DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itoh et al. (US 2017/0334643).
Regarding claim 1, Itoh et al. teaches a warehouse robot, 3, configured for automatically loading storage locations of a warehouse with containers, the warehouse robot comprising:
a plurality of electric motors, 43 and 58;
a horizontally oriented loading surface, 98, arranged at a topside of the warehouse robot and configured to receive a container of the containers;
a plurality of motor rotatable wheels, 38 and 48, arranged at a bottom side of the warehouse robot and configured to move the warehouse robot on a ground,
wherein rotation axes of the wheels are respectively oriented parallel to the loading surface, see figures 13A and 13B,
wherein first wheels, 38, of a first group of the wheels are synchronously oriented in a first driving direction, X-Direction, so that the warehouse robot is drivable in the first driving direction on the ground by motor driving the first wheels,
wherein second wheels, 48, of a second group of the wheels are synchronously oriented in a second driving direction, Y-Direction, that differs from the first driving direction so that the warehouse robot is drivable in the second driving direction on the ground by motor driving the second wheels,
wherein the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are transferable into a passive condition and into an active condition, see figures 12A through 12C which show the active and passive positions of the first and second wheels, 38 and 48,
wherein a distance measured orthogonal to the loading surface between rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group in their passive condition and the loading surface and between rotation axes of the second wheels of the second group in their passive condition and the loading surface is less than a distance measured orthogonal to the loading surface between the rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group in their active condition and the loading surface and between the second wheels of the second group in their active condition and the loading surface, see figures 13A and 13B, which show the first wheels and second wheels in both the passive and active conditions, where the passive position is raised and closer to the top loading surface of the robot and the active position is lowered and further away from the top loading surface of the robot,
wherein the warehouse robot is transferable between a retracted unloading position and an extended loading position in an alternating manner, see figures 11A through 11D, which show the retracted and extended position of the warehouse robot loading surface,
wherein an effective height of the warehouse robot measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater in the loading position, than in the unloading position, see figure 11C which shows the robot loading the item, W, onto the vehicle by raising up the loading surface and therefore increasing the effective height of the robot,
wherein the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are motor movable in a direction orthogonal to the loading surface between a retracted position and at least one extended position, see paragraphs 0093 through 00115 which describes the X and Y direction travel mechanism for raising and lowering the first and second wheel groups,
wherein a distance between a rotation axis of a respective first wheel of the first group and the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater for the respective first wheel of the first group in the extended position than for the respective first wheel of the first group in the retracted position, and a distance between a rotation axis of a respective second wheel of the second group and the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater for the respective second wheel of the second group in the extended position than for the respective second wheel of the second group in the retracted position, see figures 12 and 13 which shows the first and second wheel groups in the extended and retracted positions,
wherein the wheels of at least one of the first group and the second group are motor movable into at least two extended positions where distances of the rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group from the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface differ from distances of the rotation axes of the second wheels of the second group from the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface,
wherein the warehouse robot is transitionable from a first extended position into a second extended position between its loading position and its unloading position by moving the first wheels of the first group or the second wheels of the second group, the transition down the slope of the cam, 50, between the retracted and extended position reads on the second extended position, and
wherein the warehouse robot is operable so that all of the first wheels of the first group and all the second wheels of the second group are simultaneously provided in their active position, so that the distance between the rotation axes of all the first wheels and second wheels and the loading surface is identical for all the first wheels of the first group and all the second wheels of the second group, see paragraph 0169 through 0170.
Regarding claim 3, Itoh et al. teaches the rotation axes of all the wheels of all groups are arranged in a common retraction plane when all the wheels of all the groups are arranged in their retracted position, see figure 15b.
Regarding claim 4, Itoh et al. teaches the rotation axes of all the wheels of all the groups are arranged in a common first extension plane when all the wheels of all the groups are arranged in their first extended position, see paragraph 0169 and 0170.
Regarding claim 5, Itoh et al. teaches the rotation axes of all the wheels of all the groups are arranged in a common second extension plane when all the wheels of all the groups are arranged in their second extended position, see paragraphs 0169 and 0170.
Regarding claim 6, Itoh et al. teaches the fist wheels of the first group of the second wheels of the second group are in their active condition and the warehouse robot is in its unloading position when the first wheels of the first group of the second wheels of the second group are in their first extended position, see figures 11A through 11C which shows the robot in the loading and unloading area.
Regarding claim 7, Itoh et al. teaches the first wheels of the first group or the second wheels of the second group are in their active condition and the warehouse robot is in its loading position when the first wheels of the first group or the second wheels of the second group are in their second extended position, see figures 11A through 11C which shows the robot in the loading and unloading area.
Regarding claim 8, Itoh et al. teaches, wherein at least one first wheel of the first group or at least one second wheel of the second group, or at least one first wheel of the first group and at least one second wheel of the second group, or all wheels respectively form part of an operating unit, and wherein a respective operating unit includes a lift motor, 58, configured to move the respective wheel between a retracted position and at least one extended position and a drive motor, 43, configured to drive the respective wheel to rotate about its rotation axis.
Regarding claim 9, Itoh et al. teaches the wheels of at least one group of the first group and the second group, or the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are respectively supported at a respective pivot arm, 35 and 26, and wherein the respective pivot arm is supported at a housing of the warehouse robot indirectly or directly pivotable about a pivot arm pivot axis, see figures 7, 8, and 10.
Regarding claim 12, Itoh et al. teaches a method for operating a warehouse robot including:
a plurality of electric motors, 43 and 58;
a horizontally oriented loading surface, 98, arranged at a topside of the warehouse robot and configured to receive a container of the containers;
a plurality of motor rotatable wheels, 38 and 48, arranged at a bottom side of the warehouse robot and configured to move the warehouse robot on a ground,
wherein rotation axes of the wheels are respectively oriented parallel to the loading surface, see figures 13A and 13B,
wherein first wheels, 38, of a first group of the wheels are synchronously oriented in a first driving direction, X-Direction, so that the warehouse robot is drivable in the first driving direction on the ground by motor driving the first wheels,
wherein second wheels, 48, of a second group of the wheels are synchronously oriented in a second driving direction, Y-Direction, that differs from the first driving direction so that the warehouse robot is drivable in the second driving direction on the ground by motor driving the second wheels,
wherein the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are transferable into a passive condition and into an active condition, see figures 12A through 12C which show the active and passive positions of the first and second wheels, 38 and 48,
wherein a distance measured orthogonal to the loading surface between rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group in their passive condition and the loading surface and between rotation axes of the second wheels of the second group in their passive condition and the loading surface is less than a distance measured orthogonal to the loading surface between the rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group in their active condition and the loading surface and between the second wheels of the second group in their active condition and the loading surface, see figures 13A and 13B, which show the first wheels and second wheels in both the passive and active conditions, where the passive position is raised and closer to the top loading surface of the robot and the active position is lowered and further away from the top loading surface of the robot,
wherein the warehouse robot is transferable between a retracted unloading position and an extended loading position in an alternating manner, see figures 11A through 11D, which show the retracted and extended position of the warehouse robot loading surface,
wherein an effective height of the warehouse robot measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater in the loading position, than in the unloading position, see figure 11C which shows the robot loading the item, W, onto the vehicle by raising up the loading surface and therefore increasing the effective height of the robot, the method comprising:
a) driving the warehouse robot in the unloading position over a ground by motor driving the wheels of one of the groups and stopping the warehouse robot at a storage location loaded with a container so that the warehouse robot is stopped under the container, see figures 11A through 11D;
b) moving the wheels of at least one group into an extended position by motor after stopping the warehouse robot below the container, so that the warehouse robot is transitioned from its unloading position into its loading position and retrieves the container from the storage location so that the container is supported on the loading surface of the warehouse robot thereafter, see figures 11A through 11D;
c) driving the warehouse robot over the ground together with the container supported on the loading surface after receiving the container, wherein the driving is performed by motor driving the wheels of one of the groups, see figures 12A and 12B; and
d) moving the wheels of the group whose wheels where in the passive condition by a motor into an extended position in which the wheels of both groups are in contact with the ground simultaneously in order to change the driving direction, wherein the wheels of the other group whose wheels were in their active condition are moved towards their retracted position and thus into their passive condition, see paragraph 0169 and 1070.
Regarding claim 13, Itoh et al. teaches the wheels of the group whose wheels were in the active condition are moved into their retracted position and thus into their passive condition in order to change the driving direction, see figures 13A and 13B.
Regarding claim 14, Itoh et al. teaches the change of the driving direction is performed when the warehouse robot is in its unloading position and when the warehouse robot is in its loading position, see figures 12a through 12C.
Regarding claim 15, Itoh et al. teaches the wheels of both groups are simultaneously transitioned into a common extension position where all wheels are in contact with the ground simultaneously for transitioning the warehouse robot into its loading position, see paragraphs 0169 and 0170.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2005077789 in view of CN 206088191.
Regarding claim 1, WO 789 teaches a warehouse robot, 200, configured for automatically loading storage locations of a warehouse with containers, 10, the warehouse robot comprising:
a plurality of electric motors, 410 and 450;
a horizontally oriented loading surface, 201, arranged at a topside of the warehouse robot and configured to receive a container of the containers;
a plurality of motor rotatable wheels, 40 and 50, arranged at a bottom side of the warehouse robot and configured to move the warehouse robot on a ground,
wherein rotation axes of the wheels are respectively oriented parallel to the loading surface, see figure 4,
wherein first wheels, 40, of a first group of the wheels are synchronously oriented in a first driving direction, X-Direction, so that the warehouse robot is drivable in the first driving direction on the ground by motor driving the first wheels,
wherein second wheels, 50, of a second group of the wheels are synchronously oriented in a second driving direction, Y-Direction, that differs from the first driving direction so that the warehouse robot is drivable in the second driving direction on the ground by motor driving the second wheels,
wherein the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are transferable into a passive condition and into an active condition, see figures 4a and 4b which show the active and passive positions of the first and second wheels, 40 and 50,
wherein a distance measured orthogonal to the loading surface between rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group in their passive condition and the loading surface and between rotation axes of the second wheels of the second group in their passive condition and the loading surface is less than a distance measured orthogonal to the loading surface between the rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group in their active condition and the loading surface and between the second wheels of the second group in their active condition and the loading surface, see figures 4a and 4b, which show the first wheels and second wheels in both the passive and active conditions, where the passive position is raised and closer to the top loading surface of the robot and the active position is lowered and further away from the top loading surface of the robot,
wherein the warehouse robot is transferable between a retracted unloading position and an extended loading position in an alternating manner, see figu3b and 3c, which show the retracted and extended position of the warehouse robot loading surface,
wherein an effective height of the warehouse robot measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater in the loading position, than in the unloading position, see figure 3b which shows the robot loading the item, 10, onto the vehicle by raising up the loading surface and therefore increasing the effective height of the robot,
wherein the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are motor movable in a direction orthogonal to the loading surface between a retracted position and at least one extended position, see figures 3a through 3c,
wherein a distance between a rotation axis of a respective first wheel of the first group and the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater for the respective first wheel of the first group in the extended position than for the respective first wheel of the first group in the retracted position, and a distance between a rotation axis of a respective second wheel of the second group and the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface is greater for the respective second wheel of the second group in the extended position than for the respective second wheel of the second group in the retracted position, see figures 3a through 3c which shows the first and second wheel groups in the extended and retracted positions,
wherein the warehouse robot is operable so that all of the first wheels of the first group and all the second wheels of the second group are simultaneously provided in their active position, so that the distance between the rotation axes of all the first wheels and second wheels and the loading surface is identical for all the first wheels of the first group and all the second wheels of the second group, see figure 3c.
WO 789 does not teach the claimed two extended positions. CN 191 teaches a warehouse robot with first wheels, 11, and second wheels, 12, and a plurality of motors, 14 and 15. CN 191 further teaches:
wherein the wheels of at least one of the first group and the second group are motor movable to at least two extended positions where distances of the rotation axes of the first wheels of the first group from the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface differ from distances of the rotation axes of the second wheels of the second group from the loading surface measured orthogonal to the loading surface,
wherein the warehouse robot is transitionable from a first extended position into a second extended position between its loading position and its unloading position by moving the first wheels of the first group or the second wheels of the second group between the retracted and extended position reads on the second extended position, see figures 10-12 which shows the movement between the retracted position of wheel groups to the extended positions, figure 11 shows retracted position of wheel 11, and figures 10 and 12 the first and second extended position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WO 789 wheel groups to have two extended positions, as taught by CN 191 in order to enable the robot to be raised and lowered between different loading and unloading heights.
Regarding claim 2, CN 191 teaches all the wheels of all the groups of the wheels are movable into at least two different extended positions or into exactly two extended positions, where all the wheel groups of CN 191 are designed in the same way, see figures 8-12.
Regarding claim 8, CN 191 teaches, wherein at least one first wheel of the first group or at least one second wheel of the second group, or at least one first wheel of the first group and at least one second wheel of the second group, or all wheels respectively form part of an operating unit, and wherein a respective operating unit includes a lift motor, 15, configured to move the respective wheel between a retracted position and at least one extended position and a drive motor, 14, configured to drive the respective wheel to rotate about its rotation axis.
Regarding claim 9, CN 191 teaches the wheels of at least one group of the first group and the second group, or the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are respectively supported at a respective pivot arm and wherein the respective pivot arm is supported at a housing of the warehouse robot indirectly or directly pivotable about a pivot arm pivot axis, 9, see figures 9-12.
Regarding claim 10, CN 191 teaches a component axis of the pivot arm of a respective wheel is oriented parallel to the loading surface when the pivot arm is in its retracted position, see figures 10-12.
Regarding claim 11, CN 191 teaches the wheels of at least one group of the first group and the second group, or the first wheels of the first group and the second wheels of the second group are respectively supported at a respective pivot arm, wherein the respective pivot arm is supported at a housing of the warehouse robot indirectly or directly pivotable about a pivot arm pivot axis, 9, wherein a lift motor is indirectly or directly supported at the housing, wherein the lift motor is configured to pivot the pivot arm about the pivot arm pivot axis relative to the housing, wherein the drive motor is supported at the pivot arm so that the drive motor is movable on a circular path about the pivot am pivot axis when transitioning the respective wheel between its retracted position and at least one extended position, see figures 9-12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 and not relied upon are included to show other examples of warehouse robots with retractable wheels. DE 102015001410 shows a warehouse robot with wheels in the X and Y direction that are retractable to enable travel in either the X or Y direction.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
15 July 2026