DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, filed 10/25/2024, are pending and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-18 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,130,112. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Alternatively and/or Additionally, Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130,112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the presented claims of this application. There are minor differences between the presented claims and the patented claims, but the invention as mapped below is identical. The only language difference lies in corrected 112 and objections issues and reorganizing of previously indicated allowable subject matter into the independent claims that were amended and corrected in the prosecution of the application that is now patent no. 12,130,112, however the claimed invention is essentially identical as presented and alternatively, is anticipated by the patented claims as mapped below.
Presented Claim 1
An archery bow comprising:
a limb assembly comprising a first limb and a second limb; the second limb comprising limb threads;
an axle assembly supported by the first limb and the second limb, the axle assembly comprising an axle comprising axle threads;
a first connection between the axle assembly and the first limb, the first connection comprising a fixed connection; and
a second connection between the axle assembly and the second limb, the second connection comprising the limb threads engaged with the axle threads;
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly adjusts a distance between the first limb and the second limb.
Presented Claim 2
The archery bow of claim 1, wherein the first connection excludes helical threads oriented between the first limb and the axle.
Claim 1 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold) (identical to presented claims 1+2)
An archery bow comprising:
a limb assembly comprising a first limb and a second limb, the second limb comprising limb threads;
an axle assembly supported by the first limb and the second limb, the axle assembly comprising an axle comprising axle threads;
a first connection between the axle assembly and the first limb, the first connection comprising a fixed connection that excludes helical threads oriented between the first limb and the axle (same language as presented claim 2); and
a second connection between the axle assembly and the second limb, the second connection comprising the limb threads engaged with the axle threads;
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly adjusts a distance between the first limb and the second limb.
Presented Claim 3
The archery bow of claim 1, wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly moves the second limb along a length of the axle but does not move the first limb along the length of the axle.
Claim 2 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 1, wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly moves the second limb along a length of the axle but does not move the first limb along the length of the axle.
Presented Claim 4
The archery bow of claim 1, the axle assembly comprising a fastener assembly attached to the axle, the fastener assembly abutting the first limb.
Claim 3 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 1, the axle assembly comprising a fastener assembly attached to the axle, the fastener assembly abutting the first limb.
Presented Claim 5
The archery bow of claim 4, the fastener assembly comprising a fastener and a washer, the fastener engaging the axle, the washer abutting the first limb.
Claim 4 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 3, the fastener assembly comprising a fastener and a washer, the fastener engaging the axle, the washer abutting the first limb.
Presented Claim 6
The archery bow of claim 1, the second connection comprising a locking mechanism arranged to prevent the axle from rotating with respect to the second limb.
Claim 5 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 1, the second connection comprising a locking mechanism arranged to prevent the axle from rotating with respect to the second limb.
Presented Claim 7
The archery bow of claim 6, the locking mechanism comprising a fastener arranged to apply a force between the axle and the second limb.
Claim 6 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 5, the locking mechanism comprising a fastener arranged to apply a force between the axle and the second limb.
Presented Claim 8
The archery bow of claim 1, the axle comprising a flange arranged to locate a rotatable member.
Claim 7 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 1, the axle comprising a flange arranged to locate a rotatable member.
Presented Claim 9
The archery bow of claim 8, comprising a roller bearing in contact with the flange.
Claim 8 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 7, comprising a roller bearing in contact with the flange.
Presented Claim 10
The archery bow of claim 9, comprising a spacer surrounding the axle, the spacer abutting the roller bearing, the spacer in compression along its length.
Claim 9 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 8, comprising a spacer surrounding the axle, the spacer abutting the roller bearing, the spacer in compression along its length.
Presented Claim 11
The archery bow of claim 1, the first limb comprising a first bracket, the axle assembly abutting the first bracket.
Claim 10 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 1, the first limb comprising a first bracket, the axle assembly abutting the first bracket.
Presented Claim 12
The archery bow of claim 11, the second limb comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising the limb threads.
Claim 11 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 10, the second limb comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising the limb threads.
Presented Claim 13
The archery bow of claim 12, the axle comprising a marking, the marking visible through a window in the second bracket.
Claim 12 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold) (identical to presented claims 1+11+12+13)
An archery bow comprising:
a limb assembly comprising a first limb and a second limb, the first limb comprising a first bracket (mapped to claim 11), the second limb comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising limb threads (identical to presented claim 12);
an axle assembly supported by the first limb and the second limb, the axle assembly abutting the first bracket (mapped to claim 11), the axle assembly comprising an axle comprising axle threads;
a first connection between the axle assembly and the first limb, the first connection comprising a fixed connection; and
a second connection between the axle assembly and the second limb, the second connection comprising the limb threads engaged with the axle threads;
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly adjusts a distance between the first limb and the second limb;
the axle comprising a marking, the marking visible through a window in the second bracket (identical to claim 13).
Presented Claim 14
An archery bow comprising:
a first limb comprising a first bracket;
a second limb comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising bracket threads;
an axle comprising a first portion and a second portion, the first portion attached to the first bracket, the second portion comprising axle threads engaged with the bracket threads;
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the second bracket adjusts a distance between the first bracket and the second bracket.
Presented Claim 20
The device of claim 14, wherein the axle comprises a marking, the marking visible through a window in the second bracket.
Claim 13 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold) (identical to presented claims 14+20)
An archery bow comprising:
a first limb comprising a first bracket;
a second limb comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising a window and bracket threads;
an axle comprising a first portion, a second portion and a marking (identical to presented claim 20), the first portion attached to the first bracket, the second portion comprising axle threads engaged with the bracket threads, the marking visible through the window (identical to presented claim 20);
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the second bracket adjusts a distance between the first bracket and the second bracket.
Presented Claim 15
The device of claim 14, further comprising a rotatable member supported by the axle.
Claim 14 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 13, further comprising a rotatable member supported by the axle.
Presented Claim 16
The device of claim 15, wherein the axle comprises a flange, the rotatable member abutting the flange.
Claim 15 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 14, wherein the axle comprises a flange, the rotatable member abutting the flange.
Presented Claim 17
The device of claim 14, further comprising a bearing oriented between the first bracket and the axle.
Claim 16 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 14, further comprising a bearing oriented between the first bracket and the axle.
Presented Claim 18
The device of claim 17, wherein the rotatable member contacts the bearing.
Claim 17 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 16, wherein the rotatable member contacts the bearing.
Presented Claim 19
The device of claim 14, further comprising a fastener attached to the axle.
Claim 18 of Patent 12,130,112 (identical language in bold)
The archery bow of claim 13, further comprising a fastener attached to the axle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 15-20 recites the limitation “the device” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the rotatable member” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansen et al. US Pub. No. 2023/0358501.
Hansen teaches:
In Reference to Claim 1
An archery bow (archery bow 10 with limbs and rotatable members, Fig. 1-23, notably Fig. 7-9) comprising:
a limb assembly comprising a first limb and a second limb (first limb assembly having split limb portions 18/24, ex. Fig. 7-9); the second limb comprising limb threads (each limb portion 18/24 has an internally threaded portion of 118 therein (which is functionally a portion of that respective limb portion), Fig. 7);
an axle assembly supported by the first limb and the second limb, the axle assembly comprising an axle comprising axle threads (axle 122 has externally threaded portions within the first and second limb portions, the axle 122 is supported by the first and second limbs 18/24, Fig. 7);
a first connection between the axle assembly and the first limb, the first connection comprising a fixed connection (the first portion of axle 122 is fixedly connected to the first limb portion 18 via threaded portion which is secured to sleeve/bracket 32/118 within an aperture in the limb and locked/fixed (during use) to each other via nut 124, Fig. 7); and
a second connection between the axle assembly and the second limb, the second connection comprising the limb threads engaged with the axle threads (the second portion of axle 122 is connected to the second limb portion 24 via the threaded portion which is secured to sleeve/bracket 36 within an aperture in the limb and locked/fixed (during use) to each other via nut 126, Fig. 7);
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly adjusts a distance between the first limb and the second limb (rotation of the axle with respect to the limb portions 18/24 (rotation between the threaded axle 122 and the threaded sleeve sections 32/118 and 36/118 within each of the respective limb sections moves the position of the limbs closer or further from one another so that the rotatable member and spacer members may be moved or changed as desired, [0044]-[0047], from [0044] “The heads 43 of the threaded fasteners 46, 48 opposite to the outer lateral sides 33, 35 of the limbs 18, 14 such that when the fasteners 46, 48 are threaded into the ends 107 of the axle shaft 107, the limbs 18, 24 are drawn together to reduce an axial spacing between the inner lateral sides 113, 115 of the limbs 18, 24.” The embodiment of Fig. 7-9 functions in the same manner, but uses nuts 124/126 to move the limb portions relative to the axle via the threaded engagement and provide the axial adjustment in place of 46/48, [0046]-[0047]).
In Reference to Claim 3
The archery bow of claim 1, wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly moves the second limb along a length of the axle but does not move the first limb along the length of the axle (each individual limb portion may be separately movable by adjusting only one of the sections 124/32 or 126/36, Fig. 7).
In Reference to Claim 4
The archery bow of claim 1, the axle assembly comprising a fastener assembly attached to the axle, the fastener assembly abutting the first limb (fasteners 124/126 abut respective outer edges of limbs 18/24, Fig. 7).
In Reference to Claim 5
The archery bow of claim 4, the fastener assembly comprising a fastener and a washer, the fastener engaging the axle, the washer abutting the first limb (fasteners 124/126 are nuts that engage respective axle 122 ends and include an unlabeled washer that abuts the outer surface of each limb 18/24, Fig. 7).
In Reference to Claim 6
The archery bow of claim 1, the second connection comprising a locking mechanism arranged to prevent the axle from rotating with respect to the second limb (fastener 126 selectively prevents movement of the axle and second limb during use).
In Reference to Claim 7
The archery bow of claim 6, the locking mechanism comprising a fastener arranged to apply a force between the axle and the second limb (fastener 126 applies a locking force on the second limb 24 that selectively prevents movement of the axle and second limb during use).
In Reference to Claim 8
The archery bow of claim 1, the axle comprising a flange arranged to locate a rotatable member (spacer members 52/54 form flanged sections extending from the axle and are placed on the axle to locate the rotatable member 50 between the limbs, Fig. 7-9).
In Reference to Claim 9
The archery bow of claim 8, comprising a roller bearing in contact with the flange (rotatable member 50 has a central roller bearing 72 to support the rotatable member on the axle, wherein spacers 52/54 contact the bearing, Fig. 4, 7, [0034], [0036], [0043]).
In Reference to Claim 10
The archery bow of claim 9, comprising a spacer surrounding the axle, the spacer abutting the roller bearing, the spacer in compression along its length (rotatable member 50 has a central roller bearing 72 to support the rotatable member on the axle, wherein spacers 52/54 contact the bearing and are held in compression along their lateral lengths (along the axle) due to the tightening of the fastener(s) to eliminate any excess space between the members along the axle length, Fig. 4, 7, [0034], [0036], [0043]).
In Reference to Claim 11
The archery bow of claim 1, the first limb comprising a first bracket, the axle assembly abutting the first bracket (first bracket 32 holds the axle member within the first limb 18, Fig. 7).
In Reference to Claim 12
The archery bow of claim 11, the second limb comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising the limb threads (second bracket 36 holds the axle member and the respective limb threaded portion therein, Fig. 7).
In Reference to Claim 14
An archery bow (archery bow 10 with limbs and rotatable members, Fig. 1-23, notably Fig. 7-9) comprising:
a first limb (18) comprising a first bracket (first bracket 32 holds the axle member within the first limb 18, Fig. 7);
a second limb (24) comprising a second bracket, the second bracket comprising bracket threads (second bracket 36/118 holds the externally threaded axle member 122 and the internally respective limb threaded portion therein, Fig. 7);
an axle (122) comprising a first portion and a second portion (axle 122 has externally threaded portions within the first and second limb portions, the axle 122 is supported by the first and second limbs 18/24 in respective bracket members, Fig. 7), the first portion attached to the first bracket (the first portion of axle 122 is connected to the first limb portion 18 via a threaded portion which is secured to sleeve/bracket 32/118 within an aperture in the limb and locked/fixed to each other via nut 124, Fig. 7), the second portion comprising axle threads engaged with the bracket threads (the second portion of axle 122 is connected to the second limb portion 24 via the engaged threaded portion which is secured to sleeve/bracket 36 within an aperture in the limb and locked/fixed to each other via nut 126, Fig. 7);
wherein rotation of the axle with respect to the second bracket adjusts a distance between the first bracket and the second bracket (rotation between the threaded axle 122 and the threaded sleeve sections 32/118 and 36/118 within each of the respective limb sections moves the position of the limbs closer or further from one another so that the rotatable member and spacer members may be moved or changed as desired, [0044]-[0047], from [0044] “The heads 43 of the threaded fasteners 46, 48 opposite to the outer lateral sides 33, 35 of the limbs 18, 14 such that when the fasteners 46, 48 are threaded into the ends 107 of the axle shaft 107, the limbs 18, 24 are drawn together to reduce an axial spacing between the inner lateral sides 113, 115 of the limbs 18, 24.” The embodiment of Fig. 7-9 functions in the same manner, but uses nuts 124/126 to move the limb portions relative to the axle via the threaded engagement and provide the axial adjustment in place of 46/48, [0046]-[0047]).
In Reference to Claim 15
The device of claim 14, further comprising a rotatable member supported by the axle (rotatable member 50 has a central roller bearing 72 to support the rotatable member on the axle, Fig. 4, 7, [0034], [0036], [0043]).
In Reference to Claim 16
The device of claim 15, wherein the axle comprises a flange, the rotatable member abutting the flange (spacer members 52/54 form flanged sections extending from the axle to contact the sides of the rotatable member and are placed on the axle to locate the rotatable member 50 between the limbs, Fig. 7-9).
In Reference to Claim 17
The device of claim 14, further comprising a bearing oriented between the first bracket and the axle (rotatable member 50 has a central roller bearing 72 which is oriented between a portion of the axle (ex. second portion/side near 24) and the first bracket, Fig. 4, 7, [0034], [0036], [0043]).
In Reference to Claim 18
The device of claim 17, wherein the rotatable member contacts the bearing (rotatable member 50 has a central roller bearing 72 to support the rotatable member on the axle, wherein spacers 52/54 contact the bearing, Fig. 4, 7, [0034], [0036], [0043]).
In Reference to Claim 19
The device of claim 14, further comprising a fastener attached to the axle (fasteners 124/126 engage the first and second ends of the axle 122 and abut respective outer edges of limbs 18/24, Fig. 7).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 13, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and are also changed enough to overcome the double patenting rejections presented above (amendments + filing an appropriate terminal disclaimer).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in addition to the other claim limitations, the specific limitations of the first fixed connection excluding helical threads oriented between the first limb and the axle or the axle comprising a marking, the marking visible through a window in the second bracket is not anticipated by or found obvious by the cited prior art.
Further, it would be helpful to define that the first fixed connection is “not adjustable” (to clarify over temporarily fixed in the manner of the prior art (threaded which is temporarily “fixed” or a removable fastener (such as taught by Yehle (9,683,806) which is fixed during use, but capable of adjustment)) and that the limb threads are formed directly in a surface of the limb as the prior art teaches helical threads for the adjustment means and the threads are generally formed in bracket or spacer means and not directly in the limb surface. For example, Yehle (9,683,806) teaches individually threaded limb portions adjustably engaged on a threaded axle, however this arrangement does not teach the rotation of the axle adjusting a distance between the first and second limbs as it teaches a shift of the position of the axle and cam relative the limb portions.
Walthert (12,553,682) and Strother (12,467,712) appear to potentially predate the priority of this application and teach movable rotatable members between limb tips using a rotatable/threaded axle, however these references generally appear to teach the limb portions remaining at the same distance during adjustment while moving the rotatable member along the axle and therefore would not teach the rotation of the axle with respect to the limb assembly adjusting a distance between the first and second limbs as claimed. However, these references were not previously considered in the parent application and therefore should also be reviewed by the applicant for relevance.
Brief Discussion of Other Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Walthert (12,553,682), Strother (12,467,712), McPherson (9,528,788, 11,486,674), Yehle (9,683,806), Grace (10,126,087, 11,536,532), Huang (10,371,480), and Romero (2020/0158461) teach similar bow limb axles with threaded or adjustable means.
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711