Status of the claims
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9, 14, 15 is/are amended, claim(s) 13 is/are cancelled and claim(s) 21 is/are added. Currently claims 1-12, 14-21 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al (5213414) in view of Geberth (4728213).
Regarding claim 1, Richard, Fig. 1-3, discloses pipe system for oilfield operations (col 1 line 5-20), the pipe system comprising: a pipe 22 having an inlet (right side end of 22 in fig 1 and left side end in fig 2 with end cap having inlet opening for actuation shaft of 24 connecting to 26) and an outlet (covered by end cap 32 with outlet opening for shaft of 24 connecting to bearing 33) and an interior wall defining an inside dimeter, the pipe 22 defining a cavity between the inlet and the outlet configured to receive a flow of fluid containing a proppant (sand/water); a fluid outlet 34 fluidly coupled to the cavity and located between the inlet and the outlet of the pipe; an auger assembly 24 installed within the cavity and comprising: a helical blade (of 24) extending at least partially between the inlet and the outlet of the pipe, the helical blade configured to direct a portion of the proppant through the fluid outlet 34; and a first end support (shaft opening in end cap of pipe adjacent to 26) coupled to a first end of the auger assembly and a second end support (shaft opening in end cap 32) coupled to a second end of the auger assembly, the first and second end supports engaging the pipe to maintain a proper position of the helical blade within the cavity.
Richard fails to disclose first end support (shaft opening in end cap of pipe adjacent to 26) and second end support (shaft opening in end cap 32) engaging the interior wall of the pipe 22. Gerberth teaches an auger assembly with end supports 36,38 engaging the interior wall of the pipe 50.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Richard with end supports engaging the interior wall of the pipe as taught by Gerberth in order to a compact auger end support within the pipe structure.
As to claim 2, outlet is sealed or covered by an end cap 32.
As to claim 3, the helical blade extends along substantially an entire length of the cavity of the pipe 22,
As to claim 4, the fluid outlet 34 includes a plurality of fluid outlets 34 disposed along a length of a side of the pipe, each of the plurality of fluid outlets coupled to a conduit 40 configured to draw fluid from the cavity; and the auger assembly is configured to increase a uniformity (sand mixture, col 4 line 65-69)) of an amount of the proppant directed through each of the plurality of fluid outlets.
As to claim 8, Richard discloses a frac iron system comprising the pipe system of claim 1, the frac iron system including: a low-pressure manifold 16-22 comprising the pipe 22; a high-pressure manifold P,58 downstream of the fluid outlet 40 and configured to receive a pressurized flow of fluid containing the proppant; and a skid 60 coupling the low-pressure manifold to the high-pressure manifold via a mounting feature (frame shown in fig 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard et al (5213414) in view of Geberth (4728213) further in view of Dunne (5124035).
Richard as modified discloses auger assembly further comprising: a support (shaft of 24) coupled to the helical blade and extending along a longitudinal axis thereof, the hollow support having a first end coupled to the first end support (shaft opening in end cap of pipe adjacent to 26) and a second end coupled to the second end support (shaft opening in end cap 32).
Rischard fails to disclose shaft as hollow. Dunne teaches an auger assembly with a hollow shaft 50.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Richard as modified with hollow auger shaft as taught by Dunne in order to provide lightweight shaft and to reduce structural material consumption.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-12, 14-20 is/are allowed. Claim(s) 6, 7, 21 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims. Geberth is cited to show prior art teaching/incorporation of end supports engaging pipe interior wall.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753