DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 09/29/2026. Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14, and 16-20 are pending. Claims 1, 3-4, and 18 are amended. Claims 9, 13, and 15 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 10, filed 09/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the amendment to claim 1 overcomes the previous rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Sideris US 11,276,137 in view of Grubisic US 2021/0124585 and Ozer US 2008/0270749.
Applicant's arguments on pages 11-12 of the Remarks filed 09/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 of the Remarks, Applicant submits:
If the proposed modification or combination of the prior art would change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified, then the teachings of the references are not sufficient to render the claims prima facie obvious. In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813, 123 USPQ 349, 352 (CCPA 1959). MPEP 2143.01(VI). Asserting that one of ordinary skill would modify Sideris using Ozer's parallel-issue hint to create an "eviction suppressor component" that suppresses process eviction across sequential instructions improperly redefines Ozer's parallel-issue indicator.
However, this argument is not persuasive because it does not explain how the modification changes the principle operation of Sideris (the prior art invention being modified). The combination does not redefine Ozer’s hint/indicator as Ozer teaches that the hint indicates instructions that have no data dependence and the combination would also use the hint to indicate instructions that have no data dependence. The combination would also not change the principle operation of Sideris as Sideris would still check instructions being fetched to determine whether to allow the thread group of the instruction to continue execution or cause the thread group to be evicted, the combination would just change how Sideris checks the instructions (i.e., checking for an indicator of no data dependence rather than checking for the wait modifier which is an indicator of data dependence).
On page 12 of the Remarks, Applicant submits:
Because Ozer does not disclose or suggest controlling process eviction, the proposed combination fails to teach or suggest an eviction suppressor circuit configured, responsive to determining to enforce a decoded continuation indicator, to suppress eviction of a process from an instruction unit across consecutive instructions, as recited in amended claim 18.
However, this argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on Ozer to teach controlling process eviction, this feature is taught by Sideris, which the rejection modifies to use the indicator taught by Ozer to control eviction.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“receiving, at the instruction unit… the first process” in claim 4, which will be interpreted as storage according to page 10 lines 1-2 and page 13 lines 23-26 of the specification.
“issuing, from the instruction unit, a work request” in claim 12, which will be interpreted as a scheduler according to page 13 lines 4-6, a message fabric interconnect according to page 19 lines 8-10, or equivalents thereof.
“a client unit to perform the work request” in claim 12, which will be interpreted as a hardware accelerator according to page 9 lines 15-16 or equivalents thereof
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 line 4- insert a semicolon at the end of the line
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 19-20 are directed to a computer program without any structural recitations, which is software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sideris US 11,276,137 in view of Grubisic US 2021/0124585 and Ozer US 2008/0270749.
Regarding claim 1, Sideris teaches:
1) A method of operating a multiprocessor apparatus to process instructions in a pipeline, the method comprising:
fetching a first instruction of a first process (col 23 line 63-col 24 line 3: step 44 of Fig. 4 fetches/obtains an instruction of a warp/process);
decoding the first instruction (col 10 lines 27-30: a decode circuit decodes instructions to be executed) including a continuation indicator associated with the first instruction (col 12 lines 34-60: the instructions include a wait modifier which is a continuation indicator in the sense that it indicates to not continue execution until one or more conditions are met); and
continuing to execute the first process until completion of the first instruction and at least a next sequential second instruction of the first process (col 24 lines 33-38: if there are no dependencies, the instruction is pushed to the instruction execution buffer and the fetch offset is incremented, which continues to execute the first process until completion of the first instruction and a next second sequential instruction of the first process).
Sideris does not teach:
the decoder component decoding the first instruction to detect the continuation indicator;
determining to enforce the continuation indicator; and
in response to determining to enforce the continuation indicator, continuing to execute the first process until completion of the first instruction and at least a next sequential second instruction of the first process.
However, Grubisic teaches decoding instructions to detect hint data (analogous to the wait modifier of Sideris), see [0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sideris to detect the wait modifier of an instruction by decoding the instruction as taught by Grubisic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because decoding an instruction is a known technique on the known device of a processor for detecting information in the instruction and would yield the predictable result of enabling the processor to recognize and use the information in the instruction.
The combination of Sideris and Grubisic does not teach:
determining to enforce the continuation indicator; and
in response to determining to enforce the continuation indicator, continuing to execute the first process until completion of the first instruction and at least a next sequential second instruction of the first process.
However, Ozer teaches using hints (analogous to the wait modifier in Sideris in that it also encodes dependency information) to indicate instructions that have no data dependence and are capable of parallel issue, see [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wait indicator of Sideris (which indicates instructions that have a dependence) in view of Grubisic to instead indicate instructions that have no data dependence as taught by Ozer such that the combination would enforce the hint by suppressing eviction/continuing execution of processes that have no dependence (as Sideris suppresses eviction and continues execution when there is no dependence, see col 23 lines 28-53). In other words, the hint/indication of the first instruction of the combination would indicate that the first instruction has no data dependence (determining “No” at step 48 of Fig. 4 of Sideris) and the combination would determine to enforce this indication by suppressing eviction of the first process and continuing executing the first instruction until completion and at least a next sequential second instruction of the first process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the overhead of encoding instruction dependence indicators when there are a lesser number of independent instructions than dependent instructions.
Regarding claim 2, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
2) The method of claim 1, wherein continuing comprises suppressing an algorithmically predetermined eviction (Sideris Fig. 4 shows an algorithm for determining eviction at step 50 “Yes”, this (algorithmically predetermined) eviction is suppressed at step 48 “No”, which would be determined in the combination when the continuation indicator is enforced due to the instruction having no dependencies).
Regarding claim 3, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
3) The method of claim 1, comprising:
decoding, with a decoder circuit, the second instruction of the first process to detect a continuation indicator associated with the second instruction (Sideris col 10 lines 27-30 discloses a decode circuit that decodes instructions, any second instruction having a continuation indicator in the combination would be decoded to detect the continuation indicator (as Grubisic teaches decoding instructions to detect the continuation indicator));
in response to determining to enforce the continuation indicator associated with the second instruction, suppressing eviction of the first process from an instruction unit until completion of the second instruction and at least a next sequential third instruction of the first process responsive to the detected continuation indicator associated with the second instruction (in the combination, the continuation indicator of the second instruction would suppress eviction of the process from the instruction buffer (i.e., an instruction unit) to continue processing the second instruction until completion and a next sequential third instruction of the first process, see Sideris col 24 lines 44-48; Examiner notes that this mapping is provided for compact prosecution as this limitation is not required under BRI since it is contingent on determining to enforce the continuation indicator of the second instruction, which is not required by the claim).
Regarding claim 4, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
4) The method of claim 3, further comprising,
receiving, at the instruction unit from a control unit, the first process (this limitation is not required under BRI since it follows from there being an instruction unit, which is not recited in a required limitation);
fetching, with an instruction fetcher circuit from the control unit, the first instruction of the first process (this limitation is not required under BRI since it follows from there being a control unit, which is not recited in a required limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
5) The method of claim 4, further comprising:
obtaining, from the control unit, additional information associated with the first instruction (this limitation is not required under BRI since it follows from there being a control unit, which is not recited in a required limitation), where the additional information comprises one or more of: a position of the first instruction in cache; a type of the current and next sequential second instruction; a termination condition; a dependency condition; a priority level for the first instruction.
Regarding claim 6, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
6) The method of claim 5, comprising:
identifying an eviction point for the first instruction based on or in response to the additional information associated with the first instruction (this limitation is not required under BRI since it is contingent on the additional information, which is not recited in a required limitation).
Regarding claim 7, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
7) The method of claim 6, further comprising:
evicting the first process from the instruction unit at completion of the first instruction in response to the identified eviction point (this limitation is not required under BRI since it follows from there being an instruction unit and is contingent on the identified eviction point, which is not required by the claim).
Regarding claim 8, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
8) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing instructions of the first process and instructions of a second process in storage at a first pipeline stage (Siberis col 22 lines 53-59 and col 23 lines 13-20: instruction execution buffer 41 (i.e., storage at a first pipeline stage) stores instructions of a process/thread group and when that process is evicted another thread group/process takes its place fetching instructions to store in the buffer);
issuing, to a second pipeline stage, the instructions of the first and second processes (Siberis col 22 lines 60-64: instructions from the execution buffer are fetched/issued to the execution unit (i.e., a second pipeline stage), which includes the instructions of the first process before it is evicted and the instructions of the second process the replaces the first process)
Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer, as currently mapped, does not teach:
issuing, to a second pipeline stage, the instructions of the first and second processes in an interleaved instruction stream.
However, Ozer further teaches issuing instructions of a first and second process in an interleaved instruction stream ([0052]: thread interleaving circuitry forms an interleaved stream of instructions from different threads which are issued to a shared issue queue).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Sideris in view of Grubisic to include thread interleaving circuitry to issue instructions of a first and second process in an interleaved instruction stream to a shared issue queue as taught by Ozer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable issuing instructions in parallel from different threads with reduced complexity and overhead (Ozer [0015]).
Regarding claim 10, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
10) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing instructions of the first process in a first storage at a first pipeline stage (Sideris col 13 lines 58-62: instructions are allocated into a respective instruction buffer for execution by the respective execution thread group, the respective instruction buffer that stores instructions of the first process/thread group is a first storage at a first pipeline stage);
storing instructions of a second process in a second storage at the first pipeline stage (Sideris col 13 lines 58-62: instructions are allocated into a respective instruction buffer for execution by the respective execution thread group, the respective instruction buffer that stores instructions of a second process/thread group is a second storage at the first pipeline stage);
selecting instructions from the first and/or second storage (Sideris col 13 lines 58-62: the instructions are allocated into a respective instruction buffer of the execution unit for execution by the respective execution thread group, which indicates that the execution unit selects instructions from the respective instruction buffer for execution); and
issuing, to a second pipeline stage, the selected instructions as an instruction stream for processing (Sideris col 13 lines 58-62: the instructions are allocated into a respective instruction buffer of the execution unit for execution by the respective execution thread group, which indicates that the instructions are issued to the execution units (i.e., a second pipeline stage) and the set of instructions issued from the instruction buffer to the execution unit is an instruction stream).
Regarding claim 11, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
11) The method of claim 7, where evicting the first process from the instruction unit at completion of the first instruction comprises:
returning the first process to a work queue at the control unit for selection by a scheduler (this limitation is not required under BRI since it follows from there being a control unit, which is not recited in a required limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
12) The method of claim 3, further comprising:
issuing, from the instruction unit, a work request to a client unit to perform the work request in accordance with the first instruction (this limitation is not required under BRI since it follows from there being an instruction unit, which is not recited in a required limitation).
Regarding claim 14, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
14) The method of claim 1, wherein when the continuation indicator is not detected:
evicting the first process from an instruction unit at completion of the first instruction (this limitation is not required under BRI since it is contingent on not detecting a continuation indicator, which is not required by the claim).
Regarding claim 16, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
16) The method of claim 1, where the continuation indicator is encoded in the first instruction (Sideris col 3 lines 62-67: the wait modifier (which is the continuation indicator in the combination) is part of the instruction itself, i.e., encoded in the instruction).
Regarding claim 17, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
17) The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first process and a second process comprises a warp (Sideris col 23 line 63-col 24 line 3: the thread groups are warps).
Regarding claim 18, Sideris teaches:
18) A multiprocessing apparatus operable to process instructions in a pipeline, comprising:
an instruction fetcher circuit to fetch a first instruction of a first process (col 10 lines 33-35: an instruction fetch circuit fetches instructions to be executed)
a decoder circuit to decode the first instruction (col 10 lines 27-30: an instruction decode circuit decodes instructions to be executed) including a continuation indicator associated with the first instruction (col 12 lines 34-60: the instructions include a wait modifier which is a continuation indication in the sense that it indicates to not continue execution until one or more conditions are met);
control circuitry (the circuitry performs the “No” determination at step 48 of Fig. 4)
an eviction suppressor circuit to suppress eviction of the first process from an instruction unit to continue processing until completion of the first instruction and at least a next second sequential instruction of the first process (col 24 lines 33-38: if there are no dependencies, the instruction is pushed to the instruction execution buffer and the fetch offset is incremented, which suppresses eviction of the first process from the instruction execution buffer to continue processing until completion of the first instruction and a next second sequential instruction of the first process, the associated circuit performing step 52 is an eviction suppressor circuit).
Sideris does not teach:
the decoder component decoding the first instruction to detect the continuation indicator;
control circuitry configured to determine to enforce the continuation indicator;
the eviction suppressor circuit suppressing eviction responsive to determining to enforce the continuation indicator.
However, Grubisic teaches decoding instructions to detect hint data (analogous to the wait modifier of Sideris), see [0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sideris to detect the wait modifier of an instruction by decoding the instruction as taught by Grubisic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because decoding an instruction is a known technique on the known device of a processor for detecting information in the instruction and would yield the predictable result of enabling the processor to recognize and use the information in the instruction.
The combination of Sideris in view of Grubisic does not teach:
control circuitry configured to determine to enforce the continuation indicator;
the eviction suppressor circuit suppressing eviction responsive to determining to enforce the continuation indicator.
However, Ozer teaches using hints (analogous to the wait modifier in Sideris in that it also encodes dependency information) to indicate instructions that have no data dependence and are capable of parallel issue, see [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wait indicator of Sideris (which indicates instructions that have a dependence) in view of Grubisic to instead indicate instructions that have no data dependence as taught by Ozer such that the combination would enforce the hint by suppressing eviction/continuing execution of processes that have no dependence (as Sideris suppresses eviction and continues execution when there is no dependence, see col 23 lines 28-53). In other words, the hint/indication of the first instruction of the combination would indicate that the first instruction has no data dependence (using a control circuit that determines “No” at step 48 of Fig. 4 of Sideris) and the combination would determine to enforce this indication by suppressing eviction of the first process and continuing executing the first instruction until completion and at least a next sequential second instruction of the first process (using an eviction suppressor circuit that performs step 52 of Fig. 4 of Sideris). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the overhead of encoding instruction dependence indicators when there are a lesser number of independent instructions than dependent instructions.
Regarding claim 19, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
19) A computer program comprising computer program code to, when loaded into a processor and executed thereon, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (Sideris col 17 lines 1-10: the method may be implemented as computer software code executed on a processor).
Regarding claim 20, Sideris in view of Grubisic and Ozer teaches:
20) A computer program operable to adapt a host processing system to provide an execution environment permitting operation of non-native processor instructions to perform the method of claim 1 (Sideris col 18 lines 1-15: the host processor provides graphics processor 3 (i.e., an execution environment) permitting operation of commands/non-native processor instructions, which control the graphics processor to perform the method of claim 1).
Conclusion
/KASIM ALLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2183 /JYOTI MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2183