Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-20, as filed 06/11/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
No priority is acknowledged.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 14 states “and; and” which appears to be a duplicated conjunction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Although the claims fall within statutory categories, they are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
14. A system comprising: a management system configured to:
receive, from a vehicle, a service request that includes information associated with each operation of one or more service-based operations, wherein the information relates to one or more tools, one or more resources, or a combination thereof, (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; mere data gathering)
determine a complexity rating associated with each operation of the one or more service-based operations, (mental process; certain methods of organizing human activity) and
transmit, to the vehicle, one or more instructions indicative of a location of a parking zone based on the determination of the complexity rating associated with each operation of the one or more service-based operations, wherein one or more locations within the parking zone are associated with one or more locations within the parking zone, (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; data output) and
dynamically determine that a repair bay related to the location is equipped to perform each operation based on an availability of the repair bay and information associated with each operation (mental processes; certain methods of organizing human activity);
the vehicle configured to: generate a service-based list associated with the vehicle, (mental process; certain methods of organizing human activity)
determine one or more service-based operations based on the service-based list (mental process; certain methods of organizing human activity),
transmit, to the management system, the service request, (additional element; insignificant extra-solution activity; data output) and
receive the one or more instructions, wherein in response to receiving the one or more instructions the vehicle autonomously moves to the location in the parking zone based on the complexity rating (additional element; mere instructions to apply the exception; field of use).
Claim 14 is presented as an exemplary claim but the same analysis applies to the other independent claims.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes certain methods of organizing human activity because the italicized portions are analogous to steps a human would perform when coordinating the maintenance of a vehicle fleet such as gathering information about the fleet by asking technicians and drivers about the cars, thinking about optimizations, and directing the cars to be moved to suitable locations. For example, but for the “from a vehicle” language, “receive… a service request that includes information associated with each operation of the one or more service-based operations” in the context of this claim is analogous to steps a human would perform when checking on the condition of a car in the fleet. Similarly, “dynamically determine that a repair bay related to the location is equipped to perform each operation based on an availability of the repair bay and information associated with each operation” is analogous to a shop foreman checking the bay schedule for an open bay that has the lift and equipment needed for the job.
Additionally, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim includes steps that could practicably be performed mentally such as determining a complexity rating, determining a service-based operation based on the service-based list, and determining that a repair bay is equipped and available to perform each operation. Other than reciting generic computer terms like “a management system”, nothing in the claims precludes the italicized portions from practically being performed in the mind.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims. For example, claim 3 adds another mental process because prioritizing service-based tasks can be performed in the mind of a fleet manager. Claims 4 and 5 add details to the mental process by adding labels to the data that is being analyzed. Claims 6 and 7 add steps to follow for high and low complexity ratings which amounts to a mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity. Claims 12 and 19 add determining that a workstation is equipped and available which is the same evaluation a shop foreman performs. The same analysis applies to the other dependent claims.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements:
Amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. For example, the management system and vehicle’s processing amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and the vehicle autonomously moving to the selected location in response to the instructions is a final step that uses the vehicle as a tool to carry out the decision of where the vehicle should go (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, receiving the service request from the vehicle amounts to mere data gathering, and transmitting the service request and the instructions amount to data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as automated vehicles moving within a facility (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims add only subject matter consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. For example, claim 2 adds further insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data gathering. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields. For example, receiving a service request from a vehicle, transmitting the service request to the management system, and transmitting one or more instructions indicative of a location of a parking zone amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20190026960A1 – previously cited in PTO-892 on 09/22/2025) in view of Derouen (US20220207495A1 – previously cited in PTO-892 on 03/11/2026) and Kelley (US20170308865A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses: A method ([0026]) comprising:
--generating a service-based list associated with a vehicle (“the vehicle controller obtains the vehicle self-inspection data,” [0028]; “the monitoring data contains the self-inspection data of each component in the vehicle, e.g., tire pressure abnormity alarm information, Transmission Control Unit (Automatic Transmission Control Unit, TCU) abnormity alarm information, voltage abnormity alarm information and the like,” [0033]);
--determining one or more service-based operations based on the service-based list (“determining, by the inspection and repair apparatus, a corresponding repair advice according to the vehicle diagnostic information, and sending the repair advice to the vehicle controller,” [0037]);
--determining information associated with each operation of the one or more service- based operations (“the vehicle diagnostic information from an On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) system through a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus, and sends the vehicle diagnostic information to the inspection and repair apparatus,” [0036]; repair advice is determined “according to the vehicle diagnostic information” [0037]),
--transmitting, to a management system, a service request that includes the information (“sends the vehicle diagnostic information to the inspection and repair apparatus,” [0036]);
--receiving, from the management system, one or more instructions indicative of a location of a parking zone based on a complexity rating associated with each operation of the one or more service-based operations (“sending the repair advice to the vehicle controller” [0037]; “When the repair advice is a minor repair/overhaul in a repair shop/4S shop is needed, the vehicle controller queries the repair shop or 4S shop closest to the target highway port through the electronic map, controls the vehicle to drive from the inspection and repair position to the exit position of the target highway port, and controls the vehicle to drive from the exit position of the target highway port to the closest repair shop or 4S shop,” [0044]; these repair advice levels are the claimed complexity rating and each tells the vehicle where to be repaired);
--autonomously moving the vehicle to the location in the parking zone based on the complexity rating in response to receiving the one or more instructions (“sending the repair advice to the vehicle controller” [0037]; “When the repair advice is a minor repair/overhaul in a repair shop/4S shop is needed, the vehicle controller queries the repair shop or 4S shop closest to the target highway port through the electronic map, controls the vehicle to drive from the inspection and repair position to the exit position of the target highway port, and controls the vehicle to drive from the exit position of the target highway port to the closest repair shop or 4S shop,” [0044]; “implementing the function of the automatic inspection and repair of the autonomous vehicle” [0024]).
Wu does not expressly disclose but Derouen teaches:
--wherein one or more locations within the parking zone are associated with a complexity rating that is different than a complexity rating associated with one or more other locations within the parking zone (“The criticality of the first service request can be higher than the second service request. Accordingly, the system can instruct the first autonomous vehicle to move to a service station, the second autonomous vehicle is instructed to move to a parking lot, and the third autonomous vehicle is instructed to move to a wash station,” [0013]; “The service station and the wash station are units within a service center or a maintenance facility. Upon completion of the service of the first autonomous vehicle, the second autonomous vehicle can be instructed to move to the service station” [0012]; the service station, parking lot, and wash station are the claimed locations, each receiving vehicles of a different criticality).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand Wu’s automated vehicle inspection and repair to include Derouen’s moving of the car to the appropriate service area based on complexity because this would make vehicle maintenance more efficient (see Derouen [0003]-[0005]).
Wu does not expressly disclose but Kelley teaches:
--wherein the information relates to one or more tools, one or more resources, or a combination thereof (“receiving 874, via a network interface, the DTC from a vehicle and interpreting 876, via a computing device, a service operation that resolves the DTC. The method can also include accessing 878, via the computing device, a plurality of operation attributes of the service operation,” [0080]; “The parts may include replacement parts and/or tools used in performing the service operation. For example, a hydraulic lift may be needed to perform a particular operation,” [0083]; these DTC codes relate to tools and resources);
--dynamically determining that a repair bay related to the location is equipped to perform each operation based on an availability of the repair bay and information associated with each operation (“updating 880, via the computing device, the plurality of center attributes of the plurality of service centers and mapping 882, via the computing device, the plurality of operation attributes to at least a subset of the plurality of service center attributes,” [0081]; “service bays may be different and as such the service operation performed using a respective service bay may differ,” [0084]; “identifying at least a service bay, a mechanic, and a time slot that correspond to the plurality of dealership attributes and scheduling 998 an appointment for the vehicle to perform the service operation,” [0085]; “identifying a time slot in which the service bay is available,” [0088]). Kelley’s updating of the service center attributes and then mapping each operation’s attributes to them is the claimed dynamic determination. The service bay that corresponds to those attributes is the repair bay equipped to perform each operation, and the time slot in which that bay is available is the claimed availability.
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the automated vehicle inspection and repair of Wu and Derouen to include Kelley’s mapping of each service operation’s needed objects, skills, and tools to an available service bay because this would allow the repair to be scheduled without user input (Kelley [0017]) and more efficiently put the vehicle in front of the right mechanic at the right time (Kelley [0033] and [0065]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Wu, Derouen, or Kelley. The criticality-based locations of Derouen and the service-bay mapping of Kelley do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Wu. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Derouen and Kelley with the teachings of Wu since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Wu further discloses: wherein the generation of the service-based list is based on an observation made by an operator, an inspection of the vehicle by an infrastructure system, self-identification of one or more issues associated with the vehicle, or a combination thereof (“the control unit 12 obtains the vehicle self-inspection data, which includes: the control unit 12 obtains or receives monitoring data from a vehicle self-inspection system,” [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu further discloses: prioritizing one or more service-based tasks included as part of the service-based list based on an association of each task of the one or more service-based tasks with a functionality of one or more components of the vehicle (repair advice in [0044] can be for minor repair, overhaul, or calling for rescue. The BRI of prioritizing the tasks based on a functionality of one or more components of the vehicle includes this because consolidating multiple repair items into one action such as calling for rescue prioritizes certain actions based on functionality of the vehicle such as the vehicle being disabled.).
Regarding claim 4, Wu further does not expressly disclose, but Derouen teaches: wherein a high complexity rating is associated with a high importance value corresponding to a recommended repair or subsequent inspection related to a propulsive-feature of the vehicle and a low complexity rating is associated with a low importance value corresponding to a recommended repair or subsequent inspection related to an aesthetic feature of the vehicle (FIG. 13 shows different complexity levels with level 1 referring to a car wash, i.e., an aesthetic service, and level 7 referring to a potential mechanical failure; [0097]). Derouen’s Level 1 car wash is the claimed aesthetic feature with a low rating, and its Level 7 tire-sensor mechanical failure is the claimed propulsive feature with a high rating.
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Wu does not expressly disclose but Kelley teaches: wherein the one or more tools and the one or more resources includes a vehicle lift, a fluid removal system, a fill system, diagnostic equipment, a component-specific lift, sensor calibration equipment, or a combination thereof (“The parts may include replacement parts and/or tools used in performing the service operation. For example, a hydraulic lift may be needed to perform a particular operation,” [0083]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Wu does not expressly disclose but Derouen teaches: wherein the one or more instructions directs the vehicle to a short-term storage location of the parking zone based on a low complexity rating associated with the service request (“The criticality of the first service request can be higher than the second service request. Accordingly, the system can instruct the first autonomous vehicle to move to a service station, the second autonomous vehicle is instructed to move to a parking lot, and the third autonomous vehicle is instructed to move to a wash station. Upon completion of the service of the first autonomous vehicle, the second autonomous vehicle is instructed to move to the service station,” [0013]). Derouen’s parking lot where the lower criticality vehicle waits is the claimed short-term storage location.
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Wu does not expressly disclose but Derouen teaches: wherein the one or more instructions directs the vehicle to a location of the parking zone proximate a workstation equipped to perform a service based on a high complexity rating associated with the service request and the one or more service-based operations (“if the automated vehicle produces a trouble code signaling low tire pressure, the system can communicate to the vehicle that it needs to go to facility. The decision of the system is based on the fact that the service station that can repair the malfunction is located nearby. It serves no purpose to send a vehicle needing tire repair to a facility that only does oil changes,” [0098]; proximity of workstations in FIG. 8).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1. The Examiner further notes that Wu discloses: determining a complexity rating associated with each operation of the one or more service-based operations (“determining, by the inspection and repair apparatus, a corresponding repair advice according to the vehicle diagnostic information,” [0037]; “the repair advice can includes but not limited to one or more of: no repair is needed, repair the vehicle in the target highway port, calling the rescue, minor repair in a repair shop/4S shop is needed, overhaul in a repair shop/4S shop is needed and the like,” [0044]).
Claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claims 1 and 3.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected with the same reasoning as claims 6 and 7 (respectively).
Regarding claim 12, Wu does not expressly disclose but Kelley further teaches: determining that the workstation is equipped to perform the service based on an availability of the workstation and whether the one or more tools and the one or more resources matches one or more tools of the workstation and one or more resources of the workstation (“mapping 994 the plurality of operation attributes to a plurality of dealership attributes of the dealership. The method can also include identifying at least a service bay, a mechanic, and a time slot that correspond to the plurality of dealership attributes,” [0085]; “identifying a part that is needed to perform the service operation and determining whether the part is available at the dealership by determining whether the part is listed in the plurality of dealership attributes,” [0087]; “identifying a time slot in which the service bay is available, the mechanic is available, and the parts needed to perform the service operation are available,” [0088]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Wu does not expressly disclose but Derouen teaches: assigning the vehicle a position in a service-based queue based on the complexity rating (“disclosed is a system that prioritizes the services of the autonomous vehicles based on criticality of the service request received from the vehicle,” [0009]; “The vehicle with car wash request can be send to the car wash station, while the third vehicle is serviced first for tire sensor, followed by the second vehicle having it oil changed,” [0097]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claims 1 and 8. The Examiner further notes that Wu discloses a system comprising a management system and a vehicle (“a vehicle controller 1 configured to obtain vehicle self-inspection data, control a vehicle to drive and stop at an inspection and repair position when determining the vehicle malfunctions according to the vehicle self-inspection data, and send vehicle diagnostic information to an inspection and repair apparatus 2,” [0046]; “the inspection and repair apparatus 2 configured to determine a corresponding repair advice according to the vehicle diagnostic information, and send the repair advice to the vehicle controller 1,” [0047]).
Claims 15, 16, 17, and 18 are substantially similar to claims 2, 3, 6, and 7 (respectively) and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected with the same reasoning as claims 12 and 13 (respectively).
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
The objection to claim 14 for “the vehicle and move” is withdrawn, but a new objection is entered.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is not directed to a mental process or certain method of organizing human activity (Step 2A Prong One) because the dynamic repair bay determination is a “machine-implemented determination” that requires “interaction between an automated vehicle, a management system, and a physical repair-bay/parking-zone environment, and result in control of the vehicle's physical movement.” Remarks pages 10-11. This is not persuasive because Step 2A Prong One is concerned with whether the claimed invention recites an abstract idea not whether it also recites non-abstract limitations. Determining whether a repair bay is available and equipped for each operation based on information about the operation is the evaluation a shop foreman makes with a job sheet and bay schedule. The management system, the vehicle, and the vehicle’s autonomous movements are additional elements analyzed in Prong Two (MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Applicant argues that the claims integrate any abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two) because using the operation specific tool and resource information in combination with repair bay availability before the vehicle moves “improves the operation of the automated service environment by reducing improper routing to locations that are unavailable or not equipped for the needed service operations.” Remarks pages 11-12. This is not persuasive because the asserted improvement (i.e., the choice of destination) is the abstract idea itself. The specification describes the problem being solved as “an inability to determine or track availability of a repair bay or what types of repairs the repair bay may be equipped to accommodate based on available tools and/or resources” ([0003] as published), which is a scheduling and resource allocation problem. The claims do not describe improvements in how a vehicle senses, plans a route, or drives and no change to how the management system receives, processes, or transmits data. Each function operates in its ordinary way on a better-chosen destination. An improvement to the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
Applicant argues that the claims recite a particular machine and physical action because they are “tied to an automated vehicle, a management system, a repair bay, and a parking zone having locations associated with different complexity ratings.” Remarks page 12. This is not persuasive because the vehicle and management system are recited generically and merely perform the ordinary functions of computers and autonomous cars to implement the result of the decision-making of the abstract idea. Using a machine nominally to implement the abstract idea does not integrate the exception (MPEP 2106.05(b)(III)). The final step of moving the car is analogous to “[c]utting hair after first determining the hair style” (MPEP 2106.05(g)) where the decision is the invention and the last step invokes a tool to carry it out.
Applicant argues that the claims amount to significantly more (Step 2B) because the ordered combination “define[s] a specific technological workflow for controlling an automated vehicle in a service facility”. Remarks pages 12-13. This is not persuasive because the order of the steps is the order in which the decision is informed, made, and carried out. Applicant identifies no unconventional arrangement of the additional elements which instead merely perform their ordinary function of transmitting data and driving the vehicle.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues that Wu does not determine or transmit “tools and/or resources needed for each operation” and does not “dynamically determin[e] that a repair bay related to a parking-zone location is equipped to perform each operation based on both availability of the repair bay and the operation-specific tool/resource information.” Remarks pages 14-15. These arguments are moot in light of the new ground of rejection above, which includes Kelley for these features.
Applicant argues that Derouen selects facilities based on location, wait time, and geographic area rather than providing a parking zone with locations associated with different complexity ratings. Remarks page 16. This argument is moot because the rejection now relies on Derouen’s service station, parking lot, and wash station which are assigned by criticality and are units within a service center (Derouen [0012]-[0013]).
Applicant argues that the combination of Wu and Derouen does not teach “matching each service operation's tool/resource requirements to an available repair bay.” Remarks pages 15-17. First, the Examiner notes that only claims 12 and 19 recite matching. The other claims merely determine “based on an availability of the repair bay and information associated with each operation.” Second, the Examiner notes that Kelley maps operation attributes to the dealership attributes and identifies a service bay that corresponds to them in [0085].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kairali (US20240135334A1) discloses a physical asset such as an autonomous vehicle that transmits a service request to a repairing service that identifies the needed tools and a service zone equipped with them ([0017], [0046).
Perlstein (US20180339890A1) discloses a fixed lift with arms that instructs an autonomous vehicle to reposition “because the vehicle may not have entered centered into the service bay but rather more to one side” ([0339]).
Taylor (US20220219958A1) discloses prepositioning lift arms for a vehicle ([0073], [0083]).
Bartos (US20190144249A1) discloses a lift for vehicles whose arms are automatically placed into position ([0009], [0033]).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684