DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Abstract
3. The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Oath Declaration
4. The Oath complies with all the requirements set forth in MPEP 602 and therefore is accepted.
Drawings
5. The drawings received on 10/27/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The references listed in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2024 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO- 1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Bains et al. (US 20240211344 A1) "herein after as Bains" in view of Seo et al. (US 20230137339 A1) "herein after as Seo."
As per claim 1:
Bains substantially teaches or discloses a memory system (see paragraph [0057], herein system 200 represents components of a memory subsystem; Fig. 2, system 200; and Fig. 14, system 1400), comprising: a plurality of memory devices (see paragraph [0058], herein memory module 250 represents a module that includes multiple memory devices 260 ; Fig. 2, memory decides 206; and Fig. 14, DRAMs 1430) each including a memory cell (see paragraph [0059], herein Array 262 represents memory cells within memory device 26, and Fig. 2 array 262) region and an error correction circuit (see paragraph [0059], herein memory device 260 includes ECC 272 to perform error checking and correction within memory device 260; and Fig. 14 ECC 1432); and a memory controller configured to independently provide [signal] to the plurality of memory devices (see paragraph [0048], herein Memory controller 320 manages system wide ECC, and can detect and correct errors across multiple different memory resources in parallel (e.g., multiple devices of memory 330); paragraph [0191]; herein DRAM devices 1430 can be individually accessed with device specific commands, and can be accessed in parallel with parallel commands; paragraph [0192], herein RCD 1420 receives information from controller 1440 and buffers the signals to the various DRAM devices 1430. By buffering the input signals from controller 1440, the controller only sees the load of RCD 1420, which can then control the timing and signaling to DRAM devices 143, and Fig. 14), wherein, during a read operation, each of the plurality of memory devices controls the error correction circuit to selectively perform an error correction operation on an exclusion area in the memory cell region defined by the off address [ ] (see paragraph [0044], herein When the memory controller provides some address information, the selection logic of system 100 can be selectively more complex. Based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses. In one example, the ECS system can read the memory array, correct errors with internal ECC (error checking and correction) logic, and write back corrected data. In one example, the ECS system can read the memory array and write the data back to the array every time, whether or not the ECC detected and corrected an error; paragraph [0048], herein system 100 includes ECC logic 130 to perform error checking and correction operations on selected or addressed memory location(s); and paragraph [0059], herein memory controller 210 includes error control 220, which represents logic or circuitry within memory controller 210 to perform error correction on data received from memory devices 260. Memory device 260 includes ECC 272 to perform error checking and correction within memory device 260. ECC 272 can be referred to as on-device or on-die ECC for the memory device, which is distinct from error correction 222 of memory controller 210. ECC 272 can operate locally on the data stored within array 262. Array 262 represents memory cells within memory device 260. Array 262 can include multiple rows of memory; and paragraph [0212]).
Bains does not explicitly teach an off mode signal and an off address. However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches off mode signal and an off address (see abstract, paragraph [0030], herein According to an embodiment, the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100. The uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data., and Fig. 1 [Examiner note: by definition, during a read operation, if the controller provides an off address, the memory device uses its error correction circuit to selectively perform (or bypass) error correction on that specific area based on the off-mode signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD that transmitted form memory controller 200 can be off mode signal and an off address]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by including an off mode signal and an off address. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the off mode signal and an off address would have improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 2:
Seo teaches that wherein the memory controller independently provides the off mode signal and the off address to the plurality of memory devices along with a mode setting command (see paragraph [0030], herein the uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data).
As per claim 3:
Seo teaches that wherein the memory controller independently provides the off address to the plurality of memory devices along with a mode setting command (see paragraph [0030], herein the uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data), and wherein the memory controller further provides an off command for setting the off mode signal to each of the plurality of memory devices (see paragraph [0030], herein the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100).
As per claim 4:
Bains teaches that wherein each of the plurality of memory devices defines the exclusion area according to the off address, wherein each of the plurality of memory devices omits the error correction operation on data when a target area with the data is included in the exclusion area, and performs the error correction operation on data when the target area with the data is not included in the exclusion area (see abstract; paragraph [0033], herein For an error scrubbing engine with ECS logic with transparency that counts and reports on errors detected, the indication of the offlined errors can enable the error scrubbing engine to skip the offlined rows in ECS operation counts. The skipping can be through not performing the error scrubbing for the offlined pages, or through performing the error scrubbing on the offlined pages but then not including the offlined pages in the error count information provided to the host).
As per claim 5:
Bains teaches that wherein, for each of the plurality of memory devices, the memory controller collects an address of an area where an error has occurred beyond an error correction capability (see paragraph [0035], abstract; herein in response to detection of a multibit error (MBE), the system can determine whether the MBE is part of a pattern of errors related to a specific address of the memory. When detected errors indicate a pattern of errors, the host can trigger a row hammer response related to the specific address).
Bains does not explicitly teach generates the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on the collected addresses.
However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches generates the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on the collected addresses (see abstract, paragraph [0030], herein according to an embodiment, the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100. The uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data., and Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by generating the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on the collected addresses. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the generating the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on the collected addresses would have improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 6:
Bains substantially teaches or discloses a memory device comprising (see Fig. 2 , memory devices 260; and Fig. 14 DRAM 1430): a memory cell region (see paragraph [0059], herein array 262 represents memory cells within memory device 260, and Fig. 2 array 262); an error correction circuit (see Fig. 2 ECC 272; and Fig. 14 ECC 1432) configured to selectively perform an error correction operation on data read from a target area in the memory cell region according to a correction off signal, during a read operation (see paragraph [0044], herein When the memory controller provides some address information, the selection logic of system 100 can be selectively more complex. Based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses. In one example, the ECS system can read the memory array, correct errors with internal ECC (error checking and correction) logic, and write back corrected data. In one example, the ECS system can read the memory array and write the data back to the array every time, whether or not the ECC detected and corrected an error; paragraph [0048], herein system 100 includes ECC logic 130 to perform error checking and correction operations on selected or addressed memory location(s); and paragraph [0059], herein Memory device 260 includes ECC 272 to perform error checking and correction within memory device 260. ECC 272 can be referred to as on-device or on-die ECC for the memory device, which is distinct from error correction 222 of memory controller 210. ECC 272 can operate locally on the data stored within array 262. Array 262 represents memory cells within memory device 260. Array 262 can include multiple rows of memory); and an error correction control circuit (see Fig. 2 scrub rate control 276) configured to generate the correction off signal by checking whether the target area is included in an exclusion area defined by the off address [ ] (see paragraph [0044], herein when the memory controller provides some address information, the selection logic of system 100 can be selectively more complex. Based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses; paragraph [0065], herein scrub rate control 276 represents a rate of patrol scrubbing operations, which represent operations to systematically perform scrub operations through an entire address section, such as the entire memory, within a fixed period of time. In one example, ECS engine 270 can be referred to as error scrubbing logic or ECS logic, or an error scrubbing circuit or ECS circuit, to perform error scrubbing operations on the memory resources of array 262).
Bains does not explicitly teach a mode setting circuit configured to store a preliminary off mode signal and an off address according to a mode setting command. However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches a mode setting circuit configured to store a preliminary off mode signal and an off address according to a mode setting command (see abstract, paragraph [0041], herein the CMD DEC 1130 may generate one or more internal control signals for driving the data chip 20 by decoding the command CMD input from outside of the memory device 100 (e.g., from the memory controller 200 of FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by a mode storing a preliminary off mode signal and an off address according to a mode setting command.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the storing a preliminary off mode signal and an off address according to a mode setting command improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 7:
Bains teaches that wherein the mode setting command and the off command are provided from a memory controller (see paragraph [0070], herein Manual ECS mode can refer to a mode in which ECS operations are managed by memory controller 210, where memory controller 210 is responsible for sending ECS commands to memory device 260).
As per claim 8:
Bains teaches that wherein the error correction control circuit includes (see Fig. 2, ESC 270): an area comparison circuit configured to activate the correction off signal when a row address input during the read operation is included between a start address and an end address, which are included in the off address [ ] (see paragraph [0298], herein the identified address comprises a specific row address requested by the host for the performance of ECS operations. In one example, the error scrubbing logic is to perform ECS operations on the specific row address requested by the host and rows with consecutive addresses to the specific row address.; and paragraph [0131], herein the hints are addresses, which can include start and end addresses, identified by range control 924 to be ranges of addresses).
Bains does not explicitly teach a mode control circuit configured to generate an off mode signal according to the off command or the preliminary off mode signal.
However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches a mode control circuit configured to generate an off mode signal according to the off command or the preliminary off mode signal (see abstract, paragraph [0082], herein as an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD is received from a memory controller, a CMD DEC 610 may generate a control signal that inactivates some operations of the ECC engine 620, for example, at least one of first to third control signals CTRL1, CTRL2, and CTRL3, and Fig. 8, component 610). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by generating an off mode signal according to the off command or the preliminary off mode signal. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the generating an off mode signal according to the off command or the preliminary off mode signal would have improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 9:
Bains teaches that an output circuit configured to output an error correction code read from the target area through a separate pad according to the correction off signal, during the read operation (see paragraph [0048], herein system 100 includes ECC logic 130 to perform error checking and correction operations on selected or addressed memory location(s). In one example, ECC logic 130 generates an output flag (ERROR DETECT) when an error is detected in a memory location).
As per claim 10:
Bains teaches that an error correction code generation circuit configured to generate an error correction code using write data during a write operation, wherein the memory cell region stores the write data and the error correction code (see paragraph [0044], herein when the memory controller provides some address information, the selection logic of system 100 can be selectively more complex. Based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses).
As per claim 11:
Bains substantially teaches or discloses an operating method of a memory device (see Fig. 2, memory devices 260; and Fig. 14 DRAM 1430), comprising: receiving a read command for a target area in a memory cell region (see paragraph [0044], herein system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses. In one example, the ECS system can read the memory array, correct errors with internal ECC (error checking and correction) logic, and write back corrected data. In one example, the ECS system can read the memory array and write the data back to the array every time, whether or not the ECC detected and corrected an error); checking whether the target area is included in an exclusion area defined by [ ] (see paragraph [0044], herein when the memory controller provides some address information, the selection logic of system 100 can be selectively more complex. Based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses); and selectively performing an error correction operation on data read from the target area according to the checking result (see paragraph [0048], herein system 100 includes ECC logic 130 to perform error checking and correction operations on selected or addressed memory location(s); and paragraph [0059], herein memory controller 210 includes error control 220, which represents logic or circuitry within memory controller 210 to perform error correction on data received from memory devices 260. Memory device 260 includes ECC 272 to perform error checking and correction within memory device 260. ECC 272 can be referred to as on-device or on-die ECC for the memory device, which is distinct from error correction 222 of memory controller 210. ECC 272 can operate locally on the data stored within array 262. Array 262 represents memory cells within memory device 260. Array 262 can include multiple rows of memory; and paragraph [0212]).
Bains does not explicitly teach storing a preliminary off mode signal and an off address in a mode setting circuit according to a mode setting command; generating an off mode signal according to an off command or the stored preliminary off mode signal. However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches storing a preliminary off mode signal and an off address in a mode setting circuit according to a mode setting command (see abstract, paragraph [0041], herein the CMD DEC 1130 may generate one or more internal control signals for driving the data chip 20 by decoding the command CMD input from outside of the memory device 100 (e.g., from the memory controller 200 of FIG. 1); generating an off mode signal according to an off command or the stored preliminary off mode signal (see, abstract, paragraph [0030], herein According to an embodiment, the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100. The uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data., and Fig. 1 [Examiner note: by definition, during a read operation, if the controller provides an off address, the memory device uses its error correction circuit to selectively perform (or bypass) error correction on that specific area based on the off-mode signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD that transmitted form memory controller 200 can be off mode signal and an off address]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by including storing a preliminary off mode signal and an off address in a mode setting circuit according to a mode setting command; generating an off mode signal according to an off command or the stored preliminary off mode signal. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the storing a preliminary off mode signal and an off address in a mode setting circuit according to a mode setting command; generating an off mode signal according to an off command or the stored preliminary off mode signal would have improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 12:
Bains teaches that wherein the checking whether the target area is included in the exclusion area includes: comparing a row address designating the target area with a start address and an end address, which are included in the off address (see paragraph [0116], herein address control 720 generates internal address information, shown as one of the inputs to compare 730. Compare 730 represents an address comparator, or a comparison mechanism to compare generated addresses with addresses identified by the host as offline. The other input to compare 730 is excluded address memory 732. In one example, compare 730 compares the address generated by address control 720 to all entries in excluded address memory 732); and determining that the target area is included in the exclusion area when the row address is included between the start address and the end address (see paragraph [0298], herein the identified address comprises a specific row address requested by the host for the performance of ECS operations. In one example, the error scrubbing logic is to perform ECS operations on the specific row address requested by the host and rows with consecutive addresses to the specific row address.; and paragraph [0131], herein the hints are addresses, which can include start and end addresses, identified by range control 924 to be ranges of addresses).
As per claim 13:
Bains teaches that wherein the selectively performing the error correction operation includes: omitting the error correction operation on the data read from the target area when the target area is included in the exclusion area (see abstract; paragraph [0033], herein For an error scrubbing engine with ECS logic with transparency that counts and reports on errors detected, the indication of the offlined errors can enable the error scrubbing engine to skip the offlined rows in ECS operation counts. The skipping can be through not performing the error scrubbing for the offlined pages, or through performing the error scrubbing on the offlined pages but then not including the offlined pages in the error count information provided to the host).
As per claim 14:
Bains teaches that outputting the read data on which the error correction operation is omitted through a data pad (see paragraph [0048], herein ECC logic 130 generates the flag in response to detecting a multibit error (MBE)), and outputting an error correction code read from the target area through a separate pad (see paragraph [0048], herein ECC logic 130 generates an output flag (ERROR DETECT) when an error is detected in a memory location).
As per claim 15:
Bains teaches that providing the mode setting command and the off command from a memory controller (see paragraph [0070], herein Manual ECS mode can refer to a mode in which ECS operations are managed by memory controller 210, where memory controller 210 is responsible for sending ECS commands to memory device 260).
As per claim 16:
Bains substantially teaches or discloses an operating method of a memory system, comprising see paragraph [0057], herein system 200 represents components of a memory subsystem; Fig. 2, system 200; and Fig. 14, system 1400): providing, at a memory controller, [signal] defining an exclusion area to at least one selected memory device among a plurality of memory devices (see paragraph [0070], herein Manual ECS mode can refer to a mode in which ECS operations are managed by memory controller 210, where memory controller 210 is responsible for sending ECS commands to memory device 260; paragraph [0191]; herein DRAM devices 1430 can be individually accessed with device specific commands, and can be accessed in parallel with parallel commands; paragraph [0192], herein RCD 1420 receives information from controller 1440 and buffers the signals to the various DRAM devices 1430. By buffering the input signals from controller 1440, the controller only sees the load of RCD 1420, which can then control the timing and signaling to DRAM devices 143, and Fig. 14); providing, at the memory controller, a read command for a target area to the plurality of memory devices (see paragraph [0174], herein Memory controller 1310 includes command logic 1314 to generate commands for memory device 1320. Commands can include commands such as Write commands or Read commands; and paragraph [0192]); checking, at the selected memory device, whether the target area is included in the exclusion area [ ] (see paragraph [0044], herein when the memory controller provides some address information, the selection logic of system 100 can be selectively more complex. Based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses); and selectively performing, at the selected memory device, an error correction operation on data read from the target area according to the checking result (see paragraph [0048], herein system 100 includes ECC logic 130 to perform error checking and correction operations on selected or addressed memory location(s); and paragraph [0059], herein memory controller 210 includes error control 220, which represents logic or circuitry within memory controller 210 to perform error correction on data received from memory devices 260. Memory device 260 includes ECC 272 to perform error checking and correction within memory device 260. ECC 272 can be referred to as on-device or on-die ECC for the memory device, which is distinct from error correction 222 of memory controller 210. ECC 272 can operate locally on the data stored within array 262. Array 262 represents memory cells within memory device 260. Array 262 can include multiple rows of memory, and paragraph [02121]).
Bains does not explicitly teach an off mode signal and an off address; storing the off mode signal and the off address, at the selected memory device. However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches off mode signal and an off address (see abstract, paragraph [0030], herein According to an embodiment, the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100. The uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data., and Fig. 1 [Examiner note: by definition, during a read operation, if the controller provides an off address, the memory device uses its error correction circuit to selectively perform (or bypass) error correction on that specific area based on the off-mode signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD that transmitted form memory controller 200 can be off mode signal and an off address]); storing the off mode signal and the off address, at the selected memory device (see abstract, paragraph [0041], herein the CMD DEC 1130 may generate one or more internal control signals for driving the data chip 20 by decoding the command CMD input from outside of the memory device 100 (e.g., from the memory controller 200 of FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by including an off mode signal and an off address; storing the off mode signal and the off address. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the off mode signal and an off address; storing the off mode signal and the off address would have improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 17:
Bains teaches that wherein the memory controller provides the [signal] to the selected memory device, along with a mode setting command (see paragraph [0174], herein Memory controller 1310 includes command logic 1314 to generate commands for memory device 1320. Commands can include commands such as Write commands or Read commands. Commands can also include Activate commands, Precharge commands, Refresh commands, or other commands. In one example, memory controller 1310 includes refresh logic 1372, which represents logic to control the refreshing of memory device 1320).
Bains does not explicitly teach an off mode signal and the off address. However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches off mode signal and the off address (see abstract, paragraph [0030], herein According to an embodiment, the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100. The uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data., and Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by including an off mode signal and an off address. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the off mode signal and an off address would have improved the memory system performance.
As per claim 18:
Seo teaches that wherein the memory controller provides the off address to the selected memory device along with a mode setting command (see paragraph [0030], herein the uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data), and wherein the memory controller further provides an off command for setting the off mode signal to the selected memory device (see paragraph [0030], herein the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100).
As per claim 19:
Bains teaches that wherein the checking whether the target area is included in the exclusion area includes: defining the exclusion area according to the off address (see paragraph [0044], herein based on internal address information or external address information, system 100 can check all code words and check bits within the memory. More specifically, system 100 can perform ECS operations, which include ECC operations to read, correct, and write back memory locations for all selected or specified addresses); comparing a row address designating the target area with a start address and an end address, which are included in the off address (see paragraph [0116], herein address control 720 generates internal address information, shown as one of the inputs to compare 730. Compare 730 represents an address comparator, or a comparison mechanism to compare generated addresses with addresses identified by the host as offline. The other input to compare 730 is excluded address memory 732. In one example, compare 730 compares the address generated by address control 720 to all entries in excluded address memory 732); and determining that the target area is included in the exclusion area when the row address is included between the start address and the end address (see paragraph [0298], herein the identified address comprises a specific row address requested by the host for the performance of ECS operations. In one example, the error scrubbing logic is to perform ECS operations on the specific row address requested by the host and rows with consecutive addresses to the specific row address.; and paragraph [0131], herein the hints are addresses, which can include start and end addresses, identified by range control 924 to be ranges of addresses).
As per claim 20:
Bains teaches that omitting the error correction operation on the read data at the selected memory device, while performing an error correction operation on the read data at each of unselected memory devices, when the target area is included in the exclusion area (see abstract; paragraph [0033], herein For an error scrubbing engine with ECS logic with transparency that counts and reports on errors detected, the indication of the offlined errors can enable the error scrubbing engine to skip the offlined rows in ECS operation counts. The skipping can be through not performing the error scrubbing for the offlined pages, or through performing the error scrubbing on the offlined pages but then not including the offlined pages in the error count information provided to the host).
As per claim 21:
Bains teaches that collecting, at the memory controller, an address of an area where an error has occurred beyond an error correction capability of each of the plurality of memory devices (see paragraph [0035], abstract; herein in response to detection of a multibit error (MBE), the system can determine whether the MBE is part of a pattern of errors related to a specific address of the memory. When detected errors indicate a pattern of errors, the host can trigger a row hammer response related to the specific address). Bains does not explicitly teach generating the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on collected addresses.
However, Seo in the same the field of endeavor teaches generating the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on collected addresses (see abstract, paragraph [0030], herein according to an embodiment, the memory controller 200 may transmit a normal read command r_CMD and an uncorrected read command NECC_CMD to the memory device 100. The normal read command r_CMD may be a command for reading corrected data, which may be generated as a result of correcting an error in data through an on-die error correction code (ECC) operation of the memory device 100. The uncorrected read command NECC_CMD may be a command for inactivating the on-die ECC operation from the memory device 100 and reading data., and Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Bains with the teachings of Seo by generating the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on the collected addresses. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the generating the off mode signal and the off address for each of the plurality of memory devices based on the collected addresses would have improved the memory system performance.
Examiner Notes
8. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
9. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSMAN ALSHACK whose telephone number is (571)272-2069. The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALBERT DECADY can be reached on 5712723819. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OSMAN M ALSHACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2112