DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority: This application is a CON of 17/549,658 12/13/2021 now ABN, 17/549,658 has PRO 63/216,220 filed 06/29/2021, 17/549,658 has PRO 63/145,273 filed 02/03/2021 and 17/549,658 has PRO 63/126,924 filed 12/17/2020.
Examiner Note: The subject-matter of claims 1-12 cannot be directly and unambiguously derived from the priority applications USP 20 206 3126924 (17-12-2020), USP 20 216 3145273 (03-02-2021), USP 20 216 3216220 (29-06-2021). Thus, the priority date of the claims is the filing date of the priority application US 17/549658 (12/13/2021).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024, 5/5/2026 and 8/6/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0098904), and further in view of Wernersson et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0006499).
As per claim 1, Hindy disclose A user equipment (UE) (see Fig.2, UE 205, Fig.6, UE 600) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver (see Fig.6, Transceiver 625) configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS) (see Fig.2, RAN Node 210), first information configuring a channel state information (CSI), report (see Fig.2, para. 0062-0070, At Step 4, the RAN node 210 transmits the generated set of DL reference signals / first information configuring CSI report, the set of DL reference signals includes a set of CSI-RS signals), wherein the first information indicates a codebook type for the CSI report as a type II coherent transmission (see Fig.2, para. 0062-0070, procedure 200 for CSI reporting, e.g., using Type-II Port Selection codebook, see also para. 0069, the UE 205 transmits a CSI reports containing a Type-II port-selection codebook corresponding to the generated coefficients, see also Fig.7, para. 0132, 0157, 0160, a network apparatus 700 that is use for Type-II port-selection codebook generation), and
receive, from the BS, second information configuring a plurality of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource for the CSI report (see Fig.2, para. 0062-0070, at Step 4, the RAN node 210 transmits the generated set of DL reference signals / second information configuring a plurality CSI-RS, the set of DL reference signals includes a set of CSI-RS signals); and
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the BS, the CSI report including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) identified (see para. 0033, 0035, 00116-0122, the UE reporting the CSI report including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) identified) based on a first vector and a second vector (see para. 0112-0122, regarding CSI Reporting, the aforementioned approach implies the following: reporting one amplitude / a first vector and phase value /a second vector per selected port (2L coefficients, see also para 0069, 0070, For Type-II Port Selection codebook, only K (where K≤2N.sub.1N.sub.2) beamformed CSI-RS ports are utilized in DL transmission, in order to reduce complexity. The K×N.sub.3 codebook matrix per layer takes on the form W=W.sub.1.sup.PS{tilde over (W)}.sub.2W.sub.f.sup.H, Equation (10)); and
a controller operably coupled with the transceiver (see Fig.6, Processor 605, coupled with the transceiver 625).
Hindy however does not explicitly disclose the controller configured to: identify a first vector for each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources, and identify a second vector being common for the plurality of CSI-RS resources.
Wernersson however disclose A user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 5, a wireless device 110) comprising: a controller (see Fig. 5, processing circuitry 120, see para. 0103-0105) configured to:
identify a first vector for each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources (see para. 0151-0152, 0159-0165, estimating a channel state of a channel, and based on the channel state, identifying and transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report indicating a plurality of precoder vectors, wherein each precoder vector corresponds to a frequency sub-band and comprises linear combinations of spatial-domain components), and
identify a second vector being common for the plurality of CSI-RS resources (see para. 0151-0152, 0159-0165, identifying and transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report indicating a plurality of precoder vectors, wherein each precoder vector corresponds to a frequency sub-band and comprises linear combinations of spatial-domain components and frequency-domain components, where each of the spatial-domain components is associated with a respective set of frequency-domain components and where the number of frequency-domain components associated with a first spatial-domain component is larger than the number of frequency-domain components associated with a second spatial-domain component, see also [0163] determining, for each spatial-domain component, the number of associated frequency-domain components in the set; [0164] determining linear combination coefficients for each combination of spatial-domain component and associated frequency-domain components; and [0165] including an indication of the determined linear combination coefficients as part of the CSI report), and
wherein a transceiver (see Fig. 5, RF transceiver circuitry 122, see para. 0103-0105) is further configured to transmit, to the BS, the CSI report including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) identified based on the first vector and the second vector (see Fig.14A-B, step 1412, 0151-0152, the method also comprises step 1412: transmitting a CSI report for the downlink channel based on the channel state. The CSI report indicates a plurality of precoder vectors, wherein each of the precoder vectors corresponds to a frequency sub-band of the bandwidth of the downlink channel, a precoder vector being expressed as a linear combination of spatial-domain components and frequency-domain components. Each of the spatial-domain components is associated with a respective set of one or more frequency-domain components and the number of frequency-domain components associated with a first spatial-domain component is larger than the number of frequency-domain components associated with a second spatial-domain component, see also para. 0151-0152, 0159-0165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of the controller configured to: identify a first vector for each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources, and identify a second vector being common for the plurality of CSI-RS resources, as taught by Wernersson, in the system of Hindy, so as to enable a UE to select a transmission rank that matches the channel properties, see Wernersson, paragraphs 0007- 0008.
As per claim 2, the combination of Hindy and Wernersson disclose the UE of claim 1.
Hindy further disclose wherein the CSI report further includes a phase value for each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources (see para. 0036, 0039, 0112-0116, 0170, regarding CSI Reporting, reporting one amplitude and phase value per selected port (2L coefficients), the CSI report includes a phase value for each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources).
As per claim 5, claim 5 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Hindy also disclose A base station (BS) (see Fig.2, RAN Node 210, Fig.7, network apparatus 700) comprising: a processor (see Fig.7, a processor 705); and a transceiver (see Fig.7, a transceiver 725).
As per claim 6, claim 6 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
Claims 4, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0098904), in view of Wernersson et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0006499) and further in view of Rupasinghe et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0261832).
As per claim 4, the combination of Hindy and Wernersson disclose the UE of claim 1.
The combination of Hindy and Wernersson disclose wherein: a number of antenna ports for each transmission and reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs is same, and the plurality of TRPs correspond to the plurality of CSI-RS resources.
Rupasinghe however disclose wherein: a number of antenna ports for each transmission and reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs is same, and the plurality of TRPs correspond to the plurality of CSI-RS resources (see para. 0017, 0055, 0113-0114, the number of antenna ports for each transmission and reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs is same and the UE 10 has to identify a number L(≤K) of best CSI-RS ports (i.e., beams) and to report their corresponding indices within W.sub.1 / the plurality of TRPs correspond to the plurality of CSI-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein: a number of antenna ports for each transmission and reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs is same, and the plurality of TRPs correspond to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, as taught by Rupasinghe, in the system of Hindy and Wernersson, so as to enable a UE to determine a type of the one or more CSI-RSs, and when the type of the one or more CSI-RS is a Type II, performs a Type II port selection codebook with a beamformed CSI-RS of the one or more CSI-RSs in the SD and FD domains, see Rupasinghe, paragraphs 0007- 0008.
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mittal et al (2022/0149915) – see para. 0101, “FIG. 13 illustrates a flow diagram 1300 in a user equipment for generating a channel state information report, which prioritizes the location of the entries in the report based upon one or more indices. The method includes receiving 1302 a set of reference signals transmitted from a network entity. A plurality of entries that are included in the channel state information feedback report based on the received set of reference signals are computed 1304, where the entries of the channel state information feedback report include at least a set of coefficients 1306. Each coefficient is associated with at least one or more of a spatial domain basis index, a frequency domain basis index, and a layer index 1308. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are arranged 1310 in an order known to both the user equipment and the network entity, where higher prioritized entries are positioned toward a beginning of the order of the arranged entries, and lower prioritized entries are positioned toward an end of the order of the arranged entries. At least a portion of the channel state information feedback report includes one or more concatenated groups 1312. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are prioritized using predefined permutations of the indices for one or more of the frequency domain basis indices, the spatial domain basis indices, and the layer indices of the plurality of entries 1314”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469