DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Heugten et al (US Publication No.: US 2020/0331219 A1, “Van Heugten”).
Regarding Claim 1, Van Heugten discloses an eyewear system (Figure 14) comprising:
A variable transmission optical device (“VTOD”) (Figure 14) comprising:
A first transparent electrode provided over a first substrate (Figure 4D, first transparent electrode 410a; Paragraph 0129);
A second transparent electrode provided over a second substrate (Figure 4D, second transparent electrode 410b; Paragraph 0129); and
An electro-optic material comprising a liquid crystal provided between the substrates, wherein each transparent electrode is interposed between its respective substrate and the electro-optic material (Figure 4D, electro-optic material 430; Paragraph 0048; Paragraph 0129, where the front and back surfaces are the respective substrate); and
A VTOD driving system in electrical communication with the first and second transparent electrodes, the VTOD driving system configured to apply a first voltage profile across the transparent electrodes for controlling an amount of light transmitted through the VTOD (Paragraph 0081 discloses a driving system; Paragraph 0033 discloses an applied voltage which changes transmittance); and
(c) An antenna system comprising at least one antenna electrode and at least one component electrode, the antenna system configured to apply or sense a second voltage profile to transmit or receive wireless signals (Paragraphs 0127-0130 discloses a system that receives wireless energy from an external device, Figure 14, antenna electrode 1410, component electrode 1420), wherein
At least one transparent electrode serves as the at least one antenna electrode or as the at least one component electrode (Figure 14, the component electrode 1420 serves as the transparent electrode; Paragraph 0128).
Regarding Claim 2, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1, wherein the at least one antenna electrode is a first substrate antenna electrode provided on the first substrate adjacent to, and separate from, the first transparent electrode (Figure 14 clearly discloses antenna electrode 1410 is spaced apart from electro-optical material 1450, where Paragraph 0129 discloses an electro-optical material comprising two transparent electrodes and Paragraph 0128 discloses a component electrode 1420).
Regarding Claim 3, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2, wherein the first transparent electrode serves as the at least one component electrode (Figure 14, component electrode 1420 is the first transparent electrode).
Regarding Claim 4, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1, wherein the second transparent electrode serves as the at least one component electrode (Figure 14, component electrode 1420 is the second transparent electrode).
Regarding Claim 5, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2, wherein the second transparent electrode is not oppositely positioned relative to the first substrate antenna electrode in a dimension normal to the first substrate surface (Paragraph 0129).
Regarding Claim 6, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2, wherein the VTOD further comprises a sealing material to contain said electro-optic material, and wherein the sealing material covers at least a portion of the first substrate antenna electrode (Paragraph 0005; Paragraph 0007).
Regarding Claim 9, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2, wherein the first transparent electrode and the antenna electrode lie in a common plane parallel to a plane defined by a surface of the first substrate (Figure 14; Paragraphs 0127-0130).
Regarding Claim 10, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2, further comprising a second substrate antenna electrode provided on the second substrate adjacent to, and separate from, the second transparent electrode, wherein the second substrate antenna electrode serves as another antenna electrode (Figure 12, second antenna 1210b).
Regarding Claim 12, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1, wherein the first transparent electrode serves as the at least one antenna electrode, and the second transparent electrode serves as the at least one component electrode (Figure 14, first transparent electrode 1410 and second transparent electrode 1420).
Regarding Claim 15, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 13, wherein the VTOD driving system and the antenna system each comprise their own operational microcontroller (Paragraph 0128).
Regarding Claim 16, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1, wherein the VTOD driving system and the antenna system share a common operational microcontroller (Paragraph 0128).
Regarding Claim 18, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1, further comprising an eyewear system frame to which the VTOD is attached (Figure 12, eyewear system frame 1232/1260), wherein at least a portion of the VTOD driving system is provided as part of the eyewear system frame (Figure 12, sensor 1260).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heugten in view of Blum et al (US Publication No.: US 2015/0378177 A1, “Blum”).
Regarding Claim 7, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2.
Van Heugten fails to disclose that the first substrate antenna electrode comprises a metal and is substantially opaque to visible light.
However, Blum discloses a similar system where the first substrate antenna electrode comprises a metal and is substantially opaque to visible light (Blum, Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna as disclosed by Van Heugten to be a metal antenna as disclosed by Blum. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing electrical connection and light transmission (Blum, Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 8, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1.
Van Heugten fails to disclose that the first transparent electrode and the antenna electrode comprise substantially the same conductive material.
However, Blum discloses a similar system where the first transparent electrode and the antenna electrode comprise substantially the same conductive material (Blum, Paragraph 0053; Paragraph 0059; Paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna and the first transparent electrodes as disclosed by Van Heugten to be made of the same material as disclosed by Blum. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process and improving conductivity (Blum, Paragraph 0053).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heugten in view of Spanier et al (US Publication No.: US 2024/0429591 A1, “Spanier”).
Regarding Claim 11, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 2.
Van Heugten fails to disclose that the first substrate antenna electrode is characterized by a length of about λ/4, λ/2, or λ(5/8), where λ is the wavelength of the wireless signal to be received or transmitted.
However, Spanier discloses a similar eyewear system where the first substrate antenna electrode is characterized by a length of about λ/4, λ/2, or λ(5/8), where λ is the wavelength of the wireless signal to be received or transmitted (Spanier, Paragraph 0222 discloses a length of λ/4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna as disclosed by Van Heugten to have a particular length as disclosed by Spanier. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improve the quality and reliability of wireless communications (Spanier, Paragraph 0222).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heugten in view of Rakhyani et al (US Publication No.: US 2017/0255026 A1, “Rakhyani”).
Regarding Claim 17, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1.
Van Heugten fails to disclose that the antenna system functions as a monopole antenna, a dipole antenna, a virtual dipole antenna, or a quadrupole antenna.
However, Rakhyani discloses a similar system where the antenna system functions as a monopole antenna, a dipole antenna, a virtual dipole antenna, or a quadrupole antenna (Rakhyani, Paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna as disclosed by Van Heugten to be a dipole antenna as disclosed by Rakhyani. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing and facilitating a reactive exchange of energy (Rakhyani, Paragraph 0034).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heugten in view of Zhu et al (US Publication No.: US 2008/0218645 A1, “Zhu”).
Regarding Claim 19, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1.
Van Heugten fails to disclose that the VTOD is characterized by a cell gap between the first and second transparent electrodes, wherein the cell gap is in a range of 3um to 50um.
However, Zhu discloses a similar system where the VTOD is characterized by a cell gap between the first and second transparent electrodes, wherein the cell gap is in a range of 3um to 50um (Zhu, Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the VTOD as disclosed by Van Heugten to have a particular cell gap as disclosed by Zhu. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light transmission (Zhu, Paragraph 0047).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Heugten in view of Linhardt et al (US Publication No.: US 2017/0176774 A1, “Linhardt”).
Regarding Claim 20, Van Heugten discloses the eyewear system of claim 1.
Van Heugten fails to disclose that the electro-optic material comprises a liquid crystal host and a dichroic dye guest.
However, Linhardt discloses a similar system where the electro-optic material comprises a liquid crystal host and a dichroic dye guest (Linhardt, Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electro-optic material as disclosed by Van Heugten to include a dichroic dye as disclosed by Linhardt. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving an electrochromic effect (Linhardt, Paragraph 0050).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871