DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a water management system for
“receiving the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier, processing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier, comparing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier to at least one target operational parameter of a plurality of target operational parameters; and determining a status of the first fixture based at least in part on the comparison of the data to the at least one target operational parameter.” This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a mental abstract idea with an aid of a computer as a tool to perform a mental process in order to determine a status of the first fixture, and where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements do not recite a specific improvement to computer functionality or another technology nor do they integrate the exceptions into a practical application.
For claim 1, Under Step 2A, prong 1: the claims can be interpreted as a claim to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; and a claim to collecting and comparing known information. See below:
receiving the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier,
Mere data gathering; collecting
processing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier
analyzing
comparing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier to at least one target operational parameter of a plurality of target operational parameters
Analyzing; comparing to known information
determining a status of the first fixture based at least in part on the comparison of the data to the at least one target operational parameter
displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; comparing to known information
Under Step 2A Prong 2:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor do not have a technological improvement computer functionality or another technology. The processor and non-transitory computer-readable medium incorporates the idea into a technical environment but are field of use without concrete machine control or material transformation.
Under Step 2B:
The elements such as the non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor are generic computing and sensing components which are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 2-9 are dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. The claim recites the same abstract idea of “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; and a claim to collecting and comparing known information”. The claims cites additional elements relating to identifying and detecting thresholds and target parameters of the first fixture. However, the element(s) does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 10 cites first end point device with a non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor to receive data associated with the first fixture.
Under Step 2A, prong 1: the claim can be interpreted as a claim to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, and a claim to collecting and comparing known information. The steps are similar to that of claim 1 – see table above of the interpretation.
Under Step 2A Prong 2: The non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor do not have a technological improvement computer functionality or another technology. The processor and non-transitory computer-readable medium incorporates the idea into a technical environment but are field of use without concrete machine control or material transformation.
Under Step 2B: The elements such as the non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor are generic computing and sensing components which are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 11-15 are dependent on claim 11 and includes all the limitations of claim 10. The claim recites the same abstract idea of “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; and a claim to collecting and comparing known information”. The claims cites additional elements relating to identifying and detecting thresholds and target parameters of the first fixture. However, the element(s) does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 16 cites a first end point device with a non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor to receive data associated with the first fixture.
Under Step 2A, prong 1: the claim can be interpreted as a claim to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, and a claim to collecting and comparing known information. The steps are similar to that of claim 1 – see table above of the interpretation.
The claim also cites “detecting if a target operational life span is met based at least in part on the current life value, and detecting if an operational threshold is met based at least in part on the operational data,”. However, the limitations also promote mental process of analyzing the data.
Under Step 2A Prong 2: The non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor do not have a technological improvement computer functionality or another technology. The processor and non-transitory computer-readable medium incorporates the idea into a technical environment but are field of use without concrete machine control or material transformation.
Under Step 2B: The elements such as the non-transitory computer-readable medium and first end point electronic processor are generic computing and sensing components which are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 17-20 are dependent on claim 16 and includes all the limitations of claim 16. The claim recites the same abstract idea of “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis; and a claim to collecting and comparing known information”. The claims cites additional elements relating to identifying and detecting thresholds and target parameters of the first fixture. However, the element(s) does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US 20210301985 A1).
Claim 1. Brown teaches a water management system comprising:
a first end point device in communication with a first fixture
(Fig. 1, IoT device 110-114 connections to a connected object 102
[0080] fixture IoT devices 504 for connecting to “analog” home fixtures, such as faucets and other plumbing;)
, the first end point device including:
a first end point electronic processor configured to receive data associated with
the first fixture and a first fixture identifier
([0005] The water device may include an identifier... electronic records associated with the water device based on the identifier
[0082] FIG. 6 shows an illustrative system 600 that enables the monitoring, performance evaluation, and control of connected devices in a residential water system...such as the IoT device 200 of FIG. 2) including without limitation: a controller 602; smart valves (e.g., valves 613, 625, 654, 658, and 662))
, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by at least
one electronic processor to perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprise:
receiving the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier
([0133] At 1004, the system can receive or collect real-time device operation data describing the operating conditions of the water device. For example, the system can obtain the state (e.g., on or off) of a switch on the water device from the device's controller, as well as the value of any property observed by a sensor or meter (e.g., pressure, flow rate) associated with the water device.
[0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number ),
processing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier
([0131] [0138] the device health profile 1110 can track factors impacting the life expectancy of the water device, such as the total run hours (i.e., hours the device has been powered on), which are calculated by aggregating elements of the collected real-time data...the device health profile 1110 can be configured to include a complete maintenance history of the water device...
[0134] If the system does identify an existing device health profile for the water device, at 1012 the system can compare the real-time data to the device health profile to determine whether the device is operating normally, or is exhibiting potentially problematic behavior (e.g., which may be indicated by a deviation of the real-time data from a normal operation signature of the health profile, where the deviation may be characterized by one or more variables represented in the real-time data differing from corresponding variables of the normal operation signature by a threshold or group of thresholds)... At 1014, the system can determine whether the collected data indicates the water device has a problem.),
comparing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier to at least one target operational parameter of a plurality of target operational parameters
[0134] If the system does identify an existing device health profile for the water device, at 1012 the system can compare the real-time data to the device health profile to determine whether the device is operating normally, or is exhibiting potentially problematic behavior (e.g., which may be indicated by a deviation of the real-time data from a normal operation signature of the health profile, where the deviation may be characterized by one or more variables represented in the real-time data differing from corresponding variables of the normal operation signature by a threshold or group of thresholds).)
and determining a status of the first fixture based at least in part on the comparison of the data to the at least one target operational parameter.
([0134] At 1008, the system can determine whether the water device already has a stored device health profile associated therewith. For example, the system can query a device health profile data store associated with the user, using the water device's identifier as a primary key... At 1014, the system can determine whether the collected data indicates the water device has a problem. For example, if the reported sensor values deviate a predetermined amount from the normal operation signature, or if they are similar to a problem signature, there may be a problem.)
Claim 2. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 1, wherein the first fixture includes at least one of a faucet, a flush valve, a soap dispenser, a water service line monitor, a backflow preventer, a grease interceptor, a roof drain, a floor drain, an acid neutralization system, a fire distribution system, an irrigation system, a thermostatic mixing valve, a hand dryer, a pressure sensor, a flow sensor, a leak detector, an occupancy light sensor, an air quality sensor, a door latch, or a valve
sensor
([0080] faucets and other plumbing).
Claim 3. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 1, wherein the status indicates whether the fixture requires maintenance
(Brown [0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media;... if the pressure still does not drop, the filter requires manual cleaning or replacement, and the system can alert the user as such.
[0090] whether a mechanical failure has occurred in the given filter, such as plugging (e.g., indicating that the filter has reached the end of its useful life), black water (e.g., where activated carbon from the filter cartridge enters the water stream), or leaks (e.g., which may be identified as water pressure drops across the filtration system 614).).
Claim 4. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 1 wherein the plurality of target operational parameters includes at least one of a target flow rate, a target volume, a target pressure, a target temperature, a target operational life span, and a target battery capacity
([0131] to locate the leak (i.e., by determining which water devices and/or sensors are reporting an excessive flow rate or volume relative to their normal signatures). [0133] For example, the system can obtain the state (e.g., on or off) of a switch on the water device from the device's controller, as well as the value of any property observed by a sensor or meter (e.g., pressure, flow rate) associated with the water device.
[0135] At 1022, the system can determine whether the data points match (or at least substantially match) a problem signature (e.g., stored in a library). For example, the data may indicate a problem is present or emerging if the collected data is within a threshold of the corresponding values in the signature, and/or are approaching the signature values at or exceeding a predetermined rate. Non-limiting examples are described below with respect to the Figures. If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user,).
Claim 5. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 1, wherein the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier includes at least one of a fluid flow rate, a volume, a
pressure, a temperature, a current life value, and a battery capacity
(([0131] to locate the leak (i.e., by determining which water devices and/or sensors are reporting an excessive flow rate or volume relative to their normal signatures). [0133] For example, the system can obtain the state (e.g., on or off) of a switch on the water device from the device's controller, as well as the value of any property observed by a sensor or meter (e.g., pressure, flow rate) associated with the water device.
[0135] At 1022, the system can determine whether the data points match (or at least substantially match) a problem signature (e.g., stored in a library). For example, the data may indicate a problem is present or emerging if the collected data is within a threshold of the corresponding values in the signature, and/or are approaching the signature values at or exceeding a predetermined rate. Non-limiting examples are described below with respect to the Figures. If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user,).
Claim 6. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 1, wherein processing the data associated with the first fixture and the first fixture identifier includes determining fixture usage information and operational data, and wherein comparing the data and the at least one target operational parameter includes detecting whether an operational threshold is met
([0135] At 1022, the system can determine whether the data points match (or at least substantially match) a problem signature (e.g., stored in a library). For example, the data may indicate a problem is present or emerging if the collected data is within a threshold of the corresponding values in the signature, and/or are approaching the signature values at or exceeding a predetermined rate. Non-limiting examples are described below with respect to the Figures. If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user,
[0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media;).
Claim 7. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 6, wherein the operational threshold includes a trend threshold, a warning threshold, and a severe threshold, and wherein the trend threshold relates to monitoring for operational trends of the first fixture, the operational trends being at least partially based on the operational data, usage information, and historical data of the first
Fixture
([0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number
(e.g. trend, warning threshold)
[0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media; the threshold can be replaced with a higher threshold, or a series of thresholds can be tested, and alerts with increasing urgency can be generated.
[0135] If not, at 1040 the system can exit a normal operation mode and enter a device replacement/service call mode, in which the system can, via user interfaces and/or automated commands to customer service, help the user deactivate and repair/replace the malfunctioning water device.(Severity threshold)).).
Claim 8. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 7, wherein meeting the operational threshold indicates preventative maintenance is needed
([0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media).
Claim 9. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 1, wherein the set of functions further comprises determining a service type, and wherein the service type includes a type selected from preventative maintenance, repair, replace, test, cleaning, and upgrade
([0135] If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user, notifying the user of the existing or emergent problem condition(s). At 1026, the system can determine whether, even though the problem signature is present, the water device is nevertheless operating normally. If not, at 1040 the system can exit a normal operation mode and enter a device replacement/service call mode, in which the system can, via user interfaces and/or automated commands to customer service, help the user deactivate and repair/replace the malfunctioning water device.
([0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media
[0147] predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number (e.g., smaller pump, bigger filter, additional sensor, replacement for obsolete product);...upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance); ).
Claim 10. Brown teaches a water management system comprising:
a first end point device in communication with a first fixture
(Fig. 1, IoT device 110-114 connections to a connected object 102
[0080] fixture IoT devices 504 for connecting to “analog” home fixtures, such as faucets and other plumbing;)
, the first end point device
including:
a first end point electronic processor configured to receive data associated with
the first fixture
([0005] The water device may include an identifier... electronic records associated with the water device based on the identifier
[0082] FIG. 6 shows an illustrative system 600 that enables the monitoring, performance evaluation, and control of connected devices in a residential water system...such as the IoT device 200 of FIG. 2) including without limitation: a controller 602; smart valves (e.g., valves 613, 625, 654, 658, and 662))
, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by at least
one electronic processor to perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprise:
receiving the data associated with the first fixture
([0133] At 1004, the system can receive or collect real-time device operation data describing the operating conditions of the water device. For example, the system can obtain the state (e.g., on or off) of a switch on the water device from the device's controller, as well as the value of any property observed by a sensor or meter (e.g., pressure, flow rate) associated with the water device.
[0145] methods of FIGS. 12 and 13 in predicting when the filter media should be backwashed or replaced include: water quality trends in the geographic region of the installation site,
[0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number ),
processing the data associated with the first fixture, wherein processing the data includes determining operational data of the first fixture
([0131] [0138] the device health profile 1110 can track factors impacting the life expectancy of the water device, such as the total run hours (i.e., hours the device has been powered on), which are calculated by aggregating elements of the collected real-time data...the device health profile 1110 can be configured to include a complete maintenance history of the water device...
[0134] If the system does identify an existing device health profile for the water device, at 1012 the system can compare the real-time data to the device health profile to determine whether the device is operating normally, or is exhibiting potentially problematic behavior (e.g., which may be indicated by a deviation of the real-time data from a normal operation signature of the health profile, where the deviation may be characterized by one or more variables represented in the real-time data differing from corresponding variables of the normal operation signature by a threshold or group of thresholds).),
comparing the operational data of the first fixture to at least one target operational parameter of a plurality of target operational parameters, wherein comparing the operational data includes detecting if an operational threshold is met
([0134] If the system does identify an existing device health profile for the water device, at 1012 the system can compare the real-time data to the device health profile to determine whether the device is operating normally, or is exhibiting potentially problematic behavior (e.g., which may be indicated by a deviation of the real-time data from a normal operation signature of the health profile, where the deviation may be characterized by one or more variables represented in the real-time data differing from corresponding variables of the normal operation signature by a threshold or group of thresholds).
[0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media;...)
and determining a status of the first fixture indicating whether the fixture requires
maintenance, the status based at least in part on the comparison of the operational data
and the at least one target operational parameter
([0134] At 1008, the system can determine whether the water device already has a stored device health profile associated therewith. For example, the system can query a device health profile data store associated with the user, using the water device's identifier as a primary key... At 1014, the system can determine whether the collected data indicates the water device has a problem. For example, if the reported sensor values deviate a predetermined amount from the normal operation signature, or if they are similar to a problem signature, there may be a problem.
[0144]... if the pressure still does not drop, the filter requires manual cleaning or replacement, and the system can alert the user as such.).
Claim 11. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 10, wherein the operational data includes at least one of a fluid flow rate, a volume, a pressure, a temperature, a current live value, and a battery capacity, and wherein the plurality of target operational parameters includes at least one of a target flow rate, a target volume, a target pressure, a target temperature, a target life span, and a
target battery capacity
([0131] to locate the leak (i.e., by determining which water devices and/or sensors are reporting an excessive flow rate or volume relative to their normal signatures). [0133] For example, the system can obtain the state (e.g., on or off) of a switch on the water device from the device's controller, as well as the value of any property observed by a sensor or meter (e.g., pressure, flow rate) associated with the water device.
[0135] At 1022, the system can determine whether the data points match (or at least substantially match) a problem signature (e.g., stored in a library). For example, the data may indicate a problem is present or emerging if the collected data is within a threshold of the corresponding values in the signature, and/or are approaching the signature values at or exceeding a predetermined rate. Non-limiting examples are described below with respect to the Figures. If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user,).
Claim 12. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 10, wherein comparing the operational data associated with the first fixture to the at least one target operational parameter includes detecting whether a deviation from the operational parameter has occurred
[0134] If the system does identify an existing device health profile for the water device, at 1012 the system can compare the real-time data to the device health profile to determine whether the device is operating normally, or is exhibiting potentially problematic behavior (e.g., which may be indicated by a deviation of the real-time data from a normal operation signature of the health profile, where the deviation may be characterized by one or more variables represented in the real-time data differing from corresponding variables of the normal operation signature by a threshold or group of thresholds).).
Claim 13. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 12, wherein detecting if an operational threshold is met is based at least in part on detecting the deviation and includes:
determining a type of operational threshold, the type of operational threshold including a
warning threshold and a severe threshold, wherein the warning threshold and the severe
threshold are determined based on a level of severity of the deviation
([0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number (warning threshold)
[0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media; the threshold can be replaced with a higher threshold, or a series of thresholds can be tested, and alerts with increasing urgency can be generated. ).
Claim 14. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 13, wherein meeting a warning threshold or a severe threshold indicates preventative maintenance is needed
(([0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number
(e.g. trend, warning threshold)
[0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media; the threshold can be replaced with a higher threshold, or a series of thresholds can be tested, and alerts with increasing urgency can be generated.
[0135] If not, at 1040 the system can exit a normal operation mode and enter a device replacement/service call mode, in which the system can, via user interfaces and/or automated commands to customer service, help the user deactivate and repair/replace the malfunctioning water device.
(Severity threshold)).).
Claim 15. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 10, wherein the set of functions further comprises determining a service type, and wherein the service type is based at least in part on the data comparison
([0135] If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user, notifying the user of the existing or emergent problem condition(s). At 1026, the system can determine whether, even though the problem signature is present, the water device is nevertheless operating normally. If not, at 1040 the system can exit a normal operation mode and enter a device replacement/service call mode, in which the system can, via user interfaces and/or automated commands to customer service, help the user deactivate and repair/replace the malfunctioning water device.
([0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media
[0147] predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number (e.g., smaller pump, bigger filter, additional sensor, replacement for obsolete product);...upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance); ).
Claim 16. Brown teaches a water management system comprising:
a first end point device in communication with a first fixture
(Fig. 1, IoT device 110-114 connections to a connected object 102
[0080] fixture IoT devices 504 for connecting to “analog” home fixtures, such as faucets and other plumbing;),
the first end point device including:
a first end point electronic processor configured to receive data associated with
the first fixture
([0005] The water device may include an identifier... electronic records associated with the water device based on the identifier
[0082] FIG. 6 shows an illustrative system 600 that enables the monitoring, performance evaluation, and control of connected devices in a residential water system...such as the IoT device 200 of FIG. 2) including without limitation: a controller 602; smart valves (e.g., valves 613, 625, 654, 658, and 662)),
and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by at least
one electronic processor to perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprise:
receiving the data associated with the first fixture
([0133] At 1004, the system can receive or collect real-time device operation data describing the operating conditions of the water device. For example, the system can obtain the state (e.g., on or off) of a switch on the water device from the device's controller, as well as the value of any property observed by a sensor or meter (e.g., pressure, flow rate) associated with the water device.
[0145] methods of FIGS. 12 and 13 in predicting when the filter media should be backwashed or replaced include: water quality trends in the geographic region of the installation site,
[0147] The data represented in the user's device health profiles... track and display real-time parameters, e.g. age and use of a product; compare real-time and aggregate parameters and metrics to safe parameters and aggregate data (e.g., 90% of pumps in region fail after X months) to predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number ),
processing the data associated with the first fixture, wherein processing the data includes determining operational data of the first fixture and a current life value
([0131] [0138] the device health profile 1110 can track factors impacting the life expectancy of the water device, such as the total run hours (i.e., hours the device has been powered on), which are calculated by aggregating elements of the collected real-time data...the device health profile 1110 can be configured to include a complete maintenance history of the water device...
[0134] If the system does identify an existing device health profile for the water device, at 1012 the system can compare the real-time data to the device health profile to determine whether the device is operating normally, or is exhibiting potentially problematic behavior (e.g., which may be indicated by a deviation of the real-time data from a normal operation signature of the health profile, where the deviation may be characterized by one or more variables represented in the real-time data differing from corresponding variables of the normal operation signature by a threshold or group of thresholds).
[0090] whether a mechanical failure has occurred in the given filter, such as plugging (e.g., indicating that the filter has reached the end of its useful life)),
comparing the operational data of the first fixture to at least one target operational
parameter of a plurality of target operational parameters, wherein comparing the data
includes:
detecting if a target operational life span is met based at least in part on the
current life value
([0090] the controller 603 may include (or a processor thereof may implement) a diagnostic module, which may function as such a diagnostic system. The diagnostic system may periodically perform diagnostic checks to determine the status (sometimes referred to herein as the “filter status”) of these components of the water filtration system 614.)
, and detecting if an operational threshold is met based at least in part on the operational
Data
([0090] The determined status may include filter information such as the last time a given filter was changed, whether the given filter has been changed since the last time a diagnostic check was performed, whether a mechanical failure has occurred in the given filter, such as plugging (e.g., indicating that the filter has reached the end of its useful life), black water (e.g., where activated carbon from the filter cartridge enters the water stream), or leaks (e.g., which may be identified as water pressure drops across the filtration system 614).),
determining a status and a service type of the first fixture based at least in part on the comparison of the operational data and the at least one target operational parameter and the current life value
([0135] If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user, notifying the user of the existing or emergent problem condition(s). At 1026, the system can determine whether, even though the problem signature is present, the water device is nevertheless operating normally. If not, at 1040 the system can exit a normal operation mode and enter a device replacement/service call mode, in which the system can, via user interfaces and/or automated commands to customer service, help the user deactivate and repair/replace the malfunctioning water device.
([0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media
[0147] predict and alert to maintenance issues; analyze conditions and recommend appropriate replacement products based on a product serial number (e.g., smaller pump, bigger filter, additional sensor, replacement for obsolete product);...upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance); ).
.
Claim 17. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 16, wherein detecting if a target operational life span is met includes determining a remaining life span, and wherein the remaining life span is determined by comparing the current life value to the target operational life span
([0144] a threshold TH2 can be set relatively low (e.g., at a pressure indicating the filter media is 50% clogged) so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future (e.g., 2-3 months in the future) need to backwash or replace the filter media.
Claim 18. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 17, wherein the service type includes preventative maintenance, and wherein preventive maintenance is determined when the
remaining life span is less than or equal to the current life value or if the operational threshold is
met
([0143] At 1318 the system can use the signature to translate the pressure reading (i.e., measured or calculated pressure value) to a current percentage of the maximum pressure (e.g., which may be determined based on the loading threshold of FIG. 12) for the filter. At 1320, the system can determine whether the current percentage of the maximum pressure exceeds a threshold percentage of the maximum pressure TH2 (i.e., is too close to the maximum pressure).
[0144] If the measured pressure exceeds the threshold, at 1322 the system can send an alert to the user to backwash the filter, or automatically execute an unattended backwash cycle of the filter... and if the pressure still does not drop, the filter requires manual cleaning or replacement, and the system can alert the user as such.).
Claim 19. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 16, wherein the set of functions further comprises generating maintenance tasks
([0144] the system can communicate with the filter controller to activate this backwashing mode. Additionally or alternatively, the system can send an alert to another entity in electronic communication with the IoT platform, such as a maintenance service provider, a dealer, or a manufacturer.
[0147] upcoming maintenance (e.g., “time to service” based on date of last maintenance); link notifications to digitally available instructions (e.g., video tutorial to repair/replace); connect the user to device-specific support, live or local serviceman (via stored service contact info), manuals, etc. ).
Claim 20. Brown teaches the water management system of claim 16, wherein the set of functions further comprises generating an alert
([0135] If the data points do match a problem signature, at 1024 the system can generate an alert and deliver the alert to the user, notifying the user of the existing or emergent problem condition(s)..
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689