DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/927,735 filed on 27 February 2025. Claims 1-16 are subject to examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, claims 8 and 16 each recite the limitation “sidelink data comprises one more medium access control” (Emphasis added). For clarity, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending the former limitation to recite “sidelink data comprises one or more medium access control”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 10-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, claims 2 and 10 each recite the limitation "that second configuration information" (Emphasis added). This limitation renders the claims indefinite because there is no initial second configuration information to refer to.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, claims 3 and 11 each recite the limitation "that third configuration information" (Emphasis added). This limitation renders the claims indefinite because there is no initial third configuration information to refer to.
Regarding Claims 4-5 and 12-13, claims 4-5 and 12-13 each recite the limitation “wherein the resource pool is selected except for the resource pool in the first configuration information”. This limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear what resource pool is selected. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the limitations to read “wherein a general sidelink transmission resource pool configured to transmit UAV service data is selected”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BERGSTRÖM et al. (WO 2024033395 A1, hereinafter "Bergstrom").
Regarding Claim 1, Bergstrom teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first configuration information allocating a sidelink resource pool for aerial to everything (A2X) communication (Bergstrom: a network node, e.g., an eNB or other type of base station or access point, configures resource usage for sidelink messaging by sending configuration information for one or more UEs (Block 904). In particular, the configuration information indicates a set of one or more first resource pools allocated for transmitting one or more first types of sidelink messages; the disclosed techniques may be used to differentiate between sidelink messages relating to UAV operations versus sidelink messages not related to UAV operations. For example, the network 22 configures a set of one or more first resource pools for use in transmitting sidelink messages related to UAV operations; In case of UAV communication over sidelink, a similar process is being defined in the SA2 working group, where an A2X layer is used in place of the V2X layer in Figure 3, see Fig. 9 and Fig. 3 and Paragraphs 120, 121, and 37);
identifying whether a logical channel in which a sidelink data is available is for a broadcast remote UE identification (BRID) or a detect and avoid (DAA) for the A2X communication (Bergstrom: as shown at block 710, the step of determining to transmit UAV identification (ID) information. As noted above UAV ID information includes an identifier for the UAV, but may also include other UAV-related information, see Fig. 7A and Paragraph 111. [Examiner contends that 310 in Fig. 7A is block 710. Examiner further contends that BRID is a form of UAV ID information and DAA is included in other UAV-related information]);
in case that the logical channel is for the BRID or the DAA, selecting a resource pool among the sidelink resource pool based on the first configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 720, the method further comprises determining one or more resources for transmitting the UAV ID information, where the determined one or more resources are specifically designated for use in transmitting UAV ID information, see Fig. 7A and Paragraph 112. [Examiner contends that 320 in Fig. 7A is block 720]); and
performing the A2X communication based on the selected resource pool (Bergstrom: The method still further comprises transmitting the UAV ID information using the determined one or more resources, as shown at block 730, see Fig. 7A and Paragraph 112. [Examiner contends that 330 in Fig. 7A is block 730]).
Regarding Claim 2, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
in case that the logical channel is for the BRID, identifying that second configuration information indicating a service for the resource pool is the BRID or both of the BRID and the DAA are configured for the first configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1010, the method comprises determining resources for a sidelink transmission of a message by the wireless device, where this determining is based on whether the transmission comprises UAV-related information; In some embodiments, the indication indicates that the message comprises UAV identification, ID, information, or that the message comprises UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information; Figure 11 is a process flow diagram illustrating another example method as carried out by a network node of a wireless network. This method complements that of Figure 10; As shown at block 1110, the method comprises the step of sending, to at least one wireless device in, on, or forming part of a UAV, configuration information indicating: a designation of one or more resources as being specifically for use in transmitting UAV ID information, or for use in transmitting UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information, or for use in transmitting either or both of UAV ID and UAV DAA information, see Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 and Paragraphs 123, 128, 129, and 130),
wherein the resource pool is selected based on the second configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1020, the method further comprises transmitting the message, using the determined resources, see Fig. 10 and Paragraph 123).
Regarding Claim 3, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
in case that the logical channel is for the DAA, identifying that third configuration information indicating a service for the resource pool is the DAA or both of the BRID and the DAA are configured for the first configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1010, the method comprises determining resources for a sidelink transmission of a message by the wireless device, where this determining is based on whether the transmission comprises UAV-related information; In some embodiments, the indication indicates that the message comprises UAV identification, ID, information, or that the message comprises UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information; Figure 11 is a process flow diagram illustrating another example method as carried out by a network node of a wireless network. This method complements that of Figure 10; As shown at block 1110, the method comprises the step of sending, to at least one wireless device in, on, or forming part of a UAV, configuration information indicating: a designation of one or more resources as being specifically for use in transmitting UAV ID information, or for use in transmitting UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information, or for use in transmitting either or both of UAV ID and UAV DAA information, see Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 and Paragraphs 123, 128, 129, and 130),
wherein the resource pool is selected based on the third configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1020, the method further comprises transmitting the message, using the determined resources, see Fig. 10 and Paragraph 123).
Regarding Claim 4, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 2, wherein, in case that the second configuration information is not configured for the first configuration information, the resource pool is not selected based on the second configuration information (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, if the UAV UE is configured (for e.g., an IE is included in a DL RRC message) with a separate resource pool for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use those resources to transmit BRID/DAA messages. If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99), and
wherein the resource pool is selected except for the resource pool in the first configuration information (Bergstrom: If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99).
Regarding Claim 5, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 3, wherein, in case that the third configuration information is not configured for the first configuration information, the resource pool is not selected based on the third configuration information (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, if the UAV UE is configured (for e.g., an IE is included in a DL RRC message) with a separate resource pool for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use those resources to transmit BRID/DAA messages. If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99), and
wherein the resource pool is selected except for the resource pool in the first configuration information (Bergstrom: If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99).
Regarding Claim 6, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration information is for configuring a dedicated resource pool for the UE or for configuring a common resource pool for UEs (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, a Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) restriction can be applied at the MAC -layer such that the data originating from a particular radio bearer/logical channel (LCH) can be transmitted only on a certain set of resource pools ... It can also be configured by the network, i.e., gNB either using the common or dedicated sidelink configuration, see Paragraph 94).
Regarding Claim 7, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 1, whether the logical channel is for the BRID or the DAA is identified based on quality of service (QoS) information associated with the BRID or the DAA (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, the indicator may be implicit, e.g., in the form of a dedicated QoS flow ID assigned to the message to be transmitted. For example, a dedicated QoS flow ID is assigned to the BRID and/or DAA message while other UAV messages and/or non-UAV messages are assigned one of other common values for QoS Flow ID (see Figure 3 with V2X replaced by A2X), see Fig. 3 and Paragraph 92).
Regarding Claim 8, Bergstrom teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink data comprises one more medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) or multiple MAC PDUs (Bergstrom: if the indicator indicates that the message is a BRID or a DAA message, the corresponding MAC PDU is transmitted using resources from the resource pool dedicated to transmitting BRID/DAA message, see Paragraph 93).
Regarding Claim 9, Bergstrom teaches A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver (Bergstrom: The UE 1300 includes … a communication interface 1312; The communication interface 1312 may include one or more transceivers, see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs 147 and 151), and
a controller coupled with the transceiver (Bergstrom: For example, a first UE might be or be integrated in a drone and provide the drone’s speed information (obtained through a speed sensor) to a second UE that is a remote controller operating the drone; The UE 1300 includes … a communication interface 1312; The communication interface 1312 may include one or more transceivers, see Fig. 13 and Paragraphs 157, 147 and 151) and configured to:
receive, from a base station, first configuration information allocating a sidelink resource pool for aerial to everything (A2X) communication (Bergstrom: a network node, e.g., an eNB or other type of base station or access point, configures resource usage for sidelink messaging by sending configuration information for one or more UEs (Block 904). In particular, the configuration information indicates a set of one or more first resource pools allocated for transmitting one or more first types of sidelink messages; the disclosed techniques may be used to differentiate between sidelink messages relating to UAV operations versus sidelink messages not related to UAV operations. For example, the network 22 configures a set of one or more first resource pools for use in transmitting sidelink messages related to UAV operations; In case of UAV communication over sidelink, a similar process is being defined in the SA2 working group, where an A2X layer is used in place of the V2X layer in Figure 3, see Fig. 9 and Fig. 3 and Paragraphs 120, 121, and 37);
identify whether a logical channel in which a sidelink data is available is for a broadcast remote UE identification (BRID) or a detect and avoid (DAA) for the A2X communication (Bergstrom: as shown at block 710, the step of determining to transmit UAV identification (ID) information. As noted above UAV ID information includes an identifier for the UAV, but may also include other UAV-related information, see Fig. 7A and Paragraph 111. [Examiner contends that 310 in Fig. 7A is block 710. Examiner further contends that BRID is a form of UAV ID information and DAA is included in other UAV-related information]);
in case that the logical channel is for the BRID or the DAA, select a resource pool among the sidelink resource pool based on the first configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 720, the method further comprises determining one or more resources for transmitting the UAV ID information, where the determined one or more resources are specifically designated for use in transmitting UAV ID information, see Fig. 7A and Paragraph 112. [Examiner contends that 320 in Fig. 7A is block 720]); and
perform the A2X communication based on the selected resource pool (Bergstrom: The method still further comprises transmitting the UAV ID information using the determined one or more resources, as shown at block 730, see Fig. 7A and Paragraph 112. [Examiner contends that 330 in Fig. 7A is block 730]).
Regarding Claim 10, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to:
in case that the logical channel is for the BRID, identify that second configuration information indicating a service for the resource pool is the BRID or both of the BRID and the DAA are configured for the first configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1010, the method comprises determining resources for a sidelink transmission of a message by the wireless device, where this determining is based on whether the transmission comprises UAV-related information; In some embodiments, the indication indicates that the message comprises UAV identification, ID, information, or that the message comprises UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information; Figure 11 is a process flow diagram illustrating another example method as carried out by a network node of a wireless network. This method complements that of Figure 10; As shown at block 1110, the method comprises the step of sending, to at least one wireless device in, on, or forming part of a UAV, configuration information indicating: a designation of one or more resources as being specifically for use in transmitting UAV ID information, or for use in transmitting UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information, or for use in transmitting either or both of UAV ID and UAV DAA information, see Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 and Paragraphs 123, 128, 129, and 130),
wherein the resource pool is selected based on the second configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1020, the method further comprises transmitting the message, using the determined resources, see Fig. 10 and Paragraph 123).
Regarding Claim 11, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to:
in case that the logical channel is for the DAA, identify that third configuration information indicating a service for the resource pool is the DAA or both of the BRID and the DAA are configured for the first configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1010, the method comprises determining resources for a sidelink transmission of a message by the wireless device, where this determining is based on whether the transmission comprises UAV-related information; In some embodiments, the indication indicates that the message comprises UAV identification, ID, information, or that the message comprises UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information; Figure 11 is a process flow diagram illustrating another example method as carried out by a network node of a wireless network. This method complements that of Figure 10; As shown at block 1110, the method comprises the step of sending, to at least one wireless device in, on, or forming part of a UAV, configuration information indicating: a designation of one or more resources as being specifically for use in transmitting UAV ID information, or for use in transmitting UAV detection and avoidance (DAA) information, or for use in transmitting either or both of UAV ID and UAV DAA information, see Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 and Paragraphs 123, 128, 129, and 130),
wherein the resource pool is selected based on the third configuration information (Bergstrom: As shown at block 1020, the method further comprises transmitting the message, using the determined resources, see Fig. 10 and Paragraph 123).
Regarding Claim 12, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 10, wherein, in case that the second configuration information is not configured for the first configuration information, the resource pool is not selected based on the second configuration information (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, if the UAV UE is configured (for e.g., an IE is included in a DL RRC message) with a separate resource pool for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use those resources to transmit BRID/DAA messages. If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99), and
wherein the resource pool is selected except for the resource pool in the first configuration information (Bergstrom: If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99).
Regarding Claim 13, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 11, wherein, in case that the third configuration information is not configured for the first configuration information, the resource pool is not selected based on the third configuration information (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, if the UAV UE is configured (for e.g., an IE is included in a DL RRC message) with a separate resource pool for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use those resources to transmit BRID/DAA messages. If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99), and
wherein the resource pool is selected except for the resource pool in the first configuration information (Bergstrom: If not configured (for e.g., no IE is included in a DL RRC message), the AS-layer of the UAV UE will use the shared resource pools for transmission of BRID/DAA messages, see Paragraph 99).
Regarding Claim 14, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 9, wherein the first configuration information is for configuring a dedicated resource pool for the UE or for configuring a common resource pool for UEs (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, a Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) restriction can be applied at the MAC -layer such that the data originating from a particular radio bearer/logical channel (LCH) can be transmitted only on a certain set of resource pools ... It can also be configured by the network, i.e., gNB either using the common or dedicated sidelink configuration, see Paragraph 94).
Regarding Claim 15, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 9, whether the logical channel is for the BRID or the DAA is identified based on quality of service (QoS) information associated with the BRID or the DAA (Bergstrom: In some embodiments, the indicator may be implicit, e.g., in the form of a dedicated QoS flow ID assigned to the message to be transmitted. For example, a dedicated QoS flow ID is assigned to the BRID and/or DAA message while other UAV messages and/or non-UAV messages are assigned one of other common values for QoS Flow ID (see Figure 3 with V2X replaced by A2X), see Fig. 3 and Paragraph 92).
Regarding Claim 16, Bergstrom teaches The UE of claim 9, wherein the sidelink data comprises one more medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) or multiple MAC PDUs (Bergstrom: if the indicator indicates that the message is a BRID or a DAA message, the corresponding MAC PDU is transmitted using resources from the resource pool dedicated to transmitting BRID/DAA message, see Paragraph 93).
Conclusion
/A.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416