp signal; and use of ramp signal to compare with the second error signal for the PWM comparator, when generating off signal.
Above Fig. 3 is from Wiktor et al. (“Wiktor”, US Pub 2020/0228018)
However, Wiktor teaches (Fig. 2-5; Para 24-59) explicitly teaches a ramp signal generation circuit configured to generate a ramp signal (not explicitly shown, but teaches the use of a ramp generator (Para 37) in order to have 228 operate as ramp-based PMW generator; Para ‘3, 11-13, 31, 37, 98’ and claim 20); and use of ramp signal to compare with the second error signal (Fig. 2-3; 2nd amplifier being error amp 220, wherein 2nd error signal being 220’s output) for the PWM comparator (228, wherein 228 is known to utilize some type of comparator or comparing means, since more than two inputs are being considered to provide PWM output 215), when generating off signal (i.e., when output of 228 is used to switch off switch 246).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Regarding claim 3, Milanesi fails to teach an oscillator configured to generate an on signal that is pulse-driven at a predetermined switching frequency.
However, Wiktor teaches an oscillator (OSC 230) configured to generate an on signal that is pulse-driven at a predetermined switching frequency (Para 38).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output; and to include an oscillator configured to generate an on signal that is pulse-driven at a predetermined switching frequency, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Regarding claim 4, Milanesi teaches a reference voltage generation circuit (anticipated but not shown explicitly) configured to generate the predetermined reference voltage (REF).
Furthermore, Wiktor teaches a reference voltage generation circuit (210) configured to generate the predetermined reference voltage (VREFC).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output; to include an oscillator configured to generate an on signal that is pulse-driven at a predetermined switching frequency; and to include a reference voltage generation circuit to generate the reference voltage, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Regarding claim 5, Milanesi teaches the reference voltage generation circuit (anticipated but not shown explicitly) generating the predetermined reference voltage (VREF), which is an analog signal.
However, Milanesi fails to teach the reference voltage generation circuit being a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) configured to convert a digital reference voltage setting signal into the predetermined reference voltage (VREF), which is an analog signal.
However, Wiktor teaches the reference voltage generation circuit (210) being a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) (210 includes 208 with DAC 344, among other controlled elements) configured to convert a digital reference voltage setting signal (i.e., using 208’s operation based on received inputs) into the predetermined reference voltage (VREFC), which is an analog signal.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output; to include an oscillator configured to generate an on signal that is pulse-driven at a predetermined switching frequency; and to include a reference voltage generation circuit being a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) configured to convert a digital reference voltage setting signal into the reference voltage, which is an analog signal, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Regarding claim 6, Milanesi fails to teach the digital reference voltage setting signal achieves soft starting at start-up.
However, Wiktor teaches the digital reference voltage setting signal achieves soft starting at start-up (i.e., using 208’s operation based on received inputs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output; to include an oscillator configured to generate an on signal that is pulse-driven at a predetermined switching frequency; and to include a reference voltage generation circuit being a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) configured to convert a digital reference voltage setting signal into the reference voltage, which is an analog signal, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Regarding claim 7, Milanesi teaches a capacitor other than a parasitic element configured to be connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier (combined operation of ‘124, C4’; wherein generation of 1st error signal is based on difference between a reference voltage REF & feedback voltage FED, used in 124, which includes 1st transconductance amp 124 and its output connecting a capacitor C4 determining low frequency gain).
Regarding claim 8, Milanesi teaches a resistor configured to be connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier (combined operation of ‘122, R7, 126’; wherein generation of 2nd error signal is based on difference between REF & FED, used in 122, which includes 2nd transconductance amp 122 and its output coupled to resistor R7 determining high-frequency gain; and 126 provides outputs based on 122 and 124’s output).
Regarding claim 9, Milanesi teaches the first amplifier is configured to have a first transconductance (combined operation of ‘124, C4’; wherein generation of 1st error signal is based on difference between a reference voltage REF & feedback voltage FED, used in 124, which includes 1st transconductance amp 124 and its output connecting a capacitor C4 determining low frequency gain), and the second amplifier is configured to have a second transconductance (combined operation of ‘122, R7, 126’; wherein generation of 2nd error signal is based on difference between REF & FED, used in 122, which includes 2nd transconductance amp 122 and its output coupled to resistor R7 determining high-frequency gain; and 126 provides outputs based on 122 and 124’s output) different from the first transconductance.
Regarding claim 10, Milanesi teaches a digital calibrator (i.e., 54’s output, controlling 56’s input, and this taught 1st-2nd amplifier’s input) configured to be connected to an input terminal of the first amplifier to correct an input error (combined operation of ‘124, C4’; wherein generation of 1st error signal is based on difference between a reference voltage REF & feedback voltage FED, used in 124, which includes 1st transconductance amp 124 and its output connecting a capacitor C4 determining low frequency gain).
[Additional Examiner’s NOTE: Applicant never claims how exactly the digital calibrator is connected to the inputs of 1st amplifier or what is the digital calibrator. Thus, under BRI, Milanesi does teach the above mentioned claimed limitations.]
Regarding claim 11, Milanesi teaches a feedback terminal (terminal that is providing FED1) configured to be fed with the output voltage (Vout); a feedback voltage generation circuit (R1-2) including a first feedback resistor (R1) and a second feedback resistor (R2) connected in series between the feedback terminal (a connection node being mid-node between R1-2, generating FED1 that is provided to 52 on the feedback terminal) and a ground terminal (GND), the feedback voltage generation circuit (R1-2) being configured to output the feedback voltage (FED1) from a connection node between the first and second feedback resistors (a connection node being mid-node between R1-2, generating FED1 that is provided to 52 on the feedback terminal).
Regarding claim 12, Milanesi teaches wherein the switching output circuit includes an output transistor (T) and a synchronous rectification transistor (D, which may be of a transistor, old and established methods to switch between diode and transistors).
Furthermore, Wiktor teaches the switching output circuit (204, among other also includes series connected output transistor 246 and synchronous transistors 256, between Vin and gnd; 204 providing Vout to load 206) includes an output transistor (246; Para 26) and a synchronous rectification transistor (248; Para 26) are power MOSFETs, insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs), SiC transistors, or GaN transistors.
Thus, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Regarding claim 13, Milanesi teaches wherein the output transistor (T) and the synchronous rectification transistor (D, which may be of a transistor, old and established methods to switch between diode and transistors) are power MOSFETs, insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs), SiC transistors, or GaN transistors.
Furthermore, Wiktor teaches the switching output circuit (204, among other also includes series connected output transistor 246 and synchronous transistors 256, between Vin and gnd; 204 providing Vout to load 206) includes an output transistor (246; Para 26) and a synchronous rectification transistor (248; Para 26) are power MOSFETs, insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs), SiC transistors, or GaN transistors.
Thus, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milanesi (US Pat 9086710), in view of Wiktor (US Pub 2020/0228018) and in further view of Tan et al. (“Tan”, US Pub 2014/0043006).
Regarding claim 2, Milanesi teaches the control signal.
Milanesi fails to teach a switch driving circuit configured to output a driving signal to the switching output circuit based on the control signal.
However, Wiktor teach a switch driving circuit (i.e., inverter or driver 256 operates based on 228’s output) configured to output a driving signal (i.e., taught inverter or deriver 256’s output that directly drives 248; and 256 operates based on 228’s output) to the switching output circuit (i.e., when output of 228 is used to switch off switch 246, causes 256 to drive 248) based on the control signal (228’s output).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi’s taught switching power supply to include a ramp signal generation circuit’s generated output a ramp signal for the PWM signal generator and being compared with Milanesi’s taught second error amplifier’s output, as controlled circuit design choice, in order to generate the off signal for Milanesi’s taught control circuit, which is known to be an old and established technique, as doing so would have provided a precise calibrated technique for PWM controlled operation for the DC-DC converter, resulting an efficient and faster operation during different transient load operation, as taught by Wiktor (Para 3, 12-15).
Furthermore, Tan teaches (Para 39-47) a switch driving circuit (Fig. 5; 202) configured to output a driving signal (SW1-2) to the switching output circuit (N1-2) based on the control signal (16’s output PWM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Milanesi and Wiktor ’s collectively taught switching power supply to further include a switch driving circuit configured to output a driving signal to the switching output circuit based on the control signal, as disclosed by Tan, which is known to be an old and established circuit design choice technique, as doing so would have provided independent controlled driving signals for respective switches, and thus improving overall steady operation for the switching power supply, as taught by Tan (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, cited art(s) failed to teach, “an output terminal of the first amplifier is directly connected to a non-inverting input terminal of the second amplifier”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NUSRAT QUDDUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838