DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuyama (US 7,434,704) in view of Morad (US 11,158,453).
Referring to claim 1,21-24. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
a storage container (housing of 2) structured to retain a plurality of medical cartridges (D) in use;
a cartridge singulator (16; Figure 3A).
Yuyama does not disclose a user proximity sensor connected to trigger the cartridge singulator to dispense a medical cartridge from an outlet of the storage container.
Morad discloses a feminine hygiene product dispenser wherein a user proximity sensor (112) connected to trigger the cartridge singulator (140) to dispense a medical cartridge (product) from an outlet of the storage container (see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yuyama to include proximity sensor connected to trigger the cartridge singulator to dispense a product from an outlet of the storage container as taught by Morad because the articles can be dispensed without the user contacting the dispenser apparatus.
Referring to claim 7. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the cartridge singulator (16; Figure 3A) comprises a rotatable cam (20).
Referring to claim 8. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the rotatable cam (2; Figure 2) defines a cartridge-advancing part (18; Figure 3A) and an upstream-cartridge-blocking part (27a; Figure 3B).
Referring to claim 9. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the cartridge singulator (16; Figure 3A) comprises a dispensing drum (drum of 16) that defines the rotatable cam (20).
Referring to claim 10. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the dispensing drum (drum of 16) defines the rotatable cam (20) in an axial direction along a cylindrical sidewall of the dispensing drum (sidewall of 16; Figure 3A).
Referring to claim 11. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the rotatable cam (20) is formed as an axial slot (see recess 18) in the cylindrical sidewall (sidewall of 16; Figure 3A), with the cartridge-advancing part (18; Figure 3A) defined by the axial slot (slot 18), and the upstream-cartridge-blocking part (27a; Figure 3B) defined by the cylindrical sidewall (back wall of 27a).
Referring to claim 12. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the dispensing drum (drum of 16) is structured to perform a single rotation to dispense a single cartridge (D) in use (see Figure 2).
Referring to claim 13. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the outlet (19) is defined on a cartridge exit chute (chute 19), and the cartridge singulator (16; Figure 3A) is structured to roll individual cartridges (D) along the cartridge exit chute and out the outlet (see Figure 2).
Referring to claim 14 and 24. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the dispensing drum (drum of 16) is oriented such that a rotational axis (axis through pivot 20; Figure 2) of the dispensing drum (drum of 16) is parallel with a rolling axis of a cartridge (D) seated in the dispensing drum during use (see Figure 2,3A and 3B).
Referring to claim 15. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the cartridge singulator (16; Figure 3A) comprises a motor (25; Figure 4A) and a timing cam (21; Figure 5).
Referring to claim 16. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the timing cam (21; Figure 5) is structured to engage a limit switch (24) during each action of dispensing a medical cartridge by the singulator (16; Figure 3A).
Referring to claim 17. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the storage container (housing of 2) defines an internal medical-cartridge-stacking track (interior stack housing in housing 2; Figure 2).
Referring to claim 19. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
a cartridge catch (interior portion of 27a; Figure 3A) defined downstream of the outlet.
Referring to claim 20. Yuyama discloses method and a medical cartridge dispenser (2; Figure 2) comprising:
the cartridge catch (interior portion of 27a; Figure 3A) is formed of one or more cartridge stop walls that are adjacent a finger-receiving pincer zone (19; Figure 3A).
Claims 2-5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuyama (US 7,434,704) in view of Morad (US 11,158,453) and further in view of Yajima (US 6,019,246).
Referring to claims 2,3 and 25. Yuyama in view of Morad do not disclose comprising a cartridge heater.
Yajima discloses a dispenser (51; Figure 1A) wherein the cartridge (511) comprising a cartridge heater (5c).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yuyama in view of Morad to include a cartridge heater as taught by Yajima because the articles can be maintained at particular temperature, such as at body temperature, desired for the contained product.
Referring to claim 4. Yuyama in view of Morad and Yajima do not specifically disclose the cartridge heater comprises a resistive heating pad.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yuyama in view of Morad and Yajima to include the cartridge heater comprising specifically a resistive heating pad to provide heating for the cartridge, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Referring to claim 5. Yajima discloses a dispenser (51; Figure 1A) wherein the resistive heating pad underlies, overlies (see position of heating member 5c; Figure 52), or defines at least part of a cartridge exit chute upstream of or at the outlet in the storage compartment (see Figure 52).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuyama (US 7,434,704) in view of Morad (US 11,158,453) and Yajima (US 6,019,246) and further in view of Polster (US 2018/025919 A1).
Referring to claim 6. Yuyama in view of Morad and Yajima do not specifically disclose the dispenser comprising a temperature sensor; and a temperature controller connected in a feedback loop to control an internal temperature of the storage compartment using the heater.
Polster discloses a system for heating contained products (200; Figure 2) comprising a temperature sensor (108); and a temperature controller (110) connected in a feedback loop to control an internal temperature of the storage compartment using the heater (Output from the temperature sensor may be provided as input to a controller that limits or turns off the energy delivered to the heating element to heat it; Para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yuyama in view of Morad and Yajima to include a temperature sensor and a temperature controller connected in a feedback loop to control an internal temperature of the storage compartment using the heater as taught by Polster because the temperature sensor and the controller feedback loop can be configured to maintain a steady programed temperature of the cabinet without further input from a user.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuyama (US 7,434,704) in view of Morad (US 11,158,453) and further in view of Minh (US 6,234,345).
Referring to claim 18. Yuyama in view of Morad do not disclose the internal medical-cartridge-stacking track comprises a serpentine chute.
Minh discloses a vending machine (Figure 7) wherein the internal medical-cartridge-stacking track comprises a serpentine chute (700).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Yuyama in view of Morad to include the internal medical-cartridge-stacking track comprises a serpentine chute as taught by Minh because a serpentine chute would allow a greater number of articles to be stored in the track consisting of the same height of the dispenser.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651