DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “encoded feature encoded data” is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses a method for processing data (video captioning server 120, Fig. 1 [0053]), comprising:
obtaining video data (video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]; vision server 121 collecting vision data of video data [0054]) and extracting a video feature (creating a vision attention vector [0058]) from the obtained video data (vision data [0058]);
obtaining audio (audio server 122 collecting audio data of video data [0054]) data related to the video data (of video data [0054]; video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]) and extracting an audio feature (audio attention vector [0058]) from the obtained audio data (audio data [0058]);
detecting a preset event (when a specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0051], automatically detect behavior events [0063]) on the basis of one or more of the video feature and the audio feature (Feature values of an I3D model and a VGGish model can be configured into a multi-modal type in a vanilla transformer architecture [0063]);
upon detecting the preset event (when a specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0051], automatically detect behavior events [0063]) … generating transmission data (reported to a manager and detailed information about a criminal situation is transmitted [0050]) ….
Kim does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches upon detecting a preset event (based on the content of the image data, objects classified as vehicles, people, structures, determining the type of activity being carried out [0021]; analyze the raw image data to determine content, step 230, Fig. 2), begin (adjusting a compression parameter 150, 240, and compress the raw data 160, 250, Figs. 1-2 happen after analyzing raw image data to determine content 140, 230) performing conversion processing (adjusts a compression parameter 340 based on the content of the image data… this becomes a modified compression algorithm [0021]; vector encoding [0038]) and encoding processing (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) on the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]) to generate encoded video feature data (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding the feature space [0038] features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and encoded audio feature data (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding the feature space [0038] frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]);
the encoded video feature data and the encoded feature encoded data not being generated prior to detecting the preset event (adjusting a compression parameter 150, 240, and compress the raw data 160, 250, Figs. 1-2 happen after analyzing raw image data to determine content 140, 230; Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding take place after vector quantization [0038]);
and generating transmission data including (compressed data stream can be stored or transmitted [0031]) the encoded (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the encoded (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]) on which the conversion processing and the encoding processing have been performed (vector quantization encoding and arithmetic/Huffman/Lempel Ziv [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the event detection of Kim with content-based compression, as in Bernal, because Bernal teaches that compressed image/video data comprises less data than raw image/video data, facilitating better communication of the information via bandwidth constrained communication link and alleviating the bottleneck that communication link 360 could otherwise have posed in the data collection process [0021].
Regarding Claim 2, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in the detecting of the preset event (specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0051], automatically detect behavior events [0063]), upon satisfaction of a condition related to the preset event in both the video feature (figure in-video behavior and motion [0061]) and the audio feature (classification of features [0062]), it is determined that the preset event has been detected (automatically detect behavior events and create video caption information in an artificial intelligence model. Accordingly, it is possible to easily figure out the context in each section by automatically setting breakpoints (behavior stop points) using all of vision and audio information [0063]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in the detecting of the preset event (specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0051], automatically detect behavior events [0063]), upon satisfaction of a condition related to the preset event in any one of the video feature and the audio feature (classification of features [0062]), it is determined that the preset event has been detected (automatically detect behavior events [0063]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches wherein the performing of the conversion processing and the encoding processing includes:
converting (compressed data stream [0031]) the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and encoding (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) the converted video feature to generate video feature encoded data (output of Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]);
and converting (compressed data stream [0031]) the audio feature (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) and encoding (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) the converted audio feature to generate audio feature encoded data (output of Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the event detection of Kim with content-based compression, as in Bernal, because Bernal teaches that compressed image/video data comprises less data than raw image/video data, facilitating better communication of the information via bandwidth constrained communication link and alleviating the bottleneck that communication link 360 could otherwise have posed in the data collection process [0021].
Regarding Claim 5, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 4.
Kim does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches wherein the transmission data (output of Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) includes the video feature encoded data (features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio feature encoded data (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the event detection of Kim with content-based compression, as in Bernal, because Bernal teaches that compressed image/video data comprises less data than raw image/video data, facilitating better communication of the information via bandwidth constrained communication link and alleviating the bottleneck that communication link 360 could otherwise have posed in the data collection process [0021].
Regarding Claim 8, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmission data includes metadata related to the detected event (subtitle data related to video data may be obtained by a caption unit 242 [0060], Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) and Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches wherein the performing of the conversion processing and the encoding processing includes:
converting (compressed data stream [0031]) the video (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) feature (the feature space [0038]);
converting (compressed data stream [0031]) the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]).
Bernal does not teach, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches fusing the converted video feature and the converted audio feature to generate fusion feature data (By splicing the two features, the spliced features are linearly transformed to unify the features, and then the average pooling operation is used to obtain the global features; features are embedded in time sequence, Section 3.1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the event detection of Kim with content-based compression, as in Bernal, because Bernal teaches that compressed image/video data comprises less data than raw image/video data, facilitating better communication of the information via bandwidth constrained communication link and alleviating the bottleneck that communication link 360 could otherwise have posed in the data collection process [0021].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated modify Kim, as supplemented by Bermal, with timing information because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 6.
Kim does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches wherein the transmission data includes fusion-encoded data generated by encoding the fusion feature data (features are embedded in time sequence through time sequence encoding and sent to the encoder of the transformer).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated modify Kim, as supplemented by Bermal, with Li because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches wherein the transmission data includes time stamp information for synchronization of the video feature and the audio feature (as a sequence file, the video needs to be embedded with timing encoding to enable the model to learn the context information, Section 3.4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated modify Kim, as supplemented by Bermal, with Li because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text, and embedding timing information enables the encoder to better recognize the sequence information in the video, resulting in a more accurate predictive description of the content (Section 5) and improved convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) in view of Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610) and Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538).
Regarding Claim 10, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses a method (a process for sending event notices [0025], Fig. 2) comprising:
upon detecting the preset event (event of interest? Yes, Fig. 2, step 120, yes-branch), begin performing (select portion of video associated with event of interest, Step 130, Fig. 2; generate an event notice 140 … the event notice may include a segment of video [0024]) conversion processing (video segment is compressed [0065]) and encoding processing (video segment is encoded [0065]) on the video (video segment [0065]) …;
the conversion processing and encoding processing not being performed prior to detecting the preset event (NO branch at 120 in Fig. 2 does not generate the event notice, which then does not send the video segment);
upon detecting the preset event (event of interest? Yes, Fig. 2, step 120, yes-branch), begin generating transmission data (send event notice to the user, Fig. 2, step 150) including the video (a portion of the video data associated with the event of interest is selected (step 130, FIG. 2) and then the event notice ("ALERT!") is generated (step 140, FIG. 2) and sent to the user [0060]) … on which the conversion processing (video segment is compressed [0065]) and the encoding processing (video segment is encoded [0065]) have been performed (is compressed, encoded [0065]), and
the transmission data not being generated prior to detecting the preset event (NO branch at 120 in Fig. 2 does not generate the event notice, which then does not send the event notice, does not send the video segment).
Chambers does not disclose, but Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610) teaches obtaining audio data (sound files from the captured video [0066]) and extracting an audio feature (The neural network 140 receives input(s) 120, which is processed by the neurons 145 to produce the output(s) 125 [0056], note, extracting features is an inherent part of neural networks) from the obtained audio data (sound files from the captured video go to the sound processing machine trained network 110 [0066]);
detecting a preset event (sound-processing machine trained network 110 produces from the supplied sound file 120 the impact location 125 of each impact sound of each golf swing [0067]) on the basis of the audio feature (The neural network 140 receives input(s) 120, which is processed by the neurons 145 to produce the output(s) 125 [0056], note, extracting features is an inherent part of neural networks);
upon detecting the preset event (the precise moment of impact from [0067]), begin extracting a video feature from video data related to the detected event (the video-processing machine trained network 310 also receives the output 125 of the sound processing machine trained network 110 for each golf swing [0067]; each portion in the video that is associated with a golf swing is fed to the video processing machine trained network 310 as input to produce the video-processing machine trained network 310 output data 325 [0068]), the video feature not being extracted prior to detecting the preset event (receives the output 125 of the sound processing machine trained network 110 [0067]… each portion in the video that is associated with a golf swing is fed to the video processing machine trained network 310 [0068]; that means that video is sent to the video classifier after the golf swing is detected).
Chambers does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches conversion processing (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]; vector encoding [0038]) and encoding processing (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) on the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]);
transmission data including (compressed data stream can be stored or transmitted [0031]) the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]) on which the conversion processing and the encoding processing have been performed (vector quantization encoding and arithmetic/Huffman/Lempel Ziv [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to modify event detection of Chambers using Fujimura to identify video segments based on precise moments identified through sound because Fujimura teaches that video does not have sufficient temporal resolution to identify all major events, and relying on sound data can enable the system to interpolate additional data samples in video [0067], improving the system.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the compression and encoding method of Chambers with the compression and encoding method of Bernal, because Bernal’s compression and encoding preserves the high fidelity features essential for the decision making task, enabling a computer and a human to analyze information over the network without the loss of data that generally comes from transmitting data over a network, facilitating a better analysis result ([0004], [0005], [0007]) without overburdening the bandwidth constrained communication link [0021].
Regarding Claim 11, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses the method of Claim 10.
Chambers does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches wherein the performing of the conversion processing and the encoding processing includes:
converting (compressed data stream [0031]) the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and encoding (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) the converted video feature to generate video feature encoded data (output of Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]);
and converting (compressed data stream [0031]) the audio feature (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) and encoding (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) the converted audio feature to generate audio feature encoded data (output of Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the compression and encoding method of Chambers with the compression and encoding method of Bernal, because Bernal’s compression and encoding preserves the high fidelity features essential for the decision making task, enabling a computer and a human to analyze information over the network without the loss of data that generally comes from transmitting data over a network, facilitating a better analysis result ([0004], [0005], [0007]) without overburdening the bandwidth constrained communication link [0021].
Regarding Claim 12, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses the method of Claim 11.
Chambers does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches wherein the transmission data (output of Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) includes the video feature encoded data (features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio feature encoded data (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the compression and encoding method of Chambers with the compression and encoding method of Bernal, because Bernal’s compression and encoding preserves the high fidelity features essential for the decision making task, enabling a computer and a human to analyze information over the network without the loss of data that generally comes from transmitting data over a network, facilitating a better analysis result ([0004], [0005], [0007]) without overburdening the bandwidth constrained communication link [0021].
Claim(s) 13-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) in view of Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610), Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538), and Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023).
Regarding Claim 13, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the performing of the conversion processing (video segment is compressed [0065]) and the encoding processing (video segment is encoded [0065]) includes:
converting the video (video segment is compressed [0065]).
Chambers does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches
converting (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]; compressed data stream [0031]) the video (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) feature (the feature space [0038]);
converting (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]; compressed data stream [0031]) the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]).
Chambers does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches fusing the converted video feature and the converted audio feature to generate fusion feature data (By splicing the two features, the spliced features are linearly transformed to unify the features, and then the average pooling operation is used to obtain the global features; features are embedded in time sequence, Section 3.1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the compression and encoding method of Chambers with the compression and encoding method of Bernal, because Bernal’s compression and encoding preserves the high fidelity features essential for the decision making task, enabling a computer and a human to analyze information over the network without the loss of data that generally comes from transmitting data over a network, facilitating a better analysis result ([0004], [0005], [0007]) without overburdening the bandwidth constrained communication link [0021].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated modify the compression of Chambers, as modified by Bernal, with fused data and timing information because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Regarding Claim 14, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses the method of claim 13.
Chambers does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches wherein the transmission data includes fusion-encoded data obtained by encoding the generated fusion feature data (features are embedded in time sequence through time sequence encoding and sent to the encoder of the transformer).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated modify the compression of Chambers, as modified by Bernal, with fused data and timing information because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Regarding Claim 16, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses the method of claim 10.
Chambers does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches wherein the transmission data includes time stamp information for synchronization of the video feature and the audio feature (as a sequence file, the video needs to be embedded with timing encoding to enable the model to learn the context information, Section 3.4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated modify the compression of Chambers, as modified by Bernal, with fused data and timing information because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) in view of Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610), Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538), and Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385).
Regarding Claim 15, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses the method of Claim 10.
Chambers does not disclose, but Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) teaches wherein the transmission data includes metadata related to the detected event (subtitle data related to video data may be obtained by a caption unit 242 [0060], Fig. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to supplement the video of Chambers with subtitles, as in Kim, because the subtitles of Kim supply semantic understanding to the video, improving the user’s ability to review alerts in a short time with computer-generated summaries.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) in view of Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) and Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538).
Regarding Claim 20, Chambers (US PG Publication 2009/0141939) discloses a method for processing data (a process for sending event notices [0025], Fig. 2) comprising:
obtaining video data (video camera 20 is positioned to view the observed location 10 and can provide video data to a video analysis functional block 30 [0023]; camera 20 gives video analysis 30 video of observed location 10, Fig. 1) …;
detecting a preset event (event of interest has occurred [0024]; event of interest? Yes, Fig. 2, step 120, yes-branch) …;
upon detecting the preset event (event of interest? Yes, Fig. 2, step 120, yes-branch), performing (select portion of video associated with event of interest, Step 130, Fig. 2; generate an event notice 140 … the event notice may include a segment of video [0024]) conversion processing (video segment is compressed [0065]) and encoding processing (video segment is encoded [0065]) on the video (video segment [0065]) …;
the conversion processing and encoding processing not being performed prior to detecting the preset event (NO branch at 120 in Fig. 2 does not generate the event notice, which then does not send the video segment);
generating transmission data (send event notice to the user, Fig. 2, step 150) including the video (a portion of the video data associated with the event of interest is selected (step 130, FIG. 2) and then the event notice ("ALERT!") is generated (step 140, FIG. 2) and sent to the user [0060]) … on which the conversion processing (video segment is compressed [0065]) and the encoding processing (video segment is encoded [0065]) have been performed (is compressed, encoded [0065]), and
the transmission data not being generated prior to detecting the preset event (NO branch at 120 in Fig. 2 does not generate the event notice, which then does not send the event notice, does not send the video segment).
Chambers does not disclose, but Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) teaches obtaining video data (video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]; vision server 121 collecting vision data of video data [0054]) and extracting a video feature (creating a vision attention vector [0058]) from the obtained video data (vision data [0058]);
obtaining audio (audio server 122 collecting audio data of video data [0054]) data related to the video data (of video data [0054]; video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]) and extracting an audio feature (audio attention vector [0058]) from the obtained audio data (audio data [0058]);
detecting a preset event (when a specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0051], automatically detect behavior events [0063]) on the basis of one or more of the video feature and the audio feature (Feature values of an I3D model and a VGGish model can be configured into a multi-modal type in a vanilla transformer architecture [0063]).
Chambers does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches conversion processing (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]; vector encoding [0038]) and encoding processing (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) on the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]);
transmission data including (compressed data stream can be stored or transmitted [0031]) the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]) on which the conversion processing and the encoding processing have been performed (vector quantization encoding and arithmetic/Huffman/Lempel Ziv [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated replace the event detection of Chambers using the multi-modal event detection of Kim because Kim teaches that detection based on video alone is limited and requires an immense amount of training data [0004], whereas multi-modal detection provides superior results and can automatically provide situation recognition and information [0005], improving the system.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the compression and encoding method of Chambers with the compression and encoding method of Bernal, because Bernal’s compression and encoding preserves the high fidelity features essential for the decision making task, enabling a computer and a human to analyze information over the network without the loss of data that generally comes from transmitting data over a network, facilitating a better analysis result ([0004], [0005], [0007]) without overburdening the bandwidth constrained communication link [0021].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 7/21/2026 have been considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues, regarding Claim 20, that the claim requires double conversion because “conversion is inherently required to obtain a video feature.” Remarks at 13. Then Applicant argues that Chambers has no conversions, Kim has one, and although Bernal has two conversions, Bernal does not have other claimed features. Remarks at 13-14. These assertions are unpersuasive. 1) There is no bound on the scope of “conversion.” Neither the claim nor the specification make clear what constitutes “conversion” and what constitutes “non-conversion.” Therefore it is not clear at all how the claim inherently limits the obtaining video features to obtaining video features by conversion, as Applicant asserts. Examiner is not persuaded that there is any limitation on how video features are obtained, as the claim recites none. The claim recites only “extracting a video feature from the obtained video data” and “extracting an audio feature from the obtained audio data.” These are mapped to Kim, in Claim 20, and Applicant does not argue that Kim fails to extract features, only that Kim shows one conversion. Applicant has not made clear how Kim’s showing of one conversion relates to Kim’s extraction of audio and video features. If Kim extracts features, and extracting features inherently requires conversion, as Applicant asserts, then Kim performs conversion as argued. However, Examiner does not see how this argument pertains to the claims, as the claims do not require extracting video and audio features by “conversion.” The claims only require “extracting” without limiting how the extraction is performed.
Applicant’s arguments to Claim 10 and amended Claim 1 are based on the above arguments to Claim 20, and are likewise unpersuasive.
Applicant’s claims are silent on the treatment of video when the preset event is not detected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
NPL: Liu, “Visually-aware audio captioning with adaptive audio-visual attention,” arXiv:2210.16428v3, May 2023. – an encoder-decoder architecture for combining visual and audio features for captioning video, using an adaptive self-attention block.
NPL: Lin, “TAVT: Towards Transferable Audio-Visual Text Generation,” Association for Computational Linguistics, July 2023. – an encoder-decoder architecture for adding text to videos using a meta-mapper to identify semantic audio features.
US-20230020834-A1 – encoder-decoder network for captioning video
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2485