DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hermann Seip (US – 3,478,848).
As per claim 1, Seip discloses Dual Circuit Disc Brake With Hydraulic Adjusting Means comprising:
a brake system configured to contain a brake fluid (A disc brake for operation by two fluid pressure lines, Col: 1, Ln: 15-22, Fig: 1) comprising:
a caliper assembly (1, Fig: 1) comprising (a) an outer body (3, Fig: 1) comprising a piston set (9, Fig: 1) and a bleed port (30, left, Fig: 1) and a fluid path (27, 28, Fig: 1) and (b) an inner body (4, Fig: 1) comprising a piston set (9, right, Fig: 1) and a bleed port (30, right, Fig: 1)and a fluid path (29, Fig: 1);
a connection for a hose (25, 26, Two fluid inlets 25, 26 are formed for this purpose one in each half 3, 4 respectively of the caliper, and communicate through drillings formed in the caliper with their respective brake-operating mechanisms 5, Col: 3, Ln: 3-6, Fig: 1);
wherein the fluid path (28, Fig: 1) of the outer body (3) is configured to transfer brake fluid across the piston set between the connection for the hose (25) and the bleed port (30, Fig: 1) of the outer body (The increase in pressure arising from fluid entering through the inlet 25 is also communicated to the cylinder 8 of the thrust mechanism in the part 4 of the caliper and causes the piston 9 to move in an axial direction towards the brake disc. After moving a short preliminary distance the piston exerts a brake-applying thrust on the nut 15 through the enlarged portion 14 of the spindle 10, Operation of the brake, Col: 3, Ln: 25 – Col: 4, Ln: 25, Fig: 1),
wherein the fluid path of the inner body is configured to transfer brake fluid across the piston set (9, Fig: 1, 3) between the connection for the hose and the bleed port (30, Fig: 1, 3) of the inner body (Operation of the brake, Col: 3, Ln: 25 – Col: 4, Ln: 25, Fig: 1).
As per claim 2, Seip discloses (a) a fluid path between the hose connection (27, Fig: 1) and a piston of the piston set (9, Fig: 1) of the outer body (4, Fig: 1) and (b) a fluid path between the hose connection right side 27, Fig: 1) and a piston of the piston set (9, Fig: 1) of the inner body (3) and (c) a fluid path between the piston set of the outer body and the outer body bleed port (Attached figure and Fig: 1) and (d) a fluid path between the piston set of the inner body and the inner body bleed port (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 4, Seip discloses wherein the outer body (4, Fig: 1) is separate from the inner body (3, Fig: 1);
wherein the outer body (4) is coupled to the inner body (3, Fig: 1).
As per claim 5, Seip discloses a bleed plug (30, right, Fig: 1) in the outer body bleed port (Fig: 1) and a bleed plug (30, left, Fig: ) in the inner body bleed port (Fig: 1).
As per claim 6, Seip discloses wherein the inner body (3) is configured so that air can be removed from the inner body at the inner body bleed port (30, left, Fig: 1) by flowing fluid between the hose connection (25, left, Fig: 1) and the inner body bleed port (at 30, Fig: 1); wherein the outer body (4) is configured so that air can be removed from the outer body at the outer body bleed port (30, right, Fig: 1) by flowing fluid between the hose connection (25, right, Fig: 1) and the outer body bleed port (at 30 right, Fig: 1).
As per claim 7, Seip discloses Dual Circuit Disc Brake With Hydraulic Adjusting Means comprising:
a brake caliper assembly (1, Fig: 1) configured to provide a flow path 27, 28, 29, Fig: 1) for brake fluid and a bleed path (at 30, Fig: 1) for air (via bleed valve 30, Fig: 1) comprising:
a hose connection (25, 26, Fig: 1);
an outer body (4, Fig: 1) comprising (a) a piston (9, right, Fig: 1), (b) a bleed port (at 30, right, Fig: 1), (c) a fluid path between the bleed port and the piston (Attached figure and Fig: 1), and (d) a fluid path between the piston and the hose connection (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
an inner body (3, Fif: 1) comprising (a) a piston (9, left, Fig: 1), (b) a bleed port (at 30 left, Fig: 1), (c) a fluid path between the bleed port and the piston (Attached figure and Fig: 1), and (d) a fluid path between the piston and the hose connection (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
wherein a bleed path for air is provided by flow of brake fluid between the hose connection and the outer body bleed port without flow of brake fluid at the inner body piston (Attached figure and Fig: 1); wherein a bleed path for air is provided by flow of brake fluid between the hose connection and the inner body bleed port without flow of brake fluid at the outer body piston (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
wherein a bleed path for air is provided by flow of brake fluid between the outer body bleed port and the inner body bleed port (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 8, Seip discloses wherein the inner body (3, Fig: 1) is configured so that air can be removed from the inner body at the inner body bleed port by flowing fluid between the hose connection and the inner body bleed path (Fig: 1);
wherein the outer body (4, Fig: 1) is configured so that air can be removed from the outer body at the outer body bleed port by flowing fluid between the hose connection and the outer body bleed path (Fig: 1).
As per claim 9, Seip discloses wherein the inner body (3) comprises a fluid path across the piston of the inner body (Fig: 1);
wherein the outer body segment (4) comprises a fluid path across the piston of the outer body (Fig: 1).
As per claim 10, Seip discloses a caliper (1, Fig: 1) and a brake pad (6, left, Fig: 1) configured for contact with the piston (9, left, Fig: 1) in the inner body (3) and a brake pad (6, right, Fig: 1) configured for contact with the piston in the outer body (4); further comprising a bleed plug (30, right, fig: 1) in the outer body bleed port (Fig: 1) and a bleed plug (30, left, Fig: 1) in the inner body bleed port (Fig: 1).
As per claim 11, Seip discloses Dual Circuit Disc Brake With Hydraulic Adjusting Means comprising:
a brake system configured to contain a brake fluid (A disc brake for operation by two fluid pressure lines, Col: 1, Ln: 15-22, Fig: 1) comprising:
a caliper body (1, Fig: 1) comprising an inner body (3, Fig: 1) and an outer body (4, Fig: 1);
a hose connection to the caliper body (25, 26, Two fluid inlets 25, 26 are formed for this purpose one in each half 3, 4 respectively of the caliper, and communicate through drillings formed in the caliper with their respective brake-operating mechanisms 5, Col: 3, Ln: 3-6, Fig: 1);
wherein the inner body (3) comprises a piston set (9, left, Fig: 1) and a bleed port (at 30, left, Fig: 1); wherein the outer body (4) comprises a piston set (9, right, Fig: 1) and a bleed port (at 30, right, Fig: 1);
wherein a fluid path (27, 28, 29, Fig: 1) is provided within the caliper body (Fig: 1);
wherein the fluid path within the caliper body comprises (1) an inner body segment between the bleed port and the piston set of the inner body (Attached figure and Fig: 1) and (2) an outer body segment between the bleed port and the piston set of the outer body (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
wherein the inner body (3) is configured so that air can be removed from the inner body segment of the fluid path within the caliper body at the bleed port (at 30, left, Fig: 1) by flowing fluid between the hose connection and the inner body segment (Fig: 1);
wherein the outer body (4) is configured so that air can be removed from the outer body segment of the fluid path within the caliper body at the bleed port (at 30, right, Fig: 1) by flowing fluid between the hose connection and the outer body segment (Fig: 1).
As per claim 12, Seip discloses wherein the caliper body (1, Fig: 1) is configured so that air can be removed from the fluid path within the caliper body by flowing fluid between the bleed port of the inner body segment (at 30 left, Fig: 1) and the bleed port of the outer body segment (at 30, right, Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, Seip discloses wherein the caliper body (1, Fig: 1) is configured so that air is removed from the fluid path within the caliper body by flowing fluid between the bleed port of the inner body segment (at 30, left, Fig: 1) and the bleed port of the outer body segment (at 30, right, Fig: 1) when the hose connection is closed to flow of brake fluid (Fig: 1).
As per claim 14, Seip discloses wherein the caliper body (1, Fig: 1) is configured so that air is be removed from the inner body segment (3, Fig: 1) of the fluid path within the caliper body at the bleed port (at 30, left, Fig: 1) by flowing fluid between the hose connection (25, Fig: 1) and the inner body segment when the hose connection is open to flow of brake fluid (Fig: 1).
As per claim 15, Seip discloses wherein the caliper body (1, Fig: 1) is configured so that air is be removed from the outer body segment (4, Fig: 1) of the fluid path within the caliper body at the bleed port (at 30, right, Fig: 1) by flowing fluid between the hose connection (26, Fig: 1) and the outer body segment when the hose connection is open to flow of brake fluid (Fig: 1).
As per claim 17, Seip discloses wherein the fluid path within the caliper body comprises an inner body segment (3) between the piston set of the inner body (9, left, Fig: 1) and the hose connection (25, Fig: 1) and an outer body segment (4) between the piston set (9, right, Fig: 1) of the outer body and the hose connection (26, Fig: 1).
As per claim 18, Seip discloses wherein the inner body segment (3) comprises a fluid path across each piston of the piston set of the inner body (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
wherein the outer body segment (4) comprises a fluid path across each piston of the piston set of the outer body (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 19, Seip discloses wherein the outer body (4, Fig: 1) is separate from the inner body (3, Fig: 1).
As per claim 20, Seip discloses a brake pad (6, left, , Fig: 1) configured for contact with the piston set (9, left, Fig: 1) in the inner body (3) and a brake pad (6, right, Fig: 1) configured for contact with the piston set(9, right, Fig: 1) in the outer body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann Seip (US – 3,478,848) as applied to claims 1-2 and 11 above, and further in view of Simmons et al. (US – 2004/0251093 A1).
As per claim 3, Seip discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose
wherein each piston set comprises at least two pistons; further comprising (a) a fluid path between each piston of the piston set of the outer body and (b) a fluid path between each piston of the piston set of the inner body.
Simmons discloses Multiple Feed Brake Caliper comprising:
wherein each piston set comprises at least two pistons (253, 263, and 256, 266, Fig: 2); further comprising (a) a fluid path between each piston of the piston set of the outer body (515, Fig: 5 and 6) and (b) a fluid path (3154, 325, Fig: 3 and 4) between each piston of the piston set of the inner body (Fig” 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Dual Circuit Disc Brake of the Seip to make the each piston set comprises at least two pistons; further comprising (a) a fluid path between each piston of the piston set of the outer body and (b) a fluid path between each piston of the piston set of the inner body as taught by Simmons in order to allows more even pressure distribution, but greatly reduces available braking force and user control while still providing no effective means for optimizing braking pressure distribution.
As per claim 16, Seip discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each piston set comprises at least two pistons.
Simmons discloses Multiple Feed Brake Caliper comprising:
wherein each piston set comprises at least two pistons (253, 263, and 256, 266, Fig: 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Dual Circuit Disc Brake of the Seip to make the each piston set comprises at least two pistons as taught by Simmons in order to allows more even pressure distribution, but greatly reduces available braking force and user control while still providing no effective means for optimizing braking pressure distribution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: Nago (US – 2015/0360746 A1),
B: HUANG (US – 2013/0319801 A1),
C: Kang (US – 2004/0123438 A1),
D: KARIYAMA O (EP – 2088345 A1), and
E: CHEN, YI-DE (CN – 2502985 Y).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616