Election/Restrictions
Claims 32-40 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 30 includes displaying “an incident input countdown timer that indicates elapsed time since a last input of the mobile device.”. The specification provides no support for this feature, as there is nothing taught about measuring or displaying elapsed time since last input, or any mention at all of an incident input countdown timer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 21-31, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The phrase is in claim 21 and thus incorporated by 22-31 also, so that all dependent claims inherit this rejection.
Regarding claim 31, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the shelter-in-place indicator" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the directional arrow" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the shelter-in-place indicator" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the directional arrow" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the directional arrow" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the directional arrow" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim 263 recites the limitation "the directional arrow" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This feature is claimed in the alternative in the independent claim and therefore does not provide positive antecedent basis for the feature in a dependent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-26, 28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma (US 2015/0348220 A1).
21, Sharma discloses a system comprising: a geographic information system (GIS) configured to track locations and movements of mobile devices; and a mobile device configured to run a mobile application in communication with the GIS [0004, 0007-0008; a location system, which may be GPS, conveys and display information to a mobile device], wherein:
the GIS is configured to be activated when an incident such as a threat or a medical need is detected; [0031-0033, during an alarm condition the system is activated which includes the sending of positioning and evacuation information to mobile devices]
and based on processing by the GIS, the mobile application is configured to display a directional arrow pointing a responder to the threat or pointing a user away from the threat to safety, or a shelter-in-place indicator. [0058 arrows provide evacuation path indication; 0048 shelter in place may also be indicated; 0050 the location system also provides the information to allow first responders to locate occupants; This is claimed in the alternative though it is noted that the reference anticipates all three options.]
22. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the mobile application is configured to display the directional arrow when the user is outside a danger zone; [0048 and 0058; a safe path for evacuation is provided, with arrows as indicated in 0058 being provided while the user is on the safe path]
and the mobile application is configured to display the shelter-in-place indicator when the user is within the danger zone. [0048, shelter in place is indicated when movement provides no save path as the user is surrounded by proximate danger]
23. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the mobile application is configured to overlay the directional arrow or the shelter-in-place indicator on a site map or on a parcel map. [0057-0058, indications are overlaid on the map]
24. (New) The system of claim 21, wherein the mobile application is configured to point the directional arrow in a direction that is based on a calculated threat location. [039-0040]
25. (New) The system of claim 24, wherein the mobile application is configured to dynamically change the directional arrow based on predictive movement of the threat location using multiple inputs from multiple users. [0048-0050, multiple users location are monitored, thus input to the system, and the risk zones which are monitored and updated means the system is predicting which zones will be the most dangerous and updating the paths for users (and so the arrows) based on this information]
26. (New) The system of claim 22, wherein the mobile application is configured to change the directional arrow to the shelter-in-place indicator when the mobile device moves into the danger zone. [0049-0050]
28. (New) The system of claim 24, wherein the mobile application is configured to display breadcrumb indications to follow a movement path of the calculated threat location when the calculated threat location changes. [Fig. 6, arrows 502-506]
31. (New) The system of claim 24, wherein the system is configured to share the calculated threat location with a third-party system such as a clearinghouse, a camera, a digital lock, or a drone. [0014]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 2015/0348220 A1) in view of McNabb (US 2016/0049064 A1)
27. Sharma discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the mobile application is configured to calculate the threat location from the mobile device when a camera of the mobile device is on [0058, the camera function is used and overlaid operating as a viewfinder with AR capability], but does not expressly disclose using a compass heading field. However, a compass filed would be implicit if not inherent to the claimed system, as it would be necessary to know which way a device is moving and facing to implement evacuation. Further see McNabb with discloses a emergency response location system wherein a compass indication indicator is use to provide a user with guidance as far as what direction to face and which way to go. [0061, “a compass indicator is also displayed which rotates as the user rotates handheld wireless device 600 to provide a better sense of orientation to the user”]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compass heading field to calculate a threat location, as heading would be essential in assisting a user in knowing which way to go in order to evacuate or find shelter.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 2015/0348220 A1) in view of Piett (US 2017/0180966)
29, Sharma discloses the system of claim 21, including dynamically displayed inputs, but does not expressly disclose displaying an unsafe button. Piett discloses an analogous system wherein the mobile application is further configured to display an unsafe button and to send a location of the mobile device to the GIS when the unsafe button is activated. [0018, 0031]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an unsafe button in order to allow a user to more easily inform emergency services that a situation is more urgent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for further art related to emergency calls and location services.
/LEWIS G WEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699