DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 10, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,995. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This rejection was applied to claim 1 in Paragraph 3 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/01/25. Claims 1-12 of the ‘995 Patent recites “a base substrate; a plurality of sample processing regions defined at a broad surface of the base substrate, wherein the plurality of sample processing regions comprises at least two sample processing regions arranged as lanes, wherein each lane is configured to receive a separate sample such that multiple samples are processed in parallel, and wherein each of the plurality of sample processing regions comprises: a set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient between an upstream end and a downstream end of each respective sample processing region, and a boundary separating each respective sample processing region from adjacent sample processing regions” as recited in claims 1, 10 and 15 of the instant claims. In addition, claims 1-12 of the ‘995 patent further recite all of the features of the rejected dependent claims. Therefore claims 1-12 of the ‘995 Patent fully encompass the scope of the rejected instant claims.
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,015. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This rejection was applied to claim 1 in Paragraph 3 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/01/25. This rejection was applied to claim 1 in Paragraph 3 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/01/25. Claims 1-18 of the ‘015 Patent recites “a base substrate; a plurality of sample processing regions defined at a broad surface of the base substrate, wherein the plurality of sample processing regions comprises at least two sample processing regions arranged as lanes, wherein each lane is configured to receive a separate sample such that multiple samples are processed in parallel, and wherein each of the plurality of sample processing regions comprises: a set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient between an upstream end and a downstream end of each respective sample processing region, and a boundary separating each respective sample processing region from adjacent sample processing regions” as recited in claims 1, 10 and 15 of the instant claims. In addition, claims 1-12 of the ‘015 patent further recite all of the features of the rejected dependent claims. Therefore claims 1-12 of the ‘015 Patent fully encompass the scope of the rejected instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the cover substrate" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, 12, 15, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaye (US 3,787,290). Kaye teaches an assay apparatus. This rejection was applied to claim 1 in Paragraphs 7-8 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/01/25. The rejection remains in effect for claim 1 and also includes new claims as listed above. Please also see Response to Arguments below.
Regarding claims 1-3, 10, 15 and 16 – As shown in Figures 5-7, Kaye teaches a base substrate (slide 52); and a set of sample processing regions (56/66) defined at a broad surface of the substrate, wherein each of the set of sample processing regions comprises: a set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient between an upstream end and a downstream end of each respective sample processing region, and a boundary (60) separating each respective sample processing region from adjacent sample processing regions. See Examples IV and V in columns 10-11. The Examiner notes Figure 7 teaches an embodiment (tray 70) having wells in the subarray format shown in Figure 5. Figures 5 and 7 also show the base substrate (52/70) with three different sets of well sizes that increase in size when going from left to right with respect to the Figures such that each well set has a different dimension and footprint than the other well sets.
Regarding claims 12 and 19 – Kaye teaches the placement of solid media material (broth solids 26) in column 7, line 47 – column 8, line 40.
Claims 1-4, 10, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US 2001/0024805). Williams teaches an assay apparatus. This rejection was applied to claim 1 in Paragraphs 9-10 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/01/25. The rejection remains in effect for claim 1 and also includes new claims as listed above. Please also see Response to Arguments below.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 15 – Regarding claim 1 - As shown in Figure 2, Williams teaches a base substrate (device 16); and a set of sample processing regions (18, 20, 22) defined at a broad surface of the substrate, wherein each of the set of sample processing regions comprises: a set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient between an upstream end and a downstream end of each respective sample processing region, and a boundary separating each respective sample processing region from adjacent sample processing regions. See Paragraph 0062.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 16 – As shown in Figures 5 and 7, Williams teaches a substrate (16) with 3 different sets of well sizes that increase in size when going from top to bottom. Each well set has a different well dimension and total footprint than the other well sets.
Regarding claims 4 and 18 – Williams teaches a number of microwells between 10 and 100,000 microwells and an aggregate volume capacity from 0.01 to 10 ml in Paragraphs 0014, 0015, 0044, 0045 and 0062.
Regarding claims 12 and 19 – Williams teaches depositing dry reagents having colorimetric indicators in the assay zone in Paragraph 0073.
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broder et al. (US 2016/0053293). Broder teaches a multiwell sample testing plate. This rejection was applied to claim 1 in Paragraphs 11-12 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/01/25. The rejection remains in effect for claim 1 and also includes new claims as listed above. Please also see Response to Arguments below.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 15 – As shown in Figures 1A-6B, Broder teaches a base substrate (sample tray 140); and a set of sample processing regions (144, 146, 148) defined at a broad surface of the substrate, wherein each of the set of sample processing regions comprises: a set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient between an upstream end and a downstream end of each respective sample processing region, and a boundary separating each respective sample processing region from adjacent sample processing regions.
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 16 – As shown in Figures 1A-3B, Broder teaches a substrate (140) with 3 different sets of well sizes (144, 146, 148) that increase in size when going from right to left in Figure 1A. Each well set has a different well dimension and total footprint than the other well sets.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17 – Broder teaches a base substrate having wells of reduced thickness to provide permeability in Paragraphs 0082 and 0086.
Regarding claims 12 and 19 – Broder teaches dried media (3500) in the sample regions in Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0090-0093.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broder et al. (US 2016/0053293) in view of Han et al. (US 2016/0108459). Broder as described in Paragraphs 17-21 teaches every element of claims 6 and 14 except for the oil layer over the sample. Han teaches a kit for isolation and reaction of nucleic acids. The kit may include a cartridge that includes compartments preloaded with reagents. The compartment further includes a layer of mineral oil for preventing evaporation of contamination of the preloaded reagents. See Paragraphs 0025-0046 and 0059. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the layer of oil from Han with the device of Broder. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the oil layer to Broder in order to protect materials in the wells from evaporation and contamination as taught by Han.
Claims 7-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broder et al. (US 2016/0053293) in view of Dapprich (US 585,939). Broder teaches every element of claims 7-9 and 13 except for the cover substrate having a channel network. Broder teaches every element the claims except for the cover substrate having a channel network. Dapprich teaches a device having microstructures for processing and assaying a sample. The embodiments of the device most relevant to the instant claims are shown in Figures 2-4 and 7-9 and described in columns 7-12. In column 8, Dapprich teaches devices having cells (12) for holding samples or channels (14) as a base substrate. Then, in columns 9-11, Dapprich teaches multilayered structures comprised of a plurality of substrates with the layers having channels (14) that connect the cells (12) with the environment through sample ports that are connected to a covered network of channels. See column 9, lines 31 - column 10, line 54. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the additional layers having the channel network and fluid control structures from Dapprich with the device of Broder. Broder teaches a basic cover that seals the wells. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the additional layers having the fluid channel network to Broder in order to add and remove fluids from the wells without removing a cover as taught by Dapprich.
Regarding claims 8 and 9 – Broder teaches cover layers having gas permeability in Paragraphs 0075-0080.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/02/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaye (US 3,787,290), Williams et al. (US 2001/0024805), and Broder et al. (US 2016/0053293) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite “a base substrate; a plurality of sample processing regions defined at a broad surface of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of sample processing regions is configured to receive a separate sample for parallel processing of multiple samples, and comprises: a set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient between an upstream end and a downstream end of each respective sample processing region, and a boundary separating each respective sample processing region from adjacent sample processing regions” and then argued the features of claim 1 are not taught by the cited prior art Kaye, Williams, and Broder. See pages 6-9 of Applicant’s Remarks. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits the following in rebuttal.
The Examiner notes Applicant’s argument from page 6:
Applicant respectfully submits that the claims are not anticipated. The independent claims recite "a plurality of sample processing regions where each region is configured to receive a separate sample for parallel processing of multiple samples, and where each region comprises its own set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient." The cited references fail to disclose a plurality of sample processing regions where each region is configured to receive a separate sample for parallel processing of multiple samples, and where each region comprises its own set of microwell subarrays arranged in a gradient. Instead, all three cited references report single-sample devices where different sized wells or zones collectively receive and process a single sample.
The Examiner submits Applicant is arguing an intended use of the device. Applicant intends to use the claimed device to provide each of the sample processing regions with a separate sample to be processed. The Examiner notes a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, each of the prior art devices – Kaye, Williams, and Broder – teach “a base substrate” with “a plurality of sample processing regions defined at a broad surface of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of sample processing regions is configured to receive a separate sample for parallel processing of multiple samples”. The Examiner submits the operator of the device could divide a single sample into smaller portions that are place in the sample processing regions – or could also place any number of separate samples into different wells.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/02/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims under Double Patenting have been fully considered. The Examiner notes Applicant’s request that that the rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance on page 9 of Applicant’s Remarks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 June 18, 2026
/BRIAN R GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798