DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolbeck (WO2019/091600 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kolbeck discloses a method for controlling a chassis assembly, the chassis assembly being associated with a robotic vehicle ([0005] of attached translation), the method comprising: receiving a motion command indicative of a desired turning curvature for the robotic vehicle (a desired steering angle or steering trajectory is introduced either via a steering wheel, if the vehicle travels in manual mode, or by an autonomous driving program; [0021] of attached translation); determining a first operating parameter for a first actuator motor of the chassis assembly based on the motion command (see Fig 6 and [0148-0155] of attached translation which relates to a “vehicle with all-wheel steering and electric signal drives,” wherein in this embodiment each wheel 61-64 is driven by a respective electric motor; the first parameter is the electric current powering the wheel motor(s)), the first operating parameter being indicative of a torque to be generated by the first actuator motor (Kolbeck teaches, starting from the desired steering angle or steering trajectory, to calculate the pivot angle and the rotation speed of each driving wheel; [0151] of attached translation; subsequently, each electric wheel motor is electrically powered to control the specific rotation speed to the respective wheel), the first actuator motor being operatively coupled to a first wheel of the chassis assembly ([0150] of attached translation); determining a second operating parameter for a second actuator motor of the chassis assembly based on the motion command, the second operating parameter being indicative of a torque to be generated by the second actuator motor, the second actuator motor being operatively coupled to a second wheel of the chassis assembly ([0148-0155] of attached translation and discussed above); determining a first speed of the first wheel based on the first operating parameter ([0151] of attached translation); and determining a second speed of the second wheel based on the second operating parameter ([0151] of attached translation).
With respect to claim 12, wherein: the first wheel is a first front wheel and the second wheel is a second front wheel (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 16, the method discussed above meets the apparatus limitations.
Claim(s) 1, 12-16, and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauer (DE102004013897B4).
With respect to claim 1, Bauer discloses a method for controlling a chassis assembly, the chassis assembly being associated with a robotic vehicle ([0001] of attached translation), the method comprising: receiving a motion command indicative of a desired turning curvature for the robotic vehicle (a desired steering angle or steering trajectory is introduced via a steering wheel (5) [0030] of attached translation); determining a first operating parameter for a first actuator motor of the chassis assembly based on the motion command ([0030-0034] of attached translation), the first operating parameter being indicative of a torque to be generated by the first actuator motor ([0015] and [0017] of attached translation), the first actuator motor being operatively coupled to a first wheel of the chassis assembly ([0028] of attached translation); determining a second operating parameter for a second actuator motor of the chassis assembly based on the motion command, the second operating parameter being indicative of a torque to be generated by the second actuator motor, the second actuator motor being operatively coupled to a second wheel of the chassis assembly ([0015], [0017], [0028-0034] of attached translation); determining a first speed of the first wheel based on the first operating parameter ([0031] of attached translation); and determining a second speed of the second wheel based on the second operating parameter ([0031] of attached translation).
With respect to claim 12, wherein: the first wheel is a first front wheel and the second wheel is a second front wheel (Fis 3-4).
With respect to claim 13, the chassis assembly further including a third wheel and a fourth wheel, the third wheel being a first back wheel and the fourth wheel being a second back wheel, and wherein controlling a turning curvature of the first wheel causes controlling of a turning curvature of the third wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the first wheel and the third wheel; controlling a turning curvature of the second wheel causes controlling of a turning curvature of the fourth wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the second wheel and the fourth wheel (Figs 3-4 and [0028]).
With respect to claim 14, wherein: the first wheel is a first back wheel and the second wheel is a second back wheel (Figs 3-4).
With respect to claim 15, the chassis assembly further including a third wheel and a fourth wheel, the third wheel being a first front wheel and the fourth wheel being a second front wheel, and wherein controlling the turning curvature of the first wheel causes controlling of the turning curvature of the third wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the first wheel and the third wheel; controlling the turning curvature of the second wheel causes controlling of the turning curvature of the fourth wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the second wheel and the fourth wheel (Figs 3-4 and [0028]).
With respect to claim 16, the method discussed above meets the apparatus limitations.
With respect to claim 28, wherein: the first wheel is a first front wheel and the second wheel is a second front wheel (Figs 3-4).
With respect to claim 29, the chassis assembly further including a third wheel and a fourth wheel, the third wheel being a first back wheel and the fourth wheel being a second back wheel, and wherein controlling a turning curvature of the first wheel causes controlling of a turning curvature of the third wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the first wheel and the third wheel; controlling a turning curvature of the second wheel causes controlling of a turning curvature of the fourth wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the second wheel and the fourth wheel (Figs 3-4 and [0028]).
With respect to claim 30, wherein: the first wheel is a first back wheel and the second wheel is a second back wheel (Figs 3-4).
With respect to claim 31, the chassis assembly further including a third wheel and a fourth wheel, the third wheel being a first front wheel and the fourth wheel being a second front wheel, and wherein controlling the turning curvature of the first wheel causes controlling of the turning curvature of the third wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the first wheel and the third wheel; controlling the turning curvature of the second wheel causes controlling of the turning curvature of the fourth wheel by means of a mechanical connection between the second wheel and the fourth wheel (Figs 3-4 and [0028]).
With respect to claim 32, Bauer discloses a chassis assembly associated with a robotic vehicle (Figs 1-4), the chassis assembly comprising: a wheel assembly, including: a first front wheel (41) and a first back wheel (42), located on one side of the chassis assembly; a second front wheel (43) and a second back wheel (44), located on a second side of the chassis assembly; a steering assembly, including: a first actuator motor (1, 2) associated with one of the first front wheel and the first back wheel; a second actuator motor (3, 4) associated with one of the second front wheel and the second back wheel; a linking assembly Figs 3-4), including: a first linking structure (50, 51) operatively coupling the first front wheel and the first back wheel for translating rotational motion of the one of the first front wheel and the first back wheel to the other one of the first front wheel and the first back wheel (Figs 3-4 and [0028] of attached translation); a second linking structure (50, 51) operatively coupling the second front wheel and the second back wheel for translating rotational motion of the one of the second front wheel and the second back wheel to the other one of the second front wheel and the second back wheel (Figs 3-4 and [0028] of attached translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolbeck in view of Trainham (USPub 2023/0021908).
With respect to claims 2-3 and 17-18, Kolbeck discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose further comprising: receiving a first value indicative of a third speed of the first wheel; in response to a difference between the first speed and the third speed being above a first threshold, adjusting the first operating parameter based on the received first value; and adjusting the third speed based on the adjusted first operating parameter or receiving a second value indicative of a fourth speed of the second wheel; in response to a difference between the second speed and the fourth speed being above a second threshold, adjusting the second operating parameter based on the received second value; and adjusting the fourth speed based on the adjusted second operating parameter. Trainham, however, discloses continuously monitoring monitored signals to adjust the wheel speeds when they meet specific thresholds [0086-0087]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Kolbeck in view of the teachings of Trainham to receive values indicative of third and fourth speeds of the first and second wheels, respectively and adjust the operating parameters based on the values in order to provide real-time updates to control the wheels during driving.
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolbeck.
With respect to claims 4-5 and 19-20, Kolbeck discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first speed is equal to the second speed if the desired turning curvature indicated by the motion command is below a third threshold, and wherein the first speed is different from the second speed if the desired turning curvature indicated by the motion command is above the third threshold. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to try forming the speeds as discussed above, since it was old and well known in the art that adjusting the wheel speeds during a turn to be the same or different depending on thresholds is an ordinary aspect of differential steering in order to execute turns with proper tire grip to prevent wheel skidding.
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer.
With respect to claims 4-5 and 19-20, Bauer discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first speed is equal to the second speed if the desired turning curvature indicated by the motion command is below a third threshold, and wherein the first speed is different from the second speed if the desired turning curvature indicated by the motion command is above the third threshold. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to try forming the speeds as discussed above, since it was old and well known in the art that adjusting the wheel speeds during a turn to be the same or different depending on thresholds is an ordinary aspect of differential steering in order to execute turns with proper tire grip to prevent wheel skidding.
Claims 6-11 and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer in view of St-Germain et al. (USPub 2021/0188345).
With respect to claims 6-7 and 21-22, Bauer discloses a motorized steering arrangement with lateral linkages between front and rear wheels as well as discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not specifically disclose receiving a first operation command indicative of activation of a first steering motor of the chassis assembly, the first steering motor being operatively coupled to the first wheel and a third wheel of the chassis assembly; in response to the first operation command, adjusting the first speed and the second speed such that the first speed and the second speed are equal; and determining a third operating parameter based on the desired turning curvature, the third operating parameter being indicative of a steering torque to be generated by the first steering motor, wherein the first wheel is a first front wheel and the third wheel is a first back wheel, located on a first side of the chassis assembly. St-Germain et al., however, disclose receiving a first operation command indicative of activation of a first steering motor of the chassis assembly, the first steering motor being operatively coupled to the first wheel and a third wheel of the chassis assembly; in response to the first operation command, adjusting the first speed and the second speed such that the first speed and the second speed are equal; and determining a third operating parameter based on the desired turning curvature, the third operating parameter being indicative of a steering torque to be generated by the first steering motor, wherein the first wheel is a first front wheel and the third wheel is a first back wheel, located on a first side of the chassis assembly (Fig 5 and [0043-0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the steering arrangement of St-Germain et al. comprising operatively connected front-rear steering actuators for the physical linkages of Figs 3-4 of Bauer in order to enhance the differential steering performance by providing a fail safe if one of the actuators experiences a failure [0045].
With respect to claims 9-10 and 24-25, the arrangement discussed above can also be applied to the other side of the vehicle.
With respect to claims 8 and 23, further comprising: receiving a third value indicative of a steering torque being generated by the first steering motor; in response to a difference between the steering torque indicated by the third operating parameter and the steering torque indicated by the third value being above a fourth threshold, adjusting the steering torque being generated by the first steering motor (St-Germain discloses continuously monitoring signals to adjust the wheel torques when they meet specific thresholds [0054]).
With respect to claims 11 and 26, further comprising: receiving a fourth value indicative of a steering torque being generated by the second steering motor; in response to a difference between the steering torque indicated by the fourth operating parameter and the steering torque indicated by the fourth value being above a fifth threshold, adjusting the steering torque being generated by the second steering motor (St-Germain discloses continuously monitoring signals to adjust the wheel torques when they meet specific thresholds [0054]).
With respect to claim 27, wherein a third actuator motor is operatively coupled to the third wheel and a fourth actuator motor is operatively coupled to the fourth wheel (Fig 5 and [0043-0045] of St-Germain et al.).
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617