DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s correspondence filed on 10/25/24.
The Examiner notes that citations to United States Patent Application Publication paragraphs are formatted as [####], #### representing the paragraph number.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 20190270019 to Miura in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20100267448 to Snoddy.
As per claim(s) 1, 8, 15, Miura teaches:
A method of cloud game control, implemented at a cloud game client, comprising: obtaining predetermined device information of a corresponding handheld device in response to obtaining a handle connection event each time; interacting with a target cloud game server to register the handheld device based on the predetermined device information; (Fig 2A, [0080], “FIG. 2A illustrates a system for cloud gaming, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. As shown, a user 200 operates a controller 202 to provide input to a cloud-based video game. The controller 202 can communicate wirelessly with a thin game client 204.”; [0084]-[0085], “In one embodiment, the cloud gaming system is configured to detect the type of client device associated with the user, and also a type of controller available for the user to provide input to the cloud-based video game. For example, at the time of login, the client device may send information to the cloud gaming server identifying itself as well as a connected controller device (e.g. in response to a request from the cloud gaming server).”)
obtaining a handle operation event, and forwarding the handle operation event to the target cloud game server based on a device management number associated with the handle operation event, to implement corresponding cloud game operation control. ([0088], “In some embodiments, the client device serves as the connection point for a controller device. That is, the controller device communicates via a wireless or wired connection with the client device to transmit inputs from the controller device to the client device. The client device may in turn process these inputs and then transmit input data to the cloud gaming server via a network (e.g. accessed via a local networking device such as a router.”; [0085], “For example, at the time of login, the client device may send information to the cloud gaming server identifying itself as well as a connected controller device (e.g. in response to a request from the cloud gaming server). Based on this information, the cloud gaming server may determine an appropriate video game output configuration and input parameter configuration to provide a gaming experience optimized for the user's client device and controller device.”)
Miura does not explicitly teach, but Snoddy teaches:
determining a device management number for the handheld device that is successfully registered; ([0259], Table 7, “The game server 110 and handheld game controllers 135 (or 1335) communicate with each other to facilitate team formation and to govern and track progress of the game during play. Example algorithms performed by game server 110 are illustrated in Table 7 below in pseudocode. In Table 7, the term "node" refers to a handheld game controller manipulated by a player who has registered to play the game: NewNodeThread(node # ) { //assign a new node number to the controller InitNode( );”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snoddy to the known invention of Miura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such device registration features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the cloud game client to determine a device management number for the handheld device that is successfully registered results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the handheld devices can be managed by using device management numbers that are generated and managed by the trusted cloud game client, thus ensuring that identifiers are not spoofed or cloned and thus improving the overall security of the invention.
As per claim(s) 2, 9, 16, Miura teaches:
establishing a signaling channel with the target cloud game server for the handheld device that is successfully registered, and storing a mapping relationship between the device management number of the handheld device that is successfully registered and the signaling channel; ([0085]-[0086], “For example, at the time of login, the client device may send information to the cloud gaming server identifying itself as well as a connected controller device (e.g. in response to a request from the cloud gaming server). Based on this information, the cloud gaming server may determine an appropriate video game output configuration and input parameter configuration to provide a gaming experience optimized for the user's client device and controller device. In one embodiment, a look-up table is employed to determine video game configuration and input parameter configuration based on a detected client device and a detected controller device. It should be appreciated that a given video game may be developed for a specific platform and a specific associated controller device. However, when such a game is made available via a cloud gaming system as presented herein, the user may be accessing the video game with a different controller device. In such a scenario, the input parameter configuration can define a mapping from inputs which can be generated by the user's available controller device (in this case, a keyboard and mouse) to inputs which are acceptable for the execution of the video game.”)
As per claim(s) 3, 10, 17, Miura teaches:
wherein forwarding the handle operation event to the target cloud game server based on the device management number associated with the handle operation event comprises: determining, based on the device management number associated with the handle operation event and the mapping relationship, a target signaling channel for forwarding the handle operation event; and forwarding the handle operation event to the target cloud game server through the target signaling channel; ([0085]-[0086])
As per claim(s) 5, 12, 19, Miura teaches:
wherein obtaining the handle connection event comprises: obtaining the handle connection event in response to a device connection signal of a predetermined physical interface; or obtaining the handle connection event in response to a virtual handle creation operation instruction; ([0084]-[0085])
As per claim(s) 7, 14, Miura teaches:
wherein forwarding the handle operation event to the target cloud game server to implement the corresponding cloud game operation control comprises: forwarding the handle operation event to the target cloud game server, to cause the target cloud game server to parse the handle operation event based on a predetermined protocol rule, and adding a control instruction corresponding to a parsing result to a corresponding cloud game process, to implement a cloud game operation control process; ([0081]-[0083], “The cloud gaming service 210 includes resources for providing an environment in which a video game can be executed. In other words, the host 214 may operate over one or more server computing devices, handling the allocation and usage of the resources defined by the server computing devices, while presenting a unified platform upon which virtual machines 216 can be instantiated. The executing video game communicates with the game client 204 to provide an interactive gaming experience for the user 200. More specifically, the executing videogame application 218 receives input data from the client 204 over the network 208. The application 218 processes the input data to update the game state of the executing application. As the game state changes, the application 218 outputs video data that is sent to the client 204 for rendering on the display 206.”)
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 20190270019 to Miura in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20100267448 to Snoddy, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20210113927 to Zimgring.
As per claim(s) 4, 11, 18, Miura as modified does not explicitly teach, but Zimgring teaches:
wherein before forwarding the handle operation event, the method further comprises: verifying a registration connection state of the handheld device associated with the handle operation event. ([0076], “Thus, the game controller 102 can be linked to (associated with) its device identification, client certificate, users and their credentials. In some implementations, in response to a request to start a gaming session, the game controller sends information about the device identification, client certificate and/or user credentials for verification by the authentication service 126 against information stored in the authentication storage 128.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Zimgring to the known invention of Miura as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such device registration features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the cloud game client to verify a registration connection state of the handheld device associated with the handle operation event results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the handheld device is successfully and securely registered before allowing the handheld device to participate in the video game at the cloud game server, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
As per claim(s) 6, 13, 20, Miura as modified does not explicitly teach, but Zimgring teaches:
obtaining registration cancellation information of any of handheld devices; and canceling interception of the handle operation event of the handheld device and removing registration information of the handheld device based on the device management number associated with the registration cancellation information. ([0220]-[0221], “In some implementations, the application 612 further includes options to edit and/or delete the profile of an existing user of the game controller 102. Additionally, in some implementations, the cloud stores, for each user, user information settings, display settings, and the game controller(s) associated with the user.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Zimgring to the known invention of Miura as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such device cancellation features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the cloud game client to obtain registration cancellation information of any of handheld devices, cancel interception of the handle operation event of the handheld device, and remove registration information of the handheld device based on the device management number associated with the registration cancellation information results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the handheld device is successfully and securely removed and prevented from connecting to the cloud game server, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
United States Patent Application Publication No. 20210291045 to Chai discloses a method for remote control of computer game by a gamepad, including: remotely accessing, by the client-side, the virtual cloud desktop provided by the server-side, and sending message to the server-side when detecting gamepads; creating or enabling by the virtual cloud desktop server-side, a corresponding number of virtual game devices; capturing, by the client-side, the operation instruction data of the gamepads, and sending the operation instruction data to the server-side; causing each virtual game device to output a KeyCode value corresponding to each operation instruction data by the server-side, such that the virtual cloud desktop server runs the computer game according to each KeyCode value and the relative movement value of the joystick; sending the data of the running results of the computer game on the virtual cloud desktop to the client-side for display.
/JAY HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619