DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 25 October 2024 and the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 17 January 2025, 29 August 2025, 9 December 2025, and 15 December 2025.
This office action is made Non Final.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 16, and 19 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority, CN202210504637.9 filed 5/10/2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d)
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 January 2025, 29 August 2025, 9 December 2025, and 15 December 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 110. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract involves language that is not in narrative form since it similarly repeats the language/wording/phrasing(s) of the independent claims. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention that allows the Office and the public to quickly determine, from a cursory inspection, the nature and gist of the technical disclosure. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention in Applicant’s own words; not a repeat of the exact/similar wording that is written/used in the independent claims. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
In particular: storage means for storing in claim 16.
For 112b purposes, 0168 of Applicant’s specification discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and clearly links the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20180365527, 2018) in further view of Chen (CN104820544A, 2015)(Both disclosed in IDS filed on 1/17/2025) (Examiner's Note: An English machine translation of CN104820544A provided by the EPO is attached with this Office Action. All references to paragraph numbers associated with Chen et al disclosed in the rejection(s) below refer to the EPO’s English translation copy provided by the Examiner)
As per independent claim 1, Li et al discloses a method for an information input interface (FIG 4, 5; Abstract: IM UI), comprising:
displaying an element identification area (FIG 4, 5; 0031: area comprising sticker classification identifier list comprising identifiers 1-7 where each identifier occupies an area) and an element display area on an information input interface (FIG 4; sticker panel area comprising stickers 21-29);
in response to a first operation on the element identification area (0029, 0032, 0066: movement instruction (e.g. touch and hold)), acquiring an enlargement instruction corresponding to the first operation; (0065-0066, 0093: in response to movement instruction (touch and hold), an identifier in the list is enlarged)
Furthermore, Li et discloses the selected sticker classification identifier is enlarged above the sticker classification identifier list (0065-0066, 0093: display the enlarged first sticker classification identifier. FIG 6-7 shows a portion of the area of the identifiers being enlarged to accommodate the enlargement), but not the sticker classification identifier list itself is also enlarged. Thus, Li et al fails to explicitly disclose enlarging and displaying the element identification area based on the enlargement instruction. However, Chen discloses in response to an input operation by the user on the menu, an area of the menu is enlarged/magnified. As a result of the magnification/enlargement of the area, icons and fonts of that enlarged area are also enlarged and clear to read. (FIG. 3; 0053, 0055-0057, 0060-0062, 0066, 0072)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed cited features of Chen since it would have provided the benefit of the user is less likely to make mistakes, thus improving the accuracy of menu operation. (0066)
As per dependent claim 2, Li discloses enlarging and displaying an element theme control wherein the element theme controls comprise at least one of element theme icons or element theme names (FIG 4-6; 0065-0066, 0077 0093: sticker classification identifier is displayed as a form of an icon and is enlarged) However, Li fails to specifically disclose enlarging and displaying both element theme controls comprised in the element identification area and a size of the element identification area based on the enlargement instruction, wherein the element theme controls comprise at least one of element theme icons or element theme names. However, based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale, along with the motivation incorporated, Chen discloses enlarging and displaying both element theme controls comprised in the element identification area and a size of the element identification area based on the enlargement instruction, wherein the element theme controls comprise at least one of element theme icons or element theme names. (FIG 3; 0072: area/region 31 is enlarged as shown in 32 in response when a finger of the user swipes down on a menu region in the interface. All of icons and fonts of the enlarged area (32) are also enlarged. As can be determined by FIG. 3, both the menu area size and the menu controls within the area are displayed enlarged. Thus, Chen discloses displaying enlarged both the size of the menu area and the controls included within the area.)
As per dependent claim 3, Li et al discloses while the element identification area is enlarged and displayed, in response to a second operation on an element theme control comprised in the element identification area, marking the element theme control as being in a movable state; determining a target position in response to a third operation on the element identification area; and moving the element theme control marked as being in the movable state from a current position to the target position. (0029-0030, 0032, 0079: a movement instruction is obtained, wherein the movement instruction is used to move a first sticker classification identifier located on the sticker panel to the target location, wherein the movement instruction can be a long press instruction, after the terminal device has obtained the long press instruction, the sticker classification identifier 2 can start moving from the location currently located until moving to the target location. Prior to receiving the movement instruction described above, a long press instruction may be received, which may cause the sticker classification identifier to be activated (i.e., allowed to be moved). For example, the terminal device first detects that sticker classification identifier 2 is in a state that can be moved (i.e., a second state) after receiving an instruction for a long press, and then detects a movement instruction (e.g., a detected swipe action), that sticker classification identifier 2 is moved accordance with the movement instruction, i.e., moves either sticker classification identifier. After the terminal device fetches the movement instruction following the long press instruction, the sticker classification identifier 2 can start moving from the location currently located until moving to the target location. See 0037-0038, 0042-0043)
As per dependent claim 4, Claim 4 recites similar limitations as in Claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Li et al discloses in response to a drag operation on the element theme control marked as being in the movable state, acquiring a drag trajectory corresponding to the drag operation, wherein the drag operation is successive to the second operation; in response to a drag release operation on the element theme control marked as being in the movable state, determining a horizontal movement parameter corresponding to the drag trajectory; and determining the target position based on the horizontal movement parameter. (FIG 5-8; 0034; 0042-0046: sticker classification identifier 2 is dragged horizontally across after a long press is received. Once dragged horizontally to its intended location, the user releases the sticker classification identifier )
As per dependent claim 5, Claim 4 recites similar limitations as in Claims 3 and and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Li et al discloses in response to the drag operation on the element theme control marked as being in the movable state, controlling the element theme control marked as being in the movable state to be moved following the drag operation. (0034, 0037, 0042-0043: once in a moved state, sticker classification identifier is moved)
As per dependent claim 6, Li et al discloses controlling a first element theme control to be moved in a preset direction, wherein the first element theme control is an element theme control corresponding to a position through which the drag trajectory passes, and the preset direction is a direction opposite to the drag trajectory. (0043-0047, 0058: when sticker classification identifier 2 moves to the right from an initial location (as shown in FIG. 5) to a target location (as shown in FIG. 7), sticker classification identifications 3-7 passed by sticker classification identifier 2 when moving move one position to the left, in turn, a free position 7 'is left. In other words, when identifier 2 moves right, identifiers 3-7 in the list move left)
As per dependent claim 8, Li et al discloses the element display area includes at least one row of element lists, and each element list includes at least one element; the method further comprises: in response to a vertical slide operation on the element display area, acquiring slide information corresponding to the slide operation in real time; determining target element lists based on the slide information, wherein, the target element lists are composed of elements comprised in the same element theme, or the target element lists are composed of elements comprised in a plurality of different element themes; and displaying the target element lists in the element display area. (0030, 0077; FIG 4: when a user selects a sticker classification identifier 2 from the sticker panel 1, a plurality of stickers (for example, stickers represented by a reference sign 21 to a reference sign 29 in FIG. 4) are displayed in the sticker panel. The stickers may be dynamic icons, or may be static icons. In FIG. 4, the stickers displayed by the reference sign 21 to the reference sign 28 are merely some of stickers included in the sticker classification identifier 2. Other stickers that are not displayed or not completely displayed and included in the sticker classification identifier 2 may be displayed by means of sliding upwards, downwards, leftwards, or downwards. FIG 4 clear shows vertical double arrow that indicates the panel can move up or down. By sliding up or down, new rows of stickers in the panel are displayed.)
As per dependent claim 13, Li et al discloses the first operation comprises at least one of: a click operation for a preset duration, or a slide operation along a first preset angle range. (0032: discloses a touch and hold which is equivalent to a “click operation for a present duration” (long press operation) according to 0055 of Applicant’s specification); 0030: sliding upwards, downwards, leftwards, or downwards. One of a skilled artisan would have realized sliding in any direction is sliding at an angle.)
As per independent claims 16 and 19, Claims 16 and 19 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Li et al discloses a processor, storage means, and a medium (FIG 11; 0073;0118)
As per dependent claims 17-18 and 20, Claims 17-18 and 20 recite similar limitations as in Claims 2-3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20180365527, 2018) in further view of Chen in further view of Wen (CN110471588A, 2019) (Disclosed in IDS filed on 8/29/2025) (Examiner's Note: An English machine translation of CN110471588A provided by the EPO is attached with this Office Action. All references to paragraph numbers associated with Chen et al disclosed in the rejection(s) below refer to the EPO’s English translation copy provided by the Examiner)
As per dependent claim 7, the cited art fails to specifically disclose in response to a click operation on an element theme control in a non-movable state comprised in element identification area, acquiring a position where the element theme control in the non-movable state is located; and determining the position where the element theme control in the non-movable state is located as the target position. However, Wen discloses selecting a first icon to be a in a moveable state. Wen discloses when the application icon is in a movable state, clicking on an application icon triggers the adjustment of the position of the application icon, and monitors the user's re-click operation, which will correspond to the re-click operation. As the target position to adjust the application icon from the initial position to the target position. (0037, 0105) Furthermore, 0105 discloses when an application icon is used, the position of the second application icon and the application icon are interchanged. For example, as shown in Figure 2a, after the cell is divided, if you want to adjust the position, the first click is used as the starting position for the icon to move, and the second click is used as the icon to drop the position. If lcon3 wants to move to the position of lcon21 First, click on lcon3 and then click on the position of lcon21. If there is an icon, it will be exchanged directly. Thus, when the user clicks the second time on a different icon (e.g. icon21), it determining the positioning of the second icon and associates it as the target position for the placement of the movable application icon (e.g. icon3)(0105)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed cited features of Wen since it would have provided the benefit of an easy two-click operation and perfectly fits the use of the flexible screen, improving the user experience (0169)
Claim(s) 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20180365527, 2018) in further view of Chen in further view of Wang et al (US20160343409, 2016)
As per dependent claim 9, Li et al discloses acquiring current element lists in the element display area (0030, 0077; FIG 4) However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose in response to a slide distance comprised in the slide information being greater than a preset length, deleting a first element list in the current element lists, wherein the first element list is a list of at least one row of elements in the current element lists; and adding a second element list to the current element lists to obtain the target element lists. However, Wang et al discloses in response to a slide distance comprised in the slide information being greater than a preset length, deleting a first element list in the current element lists, wherein the first element list is a list of at least one row of elements in the current element lists; and adding a second element list to the current element lists to obtain the target element (FIG 2b-2d; 0074: As the user slides up, row CN1 disappears at the top and CN4 appears from the bottom. In order for this to occur, one of a skilled artisan would have realized the user slide at a distance (greater than a preset length) in order for row CN1 to disappear fully and CN4 to appear fully)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed cited features of Wen since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of a more convenient method for the user to view elements of different types.
As per dependent claim 10, based on the rejection of claim 9 and the rationale, along with the motivation incorporated, Wang et discloses wherein, the vertical slide operation is an upward slide, the first element list is the first row of the current element lists, and the second element list is an element list following the last row of the current element lists; or the vertical slide operation is a downward slide, the first element list is the last row of the current element lists, and the second element list is an element list preceding the first row of the current element lists. (FIG 2b-2d; 0074: As the user slides up, row CN1 disappears at the top and CN4 appears from the bottom.)
As per dependent claim 11, Li et al fails to disclose in response to determining that the target element lists are composed of elements comprised in a plurality of different element themes, displaying corresponding element theme names in a preset area in the element display area. However, based on the rejection of Claim 9 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Wang et al disclose different categories of channel element controls are viewable by swiping up and down, and that a category identifier (e.g. name) is displayed before each category of elements—such as "Category Navigation 1," "Category Navigation 2," and "Category Navigation 3" shown in Figure 2b (i.e. Elements from a plurality of different categories collectively constitute the entire list of elements) (0074)
As per dependent claim 12, Claim 12 recites similar limitations as in Claim 9 and is rejected. Furthermore, Li discloses the element display area includes a list of first type elements and a list of second type elements, wherein elements in the list of first type elements and the list of second type elements are sent in different ways, and the method further comprises at least one of: in response to a first presentation switching operation between the list of first type elements and the list of second type elements in the element display area, presenting the switching between the list of first type elements and the list of second type elements with a damping effect; or in response to a second presentation switching operation on element lists within the list of first type elements or within the list of second type elements, presenting the switching of the elements with an undamping effect. (0030, 0077; FIG 4: In FIG. 4, the stickers displayed by the reference sign 21 to the reference sign 28 are merely some of stickers included in the sticker classification identifier 2. Other stickers that are not displayed or not completely displayed and included in the sticker classification identifier 2 may be displayed by means of sliding upwards, downwards, leftwards, or downwards. FIG 4 clear shows vertical double arrow that indicates the panel can move up or down. By sliding up or down, new rows of stickers in the panel are displayed. Since Li does not disclose that any damping effect is explicitly presented, therefore, Li discloses an undamping effect being presented)
[Examiner's note: The limitations "or", and "wherein if" denote an alternative limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation requires only one from the list to be taught]
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20180365527, 2018) in further view of Chen in further view of Guo et al (CN109542295A, 2019) (disclosed in IDS filed on 1/17/2025) (Examiner's Note: An English machine translation of CN109542295A provided by the EPO is attached with this Office Action. All references to paragraph numbers associated with Chen et al disclosed in the rejection(s) below refer to the EPO’s English translation copy provided by the Examiner)
As per dependent claim 14, Li discloses sliding upwards, downwards, leftwards, or downwards (0030). In addition, Li discloses each sticker classification identifier includes one or more stickers. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, when a user selects a sticker classification identifier 2 from the sticker panel 1, a plurality of stickers (for example, stickers represented by a reference sign 21 to a reference sign 28 in FIG. 4) are displayed in the sticker panel. The stickers may be dynamic icons, or may be static icons. In FIG. 4, the stickers displayed by the reference sign 21 to the reference sign 28 are merely some of stickers included in the sticker classification identifier 2. (0077) However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose comprising at least one of: in response to a slide operation along a first preset angle range in the element identification area, moving and presenting the element display area at a second preset angle; or, in response to a slide operation along a second preset angle range in the element display area, moving and presenting the element identification area at a first preset angle; wherein, the first preset angle range includes the first preset angle and the second preset angle range includes the second preset angle. However, Guo et al discloses in response to a slide operation along a first preset angle range in the element identification area, moving and presenting the element display area at a second preset angle; or, in response to a slide operation along a second preset angle range in the element display area, moving and presenting the element identification area at a first preset angle; wherein, the first preset angle range includes the first preset angle and the second preset angle range includes the second preset angle. (0034-0043: discloses a linked display of page display areas for that the user can perform sliding operations on. In response to the user sliding operation in a first direction, moving the displayed list content along a first direction corresponding to the user sliding direction of the first, while simultaneously moving the recommended tags in the tag bar along a second direction different from the first direction. As the list content is moved and displayed along the first direction and the recommended tags in the tag bar are moved and displayed along the second direction (different from the first), the tag bar as a whole also moves and displays along the first direction together with the list content 0042 discloses “For example, when the sliding direction of the first gesture is upward, the first direction is upward and the second direction is left;… Specifically, when the first gesture is an upward swipe, the list content in the page display area moves upward accordingly, and the tab bar also moves upward along with the list content. At the same time, the recommended tabs in the tab bar move to the left.” Thus, Guo discloses the first direction is at first preset angle (range) and the second direction is at a second present angle (range).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed cited features of Guo et al since it would have provided the benefit of enables the recommended tags in the tag bar to be displayed in linkage with the list content based on the user's sliding operation in the page display area, thereby helping to attract user attention and enhancing interest.
As per dependent claim 15, Li et discloses the element identification area is enlarged and displayed, a fourth operation on a target element theme control comprised in the element identification area (0043-0046; 0065) However, Li fails to specifically disclose while the element identification area is enlarged and displayed, in response to a fourth operation on a target element theme control comprised in the element identification area, moving and presenting the element display area at the second preset angle and positioning the element display area to present an element list corresponding to the target element theme control. However, based on the rejection of Claim 14 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, while the element identification area is enlarged and displayed, in response to a fourth operation on a target element theme control comprised in the element identification area, moving and presenting the element display area at the second preset angle and positioning the element display area to present an element list corresponding to the target element theme control. (0034-0043 discloses a linked display of page display areas for that the user can perform sliding operations on. In response to the user sliding operation in a first direction, moving the displayed list content along a first direction corresponding to the user sliding direction of the first, while simultaneously moving the recommended tags in the tag bar along a second direction different from the first direction. As the list content is moved and displayed along the first direction and the recommended tags in the tag bar are moved and displayed along the second direction (different from the first), the tag bar as a whole also moves and displays along the first direction together with the list content 0042 discloses “For example, when the sliding direction of the first gesture is upward, the first direction is upward and the second direction is left;… Specifically, when the first gesture is an upward swipe, the list content in the page display area moves upward accordingly, and the tab bar also moves upward along with the list content. At the same time, the recommended tabs in the tab bar move to the left.”)
Therefore, in conjunction with the cited art, with combination of Li’s displayed enlargement of area comprising sticker classification identifier list and Guo’s method of the list content in the page display area moves upward while the recommended tags in the tag bar are moved and displayed along the second direction, the cited art teaches the subject matter of while the element identification area is enlarged and displayed, in response to a fourth operation on a target element theme control comprised in the element identification area, moving and presenting the element display area at the second preset angle and positioning the element display area to present an element list corresponding to the target element theme control.
Conclusion
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/ Examiner, Art Unit 2172