DETAILED ACTION
Application filed 10/25/2024 has been examined.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification and drawings are accepted.
Application is pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livshitz et al. USPAP 20090259915A1 (herein: D1) in view of Lui et al. USPAP 20120173949A1 (herein: D2).
As per claim 1, D1 substantially teaches (i.e., title, abstract, paragraph 0001) a method of error-corrected communication, the method comprising: a base matrix comprising a plurality of columns (i.e., Figure 4, base matrix 41 and paragraph 0052); applying a plurality of permutations to the base matrix to obtain a plurality of permuted matrices (i.e., Figure 16 below, permutation matrices 161, 162, 163, 164 and paragraph 0105); generating a parity-check matrix by concatenating the plurality of permuted matrices (i.e., Figure 16 below, concatenation of permutation matrices 161, 162, 163, 164 to form matrix 165 and paragraph 0105); generating a plurality of codewords based on the parity-check matrix (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraph 0044); encoding a message according to the plurality of codewords (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraphs 0044, 0061); and transmitting the encoded message via a noisy channel (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraph 0070).
D1 does not explicitly teach constructing a base matrix comprising a plurality of columns as stated in the present application. However D2 teaches (i.e., Figure 1, below and paragraphs 0009-0013) to construct a base matrix.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of D2 with D1 to actually construct the base matrix as opposed to choosing a base matrix as taught by D1 in Figures 26a-c. This would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art because one of ordinary skill would have recognized that constructing the actual base matrix would have covered more specific code rates for the particular application including high-rate applications.
As per claim 2, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, receiving the message via the noisy channel; and decoding the message, said decoding comprising performing error correction of the message based on the parity-check matrix (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0067).
As per claim 3, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, decoding comprises message-passing decoding (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraphs 0097-0110).
As per claim 4, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, progressive-list decoding (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraphs 0097-0110).
As per claim 5, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, each of the plurality of columns has the same Hamming weight (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0067).
As per claim 6, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the indices of each consecutive pair of non-zero entries in each of the plurality of columns differ by an odd number (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0057).
As per claim 7, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the plurality of permutations comprises random column-wise permutations (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0092).
As per claim 8, D1 substantially teaches (i.e., title, abstract, Figure 1paragraph 0001) a system comprising: a network interface coupled to a noisy channel (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0070); a computing node comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions (i.e., claim 28) embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor of the computing node to cause the processor to perform a method comprising: a base matrix comprising a plurality of columns (i.e., Figure 4, base matrix 41 and paragraph 0052); applying a plurality of permutations to the base matrix to obtain a plurality of permuted matrices (i.e., Figure 16 below, permutation matrices 161, 162, 163, 164 and paragraph 0105); generating a parity-check matrix by concatenating the plurality of permuted matrices (i.e., Figure 16 below, concatenation of permutation matrices 161, 162, 163, 164 to form matrix 165 and paragraph 0105); generating a plurality of codewords based on the parity-check matrix (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraph 0044); encoding a message according to the plurality of codewords (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraphs 0044, 0061); and transmitting the encoded message via the noisy channel (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraph 0070).
D1 does not explicitly teach constructing a base matrix comprising a plurality of columns as stated in the present application. However D2 teaches (i.e., Figure 1, below and paragraphs 0009-0013) to construct a base matrix.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of D2 with D1 to actually construct the base matrix as opposed to choosing a base matrix as taught by D1 in Figures 26a-c. This would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art because one of ordinary skill would have recognized that constructing the actual base matrix would have covered more specific code rates for the particular application including high-rate applications.
As per claim 9, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, receive the message via the noisy channel; and decode the message, said decoding comprising performing error correction of the message based on the parity-check matrix (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0067).
As per claim 10, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, decoding comprises message-passing decoding (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0097-0110).
As per claim 11, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, decoding comprises progressive-list decoding (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0097-0110).
As per claim 12, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the plurality of columns has the same Hamming weight (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0067).
As per claim 13, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the indices of each consecutive pair of non-zero entries in each of the plurality of columns differ by an odd number (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0051).
As per claim 14, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the plurality of permutations comprises random column-wise permutations (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0092).
As per claim 15, D1 substantially teaches (i.e., title, abstract, paragraph 0001, claim 28) a computer program product for parity-check coding and decoding, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform a method comprising: a base matrix comprising a plurality of columns (i.e., Figure 4, base matrix 41 and paragraph 0052); applying a plurality of permutations to the base matrix to obtain a plurality of permuted matrices (i.e., Figure 16 below, permutation matrices 161, 162, 163, 164 and paragraph 0105); generating a parity-check matrix by concatenating the plurality of permuted matrices (i.e., Figure 16 below, concatenation of permutation matrices 161, 162, 163, 164 to form matrix 165 and paragraph 0105); generating a plurality of codewords based on the parity-check matrix (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraph 0044); encoding a message according to the plurality of codewords (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraphs 0044, 0061); and transmitting the encoded message via a noisy channel (i.e., Figure 6 and paragraph 0070).
D1 does not explicitly teach constructing a base matrix comprising a plurality of columns as stated in the present application. However D2 teaches (i.e., Figure 1, below and paragraphs 0009-0013) to construct a base matrix.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of D2 with D1 to actually construct the base matrix as opposed to choosing a base matrix as taught by D1 in Figures 26a-c. This would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art because one of ordinary skill would have recognized that constructing the actual base matrix would have covered more specific code rates for the particular application including high-rate applications.
As per claim 16, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, receive the message via the noisy channel; and decode the message, said decoding comprising performing error correction of the message based on the parity-check matrix (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0067).
As per claim 17, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, decoding comprises message- passing decoding or progressive-list decoding (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraphs 0097-0110).
As per claim 18, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the plurality of columns has the same Hamming weight (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0067).
As per claim 19, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the indices of each consecutive pair of non-zero entries in each of the plurality of columns differ by an odd number (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0057).
As per claim 20, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the plurality of permutations comprises random column-wise permutations (i.e., Figure 16 and paragraph 0092).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
MUJTABA M. CHAUDRY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2112
/MUJTABA M CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112