DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 5/13/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 10, 11, 14 and 19-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/13/2026 have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Applicant 1st argument
First, it is noted that the cited references do not describe or suggest detecting a trigger to activate a compliance engine for a communication session. In particular, the Office Action asserts that: "Narain teaches a method comprising: detecting, by a processing system including at least one processor of a mobile device ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] Fig. 18, mobile device accessing enterprise network), a trigger ([0050- 0055, 0065-0070] the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.) to activate a compliance engine ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] enforcement engine with client side engine, runtime engine, and management platform elements, enforcement engine control and secure mobile device and control communication entering or exiting the mobile device)." (See Office Action, p. 3). In reply, the Applicant respectfully notes that the alleged "trigger" in Narain is not for activating a compliance engine. Rather, in Narain, the "client-side engine" of the "enforcement engine" is simply running (i.e., it appears to always be active). As such, Narain fails to describe or suggest detecting a trigger to activate a compliance engine for a communication session (with Brown remaining similarly deficient). It follows that since Narain does not detect a trigger to activate a compliance engine for a communication session, the reference also necessarily fails to describe or suggest activating the compliance engine (with Brown remaining similarly deficient). It is further noted that the cited references fail to describe or suggest deactivating the compliance engine, e.g., following the detecting of a completion of the communication session. In this regard, the Examiner refers to various aspects of Brown. (See Office Action, p. 4-5). However, the cited aspects of Brown simply describe the establishing of a secondary VPN connection and the tearing down of the secondary VPN connection upon the completion of a VoIP media session. Notably, there is no description of any deactivation of a compliance engine. For the sake of completeness, it is further noted that Narain remains similarly deficient insofar as Narain does not appear to activate and deactivate its "enforcement engine with client-side engine." Notwithstanding, to advance prosecution, and to further foreclose the particular interpretations set forth in the Office Action, the independent claims are amended to incorporate aspects of dependent claim 10 to now recite: activating [by the processing system] the compliance engine to deactivate at least one communication feature of the mobile device in accordance with a compliance standard. Notably, Narain and Brown are not alleged to describe or suggest such features. Thus, for at least this additional reason, independent claims 1, 19, and 20 are patentable over and not made obvious by the combination of Narain and Brown.
Examiner response to 1st argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Narain does not teach “trigger to activate a compliance engine” without providing additional details in the claims what trigger. Under BRI in light of specification Narain teach this subject matter as presented here and in the 103 rejection below ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.) ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] enforcement engine with client side engine, runtime engine, and management platform elements, enforcement engine control and secure mobile device and control communication entering or exiting the mobile device) ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] Fig. 1B, communication between mobile device and enterprise network 110)([0098-0101] The browser 256 and the launcher 258 may enable the mobile device to launch a mobile application either locally, via the launcher 258, or over a network/cloud—via the browser 256).
Furthermore, applicant argues that Narain and Brown do not teach the limitation “deactivating at least one communication feature” without providing additional details in the claims. However as presented here Narain teaches this subject matter through disabling certain application on the mobile device. Examiner noted that the applicant raised one limitation of claim 10 into claim 1, which is disclosed by the presented prior arts.
Applicant 2nd argument:
Claim 5
Examiner response to 2nd argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Takada does not teach the limitation of claim 5 without providing details in claim 5 what the definition of mobile device is in a location associated with the compliance standard. However as presented here in the below in the 103 rejection section, Takada teaches this subject matter ([0038, 0049, 0050, 0051] conducting the encryption in the information apparatus based on time and position information).
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). An examiner must construe claim terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. Thus, the Office does not interpret claims in the same manner as the courts. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1028 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1321-22 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Narain et al. (“Narain”, US 20120311659 A1) hereinafter Narain, in view of Brown et al. (“Brown”, US 20060282889 A1) hereinafter Brown.
Regarding claim 1, Narain teaches a method comprising:
detecting, by a processing system including at least one processor of a mobile device ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] Fig. 1B, mobile device accessing enterprise network), a trigger ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.) to activate a compliance engine ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] enforcement engine with client side engine, runtime engine, and management platform elements, enforcement engine control and secure mobile device and control communication entering or exiting the mobile device) for a communication session ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] Fig. 1B, communication between mobile device and enterprise network 110)([0098-0101] The browser 256 and the launcher 258 may enable the mobile device to launch a mobile application either locally, via the launcher 258, or over a network/cloud—via the browser 256)
activating, by the processing system, the compliance engine to deactivate at least one communication feature of the mobile device in accordance with a compliance standard ([0073] the enforcement engine 150 may be configured to allow the enterprise to disable a mobile application on the particular mobile device 104)
Narain does not explicitly teach but Brown teaches
detecting, by the processing system, a completion of the communication session ([0021-0023] Fig. 1, Mobile device communicating with enterprise network, establish VPN network communication between the mobile device and enterprise network)([0011] The device also includes a VPN module (112) associated with the processor for establishing co-existing first and second VPN connections (136, 138) through the communications link (130) between the mobile electronic device (10) and the remote location and exchanging there-between real-time data through the second VPN connection (138). The mobile electronic device 10 and enterprise network 120 are configured to exchange packets of real-time data such as voice data over the communications link 130 during Voice-over-IP (VOIP) calls in which media sessions are established between the mobile device 10 and a terminal device 126. During VoIP media sessions, data packets are exchanged over an IP-based network using real-time transport protocol (RTP) (or other real-time transport protocols) on top of the user datagram protocol (UDP) (or other suitable protocol). Session initiation protocol (SIP) or other suitable control protocols are employed to set-up, manage, control and/or tear down media paths between termination points.)([0027] the secondary VPN connection 138 is terminated when the media session that the connection was set up for is terminated. Thus, in example embodiments the secondary VPN connection 138 is set up with the media session it is intended to protect and then terminated at the end of such media session)(Claim 10, and wherein the second VPN connection is established for the VoIP media session and then terminated upon completion of the VoIP media session.) ;
deactivating, by the processing system, the compliance engine ([0021-0023] Fig. 1, Mobile device communicating with enterprise network, establish VPN network communication between the mobile device and enterprise network)([0011] The device also includes a VPN module (112) associated with the processor for establishing co-existing first and second VPN connections (136, 138) through the communications link (130) between the mobile electronic device (10) and the remote location and exchanging there-between real-time data through the second VPN connection (138). The mobile electronic device 10 and enterprise network 120 are configured to exchange packets of real-time data such as voice data over the communications link 130 during Voice-over-IP (VOIP) calls in which media sessions are established between the mobile device 10 and a terminal device 126. During VoIP media sessions, data packets are exchanged over an IP-based network using real-time transport protocol (RTP) (or other real-time transport protocols) on top of the user datagram protocol (UDP) (or other suitable protocol). Session initiation protocol (SIP) or other suitable control protocols are employed to set-up, manage, control and/or tear down media paths between termination points.)([0027] the secondary VPN connection 138 is terminated when the media session that the connection was set up for is terminated. Thus, in example embodiments the secondary VPN connection 138 is set up with the media session it is intended to protect and then terminated at the end of such media session)(Claim 10, and wherein the second VPN connection is established for the VoIP media session and then terminated upon completion of the VoIP media session.) ; and
restoring, by the processing system, the at least one communication feature of the mobile device to an original state ([0021-0023] Fig. 1, Mobile device communicating with enterprise network, establish VPN network communication between the mobile device and enterprise network)([0011] The device also includes a VPN module (112) associated with the processor for establishing co-existing first and second VPN connections (136, 138) through the communications link (130) between the mobile electronic device (10) and the remote location and exchanging there-between real-time data through the second VPN connection (138). The mobile electronic device 10 and enterprise network 120 are configured to exchange packets of real-time data such as voice data over the communications link 130 during Voice-over-IP (VOIP) calls in which media sessions are established between the mobile device 10 and a terminal device 126. During VoIP media sessions, data packets are exchanged over an IP-based network using real-time transport protocol (RTP) (or other real-time transport protocols) on top of the user datagram protocol (UDP) (or other suitable protocol). Session initiation protocol (SIP) or other suitable control protocols are employed to set-up, manage, control and/or tear down media paths between termination points.)([0027] the secondary VPN connection 138 is terminated when the media session that the connection was set up for is terminated. Thus, in example embodiments the secondary VPN connection 138 is set up with the media session it is intended to protect and then terminated at the end of such media session)(Claim 10, and wherein the second VPN connection is established for the VoIP media session and then terminated upon completion of the VoIP media session).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Narain in view of Brown in order to establish and terminate VPN connection when communication with enterprise network for media or data transfer session because it allows to secure wireless media data such as voice data in a resource-limited utilizing VPN without causing any slow-down or degradation to time sensitive media data (Brown [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches establishing in response to the detecting, by the processing system, a secure connection for the communication session ([0065-0070] the runtime engine 142 and/or the client-side engine 154 may prohibit access to one or more mobile applications when a VPN connection is not established. In some embodiments, the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.).
Regarding claim 3, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches wherein the communication session comprises at least one of: a voice call session, a data transmission session ([0065-0070] mobile device to access data stored on the enterprise network 110.), a video call session, or a text messaging session.
Regarding claim 4, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches wherein the trigger comprises a user selection to activate the compliance engine ([0065-0070] the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.)([0073] the enforcement engine 150 may be configured to provide visibility into which users on which mobile devices 104 accessed which mobile applications, enterprise data, mobile device data,).
Regarding claim 7, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain does not explicitly teach but Brown teaches
wherein the detecting the trigger comprises: detecting, by the processing system, contact information associated with a party of the communication session is associated with the compliance standard ([0025-0026, 0030, ] Fig. 1, a contacts database 118 is maintained at the mobile device 10, and in addition to or in place of the categorized addresses in the security database 129 at the enterprise network 120, at least some of the addresses in the contacts database 118 are categorized with security levels. When a telephone call is made to one of the categorized addresses, the associated security level is referenced by the device VoIP VPN module 116 and applied to the secondary VPN connection 138 that is set up for the media session used for the call. In one configuration of such embodiment, the user of device 10 can configure the security level used for calls to phone numbers in the contacts database 118).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Narain in view of Brown in order to establish and terminate VPN connection when communication with enterprise network for media or data transfer session because it allows to secure wireless media data such as voice data in a resource-limited utilizing VPN without causing any slow-down or degradation to time sensitive media data (Brown [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 7,
Narain does not explicitly teach but Brown teaches
wherein the contact information comprises at least one of: an outgoing telephone number, an incoming telephone number, an email address, or an internet protocol address ([0025-0026, 0030, ] Fig. 1, a contacts database 118 is maintained at the mobile device 10, and in addition to or in place of the categorized addresses in the security database 129 at the enterprise network 120, at least some of the addresses in the contacts database 118 are categorized with security levels. When a telephone call is made to one of the categorized addresses, the associated security level is referenced by the device VoIP VPN module 116 and applied to the secondary VPN connection 138 that is set up for the media session used for the call. In one configuration of such embodiment, the user of device 10 can configure the security level used for calls to phone numbers in the contacts database 118).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Narain in view of Brown in order to establish and terminate VPN connection when communication with enterprise network for media or data transfer session because it allows to secure wireless media data such as voice data in a resource-limited utilizing VPN without causing any slow-down or degradation to time sensitive media data (Brown [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 2,
Narain teaches wherein the secure connection comprises a tunnel between the mobile device and a data network associated with the communication session ([0065-0070] VPN tunnel).
Regarding claim 10, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches wherein the activating the compliance engine
Further causes an activating, via the compliance engine, of at least a second communication feature in accordance with the compliance standard ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.)([0115] The VPN may be requested by a user of the mobile device 416,)([0046] security feature and protocols)([0061-0062] SSL connection, HTTPS); or
Regarding claim 11, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 10,
Narain teaches wherein the activating the at least the second communication feature comprises at least one of: encrypting content of the communication session ([0050-0055, 0065-0070] the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.)([0115] The VPN may be requested by a user of the mobile device 416,)([0046] security feature and protocols)([0061-0062] SSL connection, HTTPS), logging of the communication session, transmitting a notification to at least one third party, recording content of the communication session, or automatically connecting a third party to the communication session.
Regarding claim 12, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 11,
Narain teaches wherein the logging of the communication session comprises recording interactions of parties associated with the communication session, content of the communication session, and a location of the mobile device during the communication session ([0062])([0081-0083] The logging module 248 may receive, log, store, or some combination thereof, one or more logs communicated from the runtime engine 204 or the client-side engine 206.)([0090-0091] logging module)([0085-0086] source and destination IP addresses, inspection engine 234 may be listening on a 10000 TCP port. A user of a mobile device with an IP address of 192.168.0.1 is attempting to access, with a request, a public website with an IP address of 10.20.30.40.)([0057] identify IP address of the mobile device)([0043] enterprise network might have content host).
Regarding claim 13, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 12,
Narain teaches wherein the content of the communication session comprises at least one of: text of the communication session transcribed by a voice transcribing module or data exchanged during the communication session ([0066] the VPN tunnel may allow the mobile device 104 to access data stored on the enterprise network 110)([0039] The cloud-based mobile application 140 may be accessed by the mobile device 104 through a browser, for instance. In this manner, the mobile device 104 may use and have reliable access to the cloud-based mobile application 140 without loading and/or storing the cloud-based mobile application 140 on the mobile device 104.)([0145] , the enterprise network 110 may enable the mobile device 104 to access private mobile applications that may be stored on the applications host 116 and/or the HTTP proxy server 114; the enforcement engine 150 to access personnel information that may be stored in the directory services 120; the enforcement engine 150 access through a corporate router 130).
Regarding claim 14, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 10,
Narain teaches wherein the activating the compliance engine causes a deactivating, via the compliance engine, of the at least one communication feature comprising at least one of: disabling a video camera of the mobile device, disabling a wireless communication interface of the mobile device, disabling an application on the mobile device ([0073] the enforcement engine 150 may be configured to allow the enterprise to disable a mobile application on the particular mobile device 104), or transmitting a control signal to a network storage server to prevent a recording of the communication session.
Regarding claim 15, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 10,
Narain teaches wherein the compliance standard comprises a plurality of different compliance standards and each one of the plurality of different compliance standards defines a different set of communication features to be activated or deactivated ([0061-0063, 0087] SSL connections, HTTPS, Simple Certificate SCEP Enrollment Protocol, accept or revoke digital certificate, HTTP OR HTTPS traffic, private keys).
Regarding claim 16, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches wherein the activating the compliance engine, comprises: assigning, by the processing system, a portion of a memory and a portion of a processing resource of the processing system for the compliance engine ([0098] The memory 272 may store the policy, mobile applications, etc. The memory 272 may interface with the store 254 to save mobile applications purchased or otherwise obtained through the store 254, for instance. Additionally, updates related to the policy enforced by the client-side engine 206 may be saved and periodically updated in the memory 272)([0098] Fig. 2, client side engine, store, memory, API, Client side web services, browser, launcher. …); and
executing, by the processing system, the compliance engine with the portion of the memory and the portion of the processing resource of the processing system assigned to the compliance engine ([0098] The memory 272 may store the policy, mobile applications, etc. The memory 272 may interface with the store 254 to save mobile applications purchased or otherwise obtained through the store 254, for instance. Additionally, updates related to the policy enforced by the client-side engine 206 may be saved and periodically updated in the memory 272)([0098] Fig. 2, client side engine, store, memory, API, Client side web services, browser, launcher. …).
Regarding claim 17, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches wherein the compliance standard is associated with a particular industry ([0061-0063, 0087] SSL connections, HTTPS, Simple Certificate SCEP Enrollment Protocol, accept or revoke digital certificate, HTTP OR HTTPS traffic, private keys).
Regarding claim 18, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain teaches wherein the detecting the trigger is performed after the communication session has been established ([0068] the runtime engine 142 and/or the client-side engine 154 may prohibit access to one or more mobile applications when a VPN connection is not established. In some embodiments, the client-side engine 154 may then take the user of the mobile device to a VPN configuration screen, thereby enabling the user to establish the VPN connection.).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Narain et al. (“Narain”, US 20120311659 A1) hereinafter Narain, and Brown et al. (“Brown”, US 20060282889 A1) hereinafter Brown, in view of Takada et al. (“Takada”, US 20120023333 A1) hereinafter Takada.
Regarding claim 5, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain and Brown do not explicitly teach, but Takada teaches
wherein the detecting the trigger comprises: detecting, by the processing system, that the mobile device is in a location that is associated with the compliance standard ([0038, 0049, 0050, 0051] conducting the encryption in the information apparatus based on time and position information).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Narain and Brown in view of Takada in order to encrypt data based on time and position information because it prevents information related to the current position and the current time calculated by means of the global navigation system, that is position/time information, from being leaked to a third party who is not targeted by a user, and allowing the position/time information to be safely and reliably communicated between an information processing apparatus and the information terminal apparatus through a communication network (Takada [0016-0020]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Narain et al. (“Narain”, US 20120311659 A1) hereinafter Narain, and Brown et al. (“Brown”, US 20060282889 A1) hereinafter Brown, in view of Bjorndahl (“Bjorndahl”, US 20020065099 A1) hereinafter Bjorndahl.
Regarding claim 6, Narain and Brown teach the method of claim 1,
Narain and Brown do not explicitly teach, but Bjorndahl teaches
wherein the detecting the trigger comprises: detecting, by the processing system, a keyword associated with the compliance standard via a voice analysis module ([0042] secure communications may be established, via the infrared and wireless links, enabling a user, e.g., through voice or keyed-entry commands entered into a handheld or wrist (watch) communication device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Narain and Brown in view of Bjorndahl in order to utilize voice command to establish secure communication because it provides an improved, more secure way to preserve the confidentiality of wirelessly transmitted information by restricting exposure of the encryption keys and any other confidential information through use of the aforementioned IR transmission (Bjorndahl [0033]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444