DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed October 25, 2024 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed October 25, 2024 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed October 25, 2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 13 – 14, 17 and 19 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burry et al. (US 7,640,672 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Burry et al. discloses a laser level (1) comprising a base (2, 4) configured to support a level module (34) relative to a structure; and a post (8) coupled to the base (2, 4); wherein the level module (1) is adjustable on the laser level to i) translate (as shown in figure 6) along a first axis (A/D), ii) rotate about a second axis (E) parallel to the first axis (as shown in Figure 8), and iii) move with the post (8) relative to the base (2, 4) in a direction (B) different from an extension direction of the first axis (A/D) and the second axis (E).
Referring to claim 3, Burry et al. sets forth a laser level wherein the base (2, 4) includes a first plate (4) configured to engage a flat surface and a second plate (2, 2a) coupled to the first plate (4), and wherein the first plate and the second plate define a spring-loaded clip (132, 144; figures 11, 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 6, Burry et al. shows a laser level wherein the first axis (A/D) and the second axis (E-E) are the same (i.e. all in the same direction).
With regards to claim 11, Burry et al. discloses a laser level comprising a base (2, 4) configured to support a level module (34) relative to a structure; a post (8) coupled to the base (2, 4); and a support assembly (20) attached to the post (8) and configured to couple the level module (34) to the post (8), wherein the support assembly (20) is translatable along the post relative to the base (See Figure 6), and wherein the support assembly 20) is rotatable relative to the base about different axes of rotation (As shown in figures 3 and 8).
Referring to claim 13, Burry et al. sets forth a laser level wherein the support assembly (20) includes at least one plate (10) attached to the post (8), wherein the at least one plate (10) is operably connected to the post (8) for translation along the post, and wherein the at least one plate is rotatable with the post relative to the base (See Columns 2 and 3, lines 66 – 67 and 1 – 11, respectively).
In regards to claim 14, Burry et al. teaches a laser level wherein the at least one plate (10) is rotatable relative to the post (8).
In regards to claim 17, Burry et al. discloses a laser level comprising a base (2, 4) configured to support a level module (34) relative to a structure; a post (8) coupled to the base (2, 4); and a support assembly (20) configured to adjustably support the level module (34) on the post (8), the support assembly (20) including adjustment structure (30) configured to adjust an orientation of the level module (34) in a first direction (E-E) and in a second direction (B-B) different from the first direction, and the support assembly (20) further movable with the post relative to the base (i.e. to rotate).
With respect to claim 19, Burry et al. sets forth a laser level wherein the adjustment structure (30) is coupled to the post to provide micro-adjustability (i.e. pivoting and sliding adjustment) in the first direction and the second direction, and the post (8) is rotatable relative to the base to provide macro-adjustability of the level module (i.e. rotation adjustment).
Referring to claim 20, Burry et al. teaches a laser level wherein the support assembly (20) includes a collar or a plate coupled to the post (See Figure 1).
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burry et al. (US 7,640,672 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Janosch et al. discloses a laser level (Figure 1) comprising a base (10) configured to support a level module (6) relative to a structure; and a post (14) coupled to the base (10); wherein the level module (6) is adjustable on the laser level to i) translate along a first axis (represented by dotted lines 16), ii) rotate about a second axis (9) parallel to the first axis (as shown in Figure 1), and iii) move with the post (14) relative to the base (10) in a direction different from an extension direction of the first axis (16) and the second axis (9).
Referring to claim 4, Janosch et al. sets forth a laser level further comprising at least one magnet (38) coupled to one or both of the base and the post (See Figure 2).
In regards to claim 5, Janosch et al. teaches a laser level wherein the base (10) includes a first jaw (18) and a second jaw (20) movable relative to the first jaw (18) to attach the level module to the structure (82) and to a different-sized structures (i.e. tools, workpiece, objects, etc.; Column 4, lines 32 – 40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7 – 10, 12, 15 - 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 2 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level wherein the base and the post are coupled to each other by a ball and socket joint configured to permit movement of the post up to approximately 90 degrees relative to the first axis and 360 degrees around the first axis in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 7 - 10 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level wherein the post is pivotable about a third axis extending perpendicular to the first axis; further comprising a swivel plate movably coupled to the post and rotatable about the second axis; wherein the swivel plate is pivotable with the post about a third axis perpendicular to the first axis; and wherein the swivel plate is coupled to the post by a support plate, and wherein the support plate has a first hub and the swivel plate has a second hub rotatable within the first hub in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 12 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level wherein the support assembly includes a carrier slidably and rotatably supported on the post, and wherein the carrier includes an adjustment structure having a first knob configured to micro-adjust an orientation of the level module in a first plane, and a second knob configured micro-adjust the orientation of the level module in a second plane different from the first plane in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claims 15 – 16 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level wherein the post includes a rack, and the support assembly includes a pinion adjustable along the rack to vary an orientation of the level module relative to the base; and wherein the post and the base are coupled together by a ball and socket joint in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 18 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a laser level wherein the adjustment structure includes a first knob configured to adjust the orientation of the level module in the first direction, and a second knob configured adjust the orientation of the level module in the second direction in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Captarencu (US 12,613,094 B2) discloses a laser pocket level comprising a housing having a laser emitter to emit a laser along a plane; a mounting base connected to the housing; the housing being pivotable relative to the mounting base about three axes; a first micro-adjustment knob to adjust the housing, relative to the mounting base, about a fourth axis; and a second micro-adjustment knob to adjust the housing, relative to the mounting base, about a fifth axis perpendicular to the fourth axis. Captarencu fails to teach a post, a clamp having a first jaw and a second moveable jaw; or wherein the level module is adjustable on the laser level to i) translate along a first axis, ii) rotate about a second axis parallel to the first axis, and iii) move with the post relative to the base in a direction different from an extension direction of the first axis and the second axis.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
September 29, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855