DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses a method for processing data (video captioning server 120, Fig. 1 [0053]), comprising:
obtaining video data (video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]; vision server 121 collecting vision data of video data [0054]) and extracting a video feature (creating a vision attention vector [0058]) from the obtained video data (vision data [0058]);
obtaining audio (audio server 122 collecting audio data of video data [0054]) data related to the video data (of video data [0054]; video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]) and extracting an audio feature (audio attention vector [0058]) from the obtained audio data (audio data [0058]);
detecting a preset event (separate time-series sections by setting behavior stop points [0055]; automatically detect behavior events [0063]) on the basis of one or more of the video feature and the audio feature (Feature values of an I3D model and a VGGish model can be configured into a multi-modal type in a vanilla transformer architecture [0063]);
upon detecting the preset event (when a specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0050]) … generating transmission data (reported to a manager and detailed information about a criminal situation is transmitted [0050]) ….
Kim does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches upon detecting the preset event (once the classification is learned [0038]), performing conversion processing (vector encoding [0038]) and encoding processing (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) on the video (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]);
and generating transmission data including (compressed data stream can be stored or transmitted [0031]) the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]) on which the conversion processing and the encoding processing have been performed (vector quantization encoding and arithmetic/Huffman/Lempel Ziv [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the event detection of Kim with content-based compression, as in Bernal, because Bernal teaches that compressed image/video data comprises less data than raw image/video data, facilitating better communication of the information via bandwidth constrained communication link and alleviating the bottleneck that communication link 360 could otherwise have posed in the data collection process [0021].
Regarding Claim 2, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in the detecting of the preset event, upon satisfaction of a condition related to the preset event in both the video feature and the audio feature, it is determined that the preset event has been detected (automatically detect behavior events and create video caption information in an artificial intelligence model. Accordingly, it is possible to easily figure out the context in each section by automatically setting breakpoints (behavior stop points) using all of vision and audio information [0063]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in the detecting of the preset event, upon satisfaction of a condition related to the preset event in any one of the video feature and the audio feature, it is determined that the preset event has been detected (setting behavior stop points on the basis of vision data [0055]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the conversion processing and the encoding processing includes:
converting the video feature (Feature values of an I3D model [0063]) and encoding the converted video feature to generate video feature encoded data (the vision encoder vector created by the encoder unit 210 [0060]);
and converting the audio feature (Feature values of an VGGish model [0063]) and encoding the converted audio feature to generate audio feature encoded data (the audio encoder vector created by the encoder unit 210 [0060]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the transmission data includes the video feature encoded data and the audio feature encoded data (the vision encoder vector and the audio encoder vector created by the encoder unit 210 [0060]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmission data includes metadata related to the detected event (subtitle data related to video data may be obtained by a caption unit 242 [0060], Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the conversion processing and the encoding processing includes:
converting the video feature (Feature values of an I3D model [0063]);
converting the audio feature (Feature values of an VGGish model [0063]).
Kim does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches fusing the converted video feature and the converted audio feature to generate fusion feature data (By splicing the two features, the spliced features are linearly transformed to unify the features, and then the average pooling operation is used to obtain the global features; features are embedded in time sequence, Section 3.1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to fuse the visual and audio feature vectors of Kim as taught by Li because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 6.
Kim does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches wherein the transmission data includes fusion-encoded data generated by encoding the fusion feature data (features are embedded in time sequence through time sequence encoding and sent to the encoder of the transformer).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to fuse the visual and audio feature vectors of Kim as taught by Li because Li suggests that fusing the audio-visual data can generate more accurate description text (Section 5) and improve the convergence speed of the model (Section 3.4).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses the method of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches wherein the transmission data includes time stamp information for synchronization of the video feature and the audio feature (as a sequence file, the video needs to be embedded with timing encoding to enable the model to learn the context information, Section 3.4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to embed the feature vectors of Kim with timing information because Li teaches that by embedding timing information, the transformer encoder can better recognize the sequence information in the video, resulting in a more accurate predictive description of the content (Section 5).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) and Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) discloses a method comprising:
obtaining audio data (audio server 122 collecting audio data of video data [0054]; video caption unit 123 can separate video data into vision data and audio data [0055]) and extracting an audio feature (audio attention vector [0058]) from the obtained audio data (audio data [0058]);
detecting a preset event (detecting behavior events [0063]) on the basis of the audio feature (feature values of the VGGish model [0063]; VGGish converting in-image audio into a 128-d feature and providing the feature as input to downstream classification model [0062]);
upon detecting the preset event (when a specific dangerous behavior is sensed [0050]) … generating transmission data (reported to a manager and detailed information about a criminal situation is transmitted [0050]) ….
Kim does not disclose, but Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538) teaches performing conversion processing (vector encoding [0038]) and encoding processing (Huffman, arithmetic or Lempel Ziv coding [0038]) on the video (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the feature space [0038]);
and generating transmission data including (compressed data stream can be stored or transmitted [0031]) the video feature (by including features descriptive of objects of interest classified as vehicles, features descriptive of objects of interest classified as structures, features descriptive of actions of interest, features that discriminate actions A, B, C and D from each other [0021]) and the audio (frequency and phase descriptors in the case of one-dimensional sequential data such as audio [0030]) feature (the compression module may generate a compressed data representation of the feature representation extracted by the feature extraction module [0028]) on which the conversion processing and the encoding processing have been performed (vector quantization encoding and arithmetic/Huffman/Lempel Ziv [0038]).
Kim does not disclose, but Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610) teaches upon detecting the preset event (the precise moment of impact from [0067]), extracting a video feature from video data related to the detected event (the video-processing machine trained network 310 also receives the output 125 of the sound processing machine trained network 110 for each golf swing [0067]; each portion in the video that is associated with a golf swing is fed to the video processing machine trained network 310 as input to produce the video-processing machine trained network 310 output data 325 [0068]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the event detection of Kim with content-based compression, as in Bernal, because Bernal teaches that compressed image/video data comprises less data than raw image/video data, facilitating better communication of the information via bandwidth constrained communication link and alleviating the bottleneck that communication link 360 could otherwise have posed in the data collection process [0021].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to modify Kim using the teachings of Fujimura to identify video segments based on precise moments identified through sound because Fujimura teaches that video does not have sufficient temporal resolution to identify all major events, and relying on sound data can enable the system to interpolate additional data samples in video [0067], providing information to users of the system and improving user experience.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 8.
Claim(s) 13-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Kim (US PG Publication 2024/0233385) in view of Bernal (US PG Publication 2018/0063538), Fujimura (US PG Publication 2023/0153610), and Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023).
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim does not disclose, but Li (NPL: “Video Description Combining Visual and Audio Features,” SPIE April 2023) teaches a data processing device (Intel (R) Xeon (R) Rronze3106 CPU, Section 4.2) comprising:
a memory configured to store input data (inherent);
and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform operations (Intel (R) Xeon (R) Rronze3106 CPU@1.70GHz And a GPU (NVIDIA-SMI), using Python 3, Section 4.2). The remainder of Claim 17 is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 10.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the teaches of Kim on a computer because computer-software implementation of algorithms is one of the most common ways to automate complex mathematical algorithms.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/27/2026 are persuasive in part.
Applicant argues on Page 3 that Kim teaches away from the invention because Kim performs “conversion processing” regardless of whether the preset event is detected or not detected. Remarks at 3. This argument is unpersuasive because (1) the doctrine of “teaching away” does not apply to a 102 rejection (see MPEP 2131.05); and (2) the claims do not require not-performing “conversion processing” in the event that an event is not detected. The claims only require conversion processing upon an event being detected, and because Kim always performs conversion processing, Kim does so upon an event being detected. Applicant may limit the claims to not-converting upon not-detecting of the preset event. This rebuttal applies to the new reference relied upon for teaching conversion processing.
Applicant argues on Page 4 that Examiner has cited the wrong paragraph to demonstrate that Kim discloses “detecting a preset event.” Applicant also concedes that Kim discloses “detecting a preset event.” Remarks at 4. Applicant’s argument, therefore, is moot. Regardless, Kim explains that by detecting “behavior events” it sets “behavior stop points.” Kim at [0063]. Therefore, the citation to “behavior stop points” provides applicant with information to discern that Kim discloses “detecting a preset event.”
Applicant argues on Page 5 that Kim does not disclose “detecting a preset event on the basis of audio feature,” as required by Claim 10. Remarks at 5. This is not persuasive because Kim discloses, “Feature values of an I3D model and a VGGish model can be configured into a multi-modal type in a vanilla transformer architecture… to automatically detect behavior events.” Kim at [0063]. The “feature values” from “VGGish” are audio features. Kim at [0062]. Applicant argues that the audio feature must be “extracted” and “not any audio feature that has been calculated with added information such as learning.” Remarks at 6. This is not persuasive because the claims do not exclude additional features from being considered. Applicant has also not demonstrated how Kim’s audio features generated by the VGGish model fail to be “extracted.” This rebuttal applies to Applicant’s arguments regarding Claim 17 at Page 8 of the Remarks.
Examiner believes that Kim does not disclose “upon detecting the preset event, extracting a video feature from video data related to the detected event,” as required by Claim 10, and a new reference is relied upon to teach that step.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
NPL: Liu, “Visually-aware audio captioning with adaptive audio-visual attention,” arXiv:2210.16428v3, May 2023. – an encoder-decoder architecture for combining visual and audio features for captioning video, using an adaptive self-attention block.
NPL: Lin, “TAVT: Towards Transferable Audio-Visual Text Generation,” Association for Computational Linguistics, July 2023. – an encoder-decoder architecture for adding text to videos using a meta-mapper to identify semantic audio features.
US-20230020834-A1 – encoder-decoder network for captioning video
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485