DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to 09/23/2026 Amendment.
Claims 1-41 are pending and examined.
New corrected drawings, filed on 09/03/2026 are accepted. Drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,599,600 to Xi et al. (hereafter Xi) in view of US 9,558,822 to Park et al. (hereafter Park).
Examiner’s notes: FIG. 6 of Xi shows two paths of operation as noted in Annotated FIG. 6 – Path #1, and Annotated FIG. 6 – Path #2 below. Path #1 is converging memory cells having resistance less than LRL at the lower end tail of the resistance distribution of FIG. 5. Path #2 is converging memory cells having resistance higher than URL at the upper end tail of the resistance distribution of FIG. 5.
Annotated FIG. 6 – Path #1
Annotated FIG. 6 – Path #2
Regarding independent claim 1, Xi teaches a data writing operation method of a resistive random access memory (RRAM), comprising:
applying a first pulse voltage to the resistive random access memory and adding one to a corresponding first applied pulse number to obtain a current first applied pulse number (FIG. 6 – Path #2: step 111);
judging whether the current first applied pulse number is greater than a first set upper limit value (FIG. 6 – Path #2: the upper limit is max in step 106);
if the current first applied pulse number is smaller than or equal to the first set upper limit value, testing a resistance state of a resistive random access memory cell to obtain a corresponding test value and judging whether the test value satisfies a preset condition (FIG. 6 – Path #2: steps 106 and 109);
if the test value does not satisfy the preset condition, continuing to apply the first pulse voltage to the resistive random access memory (FIG. 6 – Path #2: step 111), adding one to the corresponding first applied pulse number after each application of the first pulse voltage (FIG. 6 – Path #2: step 105), and, after each application of the first pulse voltage while the current first applied pulse number is smaller than or equal to the first set upper limit value, repeating the testing of the resistance state and the judging of whether the test value satisfies the preset condition (FIG. 6 – Path #2: repeat the steps as shown in the path), until the test value satisfies the preset condition (FIG. 6 – Path #2: until the result of step 109 is Y) or the current first applied pulse number is greater than the first set upper limit value (FIG. 6 – Path #2: until the result of step 106 is Y);
when the current first applied pulse number is greater than the first set upper limit value, setting error flag and ending the process (FIG. 6 – Path #2: when the result in step 106 is Y, go to step 112);
in a trailing-bit processing flow (see FIG. 6 – Path #1), judging whether a current second applied pulse number is greater than a second set upper limit value (FIG. 6 – Path #1: step 106);
wherein an initial value of the second applied pulse number is set to zero, and the second set upper limit value is the same as the first set upper limit value (FIG. 6 – Path #1: steps 101 and the upper limit is max in step 106);
testing the resistance state of a resistive random access memory cell to obtain a corresponding test value if the current second applied pulse number is smaller than or equal to the second set upper limit value (FIG. 6 – Path #1: step 105);
judging whether the test value satisfies a preset condition (FIG. 6 – Path #1: step 108); and
if the test value does not satisfy the preset condition, applying a second pulse voltage to the resistive random access memory cell determined to be the trailing bit (FIG. 6 – Path #1: step 104), and adding one to the corresponding second applied pulse number to obtain the current second applied pulse number (FIG. 6 – Path #1: step 105), and, after each application of the second pulse voltage, repeating the testing of the resistance state and the judging of whether the test value satisfies the preset condition until the test value satisfies the preset condition (FIG. 6 – Path #1: repeat the steps as shown in the path) or the current second applied pulse number is greater than the second set upper limit value, determining that the resistive random access memory cell is not at the upper tail of an allowable resistance range,
Xi teaches Path #1 is performed prior to Path #2, while claim 1 recites Path #2 is performed prior to Path #1. Xi further teaches the first set upper limit value and the second set upper limit value are the same, while claim 1 recites the second set upper limit value is greater than the first set upper limit value. Additionally, Xi does not teach the strike through limitations.
Park teaches data writing operation method of a resistive random access memory
(RRAM), comprising a set operation and reset operation. Park further teaches there are more than one approaches for applying pulses during reset operation (see FIGS. 24A-24C), wherein the reset operation comprising applying series of pulses with increasing pulse width and current limiting value (FIG. 24C: i.e. first reset pulse Vreset0 has narrower pulse width than second reset pulse Vreset1, wherein Vreset0 and Vreset1 have constant amplitude).
Since Xi and Park are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Park would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Xi.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to:
realize that the order in performing Path #1 and Path #2 do not effect the result of the outcome;
realize that it is a matter of design choice to set different values for first set upper limit and second set upper limit; and
replace the series of VH(count) pulses in FIG. 7 of Xi with series of Vreset pulses in FIG. 24C of Park in a reset operation of RRAM cells because they appears functional equivalent.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Xi teaches wherein, [during the performance of VL(count)] if the current first applied pulse number is smaller than or equal to the first set upper limit value (FIG. 6: determining if VL(count)=max in step 106 in response to result from step 104); and the test value satisfies the preset condition, the data writing operation of the resistive random access memory is completed (i.e. completion VL(count)), and if the test value does not satisfy the preset condition, continuing to apply the first pulse voltage to the resistive random access memory until the test value satisfies the preset condition (i.e. loop back on VL(count)).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Xi teaches wherein, if the current second applied pulse number is greater than the second set upper limit value, completing the data writing operation of the resistive random access memory, and judging that writing is failed (FIG. 6: when result of VH(count)=max in step 106 is Y).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Xi teaches wherein, if the test value satisfies the preset condition, completing the data writing operation of the resistive random access memory is completed, and judging that writing is successful (FIG. 6: when result of step 109 is Y, the process go to reset end).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Xi teaches wherein judging whether the test value satisfies the preset condition comprises: judging whether the test value is greater than or equal to a first set resistance value and smaller than or equal to a second set resistance value, wherein the first set resistance value is smaller than the second set resistance value (FIG. 6: steps 108 and 109).
Regarding dependent claims 6-10, Xi teaches wherein initial values of the first applied pulse number and the second applied pulse number are each set to zero (FIG. 6: the numbers are set to zero in step 101).
Regarding dependent claims 11-20, Xi teaches a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a data writing operation program of a resistive random access memory which, when executed by a processor, implements the data writing operation method of the resistive random access memory according to claim 1/2/3/4/5/6/7/8/9/10 (see 4:33-43).
Regarding dependent claims 21-30, Xi teaches a chip, comprising a memory, a processor, and a data writing operation program of a resistive random access memory stored on the memory and operable on the processor, the processor, when executing the data writing operation program of the resistive random access memory, implementing the data writing operation method of the resistive random access memory according to claim 1/2/3/4/5/6/7/8/9/10 (see 4:33-43. There appears the RRAM cells 10 and control unit are in the same memory device).
Regarding dependent claims 31-40, Xi does not explicitly teach a computer program product comprising a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements a data writing operation method of a resistive random access memory according to claim 1/2/3/4/5/6/7/8/9/10 (see 4:33-43). However, Xi suggests the implementations of the method is not particularly limited to hardware in order to obtain the method.
Regarding independent claim 41, it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 1 except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner kindly refers Applicant to the above rejection for details.
Claims 1-41 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
October 15, 2026
/VANTHU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824