DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/26/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
“DATA PROCESSING METHOD AND APPARATUS TO DETECT MISSING DATA”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu et al., (hereinafter Fu), U.S. Publication No. 2017/0142770.
As per claim 1, Fu discloses a data processing method [Abstract, paragraphs 0041, 0081, 0124, a data processing method (a data packet processing method)], comprising:
performing, by a first communication device, a first operation [paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0081, 0082, 0124, 0125, 0233, performing, by a first communication device, a first operation (performing the functions)], wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following:
stopping sending a data packet of a first data set to a first target end or a first target interface; discarding the data packet of the first data set in the first communication device; discarding a data packet of a first data unit not mapped into the first data set in the first communication device; stopping a relevant operation of the first data set; or sending a first indication [paragraphs 0035, 0042, 0047, 0082, 0104, 0125, 0150, 0196, 0227, discarding the data packet of the first data set in the first communication device (discarding a data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets being transmitted; sending data packet transmission condition indication information)], wherein the first indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the first indication being an end data packet of the data set, the data set being incomplete, or requiring stopping transmission of a data packet of the data set; and the data set is the first data set, wherein the first indication is first indication information corresponding to the first data set; and the first data set comprises one or more data packets [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0070, 0076, a data set ending and the first data set comprises one or more data packets (the last data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets)].
As per claim 2, Fu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein an operation of the sending a first indication comprises one of the following:
a first relevant operation, wherein the first relevant operation comprises at least one of the following: generating a first dummy data packet of the first data set, wherein the first dummy data packet carries the first indication; or sending the first dummy data packet; or a second relevant operation, wherein the second relevant operation comprises at least one of the following: adding the first indication to a real data packet in the first data set; or sending the real data packet [paragraphs 0135, 0136, adding the first indication to a real data packet in the first data set; or sending the real data packet (transmit the data packet transmission periodically or in real time)].
As per claim 3, Fu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing, by a first communication device, a first operation comprises:
obtaining, by the first communication device, a second indication and/or first information; and performing, by the first communication device, the first operation based on the second indication and/or the first information [paragraphs 0080-0082, 0123-0125, 0143, 0152, 0157, 0160, obtaining, by the first communication device, a second indication and/or first information; and performing, by the first communication device, the first operation based on the second indication and/or the first information (the UE will process the PDCP PDU data packets according to the PDCP PDU data packet transmission condition indication information, particularly by discarding the data packets)],
wherein the second indication indicates at least one of the following: all data packets of a first object require complete processing, or all data packets of any data instance of the first object require complete processing [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0037, 0116, wherein the second indication indicates at least one of the following: all data packets of a first object require complete processing (end indication information to indicate the last data packet in current transmission of the data packets; lastly transmitted data packet with an acknowledged transmission state among the PDCP SDU data packets)]; and
the first information comprises at least one of the following: a third indication, or range information of a header data packet of the first object requiring complete processing [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0136, 0144, 0163, the first information comprises at least one of the following: a third indication (PDU data packets; an information stream)],
wherein the third indication indicates that the header data packet of the first object requires complete processing, wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a first packet data unit (PDU) Set, a first quality of service (QoS) stream, a first QoS sub-stream, a first data set category, the first data set, a second data set, a first data stream, the first data unit, or a second data unit [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0136, 0144, 0163, a first packet data unit (PDU) Set; a first data stream (PDU data packets; an information stream)]; and
the data instance of the first object comprises at least one of the following: the data set, the data unit, the first data set, the second data set, the first data stream, the first data unit, or the second data unit [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0163, the first data stream (an information stream)].
As per claim 4, Fu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing, by a first communication device, a first operation comprises:
performing, by the first communication device, the first operation when a first condition is satisfied, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a part of data packets of the first data unit is missing, or a header data packet of the first data unit is missing; all data packets of the first data unit require complete processing, or the header data packet of the first data unit requires complete processing; the entire second data unit is missing, or a part of data packets of the second data unit is missing, or a header data packet of the second data unit is missing, or the header data packet of the second data unit fails to be transmitted; all data packets of the second data unit require complete processing, or the header data packet of the first data unit requires complete processing; a part of data packets of the first data set is missing, or a header data packet of the first data set is missing, or the header data packet of the first data set fails to be transmitted; all data packets of the first data set require complete processing, or the header data packet of the first data set requires complete processing; the entire second data set is missing, or a part of data packets of the second data set is missing, or a header data packet of the second data set is missing, or the header data packet of the second data set fails to be transmitted; or all data packets of the second data set require complete processing, or the header data packet of the second data set requires complete processing [paragraphs 0133, 0161, 0169, performing, by the first communication device, the first operation when a first condition is satisfied, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a part of data packets of the first data unit is missing; all data packets of the first data unit require complete processing; (the First Missing PDCP data packet Sequence Number (SFN) (FMS) indicates the sequence number of the first data packet which has failed to be transmitted; the transmission information of each PDCP SDU data packet or part of PDCP SDU data packets of the bearer being transmitted, where the transmission information of the data packet can be information indicating a transmission failure of the data packet, information indicating a transmission success of the data packet)],
wherein the second data unit is a data unit on which the first data unit depends; and the second data set is a data set on which the first data set depends [paragraphs 0133, 0161, wherein the second data unit is a data unit on which the first data unit depends; and the second data set is a data set on which the first data set depends (the transmission information of a part or all of the data packets among the PDCP SDU data packets)].
As per claim 5, Fu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the relevant operation of the first data set comprises at least one of the following:
reordering a received data packet; mapping the received data packet into a data set, and adding header information related to the data set to the data packet; assigning a sequence number of the data set; assigning a packet sequence number in the data set; or sending the data packet to a second communication device according to the sequence number of the data set to which the data packet belongs and/or an order of the packet sequence number in the data set [paragraphs 0036, 0120, 0139, 0140, 0142, 0147, 0154, 0163, 0164, 0222, reordering a received data packet; assigning a packet sequence number in the data set (PDCP reordering; an information stream includes sequence numbers and transmission information of all the data packets)].
As per claim 6, Fu discloses a data processing method [Abstract, paragraphs 0041, 0081, 0124, a data processing method (a data packet processing method)], comprising:
performing, by a second communication device, a second operation, wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following: stopping sending a data packet of a third data set to a second target end; discarding the data packet of the third data set in the second communication device; or sending a fourth indication, wherein the fourth indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the fourth indication being an end data packet of the data set, the data set being incomplete, or stopping receiving or stopping waiting for a data packet of the data set; and the data set is the third data set [paragraphs 0035, 0042, 0047, 0082, 0104, 0125, 0150, 0196, 0227, performing, by a second communication device, a second operation, wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following: discarding the data packet of the third data set in the second communication device (discarding a data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets being transmitted; sending data packet transmission condition indication information)],
wherein the fourth indication is fourth indication information corresponding to the third data set; and the third data set comprises one or more data packets [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0070, 0076, wherein the fourth indication is fourth indication information corresponding to the third data set; and the third data set comprises one or more data packets s (the last data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets)].
As per claim 7, Fu discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the performing, by a second communication device, a second operation comprises:
obtaining, by the second communication device, a fifth indication and/or second information; and performing, by the second communication device, the second operation based on the fifth indication and/or the second information [paragraphs 0080-0082, 0123-0125, 0143, 0152, 0157, 0160, obtaining, by the second communication device, a fifth indication and/or second information; and performing, by the second communication device, the second operation based on the fifth indication and/or the second information (the UE will process the PDCP PDU data packets according to the PDCP PDU data packet transmission condition indication information, particularly by discarding the data packets)],
wherein the fifth indication indicates at least one of the following: all data packets of a second object require complete processing, or all data packets of any data instance of the second object require complete processing [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0037, 0116, wherein the fifth indication indicates at least one of the following: all data packets of a second object require complete processing (end indication information to indicate the last data packet in current transmission of the data packets; lastly transmitted data packet with an acknowledged transmission state among the PDCP SDU data packets)]; and
the second information comprises at least one of the following: a sixth indication, or range information of a header data packet of the second object requiring complete processing, wherein the sixth indication indicates that the header data packet of the second object requires complete processing [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0136, 0144, 0163, the second information comprises at least one of the following: a sixth indication (PDU data packets; an information stream)],
wherein the second object comprises at least one of the following: a first PDU Set, a first QoS stream, a first QoS sub-stream, a first data set category, the third data set, or a fourth data set [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0136, 0144, 0163, wherein the second object comprises at least one of the following: a first PDU Set (PDU data packets; an information stream)]; and
the data instance of the second object comprises at least one of the following: the data set, the third data set, or the fourth data set [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0163, the data instance of the second object comprises at least one of the following: the data set (an information stream)].
As per claim 8, Fu discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the performing, by a second communication device, a second operation comprises:
obtaining, by the second communication device, a first indication; and performing, by the second communication device, the second operation based on the first indication, wherein the first indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the first indication being an end data packet of the data set, the data set being incomplete, or requiring stopping transmission of a data packet of the data set; and the data set is the third data set or a fourth data set [paragraphs 0029, 0030, 0035, 0036, 0069, 0070, 0116, 0159, 0160, obtaining, by the second communication device, a first indication; and performing, by the second communication device, the second operation based on the first indication, wherein the first indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the first indication being an end data packet of the data set, (the data packet transmission condition indication information is in the form of an information stream; end indication information to indicate the last data packet in current transmission of the data packets)],
wherein the first indication is first indication information corresponding to the third data set or the fourth data set [paragraphs 0076, 0165, wherein the first indication is first indication information corresponding to the third data set or the fourth data set (data packet transmission condition indication information in the form of an information stream includes sequence numbers and transmission information of all the data packets)].
As per claim 9, Fu discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the performing, by a second communication device, a second operation comprises:
performing, by the second communication device, the second operation when a second condition is satisfied, wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: a part of data packets of the third data set is missing, or a header data packet of the third data set is missing, or the header data packet of the third data set fails to be transmitted; all data packets of the third data set require complete processing, or the header data packet of the third data set requires complete processing, the entire fourth data set is missing, or a part of data packets of the fourth data set is missing, or a header data packet of the fourth data set is missing, or the header data packet of the fourth data set fails to be transmitted; all data packets of the fourth data set require complete processing, or the header data packet of the fourth data set requires complete processing; the first indication is obtained; or the fifth indication and/or the second information is obtained [paragraphs 0133, 0161, 0169, performing, by the second communication device, the second operation when a second condition is satisfied, wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: a part of data packets of the third data set is missing (the First Missing PDCP data packet Sequence Number (SFN) (FMS) indicates the sequence number of the first data packet which has failed to be transmitted; the transmission information of each PDCP SDU data packet or part of PDCP SDU data packets of the bearer being transmitted, where the transmission information of the data packet can be information indicating a transmission failure of the data packet, information indicating a transmission success of the data packet)].
As per claim 10, Fu discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following:
determining, by the second communication device, based on a data packet corresponding to a packet sequence number in a third object with a missing part, that a part of data packets of the third object is missing; or determining, by the second communication device, based on a data packet corresponding to a header packet sequence number in a third object with a missing part, that a header data packet of the third object is missing, wherein the third object comprises at least one of the following: the third data set, or the fourth data set [paragraphs 0036, 0076, 0120, 0164, 0169, 0191, determining, by the second communication device, based on a data packet corresponding to a packet sequence number in a third object with a missing part, that a part of data packets of the third object is missing (the sequence number of the last data packet which has failed to be transmitted)].
As per claim 11, Fu discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising:
obtaining, by the second communication device, the first indication; and determining, by the second communication device, based on the first indication, that a part of data packets of the third data set is missing, or a part of data packets of the fourth data set is missing, wherein the first indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the first indication being an end data packet of the data set, the data set being incomplete, or requiring stopping transmission of a data packet of the data set; and the data set is the third data set or the fourth data set [paragraphs 0029, 0030, 0035, 0036, 0069, 0070, 0116, 0159, 0160, obtaining, by the second communication device, the first indication; and determining, by the second communication device, based on the first indication, that a part of data packets of the third data set is missing, or a part of data packets of the fourth data set is missing, wherein the first indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the first indication being an end data packet of the data set, the data set being incomplete, or requiring stopping transmission of a data packet of the data set; and the data set is the third data set or the fourth data set (the data packet transmission condition indication information is in the form of an information stream; end indication information to indicate the last data packet in current transmission of the data packets)],
wherein the first indication is first indication information corresponding to the third data set or the fourth data set [paragraphs 0076, 0165, wherein the first indication is first indication information corresponding to the third data set or the fourth data set (data packet transmission condition indication information in the form of an information stream includes sequence numbers and transmission information of all the data packets)].
As per claim 12, Fu discloses a data processing method [Abstract, paragraphs 0041, 0081, 0124, a data processing method (a data packet processing method)], comprising:
obtaining, by a third communication device, a fourth indication; and performing, by the third communication device, a third operation based on the fourth indication, wherein the third operation comprises at least one of the following: stopping waiting for a data packet of a third data set; notifying an application layer, or decoding, by an application layer, a third data unit; or notifying the application layer, or discarding, by the application layer, a data packet of the third data unit [paragraphs 0035, 0042, 0047, 0082, 0100, 0104, 0125, 0130, 0140, 0150, 0154, 0196, 0227, obtaining, by a third communication device, a fourth indication; and performing, by the third communication device, a third operation based on the fourth indication, wherein the third operation comprises at least one of the following: (discarding a data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets being transmitted; sending data packet transmission condition indication information)],
wherein the third data unit is a data unit corresponding to the third data set [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0070, 0076, wherein the third data unit is a data unit corresponding to the third data set (the last data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets)].
As per claim 13, Fu discloses the method according to claim 12,
wherein the fourth indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending, a data packet carrying the fourth indication being an end data packet of the data set, the data set being incomplete, or stopping receiving or stopping waiting for the data packet of the data set; and the data set is the third data set [paragraphs 0035, 0042, 0047, 0082, 0104, 0125, 0150, 0196, 0227, wherein the fourth indication indicates at least one of the following: a data set ending (discarding a data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets being transmitted; sending data packet transmission condition indication information)],
wherein the fourth indication is fourth indication information corresponding to the third data set; and the third data set comprises one or more data packets [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0070, 0076, wherein the fourth indication is fourth indication information corresponding to the third data set; and the third data set comprises one or more data packets (the last data packet among the PDCP SDU data packets)].
As per claim 14, Fu discloses a communication device, comprising:
a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the data processing method according to claim 1 are implemented [fig. 7, paragraphs 0203, 0232, 0234, 0235, 0236, 0238, a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor (processor 701 is configured to read program in a memory 704, and to perform the process)].
As per claim 15, Fu discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein an operation of the sending a first indication comprises one of the following:
a first relevant operation, wherein the first relevant operation comprises at least one of the following: generating a first dummy data packet of the first data set, wherein the first dummy data packet carries the first indication; or sending the first dummy data packet; or a second relevant operation, wherein the second relevant operation comprises at least one of the following: adding the first indication to a real data packet in the first data set; or sending the real data packet a first relevant operation, wherein the first relevant operation comprises at least one of the following: generating a first dummy data packet of the first data set, wherein the first dummy data packet carries the first indication; or sending the first dummy data packet; or a second relevant operation, wherein the second relevant operation comprises at least one of the following: adding the first indication to a real data packet in the first data set; or sending the real data packet [paragraphs 0135, 0136, adding the first indication to a real data packet in the first data set; or sending the real data packet (transmit the data packet transmission periodically or in real time)].
As per claim 16, Fu discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein when performing, by a first communication device, a first operation, the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the communication device to perform:
obtaining a second indication and/or first information; and performing the first operation based on the second indication and/or the first information [paragraphs 0080-0082, 0123-0125, 0143, 0152, 0157, 0160, obtaining a second indication and/or first information; and performing the first operation based on the second indication and/or the first information (the UE will process the PDCP PDU data packets according to the PDCP PDU data packet transmission condition indication information, particularly by discarding the data packets)],
wherein the second indication indicates at least one of the following: all data packets of a first object require complete processing, or all data packets of any data instance of the first object require complete processing [paragraphs 0030, 0036, 0037, 0116, wherein the second indication indicates at least one of the following: all data packets of a first object require complete processing (end indication information to indicate the last data packet in current transmission of the data packets; lastly transmitted data packet with an acknowledged transmission state among the PDCP SDU data packets)]; and
the first information comprises at least one of the following: a third indication, or range information of a header data packet of the first object requiring complete processing [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0136, 0144, 0163, the first information comprises at least one of the following: a third indication (PDU data packets; an information stream)],
wherein the third indication indicates that the header data packet of the first object requires complete processing, wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a first packet data unit (PDU) Set, a first quality of service (QoS) stream, a first QoS sub-stream, a first data set category, the first data set, a second data set, a first data stream, the first data unit, or a second data unit [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0136, 0144, 0163, a first packet data unit (PDU) Set; a first data stream (PDU data packets; an information stream)]; and
the data instance of the first object comprises at least one of the following: the data set, the data unit, the first data set, the second data set, the first data stream, the first data unit, or the second data unit [paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0119, 0120, 0163, the first data stream (an information stream)].
As per claim 17, Fu discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein when performing, by a first communication device, a first operation, the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the communication device to perform:
performing the first operation when a first condition is satisfied, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a part of data packets of the first data unit is missing, or a header data packet of the first data unit is missing; all data packets of the first data unit require complete processing, or the header data packet of the first data unit requires complete processing; the entire second data unit is missing, or a part of data packets of the second data unit is missing, or a header data packet of the second data unit is missing, or the header data packet of the second data unit fails to be transmitted; all data packets of the second data unit require complete processing, or the header data packet of the first data unit requires complete processing; a part of data packets of the first data set is missing, or a header data packet of the first data set is missing, or the header data packet of the first data set fails to be transmitted; all data packets of the first data set require complete processing, or the header data packet of the first data set requires complete processing; the entire second data set is missing, or a part of data packets of the second data set is missing, or a header data packet of the second data set is missing, or the header data packet of the second data set fails to be transmitted; or all data packets of the second data set require complete processing, or the header data packet of the second data set requires complete processing [paragraphs 0133, 0161, 0169, performing, by the first communication device, the first operation when a first condition is satisfied, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a part of data packets of the first data unit is missing; all data packets of the first data unit require complete processing; (the First Missing PDCP data packet Sequence Number (SFN) (FMS) indicates the sequence number of the first data packet which has failed to be transmitted; the transmission information of each PDCP SDU data packet or part of PDCP SDU data packets of the bearer being transmitted, where the transmission information of the data packet can be information indicating a transmission failure of the data packet, information indicating a transmission success of the data packet)],
wherein the second data unit is a data unit on which the first data unit depends; and the second data set is a data set on which the first data set depends [paragraphs 0133, 0161, wherein the second data unit is a data unit on which the first data unit depends; and the second data set is a data set on which the first data set depends (the transmission information of a part or all of the data packets among the PDCP SDU data packets)].
As per claim 18, Fu discloses a communication device, comprising:
a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the data processing method according to claim 6 are implemented [fig. 7, paragraphs 0203, 0232, 0234, 0235, 0236, 0238, a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor (processor 701 is configured to read program in a memory 704, and to perform the process)].
As per claim 19, Fu discloses a communication device, comprising:
a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the data processing method according to claim 12 are implemented [fig. 7, paragraphs 0203, 0232, 0234, 0235, 0236, 0238, a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor (processor 701 is configured to read program in a memory 704, and to perform the process)].
As per claim 20, Fu discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instructions, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the data processing method according to claim 1 [fig. 7, paragraphs 0232, 0235, a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instructions, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the data processing method according to claim 1 (a computer program product embodied in one or more computer useable storage mediums (including but not limited to a disk memory, an optical memory, etc.) in which computer useable program codes are contained)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeng et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0067851 discloses wherein the network device discards a data packet.
Yu, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0413466 discloses indicating QoS rules corresponding to different access technologies.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469