Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks entered on 04/09/2026.
Claims 1-19 & 21 are pending in the instant application.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 04/09/2026, pages 4-5, regarding the rejection of claim 1, and similarly claims 18-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art does not teach or suggest the feature of "obtaining, a value for a metric of a blending region in a direction", as recited.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner introduces Gao to teach this claim limitation. In Sections 1-2, Fig. 1, the Examiner reads the quantity merge_gpm_blending_width_idx as the value for a metric of a blending region in a direction. Parsing of this quantity is in the direction (i.e.,
θ
). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode as Gao states in the Abstract. Therefore, the combination of Guo in view Gao reads upon the claimed "obtaining, a value for a metric of a blending region in a direction.”
Furthermore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s remarks filed 04/09/2026, pages 9-10, with respect to the patentability of claims 2-6, 10-11 & 16-17 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant relies on the patentability of the claims from which these claims depend to traverse the rejection without prejudice to any further basis for patentability of these claims based on the additional elements recited.
Examiner cannot concur with the Applicant because the combination of Guo & Gao teaches independent claim 1 as outlined below. Thus, claims 2-6, 10-11 & 16-17 are also rejected for the similar reasons as outlined below.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the language, “[a] solution for video processing is provided […],” in the abstract is requiring the reader to go into the Specification. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-11 & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2018/0103273 A1) (hereinafter Guo) in view of Gao et al., “Non-EE2: Adaptive Blending for GPM,” Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29 26th Meeting, 20–29 April 2022, JVET-Z0137 (hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a method for video processing, comprising:
obtaining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video [Paragraph [0059]-[0061], Encoding unit receiving data for video encoding (conversion)], a value for a metric of a blending region [Paragraph [0117]-[0119] & [0133]-[0135], Fig. 11 & 13, size of PU below threshold, as value for metric for transition zone 1200]; and
performing the conversion based on the value for the metric [Paragraph [0133]-[0139], Fig.13, size of PU below threshold, as value for metric for transition zone, and used within operation 1300 is part of a method for coding video data].
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose the value for a metric of a blending region in a direction, the blending region being comprised in a target region associated with the current video block, the value being determined from a plurality of predetermined values for the metric, values for samples of the blending region being determined based on values for samples of a first part of the target region and values for samples of a second part of the target region.
Gao teaches of the value for a metric of a blending region in a direction, the blending region being comprised in a target region associated with the current video block, the value being determined from a plurality of predetermined values for the metric, values for samples of the blending region being determined based on values for samples of a first part of the target region and values for samples of a second part of the target region [Sections 1-2, Fig. 1, width of the blending area surrounding the GPM partition boundary, wherein width is in direction with theta, within block having GPM the width of the blending area (i.e.,
θ
) is allowed to be selected from a set of pre-defined values
{
0
,
1
,
2
,
4
,
8
}
. The optimal blending area width is determined for each GPM CU at encoder and signaled to decoder based on one syntax element merge_gpm_blending_width_idx, and weighting values are determining using samples (Xc,Yc) both sides of boundary line, separating first and second part of target region].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode (Gao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Gao teaches wherein the metric is a width between two sides of the blending region, and/or the first part or the second part comprises one of the following:
a template of the current video block, a partition of the current video block, a subpartition of the current video block, or a subblock of the current video block [Sections 1-2, Fig. 1, width of the blending area surrounding the GPM partition boundary, weighting values are determining using samples (Xc,Yc) both sides of boundary line, separating first and second part of target region].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode (Gao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Gao teaches wherein a value for a sample of the blending region is determined as a weighted sum of a value for a sample of the first part and a value for a sample of the second part, or wherein a value for a sample of the blending region is equal to a value for a sample of the first part or a value for a sample of the second part, or wherein a cost is determined based on the target region [Sections 1-2, Fig. 1,
].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode (Gao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 3, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Guo discloses wherein a motion vector (MV) is determined from a plurality of MVs for the current video block based on the cost, or wherein a reference picture is determined from a plurality of reference pictures for the current video block based on the cost, or wherein a partition mode is determined from a plurality of partition modes for the current video block based on the cost, or wherein a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) blending scheme is determine from a plurality of GPM blending schemes for the current video block based on the cost [Paragraph [0143]-[0145], cost function determining Geometric Partitioning Mode, claim 83].
Regarding claim 5, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Guo discloses wherein the blending region is determined based on the value for the metric, and/or wherein the target region comprises one of the following: a coding unit (CU), a prediction unit (PU), a transform unit (TU), a template, or a part of a template, and/or wherein the current video block comprises more than one partition, and/or wherein the current video block is coded with a GPM-based mode or a multiple hypothesis prediction, and/or wherein the current video block is a reference video block of a further video block of the video, the further video block is different from the current video block and coded with a GPM-based mode, and/or wherein the current video block is coded with a template-based coding tool, or the current video block is not coded with a template-based coding tool [Paragraph [0133]-[0139], Fig.13, size of PU below threshold, as value for metric for transition zone, and used within operation 1300 is part of a method for coding video data within CU/PU].
Regarding claim 6, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Gao teaches wherein the first part is a first template of the current video block, the second part is a second template of the current video block, the blending region is around a partition line between the first template and the second template, and a weighted blending process is applied on the first template and the second template based on the width of the blending region [Sections 1-2, Fig. 1, width of the blending area surrounding the GPM partition boundary, weighting values are determining using samples (Xc,Yc) both sides of boundary line, separating first and second part of target region as first and second templates].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode (Gao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Gao teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined values are stored in a look-up table, or wherein the plurality of predetermined values are comprised in a first set of predetermined values [Sections 1-2, Fig. 1, width of the blending area surrounding the GPM partition boundary, wherein width is in direction with theta, within block having GPM the width of the blending area (i.e.,
θ
) is allowed to be selected from a set of pre-defined values
{
0
,
1
,
2
,
4
,
8
}
. The optimal blending area width is determined for each GPM CU at encoder and signaled to decoder based on one syntax element merge_gpm_blending_width_idx, and weighting values are determining using samples (Xc,Yc) both sides of boundary line, separating first and second part of target region].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode (Gao, Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 10, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Gao teaches wherein obtaining the value for the metric comprises:
determining the first set of predetermined values from a plurality of sets of predetermined values based on one of the following: a size of the current video block, a width of the current video block, a height of the current video block, a coding tree unit (CTU) size of the video, a resolution of the video, or a first syntax element indicated in the bitstream [Sections 1-2, Fig. 1, width of the blending area surrounding the GPM partition boundary, wherein width is in direction with theta, within block having GPM the width of the blending area (i.e.,
θ
) is allowed to be selected from a set of pre-defined values
{
0
,
1
,
2
,
4
,
8
}
. The optimal blending area width is determined for each GPM CU at encoder and signaled to decoder based on one syntax element merge_gpm_blending_width_idx, and weighting values are determining using samples (Xc,Yc) both sides of boundary line, separating first and second part of target region].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Guo to integrate the blending techniques in Gao as above, to improve the prediction efficiency of geometric partition mode (Gao, Abstract).
.
Regarding claim 16, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Guo discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream [Paragraph [0049]-[0054], Encoding].
Regarding claim 17, Guo and Gao disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Guo discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream [Paragraph [0055]-[0058], Decoding].
Regarding claim 18, apparatus claim 18 is drawn to the apparatus using/performing the same method as claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claims 19-20, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (19-20) recite similar features as recited in method claim 1. Thus, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims (19-20) correspond to method claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 & 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487