DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C, claims 1-4 and 11-13 in the reply filed on 7/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-10 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandermeulen (US 20140150481) in view of Ge et al (US 20240353154).
Regarding claim 1, Vandermeulen teaches a chiller system (fig. 5), comprising: a heat and mass exchanger (607) configured to: dehumidify a flow of air (SA, drier, paragraph 0025); and provide the dehumidified flow of air to a cooling tower (403); and a desiccant regenerator (610) in fluid communication with the heat and mass exchanger (fig. 5), the regenerator configured to provide concentrated liquid desiccant (611) to the heat and mass exchanger for dehumidifying the flow of air (paragraph 0025) but fails to explicitly teach an electrically driven desiccant regenerator.
However, Ge teaches an electrically driven desiccant regenerator (136) to efficiently use waste heat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the chiller system of Vandermeulen to include an electrically driven desiccant regenerator in view of the teachings of Ge to efficiently use waste heat.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the electrically driven desiccant regenerator is configured to: receive warm water from a structure (402 of Vandermeulen), and pre-heat scavenging air entering the electrically driven desiccant regenerator (OA, fig. 5 of Vandermeulen).
Regarding claim 13, it is noted that although the preamble of claim 13 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandermeulen (US 20140150481) in view of Ge et al (US 20240353154) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Sines et al (US 20100090356).
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach a liquid desiccant reservoir, wherein: the liquid desiccant reservoir is in fluid communication with the electrically driven desiccant regenerator and the heat and mass exchanger; the electrically driven desiccant regenerator is configured to provide the concentrated liquid desiccant to the liquid desiccant reservoir; and the heat and mass exchanger is configured to receive the concentrated liquid desiccant from the liquid desiccant reservoir.
However, Sines teaches a liquid desiccant reservoir (125), wherein: the liquid desiccant reservoir is in fluid communication with the electrically driven desiccant regenerator (137, corresponds to 610 of Vandermeulen) and the heat and mass exchanger (129, corresponds to 607 of Vandermeulen); the electrically driven desiccant regenerator is configured to provide the concentrated liquid desiccant to the liquid desiccant reservoir (fig. 1); and the heat and mass exchanger is configured to receive the concentrated liquid desiccant from the liquid desiccant reservoir (arrow from 125) to provide efficient desiccant humidity control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the chiller system of the combined teachings to include a liquid desiccant reservoir, wherein: the liquid desiccant reservoir is in fluid communication with the electrically driven desiccant regenerator and the heat and mass exchanger; the electrically driven desiccant regenerator is configured to provide the concentrated liquid desiccant to the liquid desiccant reservoir; and the heat and mass exchanger is configured to receive the concentrated liquid desiccant from the liquid desiccant reservoir in view of the teachings of Sines to provide efficient desiccant humidity control.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the liquid desiccant reservoir is configured to receive diluted liquid desiccant from the heat and mass exchanger (arrow into 129 of Sines); and the electrically driven desiccant regenerator is configured to receive the diluted liquid desiccant from the liquid desiccant reservoir (arrow from 129 to 137 of Sines).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the cooling tower is configured to release hot water to fall down through a cavity of the cooling tower (arrow from 137 to 127 of Sines), and wherein the dehumidified air cools the hot water as the hot water falls down through the cavity to provide cooled water (paragraph 0029 of Sines).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandermeulen (US 20140150481) in view of Ge et al (US 20240353154) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Wilkinson (US 4905479).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach an indirect evaporative cooler in fluid communication with the heat and mass exchanger and the cooling tower, wherein the indirect evaporative cooler is configured to: receive the dehumidified flow of air from the heat and mass exchanger; cool the dehumidified flow of air; and provide the cooled and dehumidified flow of air to the cooling tower.
However, Wilkinson teaches an indirect evaporative cooler (17) in fluid communication with the heat and mass exchanger (15) and the cooling tower (understood 17 is capable of being in communication with 403 of Vandermeulen), wherein the indirect evaporative cooler is configured to: receive the dehumidified flow of air from the heat and mass exchanger (fig. 3); cool the dehumidified flow of air; and provide the cooled and dehumidified flow of air to the cooling tower (fig. 3) to efficiently effect temperature change.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the chiller system of the combined teachings to include an indirect evaporative cooler in fluid communication with the heat and mass exchanger and the cooling tower, wherein the indirect evaporative cooler is configured to: receive the dehumidified flow of air from the heat and mass exchanger; cool the dehumidified flow of air; and provide the cooled and dehumidified flow of air to the cooling tower in view of the teachings of Wilkinson to efficiently effect temperature change.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763