DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot.
Applicant argues on pages 6-8 that the previous rejection fails to address the newly added limitations to the claims related to the edge of the transducer and the inlet and outlet openings. This argument is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment which relies on Rijken and newly cited portions of Qingwu to disclose these limitations in the claims. Accordingly, this argument is moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation “the inlet opening and the outlet opening being located on both sides of the ultrasound transmission space, respectively, to face each other”. There does not appear to be support for this limitation in the claim. The Applicant cites Figures 2-9 to support these amendments to the claims but none of the figures show the inlet and outlet facing each other, they only show the inlet and outlet on both sides of the ultrasound transmission space respectively. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under 112a.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation “the inlet opening and the outlet opening being located on both sides of the ultrasound transmission space, respectively, to face each other”. It is unclear what is meant by the phrase “to face each other”. What parts of the inlet and outlet face each other? Do they mean the openings face each other? The walls? Do they simply mean that the liquid flows between the outlet and inlet? Something else? The Applicant cites Figures 2-9 to support these amendments to the claims but none of the figures show the inlet and outlet openings facing each other, they only show the inlet and outlet on both sides of the ultrasound transmission space respectively. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under 112b. For examination purposes, a reference disclosing an inlet and outlet on both sides of an ultrasound transducer similar to Figure 4 will be interpreted as meeting this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingwu (CN106178290A, hereafter citing a machine translation) and Rijken et al. (US20210030396, hereafter Rijken).
Regarding claim 1, Qingwu discloses in Figure 3 an ultrasound apparatus of a body cavity insertable type (Qingwu, Pg 3; “According to ultrasonic physiotherapeutic instrument of the present invention, the described back cover of described transducer architecture is fixedly connected with a hands Handle, in 40~60 degree of angles between described handle and described back cover;Described handle is hollow structure, and described handle connect have outside Sleeve pipe;A part for described feed tube and described drain pipe is accommodated in described hollow structure, described feed tube and described go out liquid Another part of pipe is accommodated in described trocar sheath”) comprising:
a handpiece (handle 120) (Qingwu, Pg 4; “The back cover 118 of transducer architecture 10 is fixedly connected with a handle 120”) (Qingwu, Figure 3 showing this);
a supporting rod (screw rod 122) that is elongated from the handpiece (Qingwu, Pg 4; “Preferably, back cover 118 is provided with a screw rod 122, ultrasonic Wave transducer 11 is screwed onto on back cover 118 by described screw rod 122.”) (Qingwu, Figure 3 showing this);
an ultrasound probe that includes a housing that is connected to the supporting rod and an ultrasound transducer that is fixed to the housing (Qingwu, Pg 4; “Preferably, transducer architecture 10 also includes back cover 118 and fore shell 119, and ultrasonic transducer 11 is detachable solid In back cover 118, and transducer protecgulum 111 extends outside back cover 118, launches panel 12 and covers transducer protecgulum 111 also And the outer rim launching panel 12 is resisted against in the outer rim of back cover 118.Preferably, back cover 118 is provided with a screw rod 122, ultrasonic Wave transducer 11 is screwed onto on back cover 118 by described screw rod 122.”) (Qingwu, Figure 3 showing this); and
an ultrasound transmission medium circulation mechanism (liquid pump 30) that is configured to discharge an ultrasound transmission medium filled in an ultrasound transmission space (cavity 13) that is formed at a front of the ultrasound transducer and to inflow the discharged ultrasound transmission medium to the ultrasound transmission space again (Qingwu, Pg 2-4; “Transducer architecture 10 at least includes ultrasonic transducer 11 and launches panel 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity 13 between plate 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 is provided with the inlet connected with cavity 13 and liquid outlet (figure In do not show), inlet is connected with liquid pump 30 by feed tube 50, and liquid outlet passes through drain pipe 60 and connects with liquid case 20, feed tube 50 and drain pipe 60 preferably employ flexible pipe. […] Liquid pump 30 is energized after work, and the coolant in liquid case 20 is transported to sky by liquid pump 30, feed tube 50 and inlet Chamber 13, enters the coolant in cavity 13 and is transported to liquid case 20 by liquid outlet, drain pipe 60 again, based on coolant to be formed Cooling circulation. Specifically, liquid pump 30 is energized after work and produces pressure, and the coolant in liquid case 20 is owing to pressure is by liquid pipe 40 Being transported to liquid pump 30, then be transported to cavity 13 by feed tube 50 and inlet, cavity 13 can be filled full by coolant, and cavity Coolant in 13 can cool down the temperature making up to appropriate contact human body skin to cavity 13 and transmitting panel 12, then Entering the coolant in cavity 13 and be transported to liquid case 20 by liquid outlet, drain pipe 60 again, coolant so circulates repeatedly, takes away The heat produced when ultrasonic transducer 11 works, and then form cooling based on coolant circulation.”),
wherein the housing is configured to support an edge of the ultrasound transducer, thereby fluidically separating a front space, which is the ultrasound transmission space, and a rear space of the ultrasound transducer and preventing the ultrasound transmission medium filled in the ultrasound transmission space from inflowing to the rear space of the ultrasound transducer other (Qingwu, Page 2-3; “Described transducer architecture at least includes ultrasonic transducer and launches panel, described ultrasonic transducer and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity between plate, described ultrasonic transducer is provided with the inlet connected with described cavity and liquid outlet, institute Stating inlet to be connected with described liquid pump by feed tube, described liquid outlet is connected with described liquid case by drain pipe […] Transducer architecture 10 at least includes ultrasonic transducer 11 and launches panel 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity 13 between plate 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 is provided with the inlet connected with cavity 13 and liquid outlet (figure In do not show), inlet is connected with liquid pump 30 by feed tube 50, and liquid outlet passes through drain pipe 60 and connects with liquid case 20, feed tube 50 and drain pipe 60 preferably employ flexible pipe”) (Qingwu, Pg 3; “Described transducer architecture includes ultrasonic transducer and launches panel, described ultrasonic transducer and the surface of emission Forming airtight cavity between plate, described ultrasonic transducer is provided with the inlet and liquid outlet connected with described cavity, described Inlet connects with liquid pump and liquid case respectively with liquid outlet, and the described coolant in described liquid case is under the pressure of liquid pump, at liquid Cooling based on coolant circulation is formed between pump, feed tube, inlet, cavity, liquid outlet, drain pipe, liquid case, so permissible Control cavity and launch the temperature of panel, so that this temperature is more suitable for and user's contact skin. Whereby, the present invention can control The temperature of the transducer surface of emission, does not the most affect the conduction of ultrasound wave, and then improves ultrasound physiotherapy effect.”) (Qingwu, Figure 3 showing this),
wherein the housing is provided with an inlet opening for inflowing the ultrasound transmission medium into the ultrasound transmission space and an outlet opening for discharging the ultrasound transmission medium from the ultrasound transmission space (Qingwu, Pg 3; “Described transducer architecture includes ultrasonic transducer and launches panel, described ultrasonic transducer and the surface of emission Forming airtight cavity between plate, described ultrasonic transducer is provided with the inlet and liquid outlet connected with described cavity, described Inlet connects with liquid pump and liquid case respectively with liquid outlet, and the described coolant in described liquid case is under the pressure of liquid pump, at liquid Cooling based on coolant circulation is formed between pump, feed tube, inlet, cavity, liquid outlet, drain pipe, liquid case, so permissible Control cavity and launch the temperature of panel, so that this temperature is more suitable for and user's contact skin. Whereby, the present invention can control The temperature of the transducer surface of emission, does not the most affect the conduction of ultrasound wave, and then improves ultrasound physiotherapy effect.”).
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose the inlet opening and the outlet opening being located on both sides of the ultrasound transmission space, respectively, to face each other.
In an analogous ultrasound system with a cooling system field of endeavor Rijken discloses an inlet opening (inlet 125) and an outlet (outlet 127) opening being located on both sides of an ultrasound transmission space, respectively, to face each other (Rijken, Figure 1 showing an arrangement similar to Figure 4 of the published specification) (Rijken, Para 45; “For example, at least one of the inlet 125 and the outlet 127 may extend through the lip 123 although it is equally feasible that at least one of the inlet 125 and the outlet 127 extends through the mounting region 121 of the probe body 120. The inlet 125 and the outlet 127 facilitate fluid communication with the sealed space 110 when the ultrasound probe 100 is positioned on the body of the subject 1, e.g. by connecting at least the outlet to an air displacement apparatus such as a fan or pump that draws the fluid in the sealed space 110 from the sealed space 110, which fluid may be replenished through the inlet 125 as will be explained in more detail below. In this manner, the fluid in the sealed space 110 heated by operation of the ultrasound transducer element tiles 130 is periodically or continuously displaced with fluid through the inlet 125 that typically has a lower temperature than the heated fluid in the sealed space 110. Consequently, the ultrasound transducer element tiles 130 are more effectively cooled in this process, which reduces the risk of the ultrasound transducer element tiles 130 overheating. The inlet 125 and/or the outlet 127 may optionally comprise one or more flanges, ribs or the like to facilitate the establishment of a fluid connection, e.g. connection with a pipe, tubing or the like.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the inlet opening and the outlet opening are located on both sides of the ultrasound transmission space, respectively, to face each other in order to reduce the risks of overheating without needing to switch to low power modes and reduce the pressure needed to be applied to the subject and therefore improve diagnosis and patient comfort as taught by Rijken (Rijken, Para 18-24).
Regarding claim 2, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Qingwu further discloses wherein a housing is configured to support entirely an edge of an ultrasound transducer so as to fluidically separate a front space and a rear space of the ultrasound transducer (Qingwu, Page 2-3; “Described transducer architecture at least includes ultrasonic transducer and launches panel, described ultrasonic transducer and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity between plate, described ultrasonic transducer is provided with the inlet connected with described cavity and liquid outlet, institute Stating inlet to be connected with described liquid pump by feed tube, described liquid outlet is connected with described liquid case by drain pipe […] Transducer architecture 10 at least includes ultrasonic transducer 11 and launches panel 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity 13 between plate 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 is provided with the inlet connected with cavity 13 and liquid outlet (figure In do not show), inlet is connected with liquid pump 30 by feed tube 50, and liquid outlet passes through drain pipe 60 and connects with liquid case 20, feed tube 50 and drain pipe 60 preferably employ flexible pipe”) (Qingwu, Figure 3 showing this).
Regarding claim 5, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Qingwu further discloses wherein the ultrasound transmission medium circulation mechanism comprises:
a reservoir storing the ultrasound transmission medium (liquid case 20);
a pump that is configured to move the ultrasound transmission medium from the reservoir to the ultrasound transmission space (liquid pump 30);
an inlet passage forming a passage through which the ultrasound transmission medium discharged from the reservoir inflows into the ultrasound transmission space through the inlet opening; and an outlet passage forming a passage through which the ultrasound transmission medium discharged from the ultrasound transmission space through the outlet opening inflows into the reservoir (Qingwu, Pg 4; “Liquid pump 30 is energized after work, and the coolant in liquid case 20 is transported to sky by liquid pump 30, feed tube 50 and inlet Chamber 13, enters the coolant in cavity 13 and is transported to liquid case 20 by liquid outlet, drain pipe 60 again, based on coolant to be formed Cooling circulation. Specifically, liquid pump 30 is energized after work and produces pressure, and the coolant in liquid case 20 is owing to pressure is by liquid pipe 40 Being transported to liquid pump 30, then be transported to cavity 13 by feed tube 50 and inlet, cavity 13 can be filled full by coolant, and cavity Coolant in 13 can cool down the temperature making up to appropriate contact human body skin to cavity 13 and transmitting panel 12, then Entering the coolant in cavity 13 and be transported to liquid case 20 by liquid outlet, drain pipe 60 again, coolant so circulates repeatedly, takes away The heat produced when ultrasonic transducer 11 works, and then form cooling based on coolant circulation”).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingwu and Rijken as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sanghvi et al. (US20110201976, hereafter Sanghvi).
Regarding claim 3, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Qingwu discloses wherein the housing is configured to support entirely lateral edges of the ultrasound transducer (Qingwu, Page 2-3; “Described transducer architecture at least includes ultrasonic transducer and launches panel, described ultrasonic transducer and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity between plate, described ultrasonic transducer is provided with the inlet connected with described cavity and liquid outlet, institute Stating inlet to be connected with described liquid pump by feed tube, described liquid outlet is connected with described liquid case by drain pipe […] Transducer architecture 10 at least includes ultrasonic transducer 11 and launches panel 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 and the surface of emission Form airtight cavity 13 between plate 12, ultrasonic transducer 11 is provided with the inlet connected with cavity 13 and liquid outlet (figure In do not show), inlet is connected with liquid pump 30 by feed tube 50, and liquid outlet passes through drain pipe 60 and connects with liquid case 20, feed tube 50 and drain pipe 60 preferably employ flexible pipe”) (Qingwu, Figure 3 showing this).
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein longitudinal edge of the ultrasound transducer are sealed by sealing material, in order to fluidically separate a front surface and a rear surface of the ultrasound transducer.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Sanghvi discloses wherein a housing is configured to support entirely lateral edges of an ultrasound transducer and longitudinal edge of the ultrasound transducer are sealed by sealing material (shim 120 and heating shrinking tubes 122 and 124), in order to fluidically separate two areas (Sanghvi, Para 29-33; “Bolus 118 is illustratively a tubular membrane with a sealed end 141 best shown in FIG. 3. A shim 120 is then located over the bolus membrane 118 on an opposite side of a treatment aperture 117. Shim 120 is coupled to the tip 111 only by two heat shrinking tubes 122 and 124 best shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 […] he housing 135, the tubes 122, 124 and the shim 120 work together to cause the bolus 118 to expand only in the treatment direction 137 in FIG. 4. The shim 120 forces the bolus 118 to expand in the direction of the opening 117 in the removable tip 111 as shown in FIG. 2. The heat shrink tubes 122, 124 hold the shim 120 in the desired position as well as constraining the ends of the bolus membrane 118 […] As discussed above, the stainless steel shim 120 is an element used to control expansion of the water bolus 118 during a treatment. Removing the stainless steel shim 120 would result in a uniform expansion of the water bolus 118 around the probe tip 111 in the presence of no external objects. With no shim 120 applying pressure to hold the probe against tissue for treatment at a specific distance would result in the bolus 118 reacting by shifting water behind the probe tip and away from the tissue. This may result in a poor and uncontrolled acoustic coupling of the transducer 100 to the tissue and the inability to accurately place the HIFU Treatment zones in their desired locations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the longitudinal edge of the ultrasound transducer are sealed by sealing material, in order to fluidically separate a front surface and a rear surface of the ultrasound transducer in order to prevent poor acoustic coupling due to water being shifted behind away from the target area (Sanghvi, Para 33).
Regarding claim 4, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein lateral edges of the ultrasound transducer are formed to have a concave curved surface shape, and wherein the housing has a supporting portion having a shape corresponding to the concave curved surface shape of the lateral edges so as to support the lateral edges.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Sanghvi discloses in Figure 1 wherein lateral edges of tan ultrasound transducer are formed to have a concave curved surface shape, and wherein a housing has a supporting portion having a shape corresponding to the concave curved surface shape of the lateral edges so as to support the lateral edges (Sanghvi, Para 26; “As shown in FIG. 1, the probe 90 includes a segmented, curved rectangular elliptical transducer 100 of the general type described in, for example, WO 99/49788”) (Sanghvi, Figure 1; showing the housing have a shape to support the lateral edges of the concave transducer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein lateral edges of the ultrasound transducer are formed to have a concave curved surface shape, and wherein the housing has a supporting portion having a shape corresponding to the concave curved surface shape of the lateral edges so as to support the lateral edges as taught by Sanghvi in order to allow for a focused ultrasound signal as needed.
The use of the techniques of a concave curved transducer taught by Sanghvi in the invention of an inserted ultrasound device would have comprised only application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of providing focused ultrasound waves; and similar modifications have previously been held to involve only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingwu and Rijken as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of McKinnis et al. (US20140276083, hereafter McKinnis).
Regarding claim 6, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the inlet passage comprises an inlet conduit passing through the supporting rod and the outlet passage comprises an outlet conduit passing through the supporting rod, and wherein the housing comprises: an inlet connection passage that connects the inlet conduit and the inlet opening; an outlet connection passage that connects the outlet conduit and the outlet opening; and an outlet hole that connects the outlet connection passage and the ultrasound transmission space.
In an analogous ultrasound system with a cooling system field of endeavor McKinnis discloses wherein an inlet passage (tube 80) comprises an inlet conduit passing through a supporting rod and an outlet passage (tube 70) comprises an outlet conduit passing through the supporting rod, and wherein a housing comprises: an inlet connection passage that connects the inlet conduit and an inlet opening; an outlet connection passage that connects the outlet conduit and an outlet opening; and an outlet hole that connects the outlet connection passage and an ultrasound transmission space (McKinnis, Annotated Figure 3 showing this).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the inlet passage comprises an inlet conduit passing through the supporting rod and the outlet passage comprises an outlet conduit passing through the supporting rod, and wherein the housing comprises: an inlet connection passage that connects the inlet conduit and the inlet opening; an outlet connection passage that connects the outlet conduit and the outlet opening; and an outlet hole that connects the outlet connection passage and the ultrasound transmission space in order to improve shelf life of the ultrasound probe as taught by McKinnis (McKinnis, Para 5-12).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingwu and Rijken as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Bosler (US20110190635) and Rothberg et al. (US20190069842, hereafter Rothberg).
Regarding claim 7, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece and a controller that controls an operation of the pump based on a signal of the gyro sensor, wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece, and wherein the controller controls such that an alarm signal is output or controls to operate the pump so that the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Bosler discloses wherein a controller that controls an operation of the pump such the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium (Bosler, Para 36; “The invention as described offers with the potential equipment in the casing 18 containing the pump 9, a means of electronically controlling the pump 9, the concentration and homogeneity of the gel, the pressure and speed of flow of the gel, and allows the formulation of the gel to be modified in order to allow the optimization of the results of certain ultrasound procedures”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the controller controls such the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium in order to spare an operator the need for manually delivering gel (Bosler, Para 20).
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Rothberg discloses in Figures 1 and 8 a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece (Rothberg, Para 63; “The primary module 102 may include other sensors, such as […] gyroscope”) (Rothberg, Para 51; “The apparatus 100 is wearable by a user around the user's wrist and includes a primary module 102”) and wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece (Rothberg, Para 92; “FIG. 8 shows an example in which the ultrasound module 104 includes reservoirs for refreshing the coupling strip 148 in accordance with certain embodiments described herein”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu to include a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece as taught by Rothberg in order to detect an orientation of the device as needed to improver operability and wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece in order to produce a device with increased portability and reduced cost as taught by Rothberg (Rothberg, Para 41).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingwu and Rijken as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of McKinnis et al. (US20140276083, hereafter McKinnis), Bosler (US20110190635), and Rothberg et al. (US20190069842, hereafter Rothberg).
Regarding claim 8, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece and a controller that controls an operation of the pump based on a signal of the gyro sensor, wherein the reservoir is disposed within the handpiece, wherein in case that based on the signal of the gyro sensor, the handpiece is in a position in that the ultrasound transmission medium is full to an outlet of the reservoir and the outlet hole faces upward, the controller controls such that an alarm signal is output or controls to operate the pump so that the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium to discharge air bubbles remaining in the ultrasound transmission space.
In an analogous ultrasound system with a cooling system field of endeavor McKinnis discloses wherein a handpiece is in a position in that ultrasound transmission medium is full to an outlet of a reservoir and an outlet hole faces upward, the ultrasound transmission medium is added so that ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium to discharge air bubbles remaining in the ultrasound transmission space (McKinnis, Para 34; "way to help limit or eliminate the opportunity for gas pockets to form within chamber 26, during the injecting the user may have device 20 oriented (to the extent practical in a given situation) with exhaust port 62′, and particularly opening 84, generally upward, so that it is at or near the vertically highest location of wall 24. With that orientation, coupling medium will generally pool away from opening 84, naturally maintaining gas within chamber 26 between the pool of coupling medium and opening. In some embodiments, gas from the chamber can be evacuated prior to insertion or injection of coupling medium, rather than by the pressure of the applied coupling medium. For example, a source of vacuum can be applied to tube 80, to withdraw gas through port 62′, and then coupling medium can be added to chamber 26 via tube 70").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the handpiece is in a position in that the ultrasound transmission medium is full to an outlet of the reservoir and the outlet hole faces upward, the ultrasound transmission medium is added so that the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium to discharge air bubbles remaining in the ultrasound transmission space in order to reduce the effect of the bubbles on ultrasound wave attenuation as taught by McKinnis (McKinnis, Para 28) and therefore improve image quality.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Bosler discloses wherein a controller that controls an operation of the pump such the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium (Bosler, Para 36; “The invention as described offers with the potential equipment in the casing 18 containing the pump 9, a means of electronically controlling the pump 9, the concentration and homogeneity of the gel, the pressure and speed of flow of the gel, and allows the formulation of the gel to be modified in order to allow the optimization of the results of certain ultrasound procedures”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the controller controls such the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium in order to spare an operator the need for manually delivering gel (Bosler, Para 20).
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Rothberg discloses in Figures 1 and 8 a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece (Rothberg, Para 63; “The primary module 102 may include other sensors, such as […] gyroscope”) (Rothberg, Para 51; “The apparatus 100 is wearable by a user around the user's wrist and includes a primary module 102”) and wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece (Rothberg, Para 92; “FIG. 8 shows an example in which the ultrasound module 104 includes reservoirs for refreshing the coupling strip 148 in accordance with certain embodiments described herein”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu to include a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece as taught by Rothberg in order to detect an orientation of the device as needed to improve operability and wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece in order to produce a device with increased portability and reduced cost as taught by Rothberg (Rothberg, Para 41).
Regarding claim 9, Qingwu as modified by Rijken above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Qingwu does not clearly and explicitly disclose a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece and a controller that controls an operation of the pump based on a signal of the gyro sensor, wherein in case that based on the signal of the gyro sensor, the handpiece is in a position in that the outlet hole faces upward, the controller controls such that an alarm signal is output or controls to operate the pump so that the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium to discharge air bubbles remaining in the ultrasound 10 transmission space.
In an analogous ultrasound system with a cooling system field of endeavor McKinnis discloses wherein a handpiece is in a position in that ultrasound transmission medium is full to an outlet of a reservoir and an outlet hole faces upward, the ultrasound transmission medium is added so that an ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium to discharge air bubbles remaining in the ultrasound transmission space (McKinnis, Para 34; "way to help limit or eliminate the opportunity for gas pockets to form within chamber 26, during the injecting the user may have device 20 oriented (to the extent practical in a given situation) with exhaust port 62′, and particularly opening 84, generally upward, so that it is at or near the vertically highest location of wall 24. With that orientation, coupling medium will generally pool away from opening 84, naturally maintaining gas within chamber 26 between the pool of coupling medium and opening. In some embodiments, gas from the chamber can be evacuated prior to insertion or injection of coupling medium, rather than by the pressure of the applied coupling medium. For example, a source of vacuum can be applied to tube 80, to withdraw gas through port 62′, and then coupling medium can be added to chamber 26 via tube 70").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the handpiece is in a position in that the ultrasound transmission medium is full to an outlet of the reservoir and the outlet hole faces upward, the ultrasound transmission medium is added so that the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium to discharge air bubbles remaining in the ultrasound transmission space in order to reduce the effect of the bubbles on ultrasound wave attenuation as taught by McKinnis (McKinnis, Para 28) and therefore improve image quality.
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Bosler discloses wherein a controller that controls an operation of the pump such the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium (Bosler, Para 36; “The invention as described offers with the potential equipment in the casing 18 containing the pump 9, a means of electronically controlling the pump 9, the concentration and homogeneity of the gel, the pressure and speed of flow of the gel, and allows the formulation of the gel to be modified in order to allow the optimization of the results of certain ultrasound procedures”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu wherein the controller controls such the ultrasound transmission space is filled with the ultrasound transmission medium in order to spare an operator the need for manually delivering gel (Bosler, Para 20).
In an analogous ultrasound device field of endeavor Rothberg discloses in Figures 1 and 8 a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece (Rothberg, Para 63; “The primary module 102 may include other sensors, such as […] gyroscope”) (Rothberg, Para 51; “The apparatus 100 is wearable by a user around the user's wrist and includes a primary module 102”) and wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece (Rothberg, Para 92; “FIG. 8 shows an example in which the ultrasound module 104 includes reservoirs for refreshing the coupling strip 148 in accordance with certain embodiments described herein”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qingwu to include a gyro sensor that detects a posture of the handpiece as taught by Rothberg in order to detect an orientation of the device as needed to improve operability and wherein the reservoir is installed within the handpiece in order to produce a device with increased portability and reduced cost as taught by Rothberg (Rothberg, Para 41).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798