DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2018/0158856 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2019/0034035 A1) and US patent application publication by Yang et al (US 2020/0098814 A1).
Han et al (‘856) teaches, with regard to claim 1, a meta-filter that serves as the frequency-selective optical filter that is comprised of one-dimensional or two-dimensional arrays of subwavelengths unit cells or meta-filter unit, (120, please see Figures 1, 2, 3A-3D and paragraphs [0019], [0058]), wherein each subwavelength unit cell that is comprised of a substrate (sr) serves as the optically transmissive medium and an array of passive deflectors or nanostructures (ns) arranged within the optically transmissive medium, (please see Figure 2). The interelement on-center spacings of the nanostructures or passive deflector elements are selected to reflect optical radiation within a target bandwidth (i.e. of a first wavelength) and pass optical radiation at frequency or wavelength (i.e. second wavelength) outside of the target bandwidth to locations other than, (please see Figure 1). The array of passive deflector elements or nanostructures is configured for dual-frequency or dual-wavelengths response.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference does not teach explicitly that the deflector elements or the nanostructure have varying diameters.
Han et al (‘035) in the same field of endeavor teaches a meta structure that has an array of nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) that each has a diameter (D), an interelement center spacing (P) and a height (t) that are each has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]). Han et al (‘035) also teaches the array of nanostructures may have varying diameter, (please see Figures 4 and 11) to provide structured light, (please see paragraphs [0098] and [0099]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Han et al (‘035) to make the array of nanostructures of deflector elements to have varying diameters for the benefit of generating structured light. It is within general level skilled in the art to design the structured light to include desired focal length
In response to the feature “the array of passive deflector elements is configured for dual-frequency response with the interelement on-center spacings of a first set of the passive deflector elements selected as a function of a first operation wavelength”, Han et al (‘035) teaches that metastructure with a plurality nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) wherein the interelement on-center spacing (P) has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]).
Yang et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an array of meta-surface structures for an image sensor wherein each of the meta-surface structure comprises a plurality of nanostructures (310p, Figure 5). Yang et al teaches that the meta-surface structure for different wavelengths has a different interelement on-center spacing (P1, P2 and P3, Figure 5). This means the interelement on-center spacing of a first set of the deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a first operational wavelength and the interelement on-center spacing of a second set of the passive deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a second operational wavelength, (please see paragraph [0042]).
With regard to claim 2, Han et al (‘035) teaches that each of the defector elements or the nanostructures comprises a cylinder having a diameter (D), a height (t) and an on-center nearest neighbor interelement spacing (P) wherein the diameter of each deflector element varies based on the relative location of the deflector element in the repeating pattern, (please see Figures 4 and 12).
With regard to claim 3, Han et al (‘856) teaches the passive deflector elements or nanostructures are polarization independent.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2018/0158856 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2019/0034035 A1) and US patent application publication by Yang et al (US 2020/0098814 A1).
Han et al (‘856) teaches, with regard to claim 4, a meta-filter that serves as the frequency-selective optical filter that is comprised of one-dimensional or two-dimensional arrays of subwavelengths unit cells or meta-filter unit, (120, please see Figures 1, 2, 3A-3D and paragraphs [0019], [0058]), wherein each subwavelength unit cell that is comprised of a substrate (sr) serves as the optically transmissive medium and an array of passive deflectors or nanostructures (ns) arranged within the optically transmissive medium, (please see Figure 2). The interelement on-center spacings of the nanostructures or passive deflector elements are selected to reflect optical radiation within a target bandwidth (i.e. of a first wavelength) and pass optical radiation at frequency or wavelength (i.e. second wavelength) outside of the target bandwidth to locations other than, (please see Figure 1). The array of passive deflector elements or nanostructures is configured for dual-frequency or dual-wavelengths response.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference does not teach explicitly that the deflector elements or the nanostructure have varying diameters.
Han et al (‘035) in the same field of endeavor teaches a meta structure that has an array of nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) that each has a diameter (D), an interelement center spacing (P) and a height (t) that are each has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]). Han et al (‘035) also teaches the array of nanostructures may have varying diameter, (please see Figures 4 and 11) to provide structured light, (please see paragraphs [0098] and [0099]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Han et al (‘035) to make the array of nanostructures of deflector elements to have varying diameters for the benefit of generating structured light. It is within general level skilled in the art to design the structured light to include desired focal length
In response to the feature “the array of passive deflector elements is configured for mutli-frequency response with the interelement on-center spacings of a first set of the passive deflector elements selected as a function of a first operation wavelength”, Han et al (‘035) teaches that metastructure with a plurality nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) wherein the interelement on-center spacing (P) has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]).
Yang et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an array of meta-surface structures for an image sensor wherein each of the meta-surface structure comprises a plurality of nanostructures (310p, Figure 5). Yang et al teaches that the meta-surface structure for different wavelengths has a different interelement on-center spacing (P1, P2 and P3, Figure 5). This means the interelement on-center spacing of a first set of the deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a first operational wavelength, the interelement on-center spacing of a second set of the passive deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a second operational wavelength, and the interelement on-center spacing of a third set of the passive deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a third operational wavelength (please see paragraph [0042]).
With regard to claim 5, Han et al (‘035) teaches that each of the defector elements or the nanostructures comprises a cylinder having a diameter (D), a height (t) and an on-center nearest neighbor interelement spacing (P) wherein the diameter of each deflector element varies based on the relative location of the deflector element in the repeating pattern, (please see Figures 4 and 12).
With regard to claim 6, Han et al (‘856) teaches the passive deflector elements or nanostructures are polarization independent.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2018/0158856 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2019/0034035 A1) and US patent application publication by Yang et al (US 2020/0098814 A1).
Han et al (‘856) teaches, with regard to claim 7, a meta-filter that serves as the frequency-selective optical filter that is comprised of one-dimensional or two-dimensional arrays of subwavelengths unit cells or meta-filter unit, (120, please see Figures 1, 2, 3A-3D and paragraphs [0019], [0058]), wherein each subwavelength unit cell that is comprised of a substrate (sr) serves as the optically transmissive medium and an array of passive deflectors or nanostructures (ns) arranged within the optically transmissive medium, (please see Figure 2). The interelement on-center spacings of the nanostructures or passive deflector elements are implicitly selected to reflect optical radiation within a target bandwidth (i.e. of a first wavelength) and pass optical radiation at frequency or wavelength (i.e. second wavelength) outside of the target bandwidth to locations other than, (please see Figure 1). The array of passive deflector elements or nanostructures is configured for dual-frequency or dual-wavelengths response.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference does not teach explicitly that the deflector elements or the nanostructure have varying diameters.
Han et al (‘035) in the same field of endeavor teaches a meta structure that has an array of nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) that each has a diameter (D), an interelement center spacing (P) and a height (t) that are each has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]). Han et al (‘035) also teaches the array of nanostructures may have varying diameter, (please see Figures 4 and 11) to provide structured light, (please see paragraphs [0098] and [0099]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Han et al (‘035) to make the array of nanostructures of deflector elements to have varying diameters for the benefit of generating structured light. It is within general level skilled in the art to design the structured light to include desired focal length.
With regard to claim 8, Han et al (‘035) teaches that each of the defector elements or the nanostructures comprises a cylinder having a diameter (D), a height (t) and an on-center nearest neighbor interelement spacing (P) wherein the diameter of each deflector element varies based on the relative location of the deflector element in the repeating pattern, (please see Figures 4 and 12).
With regard to claim 9, Han et al (‘856) teaches the passive deflector elements or nanostructures are polarization independent.
With regard to claim 10, Han et al (‘035) teaches that metastructure with a plurality nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) wherein the interelement on-center spacing (P) has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]).
Yang et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an array of meta-surface structures for an image sensor wherein each of the meta-surface structure comprises a plurality of nanostructures (310p, Figure 5). Yang et al teaches that the meta-surface structure for different wavelengths has a different interelement on-center spacing (P1, P2 and P3, Figure 5). This means the interelement on-center spacing of a first set of the deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a first operational wavelength, the interelement on-center spacing of a second set of the passive deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a second operational wavelength, and the interelement on-center spacing of a third set of the passive deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a third operational wavelength (please see paragraph [0042]). This makes the array of deflector elements of each subwavelength unit cell is configured to a multi-frequency response with the interelement on-center spacings.
With regard to claim 11, Han et al (‘035) teaches that metastructure with a plurality nanostructures (NS, Figures 3 and 4) wherein the interelement on-center spacing (P) has a value that is less than the wavelength (l) of the incident light, (please see paragraphs [0085] to [0087]).
Yang et al in the same field of endeavor teaches an array of meta-surface structures for an image sensor wherein each of the meta-surface structure comprises a plurality of nanostructures (310p, Figure 5). Yang et al teaches that the meta-surface structure for different wavelengths has a different interelement on-center spacing (P1, P2 and P3, Figure 5). This means the interelement on-center spacing of a first set of the deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a first operational wavelength, and the interelement on-center spacing of a second set of the passive deflector elements or the nanostructures may be selected as a function of a second operational wavelength, (please see paragraph [0042]). This makes the array of deflector elements of each subwavelength unit cell is configured to a dual-frequency response with the interelement on-center spacings.
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872