DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko et al., US 2022/0361142 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 01, 2020, corresponding to PCT/KR2020/007062; referred to as Ko hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teaches the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a method implemented by a target User Equipment (UE) (Ko, Fig. 18 shows SL-RTT communication between a target UE and one or more anchor UEs, i.e., “server UE1”, and “server UE 2”. Also see paragraph [0279], FIG. 18 shows a multi-server based S-RTT procedure according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The embodiment of FIG. 18 may be combined with various embodiments of the present disclosure), the method comprising:
transmitting a positioning request to one or more anchor UEs via a sidelink communication (Ko, Fig. 18 and paragraph [0280], Referring to FIG. 18, in step S1810, a target UE may request a server UE 1 and a server UE 2 to participate in SL RTT. For example, the target UE may transmit a request to participate in the SL RTT to the server UE 1 and the server UE 2 (i.e., target UE transmitting a positioning request to one or more anchor UEs). Also see paragraph [0297]-[0298], For example, additionally, the first UE may transmit a request for a sidelink (SL) round trip time (RTT) for the positioning to the second UE; … For example, the request may be transmitted to the second UE through at least one of a first sidelink positioning protocol (SPP) message transmitted by the first UE (i.e., target UE transmitting positioning request to the anchor UE via a sidelink communication));
receiving a positioning signal from the one or more anchor UEs via the sidelink communication (Ko, paragraph [0283], In step S1840, the target UE may transmit a first PRS to the server UE1. Also, the target UE may transmit a third PRS to the server UE 2. In step S1850, the server UE 1 may transmit a second PRS to the target UE. In addition, the server UE 2 may transmit a fourth PRS to the target UE (i.e., the target UE receives positioning signal from one or more anchor UEs). Also see paragraph [0298]-[0299], For example, the request may be transmitted to the second UE through at least one of a first sidelink positioning protocol (SPP) message transmitted by the first UE, a first physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmitted by the first UE, … For example, additionally, the first UE may transmit a first PSCCH to the second UE; and receive a second PSCCH from the second UE (i.e., target UE receives positioning signal from the anchor UE in response to position request via a sidelink communication)); and
performing a positioning measurement based on the positioning signal (Ko, paragraph [0285], In step S1860, the target UE may calculate the location of the target UE based on the first time difference, the third time difference, the second time difference, and the fourth time difference … For example, the target UE may calculate a first distance between the target UE and the server UE1 from the first time difference and the second time difference. Also, the target UE may calculate a second distance between the target UE and the server UE 2 from the third time difference and the fourth time difference).
Regarding claim 2, Ko discloses wherein the target UE communicates with the one or more anchor UEs in accordance with sensing based resource selection of sidelink resources (Ko, paragraph [0109], For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure).
Regarding claim 3, Ko discloses wherein the target UE communicates with the one or more anchor UEs via resource reservations provided by a fifth generation (5G) base station (gNB) (Ko, paragraph [0027], FIG. 12 shows an example of an architecture of a 5G system capable of positioning a UE having access to a next generation-radio access network (NG-RAN) or an E-UTRAN based on an embodiment of the present disclosure).
Regarding claim 6, Ko discloses further comprising estimating a location of the target UE based on the positioning measurement and a location of the one or more anchor UEs (Ko, paragraph [0285], In step S1860, the target UE may calculate the location of the target UE based on the first time difference, the third time difference, the second time difference, and the fourth time difference … For example, the target UE may calculate a first distance between the target UE and the server UE1 from the first time difference and the second time difference. Also, the target UE may calculate a second distance between the target UE and the server UE 2 from the third time difference and the fourth time difference. For example, the target UE may calculate the intersection of a circle drawn with the first distance as a radius with the server UE 1 as a center point and a circle drawn with the second distance as a radius with the server UE 2 as a center point as the location of the target UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2022/0361142 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 01, 2020, corresponding to PCT/KR2020/007062; referred to as Ko hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of ZHANG et al., US 2025/0274239 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 8, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210367864.1 of PCT application PCT/CN2023/083693; referred to as Zhang hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Ko discloses the method of claim 1. Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein the positioning signal comprises a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL Pos-RS), and wherein the positioning request comprises at least one of an SL Pos-RS signaling option or an SL Pos-RS signaling configuration. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Zhang discloses a method related to positioning reference (PRS) transmission that comprises wherein the positioning signal comprises a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL Pos-RS) (Zhang, paragraph [0223], in the embodiments of the present disclosure, the PRS may be a Sidelink (SL) PRS), and wherein the positioning request comprises at least one of an SL Pos-RS signaling option or an SL Pos-RS signaling configuration (Zhang, paragraph [0223] the second terminal receives the PRS at the resource locations indicated by the resource information and/or configuration information).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko by using the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide positioning support when a UE is out of network (see Zhang, abstract and paragraph [0004]).
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2022/0361142 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 01, 2020, corresponding to PCT/KR2020/007062; referred to as Ko hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of disclosed prior art Gangakhedkar et al., US 2019/0239181 A1 (Gangakhedkar hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Ko discloses the method of claim 1. Ko does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 5, further comprising selecting the one or more anchor UEs from a plurality of anchor UEs prior to transmitting the positioning request to the one or more anchor UEs.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising reselecting the one or more anchor UEs after obtaining at least one of anchor UE position, channel measurements, or timing measurements. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Gamgakhedkar discloses a method related to a communication device that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 5, further comprising selecting the one or more anchor UEs from a plurality of anchor UEs prior to transmitting the positioning request to the one or more anchor UEs (Gangakhedkar, paragraph [0007], The node comprises a location unit configured to determine that the node requires positioning support from the anchor nodes. It also comprises a transmitter configured to transmit a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes. The node comprises a selection unit that is configured to select a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support. The selection unit makes that selection following the transmission of the request).
Regarding claim 10, further comprising reselecting the one or more anchor UEs after obtaining at least one of anchor UE position, channel measurements, or timing measurements (Gangakedkar, paragraph [0015], The node might also transmit a termination instruction after deciding to terminate localization support from a subset of one or more of the selected anchor nodes due to their poor signal quality or due a detected presence of better alternative anchor nodes (which is termed "anchor reselection" herein). Also see paragraph [0060], The anchor selection criteria include one or more of the following: geometrical distribution of the anchor nodes (i.e., anchor UE position), precision of the anchor nodes, link quality (i.e., channel measurement) etc. (Link quality might be determined, for example, by the SINR of a transmission received from the anchor node, which might be based on the receipt of the CP response by the target node)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko by using the features, as taught by Gangakhedkar, in order to support method related to exchanging positioning-related signalling in a communication system (see Gangakhedkar, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2022/0361142 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 01, 2020, corresponding to PCT/KR2020/007062; referred to as Ko hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of VASSILOVSKI et al., US 2023/0127796 A1 (Vassilovski hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Ko discloses the method of claim 1. Ko does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving an initial positioning request from a serving anchor UE via the sidelink communication prior to transmitting the positioning request to the one or more anchor UEs; and
sending the positioning measurement to the serving anchor UE via the sidelink communication for estimation of a location of the target UE.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Vassilovski discloses a method related to a communication system that comprises further comprising:
receiving an initial positioning request from a serving anchor UE via the sidelink communication prior to transmitting the positioning request to the one or more anchor UEs (Vassilovski, paragraph [0086], After the capability message 508 is exchanged, at 506, the first UE 502 may initiate a sidelink ranging/ positioning session with the second UE 504 by establishing a three-way handshake with the second UE 504. While three-way handshaking is illustrated in the diagram 500 for exemplary purposes, other techniques may also be used for session establishment. At 510, the first UE 502 may transmit a PRS request message 512 (e.g., PRSrequest) to the second UE 504 for requesting the second UE 504 to transmit one or more PRSs to the first UE 502. At 514, in response to the PRS request message 512, the second UE 504 may transmit a PRS response message 516 to the first UE 502); and
sending the positioning measurement to the serving anchor UE via the sidelink communication for estimation of a location of the target UE (Vassilovski, paragraph [0090], A distance between the first UE 502 and the second UE 504 may be computed based on the calculated RTT. The sidelink-based ranging/positioning described herein may apply to a set of vehicle UEs (e.g., for calculating/estimating a distance between two vehicles), to a vehicle UE and a pedestrian UE (e.g., for calculating/estimating a distance between a vehicle and a pedestrian), and/or to two mobile UEs in general sidelink use cases (e.g., for calculating/ estimating a distance between two mobile phone users), etc).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko by using the features, as taught by Vassilovski, in order to support method related to prioritization of sidelink-based positioning transmissions (see Vassilovski, abstract and paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2022/0361142 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 01, 2020, corresponding to PCT/KR2020/007062; referred to as Ko hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of ZHOU et al., US 2025/0267621 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 12, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210383955.4 of PCT application PCT/KR2023/004795; referred to as Zhou hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Ko discloses the method of claim 1. Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the positioning request is triggered by a condition, the condition comprising at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) relative to a first threshold, a distance relative to a second threshold, a number of UE anchors relative to a third threshold, or a channel condition relative to a fourth threshold.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Zhou discloses a method related to a wireless communication that comprises wherein transmitting the positioning request is triggered by a condition (Zhou, paragraph [0149], For the scenario where the first UE is triggered by the positioning TX request signaling to transmit SL PRS, the conditions for the first UE to transmit SL PRS through sidelink further include at least one of the following), the condition comprising at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) relative to a first threshold, a distance relative to a second threshold, a number of UE anchors relative to a third threshold, or a channel condition relative to a fourth threshold (Zhou, paragraph [0153], the range of at least one of the following parameters corresponding to the positioning TX request signaling and/or the range of at least one of the following parameters corresponding to the node transmitting the positioning TX request signaling satisfies the preset conditions (e.g., within a predetermined threshold range): RSRP, pathloss, ToA, TDOA; wherein, the ToA and TDoA corresponding to the node of the positioning TX request signaling can be the ToA and TDOA obtained by the first UE measuring the node).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko by using the features, as taught by Zhou, in order to support method related to Sidelink (SL) communication based positioning and a device thereof in a wireless system in the fifth generation new radio access technology (5G NR) system (see Zhou, abstract and paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2022/0361142 A1 (using PCT application filing date of June 01, 2020, corresponding to PCT/KR2020/007062; referred to as Ko hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Thomas et al., US 2025/0203572 A1 (Thomas hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Ko discloses the method of claim 1. Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more anchor UEs are selected based on one or more UE anchor indications and one or more UE anchor levels, wherein the one or more UE anchor indications indicate whether a corresponding UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the corresponding UE is allowed to act as an anchor UE.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Thomas discloses a method related to a wireless communication that comprises wherein the one or more anchor UEs are selected based on one or more UE anchor indications and one or more UE anchor levels (Thomas, paragraph [0133], select at least one of the one or more sidelink devices as an anchor device based at least in part on the anchor device capability information and the location of the at least one sidelink device; and transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal transmission configuration to the anchor device establishing a sidelink positioning session with a target device), wherein the one or more UE anchor indications indicate whether a corresponding UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the corresponding UE is allowed to act as an anchor UE (Thomas, paragraph [0110], In an implementation, the target device 1302 may indicate a preferred list of anchor devices to the network based on the sidelink positioning measurements by the target UE, or may explicitly separately indicate individual devices to the network), and wherein the one or more UE anchor levels are set based on at least one of a synchronization source, priority level, a location accuracy, a maximum bandwidth, an in-coverage indicator, or a sidelink synchronization signal identifier (SLSSID) (Thomas, paragraph [0112], In another implementation, the anchor devices may be selected based on the coverage scenario. An indication may be transmitted from the anchor device to applicable sidelink positioning devices (e.g., initiator device or responder devices) whether it is in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage. The network coverage of the anchor device may also be an additional criterion for selection).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko by using the features, as taught by Thomas, in order to support managing or using a sidelink (SL) positioning reference unit (PRU) (see Thomas, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHANG et al., US 2025/0274239 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 8, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210367864.1 of PCT application PCT/CN2023/083693; referred to as Zhang hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teach the claims.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a method implemented by an anchor User Equipment (UE) (Zhang, Fig. 3 and paragraph [0274], As an optional embodiment, assumes the first terminal is UE A (i.e., a target UE) and the second terminal is UE B (i.e., an anchor UE)), the method comprising:
transmitting a positioning request to a target UE via a sidelink communication (Zhang, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0277]-[0278], Step 1: Establish a PC5 unicast connection between UE A and UE B … Step 2: UE B transmits a positioning service request to UE A (i.e., the anchor UE transmits a position to a target UE via PC5/sidelink communication));
receiving a positioning signal from the target UE via the sidelink communication (Zhang, Fig. 3 and paragraph [0279], Step 3: UE A transmits a positioning service response to UE B, providing the SL PRS resource information and/or configuration information used by UE A. This SL PRS resource information and/or configuration information indicates periodic transmission of the SL PRS); and
performing a positioning measurement for the target UE based on the positioning signal (Zhang, Fig. 3 and paragraph [0282], Step 5: UE B measures the SL PRS signal at the resource locations indicated in Step 3 and calculates the relative position between UE B and UE A based on the measurement results).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the positioning signal comprise a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL Pos-RS) (Zhang, paragraph [0223], in the embodiments of the present disclosure, the PRS may be a Sidelink (SL) PRS).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses further comprising estimating a location of the target UE based on the positioning measurement (Zhang, paragraph [0223], obtains measurement results by measuring the PRS, and may associate the measurement results with the first terminal to calculate the relative position between the second terminal and the first terminal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al., US 2025/0274239 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 8, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210367864.1 of PCT application PCT/CN2023/083693; referred to as Zhang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Masal et al., US 2023/0292278 A1 (using foreign application priority date of March 10, 2022, corresponding to IN 20241013147; referred to as Masal hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 14-16, Zhang discloses the method of claim 11. Zhang does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the positioning request triggers the target UE to send one or more second positioning requests to one or more coordinating anchor UEs, and wherein the positioning signal from the target UE includes location information from the one or more coordinating anchor UEs.
Regarding claim 15, further comprising receiving location information from one or more coordinating anchor UEs.
Regarding claim 16, further comprising transmitting one or more second positioning requests to one or more coordinating anchor UEs.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Masal discloses a method related to a wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the positioning request triggers the target UE to send one or more second positioning requests to one or more coordinating anchor UEs (Masal, paragraph [0081], FIG. 5 illustrates an architecture for scenario 3 where the target UE 204-5 and the anchor UE 204-1 are not in network coverage of the BS 202, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. In scenario 3, the target UE 204-5 may initiate the positioning request or any other UE in the vicinity may initiate the positioning request to the anchor node 204-1 (i.e. a coordinating anchor UE). The target UE 204-5 may search for the anchor node 204-1 and may submit the request for positioning when positioning is initiated by the target UE 204-5), and wherein the positioning signal from the target UE includes location information from the one or more coordinating anchor UEs (Masal, paragraph [0081], If there may be multiple anchor UEs for positioning one target UE, the target UE may not be able to find a sufficient number of assisting UEs in the vicinity of target UE. In such a case, the anchor UE 204-1 may coordinate with other anchor UEs under the control of the LMF. The anchor UE 204-1 may be one of roadside unit (RSU), V2X UE, and any stationary UE with a known location. The anchor node 204-1 may have a location request control Unit (LRCU) which is connected with the side-link application server and LMF).
Regarding claim 15, further comprising receiving location information from one or more coordinating anchor UEs (Masal, paragraph [0081], the anchor UE 204-1 may coordinate with other anchor UEs under the control of the LMF. The anchor UE 204-1 may be one of roadside unit (RSU), V2X UE, and any stationary UE with a known location. The anchor node 204-1 may have a location request control Unit (LRCU) which is connected with the side-link application server and LMF).
Regarding claim 16, further comprising transmitting one or more second positioning requests to one or more coordinating anchor UEs (Masal, paragraph [0081], the target UE 204-5 may initiate the positioning request or any other UE in the vicinity may initiate the positioning request to the anchor node 204-1. The target UE 204-5 may search for the anchor node 204-1 and may submit the request for positioning when positioning is initiated by the target UE 204-5. If there may be multiple anchor UEs for positioning one target UE, the target UE may not be able to find a sufficient number of assisting UEs in the vicinity of target UE. In such a case, the anchor UE 204-1 may coordinate with other anchor UEs under the control of the LMF).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang by using the features, as taught by Masal, in order to support positioning a target none in a sidelink (SL) communication system (see Masal, abstract and paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al., US 2025/0274239 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 8, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210367864.1 of PCT application PCT/CN2023/083693; referred to as Zhang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of ZHOU et al., US 2025/0267621 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 12, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210383955.4 of PCT application PCT/KR2023/004795; referred to as Zhou hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claim.
Regarding claims 17, Zhang discloses the method of claim 11. Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the positioning request is triggered by a condition (Zhou, paragraph [0149], For the scenario where the first UE is triggered by the positioning TX request signaling to transmit SL PRS, the conditions for the first UE to transmit SL PRS through sidelink further include at least one of the following), wherein the condition includes at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) relative to a first threshold, a distance relative to a second threshold, a number of UE anchors relative to a third threshold, or a channel condition relative to a fourth threshold.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Zhou discloses a method related to a wireless communication that comprises wherein the positioning request is triggered by a condition (Zhou, paragraph [0149], For the scenario where the first UE is triggered by the positioning TX request signaling to transmit SL PRS, the conditions for the first UE to transmit SL PRS through sidelink further include at least one of the following), wherein the condition includes at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP) relative to a first threshold, a distance relative to a second threshold, a number of UE anchors relative to a third threshold, or a channel condition relative to a fourth threshold (Zhou, paragraph [0153], the range of at least one of the following parameters corresponding to the positioning TX request signaling and/or the range of at least one of the following parameters corresponding to the node transmitting the positioning TX request signaling satisfies the preset conditions (e.g., within a predetermined threshold range): RSRP, pathloss, ToA, TDOA; wherein, the ToA and TDoA corresponding to the node of the positioning TX request signaling can be the ToA and TDOA obtained by the first UE measuring the node).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang by using the features, as taught by Zhou, in order to support method related to Sidelink (SL) communication based positioning and a device thereof in a wireless system in the fifth generation new radio access technology (5G NR) system (see Zhou, abstract and paragraph [0001]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al., US 2025/0274239 A1 (using foreign application priority date of April 8, 2022, corresponding to CN 202210367864.1 of PCT application PCT/CN2023/083693; referred to as Zhang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Thomas et al., US 2025/0203572 A1 (Thomas hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 18-20, Zhang discloses the method of claim 11. Zhang does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 18, further comprising transmitting a UE anchor indication that indicates whether the anchor UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the anchor UE is allowed to act as the anchor UE.
Regarding claim 19, further comprising transmitting a UE anchor level set based on at least one of a synchronization source, a priority level, location accuracy, a maximum bandwidth, an in-coverage indicator, or a sidelink synchronization signal identifier (SLSSID).
Regarding claim 20, wherein an anchor UE is selected in accordance with a line-of-sight (LOS) / non line-of-sight (NLOS) indicator.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Thomas discloses a method related to a wireless communication that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 18, further comprising transmitting a UE anchor indication that indicates whether the anchor UE is capable of acting as an anchor UE and whether the anchor UE is allowed to act as the anchor UE (Thomas, paragraph [0110], In an implementation, the target device 1302 may indicate a preferred list of anchor devices to the network based on the sidelink positioning measurements by the target UE, or may explicitly separately indicate individual devices to the network).
Regarding claim 19, further comprising transmitting a UE anchor level set based on at least one of a synchronization source, a priority level, location accuracy, a maximum bandwidth, an in-coverage indicator, or a sidelink synchronization signal identifier (SLSSID) (Thomas, paragraph [0112], In another implementation, the anchor devices may be selected based on the coverage scenario. An indication may be transmitted from the anchor device to applicable sidelink positioning devices (e.g., initiator device or responder devices) whether it is in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage. The network coverage of the anchor device may also be an additional criterion for selection).
Regarding claim 20, wherein an anchor UE is selected in accordance with a line-of-sight (LOS) / non line-of-sight (NLOS) indicator (Thomas, paragraph [0110], Anchor devices can be selected and configured based on received sidelink positioning measurements, such as from the target device 1302, and the received sidelink positioning measurements indicate whether an anchor device ( or anchor device candidate) has a line-of-sight (LOS) or no line-of-sight (NLOS) link with respect to the target device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang by using the features, as taught by Thomas, in order to support managing or using a sidelink (SL) positioning reference unit (PRU) (see Thomas, abstract and paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 09/05/2026